Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 2
Average Mileage:
46,016 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 24 of 33)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #195

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/04/15 updated 06/17/2015 updated 6/26/2015 11/4/2015

- Cooperstown, NY, USA

problem #194

May 202013

Grand Cherokee

  • 52,000 miles
All the warning lights on the dashboard will intermittently come on and off. This can happen when I am driving, sitting still, car cold or hot. There is no rhyme or reason to it. When this happens the fan for heat/ac also goes out. I have had it to the dealer multiple times. They tell me there is nothing wrong that they can find. It is dangerous because I also lose the lighting on my instrument panel at night. Very distracting.

- Norfolk , VA, USA

problem #193

Sep 292014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to slow down when pressure was applied to the brake pedal. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Hunting, FL, USA

problem #192

Aug 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed were not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #191

Dec 222014

Grand Cherokee

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. In addition, the contact stated that while driving at approximately 15 mph, the lights on the instrument panel illuminated as the vehicle stalled. The vehicle restarted but the failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000.

- Garfield Heights, OH, USA

problem #190

Aug 222014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gallipolis, OH, USA

problem #189

Dec 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • 175,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice N23 which said that I needed to call my local Jeep Chrysler service center as soon as possible to have the work done because the problem could cause a crash. I have been trying to call at least a couple of times a week since I have received this notice about 7 months ago and they told me that I am on a waiting list for the part. Nothing can be done until they get the part. Since then, the problems continue to get worse. Last night, I almost crashed as I lost control of the steering because the Jeep seemed to lost control and died momentarily as the lights on my control panel were flashing. I was told it was all due to the key switch but I have now noticed that as the lights are all blindingly flashing there is a grinding noise that sounds like it is coming from under the car near the front. I am not a mechanic so I have no idea and I don't have money to take my Jeep in and have them "try" to figure out what is going on and then charge me for possibly figuring it out. This is unacceptable! we have been waiting for almost seven months for parts that the notice says "please hurry!!! call the express service hotline 1-866-849-3608 right now to schedule your free repair". is it because it is free repair that there is no hurry to get this fixed? I have a child! I almost wrecked. If anyone had been around me or I had been in a curve when I lost the ability to steer after the car died, we could have been killed or we could have killed someone else! I need help now!!!

- Richlands, VA, USA

problem #188

May 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 146,221 miles
All the lights on my instrument panel started flashing and I lost the ability to see my speedometer, the fan was not blowing and this continued until the lights started flashing. The check 4WD system came on and has stayed on. The check 4WD system light came on not long after I bought it and I took it back to the dealership and I was told that it is because there are aluminum parts that get stuck and you can ignore it. That it was working fine. I rarely use my 4WD system and the check engine light would go off normally after I turned the car off. This started happening more frequently and now the lights flashing on my instrument panel is happening all of the time. The check 4WD system light has stayed on for the last few months.

- Richlands, VA, USA

problem #187

Jan 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Newport Beach , CA, USA

problem #186

Jan 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled on several occasions. In addition, the transmission gears slipped. Additionally, the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #185

Dec 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact waited for months to receive a second notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The dealer and the manufacturer were not able to provide a date that the part and remedy would become available to schedule the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact continued to experience the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000.

- Carthage, NC, USA

problem #184

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
TL-the contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Djr

- Charlestown, WV, USA

problem #183

Oct 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bucksport, ME, USA

problem #182

Aug 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V43800 (electrical system) was received in July 2014. The dealer and the manufacturer were contacted on multiple occasions and the contact was informed that the part was not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts was available. A failure related to the recall was experienced but the specifics were not available. In addition, the contact stated that the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 58,000.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #181

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact did not experience a failure...updated 02-04-15 updated 02/18/15

- Lincolnwood, IL, USA

problem #180

Jan 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle restarted after the first attempt. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the parts needed for the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 103,000.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #179

Jan 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Springdale , AR, USA

problem #178

Sep 152006

Grand Cherokee

  • 6,500 miles
The first incident happened just weeks after I purchased my Grand Cherokee. I was on a two lane highway going 75 mph in the left lane.the highway did not have a shoulder to pull over on. There was a tractor trailer in front of me, behind me and to my right. My car suddenly started decreasing in speed rapidly, my steering wheel locked up and it was as if my car had been turned off. I had no where to go as it was sandwiched in between semis all going at a high rate of speed. I turned on my hazards until I was completely stopped in the middle of the highway. I put my car in park, put the key into the off position and restarted it.I drove straight to the tulsa, ok Jeep dealership. To say I was shaken up is an understatement. They ran tests on it. Came back to me and told me the car checked out perfectly fine and either my knee hit the ignition or my keys were too heavy. My keys only had my car key, house key and my key fob on it and I knew my knee had not hit the ignition. I was scared to drive my car from then on. The incidents continued to happen over and core again.sometimes at a high rate of speed, but also lots of times at a slow rate of speed under 25mph or while going from a stop to start (like at a stop light or while trying to turn). I continued to take my car in to the Jeep dealership the entire time it was under warranty. I received the exact same answer every single time. They treated me like I was making the incidents up. The incidents started happening more frequently and after my second child was born we were finally in a position to purchase another vehicle. My Jeep has been sitting in my driveway for over a year. We are unable to sell it for anything close to what kbb says its worth. And we also feel like we can't sell it consciously knowing it could kill someone.these cars are a death trap and because of financial situations families are forced to keep.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #177

Dec 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 15 mph, all the warning lights illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 111,000. Updated 02/18/15

- Sheraton, IN, USA

problem #176

Apr 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, the vehicle stalled. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer but the part was not available to repair the vehicle under NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The technician confirmed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- South Sanfranciso, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?