If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,548 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #94

Oct 122010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer requests reimbursement for recall repairs. The consumer stated the costly repair of the shifter assembly did not successfully address the real defective part, the final drive controller module software, which was finally made public in 2013. In early 2010, the vehicle unintentionally shifted from drive into neutral, while the consumer was driving. Luckily, she was able to coast out of the roadway into a parking lot. The dealer mistakenly diagnosed the condition as a defective shifter and replaced it. At the end of May 2011, the vehicle once again shifted from drive into neutral on its own. The consumer no longer owns the vehicle.

- Smithfield, VA, USA

problem #93

Jan 252013

Grand Cherokee

  • 102,850 miles
Car shifted unintentionally into neutral when driving, did the several times. Had to have electronic shift module replaced, in January 2013. Chrysler issued a recall May 2013 for 2005-2010 cars, but my vehicle bin was not included.

- Highland , NY, USA

problem #92

Nov 062013

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the vehicle stalled and all of the warning lamps illuminated. The contact mentioned that there were multiple occasions when the vehicle failed to turn on at all. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnosed the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 65,000.

- Nokomis, FL, USA

problem #91

Jan 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dashboard lights will randomly start to flash, air conditioning/heating system loses power, and speedometer, tachometer fluctuates erratically. This happens every so often, without warning. Thought it was the remote starter, but then it started happening without using the remote starter. It appears that many, many people have had this issue and no recalls have been issued. Dealer states they "think" it might be something to do with the ignition, key, ? what that know. They asked me specific questions related to "check engine light" and if the vehicle lost power. It does not lose power, but simply lights flash and it is scary. One time, the headlights flashed off and on until I pulled over and shut engine off and restarted. Doesn't always happen, but very scary when it does. Hoping this doesn't lead to a more dangerous issue.... Jeep needs to get on this issue as mine is, without a doubt, not an isolated incident!

- Gloucester, MA, USA

problem #90

Sep 032013

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,000 miles
Approximately 9 months ago our grande Cherokee began having random electrical issues. The first symptoms to appear were with the dash board panel and vehicle gages. Speedometer and RPM gage would bounce back and forth together from 0 to 75% back to zero...when the vehicle is experiencing these issues, the odometer does not record mileage. The door locks and front windows don't operate. The headlights will sporadically turn on and off without being in the vehicle. The stereo will shut down. Turn signals will "stick" if they are being used when vehicle has it's issue. Loss of power has also happened. On a few occasions, the vehicle would not start, one time for 3 days. Battery tested good at the shop. Without doing a thing, day #4 it started fine. When electrical system acts up loss of major control functionality occurs. Obvious results of that while driving 70 mph on the freeway don't need mentioning. Online complaints in the hundreds yet Jeep has "no clue"? unfortunately, this issue will ultimately cause loss of life if it hasn't already.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #89

Feb 022014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 79,800 miles
I was driving on California state route 20 eastbound in the curves past the omega rest stop, at 6:00 am, when all of the warning lights on the instrument panel illuminated. The instrument lights went out, and several seconds later illuminated again, they when out again and illuminated a third time, at which point the headlights on the car shut off. It was a very frightening event. I was able to flick the steering wheel headlight control and the lights came back on. I immediately took my foot off of the gas when the headlights went out, because I was in a curve section of a mountain highway. Luckily, a pull out was a quarter mile ahead and I was able to get off the road. I called aaa roadside assistance and they dispatched a tow truck to tow the car back to grass valley/Nevada city. Two warning lights remained on the dash until the lights were turned off and the car towed. A light on the upper right with a car and a swag and a light in middle. ABS ? at the local repair shop, they found no codes to indicate any type of failure. The car has been taken since to magnussen's Jeep dealer in auburn, California and they have been unable to detect any problem. A similar event happened to my husband in 2008 approximately and the repair facility was unable to determine a problem. I have worked in truckee, ca and have commuted to work since 2001 on this road in several vehicles( (including two other Jeep). I have never had a similar incident and I believe it is a serious safety issue. When the repair facility was unable to detect a problem, my husband and I began looking into the problem on this website and others and believe that our incident is not unique and reflects a substantial defect with this vehicle. Additionally, our compound low gear has not worked since the last recall was performed at the Jeep dealer in roseville,

- Nevada City, CA, USA

problem #88

Sep 182013

Grand Cherokee

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had the N23 recall done on my Jeep and it no longer shifts into 4 low. Chrysler isnt putting out a real fix to this problem that they created.

