Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 2
Average Mileage:
46,016 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 18 of 33)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #315

Nov 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred several times. The contact also stated that the vehicle failed to start. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Petaluma, CA, USA

problem #314

Sep 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times, the instrument panel gauges and warning lights flickered, and the gear shifted from neutral to park while operating the vehicle. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 117,000.

- Matteson, IL, USA

problem #313

Apr 102015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Upon preparing to stop and/or make a left hand turn (multiple incidents) vehicle's ignition shuts off. This is very dangerous as I was attempting a left turn on a busy industrial 4 lane road when the vehicle shut off mid-turn. I had two small children with me (1 and 4) and am extremely lucky I was not hit, from both sides. My knee sits approximately 8 inches from the ignition switch so I know it was not bumped.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

problem #312

Apr 242015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.....updated 07/22/15

- Otis Orchards , WA, USA

problem #311

Apr 232013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While at a stop, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 6/3/15

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #310

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while in park, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 6/3/15

- North Vernon , IN, USA

problem #309

Jan 242014

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving over a bump at approximately 25 mph, the instrument panel lights illuminated. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the ABS module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Mcadoo, PA, USA

problem #308

Nov 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Winchester, KY, USA

problem #307

Apr 202015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
We have been waiting over 9 months since our initial letter from Chrysler notifying us that our electrical switch was questionable. There is also a recall out for power train parts where the Jeep may slip into neutral--this has happened several times, to the point where we are unsafe driving it. Any contact with Chrysler has resulted in "we've forwarded your complaint to our parts department" and then no response. We were told that no parts are in manufacturing--there aren't even parts to fix the problems!! we cannot drive our Jeep for fear of death / injury. Please help us resolve this problem.

- Nicholasville, KY, USA

problem #306

Apr 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice and lack of parts.

- Garden City, NY, USA

problem #305

Apr 142015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice for ignition switch in December 2014. Went to my Chrysler dealer and they could not do the recall because no parts have come in. I called again in February 2015 still no parts what kind of recall is this are you waiting for an accident to occur first? the dealer is clare Dodge Chrysler Jeep of newport at 310 West main road, middletown ri telephone 401-846-2323. I would like this fixed this year. Thank you

- Warren, RI, USA

problem #304

Aug 292014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wadding, KY, USA

problem #303

Oct 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 15 mph, the vehicle lost power and the "transmission overheating" warning displayed across the message board. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the part needed to repair the vehicle under NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000. Updated 5/20/15 updated 05/28/15

- Fernley, NV, USA

problem #302

Apr 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mapleton, IL, USA

problem #301

Dec 102014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at approximately 8 mph making a left turn, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 52,000. Updated 6/8/15 updated 11/6/15

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #300

Sep 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Woodland Park, NJ, USA

problem #299

Apr 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled. The failure recurred on three occasions. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- South San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #298

Apr 172013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 925,000 miles
While trying to make a turn the cars ignition just quit causing loss of brakes steering have contacted dealer but no parts available as yet. Car is definetley unsafe!!

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #297

Feb 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contacts stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hilliard, OH, USA

problem #296

Apr 042015

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 200,000 miles
This is not the first time this has happened since I purchased the Jeep in 2009 but it was the most significant one. All lights went off inside & out. There was some problem with the steering & the braking also. The motor did not die nor did the A/C or radio go off. When this happens all the warning lights flash a few times & for a few seconds I loose all the lights & experience the braking & steering problems. I did receive the recall notice for the ignition switch in September, 2014 stating that they were trying to get the parts for repair but I have not heard anything else from Chrysler. This is the only vehicle that I have and at this point I am afraid to drive any distance.

- Westmoreland, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?