Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 2
Average Mileage:
46,016 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 14 of 33)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #395

Jul 212014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/16/15 the consumer stated the vehicle shut off while in the midst of driving and all dash lights illuminated. Updated 01/29/15

- Wilburton, PA, USA

problem #394

Sep 252012

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles
When driving my transmission would be stuck in a gear sometimes and other times it would shift to neutral while on city roads and highways. This would happen mostly when accelerating when the automatic transmission had to shift to the next gear. It wouldn't or would go to neutral so I had to shift the transmission back and forth from neutral to drive to catch a gear. I read about a recall back in 2013 but Chrysler said it did not apply to my vehicle so I paid to get the problem fixed. Since Chrysler is currently having recall problems I'm curious to find out if this was something that wasn't reported.

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #393

Jun 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • 112,350 miles
I was driving down the road and all of my dash lights came on, the heater and radio stopped working and my Jeep seemed to be stalling out. I was driving down a road where I was unable to pull over. The car behind me almost rear ended me because of this. This same problem has happened almost on a daily bases. I first thought it had something to do with the new key I had made but then I came to find out about the ignition switch recall. I can't believe that there still is not a part to fix this issue. I really can't believe that Jeep does not think that this is a safety issue. I am afraid to drive my Jeep very far at all. I have not been able to go on any long trips this summer in fact I had to stay home on my vacation as this is the only car I have. I can't afford to buy another car as I am still making payments on this one and no one will even think about buying it because of this issue. Is it going to take someone to die before anything is done about this. If I had known about this problem I would have never bought my Jeep.

- Caldwell, ID, USA

problem #392

Feb 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the recall parts needed were not available. The contact exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #391

Jul 072015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system:ignition:switch); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New York Mills, NY, USA

problem #390

Feb 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • 97,704 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle, the key was difficult to turn over and the vehicle stalled several times. The contact stated that the various warning lamps flashed on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who stated that the remote control starter was causing the failure and not the ignition switch. The vehicle was taken back a second time and they were not able to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system), but the dealer declined to confirm if the part was available to receive the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and they provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 97,704.

- Braintree, MA, USA

problem #389

Mar 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the gear lights on the dash will all have a square around them. When it does this the truck becomes in neutral, and is unable to accelerate. This has happened numerous times since we purchased it in Feb 2015. This is quite dangerous and luckily we have not had an accident. Updated 09/17/15 it was determined, the transmission control module needed to be replaced. Updated 09/22/15

- New Hudson, MI, USA

problem #388

Feb 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed for the recall repair was not available. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 86,000. Updated 09/21/15

- Jackson , OH, USA

problem #387

Nov 222006

Grand Cherokee

  • 900 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled and all of the warning lights on the instrument panel illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was unable to be diagnosed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall remedy. The contact stated that all four door handles fractured and detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the rear drivers side and front passengers side door handles were replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 900.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #386

Sep 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part to do the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tigard, OR, USA

problem #385

May 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Runnemede, NJ, USA

problem #384

Jul 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Linthicum, MD, USA

problem #383

Oct 052007

Grand Cherokee

  • 900 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the engine stalled. The failure recurred numerous times. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 900.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #382

Jul 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at a low speed, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The contact stated that all the warning lights on the instrument cluster illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. In addition, while making a left turn at a low speed, the vehicle stalled. As a result, the contact crashed into a concrete barrier and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact did not sustain any injuries. A police report was not filed. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Findlay, OH, USA

problem #381

Jan 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the repair part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Charloette, NC, USA

problem #380

Jul 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving, the air bag warning light illuminated and the air conditioning failed. The contact also mentioned that the ignition was loose. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch failed. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 61,000. Updated 09/10/15

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #379

Apr 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • 99,000 miles
Light bulbs behind the climate control unit and information center blow. Console is designed in such a way that the blown light bulbs cannot be replaced as they are fused to the circuit board of the affected unit. Only way to fix this issue is to replace the affected unit (like the whole climate control), which is quite expensive. This is a design flaw since the bulbs are neither maintenance-free (and long-lasting) nor serviceable. Operating the vehicle with blown console lights at night is a safety hazard because it cause the driver to take the eyes off the road for an extended period of time while trying to operate unlit console equipment. This is a common issue in 2005-2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee wk and 2006-2010 Jeep commander.

- Pullman, WA, USA

problem #378

Jun 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #377

Jul 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While in park, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the ignition module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V43800 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 118,000.

- Palmetto Bay, FL, USA

problem #376

Jun 302015

Grand Cherokee

  • 87,000 miles
Going 40 mph the all lights on dashboard came on, the radio shut off, the ABS brakes made a noise then everything on dashboard went out. Check engine light came on & the gas gage didn't work you couldn't tell how fast you were going, the air conditioner quit & engine stopped, the vehicle was hard to steer & the brakes were manual & then engine started again. I turned the car off & turned it back on & the check engine light is on & the dashboard seems to work again. This has happened 2 times within 3 days. I am renting a vehicle cause I'm too afraid to drive the vehicle. There is a recall on this vehicle for the ignition switch with all the same vehicle loss of engine power, power steering & braking assist but it doesn't include the dashboard lights coming on & the dealers say it is not the same thing. The ignition switch recall came out in July 2014 & to date they have not provided any dealerships with the replacement parts. How can Jeep say it is not the same problem if they won't replace the recalled ignition switch to find out?

- White Oak, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?