Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,626 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

May 252015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles


The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V438000 (engine and engine cooling) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/14/16 the consumer stated the part was finally replaced after 12 months. Updated 04/19/16.

- Oxford, CT, USA

problem #31

Aug 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • 51,000 miles
I have experienced 2 incidents of my vehicle engine turning off while driving as described in the recall letter I received 4 months ago. To date, each time I call the dealership, I'm told the parts are not in, yet the recall letter states that if I have the car fixed, I can submit a receipt, which infers that there is a part available. Why has Chrysler not been pushed to resolve this issue? please press them to do so.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #30

May 252011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 72,160 miles
I was going down the highway, and all of a sudden I had no power. It was like I turned the car off. Luckily I was able to put the car into neutral and restart it. This has happened several times sense I bought the car in may of 2011. When this does happen I have no power, no dash lights, no nothing.

- Mounds, OK, USA

problem #29

Mar 132013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 68,230 miles


The check engine light would come on and go off..I was driving around 60 mph the car shifted into neutral and lost power...I was able to steer to the side of the road but I was in three lanes wide of traffic on the highway and had I not been in the lane closed to the side of the road I could have been badly injured. Within the time frame of three weeks it happened 4 times...all when I was driving highway speeds except once the car shifted into neutral on its own and powered down when I was at a stop sign in town. The check engine lights comes and goes so fast by the time I can get to a repair shop and have it scanned its usually off. I was able to scan it once and it read a code for "transmission control module"...the car runs great but I don't understand why it just powers down. How many people have to get injured from this failure before someone fixes it! this is absurd!

- Katonah, NY, USA

problem #28

Oct 202011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 42,318 miles
While entering on ramp for highway Jeep shuts off... no more control since no power. Hit the guard rail. This stalling happen on many occasions while driving or in park. With passengers in vehicle very scary. Have spent more than $4000 @ dealer @ & manufacturer involved. With no resolution...but the stress & the dissatisfaction in the american product I'd like to buy that can't be fixed. I'm convinced I'll probably never buy american again. Very disappointed on how Jeep corporate handled the issue & left me with vehicle with these problems & told me case closed... trade it in.

- E.Islip, NY, USA

problem #27

Nov 012010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Exhaust manifolds leak, potentially introducing exhaust gases, including carbon monoxide, into the passenger area. I initially took my vehicle to lithia Dodge in Santa Fe, nm to report an exhaust leak that sounded like it was coming from the passenger side and was to be repaired under warranty. They only repaired the passenger side without apparently performing a leak check. The fix for this is to replace the oem gasket with one that incorporates metal to apparently compensate for the expansion of the dissimilar metals of the head/exhaust manifold. Since there is a defect, the gaskets leak, and the uneven expansion causes the bolts/studs to break, exacerbating the problem. After the repair the sound seemed similar but I assumed it must be injector or valve/lifter noise. Recently I had my transmission serviced by a local shop and they noted that I had an exhaust leak. Again I listened and it sounded like it was coming from passenger side. This time when I took it to the dealer the mechanic performed an inspection and found the driver's side to be leaking. Again he attempted to replace the oem gasket with the upgraded gasket, but in the process broke a stud off in the head and was unable to repair without excess expense, now not under warranty, of course. The service manager also told me that the other side was leaking and that they would have to repair it, but the mechanic said that the passenger side was not leaking. It's obvious the manufacturer knows there is a defect, since they issued an upgraded gasket. These vehicles with the 4.7L V8 should be recalled and the proper gasket installed. I have read on various forums online that this has been an issue since the introduction of the 4.7L V8 in Chrysler products. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Los Alamos, NM, USA

problem #26

Oct 012010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled and the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact was able to restart the vehicle immediately after stalling. The failure recurred sporadically when driving various speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000. Updated 02/0812 the consumer stated when the vehicle stalled, he lost the ability to steer the vehicle. Updated 03/21/12

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #25

Sep 192011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
Driving approx 50 mph, the Jeep quit, no warning signs, no power steering. Momentum got me off the road. Dealership wasn't able to fix the problem. This happened in March 2011. Sept 2011 I was passing a transit bus on the way to work and as I started to pull back into my own lane the Jeep quit again. No warnings, it just quit. I had to coast into the front yard of someones house because I had no steering. I sat for a few minutes, started it up and drove back home. The onboard diagnostics light, esp, bas and traction control lights were on. From that point the Jeep was running very badly. Dealer had my Jeep for 6 days and said it was a map sensor on the manifold. Got the Jeep back and backing out of my driveway in the middle of the road, it quit. A couple tries and it restarted. I'm very upset that this vehicle has put me in harms way on 3 separate occasions. I couldn't imagine driving on a twisting steep road and having it quit. I'm lucky I wasn't killed the day I was passing the bus. I'm not convinced the map sensor is the problem and I don't trust this vehicle. I drive a lot and Transport my kids. We are all in danger in this vehicle. Mainly because, it gives you absolutely no warning that it's going to quit, it just shuts down as if I shut the key off. I have only the ignition key on the keyring so I know it has nothing to do with heavy keys pulling on the ignition switch. I am not the only complaint, they are all over the web, it is an issue and someone needs to address it. This vehicle has become dangerous.

