Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 2
Average Mileage:
46,016 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 11 of 33)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #455

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The contact stated that the failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). However the parts to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to do the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 114,000.

- Placerville, CA, USA

problem #454

Jun 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part to do the repair. The failure mileage was 101,000. The VIN was not available.....updated 11/02/15 updated 11/05/15.

- Middleburg, PA, USA

problem #453

Apr 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while stopped at a stop light, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle did restart, however, the failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system), the part do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #452

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) was received in November of 2014. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cloquet, MN, USA

problem #451

Sep 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving various speeds, the engine stalled without warning. The failure was persistent. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch failed and needed to be replaced. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 150,000. Updated 12/01/15

- Humboldt, TN, USA

problem #450

Aug 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I have been receiving recall notices from Chrysler since September 2014. I did everything the recall notice prompted me to do until the parts came in. I called the dealership 3 times over the last year to see if the parts came in. I really did not have any issues until August 3,2015. I was driving down the street and my car just turned off. I had no power steering but I was able to pull over with no problem and there was no traffic around me. I new it was the ignition switch issue so I called the dealer and they told me the parts for that recall are not available so there is nothing that can be done. This is my only form of transportation and I am a nursing student and can not afford to buy a new car. I have continued to drive it and on 3 separate occasions it has turned off while I was driving. Luckily I have either been in slower traffic or sitting at a stop light. This week on 3 occasions I went to start my car and it would not start. I called aaa but by the time they arrived it started again. The Jeep dealership told me I should not drive the car, I asked them if they could get a car for me to drive until the parts come in since this is a safety issue due to their recall and they said they could not do that. This is the only transportation I have. I go to school full time, am doing my clinicals and perceptorship at the hospital and work part time to pay my rent. I do not know what I am supposed to do if they do not have the parts to repair my car and this could be a life threatening problem. Yesterday (9/23/2015) I stopped by baxter Jeep in omaha, ne to see if they could get me in to check my car because it didn't start the first time I tried to start it that morning. They told me they couldn't get it in until October 7. I went to another auto repair servicer and they confirmed it was the ignition switch pertaining to the recall.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #449

Oct 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • 93,655 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving under normal road & weather conditions the vehicle began shutting off & on sometimes resulting in a complete stall that required restarting the engine after rolling onto the shoulder without any power! we received a recall notice that details their recommendation that it should be driven without only the key in the ignition as a temporary approach. The problem persist even under this precaution & has become worse! driver has to hold the key while driving when it starts to shut down to avoid the stall.

- Bayport, NY, USA

problem #448

Jul 102013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of a recall for the electrical system; however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #447

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Central Square , NY, USA

problem #446

Aug 182015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle was difficult to shift and the engine misfired. In addition, the vehicle shifted independently. The check engine warning indicator illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 141,000. Updated 11/18/15 the consumer stated he paid for the repairs at his expense. Updated 11/25/15.

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #445

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/20/15 updated 11/25/15.

- Altoona , PA, USA

problem #444

Dec 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #443

Sep 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 142,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 45 mph, the vehicle stalled and almost caused a crash. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received a recall notification related to the failure however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 142,000.

- Bell , CA, USA

problem #442

Jun 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Alpharetta , GA, USA

problem #441

Aug 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
It has been over a year since the recall for the ignition switch... Chrysler/Fiat has yet to make the replacement part available to any of the 4-5 local dealers in northern ca that are within 50 miles of my home. They seem to be avoiding responsibility to correct the problem

- Sonoma, CA, USA

problem #440

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part for the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #439

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) was received in November of 2015. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Key Largo, FL, USA

problem #438

Jan 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 85,000 miles
Problem started around January 2015 on my 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. Vehicle wouldn't start. My husband replaced the starter and problem persisted. Took vehicle into genesee auto electric on 1/23/2015 and they couldn't find a problem but charged me $250 for replacing battery posts. Then replaced the battery and it seemed to be fine for a little while. Around March 2015 had incident on 15 South where I was driving about 80 miles and the electrical started going crazy. All electrical on the dashboard started blinking and gauges were moving all over the place. It really scared me and so I pulled over to the side of the road and shut off Jeep. It took a while to restart it but after wiggling the battery a little it worked. I no longer feel safe driving my Jeep after fully realizing what the recall was about and doing some research on other people's experiences. Chrysler gave me a rental car for 3 days and has been unwilling to assist me any further. My Jeep is now sitting at the dealership.

- Vista , CA, USA

problem #437

Sep 162014

Grand Cherokee

  • 98,000 miles
Loss of power due to faulty ignition. Has happened more than once and I asked about it at dealer a year ago and still no parts for open recall.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #436

Sep 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 142,000 miles
Vehicle has stalled while in drive at various speeds, in reverse or idling at a stop. This issue has been ongoing for over 2 years - has been brought to the dealership; was never told there was a recall on the ignition switch until I brought recently to midas for the above issues. They advised the engine shuts off due to the ignition switch being faulty. There has also been occasions that the ABS seems to engage while in drive, typically occurs when turning. Unknown if this is associated with the faulty ignition switch. Was told by Chrysler that the recalled part would be available as of September 11, 2015 - it is still not available. This vehicle is unsafe to drive.

- Bristol, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?