- Kearney, NE, USA

problem #87

Feb 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated while driving 65 mph, the electrical system began to malfunction and caused the vehicle to down shift to the four wheel drive and damaged the rear axle. The vehicle was towed to a certified mechanic for inspection but they could not diagnose the cause of failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Colonia, NJ, USA

problem #86

Feb 062010

Grand Cherokee

  • 102,000 miles
At approximately 35mph all the lights on the dash starts flashing. The problem is intermittent but predictable.

- Wetumpka,, AL, USA

problem #85

Aug 172013

Grand Cherokee

  • 99,957 miles
N23 recall was performed to keep transfer case from shifting into neutral caused by cracked circuit board. The "fix" to this was to flash the software to make it impossible for the Jeep to shift into neutral and 4WD low. Now every vehicle that has had this recall done is unable to tow their vehicle behind a camper because the transfer case can not shift into neutral, and 4WD low is inoperable as well. Chrysler has claimed that the N23 recall has nothing to do with all of these vehicles losing 4WD low even though everyone that has had this recall done has lost neutral and 4 lo. This cheap fix has left thousands of people who spent a lot of money on these expensive vehicles without the best feature of the vehicle, 4 lo. Most people buy these Jeep because of their 4WD capability. Resale on a vehicle like this has gone right out the window with the loss of this feature. www.jeepforum.com/forum/F67/N23-recall-issue-no-4-low-1561787/ this site has an outstanding number of complaints about this problem and makes it impossible to deny that Chrysler has neglected to take care of the issue.

- Topeka , KS, USA

problem #84

Aug 152013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,831 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 grand Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the four-wheel drive low indicator light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who could not diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not been repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train) and was repaired prior to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 99,831. Updated 03/05/14

- Pikesville, MD, USA

problem #83

Jun 102008

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Driving on the highway and the entire dash board lit up, blank a few times, and then went dark. Nothing on the dash board was working (no mph, gas gauge, etc.). after a few minutes of blinking and going dark, everything begins to work again, but the check engine light comes on. This exact scenario has happened multiple times. Usually the light will stay on from anywhere between 1-5 days and then go away. I have been dealing with this issue for over a year. In once instance, I was driving around the city going 10-15 mph and this scenario happened and the brakes were not working properly and the car was very hard to turn. Everytime I have brought the car to the dealer they try to pull a code and nothing is available for them. At this point I am fed up so I am officially reporting the issue. It is completely unsafe to be driving when this happens, especially when you are on the highway. Let's hope something is officially done before anyone gets hurt.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #82

Nov 182013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Driving on the highway and the entire dash board lit up, blank a few times, and then went dark. Nothing on the dash board was working (no mph, gas gauge, etc.). after a few minutes of blinking and going dark, everything begins to work again, but the check engine light comes on. This exact scenario has happened multiple times. Usually the light will stay on from anywhere between 1-5 days and then go away. I have been dealing with this issue for over a year. In once instance, I was driving around the city going 10-15 mph and this scenario happened and the brakes were not working properly and the car was very hard to turn. Everytime I have brought the car to the dealer they try to pull a code and nothing is available for them. At this point I am fed up so I am officially reporting the issue. It is completely unsafe to be driving when this happens, especially when you are on the highway. Let's hope something is officially done before anyone gets hurt.

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #81

Oct 152013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
My pregnant wife has had this issue before with the car and we took it to the dealership without anyone being able to fix it. While driving between 15-60 mph the car completely shuts down. No power steering, brakes, or electrical. You have to throw it in neutral and start it back up. This has to be an electrical issue as other quirky things have been happening as well such as the headlights will flicker on and off and the volume and stations selectors on the steerwheel often do not work properly. This is an issue that Jeep needs to identify and fix. Very scary to be going 50-60 mph and lose control of your car going down the highway. Over the past two days this has happened three times. I have done research online as well and there are plenty of other Jeep owners that have this same issue. Jeep needs to have a recall for this issue. I am shocked that this has not happened yet.

- Rocky Point, NC, USA

problem #80

Apr 172012

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles
My 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee lardeo has all the same issues as listed by every other Jeep owner. The engine randomly shuts off while driving down the road, the dash board and headlights flicker on and off constantly. Sometimes we start sometimes we dont. When pulling out into traffic, maybe it will go, maybe it wont. I have lost my brakes on several occasions as well. Now the Jeep sits in my driveway as it wont start at all, and of coarse nobody can tell me what is wrong with it as usual ! nothing like paying for a dead horse ! I have contacted the Chrysler corporation only to be told these are not "safety" issues. Good lord what does it take to get a decent vehicle that is safe and reliable ? I guess that would be not buying anything Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep in the future is the route I will take ! I only hope when one of these ticking bombs fail, my family and friends arent on the road that day !

- Athens , PA, USA

problem #79

Jun 052013

Grand Cherokee

  • 48,000 miles
Dash warning lights all come on. Vehicle sputters and looses power. Did not stall but seemed like it almost did. Then all power came back and lights go off. Almost seems like the main computer resets. Has done it 6 times in last 3 months. Mechanic checked it and said there were no codes and could no duplicate while at the shop. Feels unsafe to drive since problem is intermittent and happens under various conditions.

- Okahumpka, FL, USA

problem #78

Sep 052013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle could not be shifted into neutral. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system) but the repair did not correct the failure. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 12/24/13

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #77

Sep 202012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Like others vehicle has stalled while at low speeds. At random times, took to my mechanic and he never could duplicate the problem. Until, I took it there for an electrical problem and to check out the steering. While he was test driving the car, it stalled on him and still could never find the problem, my lights flicker on the inside, dash over head light all inside lights, at night when I have my lights on, till I turn them very low and still flickers but can't notice it as much, inside lights don't turn on at all when I try to switch them on as well. The air bag light has stayed and been on for a while, my mechanic ran a test on that as air bag is fine but light stays on. I know there where recalls so I called Chrysler and they said my car does not qualify under any of the recalls. Now my ABS and esp/bas, traction control light are on. At first they came on while I was driving when went to slow down my breaks rattled, the lights came on then went off. Now they have been on and won't turn off. And my cruise control stopped working as well same time. There seems to be nothing that comes up while running test and stuff. My car has 115756 miles on it and these problems keep happening. Also when I start it the car ideals rough and when I'm stopped at a light tried and replaced parts and still does it. I love my Jeep and would like to have these problems found out and fix I'm almost done paying it off and want to keep it but it scares me that it's could stall any moment randomly.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #76

Aug 132013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 87,245 miles
I received a recall letter in June 2013 from Chrysler recall N23/NHTSA 13V-175 transfer case actuator. Stating software was not available just yet to fix. Then in August 2013 received a second recall notice explaining that the software is now available for the recall to be resolved. All I have to do is go to a Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep dealership and have the software reprogram the final drive controller module.on August 13/2013 I had the recall serviced at johnson Dodge dealership in budd lake NJ ( 481 rt 46 budd lake NJ 07828). They did service my vehicle for said recall. The next day and everyday since I have a warning light on my dash stating""service 4WD system". I read the car manual and did some trouble shooting, but light still on. I tried to put vehicle into 4WD lo, as instructed by the car manual. Result, is doesn't go into 4WD lo, warning message still coming on. I made an appointment (August 22/2013) for the same dealer to inspect this issue because I do believe possibly something was either done incorrectly, or wrong software. End result from second visit to dealer is, my transfer case actuator needs replacing !! ($600 plus tax). They will replace it, but I feel the two issues are related, and I should not have to pay the bill. The dealer reinspected all above components and stated the software is not working properly with the actuator? so end result is they want to replace the actuator. My original recall letter said I may have a fault in the actuator, but the second letter stated for the new software to fix all. The dealer said thats all they can do! call Chrysler and see what they say. Tried to call a second dealer, ( dover Dodge in randolph & rockaway NJ) and still waiting for a call back. I then called a 800# for Chrysler a customer hot line (800-992-1997) given to me by dealer, those too, I'm waiting on a resolution. [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Budd Lake, NJ, USA

problem #75

Jun 132013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that in June of 2013, he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). The contact stated that he contacted the dealer and they stated that the parts were not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that eight weeks later, he received a second notification but the parts were still unavailable. The contact stated that he felt that it was a safety issue that needed to be corrected. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Lenox, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?