- Interlaken, NY, USA

problem #24

Aug 082011

Grand Cherokee

  • 61,257 miles
While accelerating attempting to merge onto highway vehicle loses all power and transmissions seems to disengage and only coasts. Car acts like if I shifted into neutral but gear selected is still drive. Check engine light illuminates and engine responds to acceleration but no movement is given by transmission. RPM gauge goes all the way down to idle. Had to pull over the side of the road place in park, shut engine off and restart the vehicle then continue. This is a very dangerous and frightening situation, all power is lost and no control of acceleration is given. This is the 5th time in a year time span, this has happened. Started at about 50000 miles. This has almost caused rear end collisions as well, please look into this matter. I cannot imagine what other less skilled drivers do especially carrying children or pets very dangerous, needs a recall or sb.

- Hanford, CA, USA

problem #23

Jun 012011

Grand Cherokee

  • 54,099 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure would only occur when the vehicle was at standstill. The throttle and engine control module was repaired two months prior to the most recent failure. The contact had not taken the vehicle to the dealer for further inspection or repairs. The failure mileage was 54,099 and the current mileage was 55,000.

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #22

Apr 062011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 25,750 miles


Unintended engine acceleration / surge. On two separate occasions the 5.7 liter hemi engine in a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee suddenly surged when stopped at traffic lights. Maximum brakes were applied and the transmission was placed in neutral to prevent the Jeep from going into traffic. After the transmission was placed in neutral the engine RPM went as high 4500 RPM (normal engine RPM at idle in gear is about 700 RPM). On both occasions the Jeep was brought to a Jeep dealership to diagnosis the problem. The maintenance technicians were unable to find any fault with the vehicle (no fault codes or any abnormal behavior). This behavior could cause a serious accident the results in serious injuries and or death to individuals involved.

- West Dundee, IL, USA

problem #21

Aug 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,900 miles
Driving highway speeds of 55 mph on August 1, 2009 and heard a popping noise, thought I had run over something, a few seconds later the entire Jeep starting vibrating and awful beating and banging noises and totally lost power. Had to coast to stop alongside of road. Vehicle towed to mechanic. Found valve spring broke and total engine loss in 3.7 L V-6 engine. Had to replace engine. Chose to replace with jasper engine for warranty. Engine replaced and received Jeep back on August 20, 2009. On January 31, 2011 leaving driveway of place of employment and Jeep starting shuttering as if it was going to stall and stalled out after engine light came on. Had towed to mechanic. 17 months into a 36 month warranty with 20,000 miles on this engine, valve spring broke causing entire engine damage. Jasper is replacing this engine under warranty. According to jasper, they have replaced three engines in last three months due to valve spring breakage. Valve spring has not been updated. Afraid this will happen again if Chrysler does not update with newer stronger valve spring.

- Kingsley, MI, USA

problem #20

Nov 192010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
Jeep stalls while driving!!!!!!!!!!! 2nd incident in the last 2 months.

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #19

Nov 292009

Grand Cherokee

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the engine light would intermittently illuminate. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership who stated that it was probably caused by the gasoline cap. The dealer inspected the vehicle and stated that there was a misfire in the engine but they could not determine where. The contact then stated that after a few months, a constant cloud of smoke emitted from the tail pipe. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who stated that antifreeze was mixing with the engine oil. The contact consulted the dealership who stated that the antifreeze could not have caused the failure. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The vehicle was repaired by the local mechanic. The VIN was unavailable when the complaint was filed. The current mileage was approximately 43,800. The failure mileage was approximately 42,000.

- Wilmington, IN, USA

problem #18

Jul 192010

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,785 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact then shut off the vehicle and shifted into park. He was able to restart the vehicle as it resumed normal operation. The contact stated the failure had occurred twice. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 78,785 and the current mileage was 80,359. Updated 10/26/10. Updated 10/26/10

- Valdosta, GA, USA

problem #17

Feb 012007

Grand Cherokee

  • 67,000 miles
When goin over a curb or a bump on the back tires the car losses power even when you press on the gas for several seconds.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 232009

Grand Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles
Our 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee with the 4.7 L engine has stalled in this same manner on several occasions. None, fortunately at highway speeds. It tends to occur while braking to slow down. The engine will stall with no warning and forcing the driver to re-start the engine. We have not needed to be towed but we have had it looked at by the dealer with no success in them being able to duplicate the problem.

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #15

Nov 112009

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 27,199 miles
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4 4.7L V8 with 27199 miles. Vehicle stalled while traveling at highway speeds accompanied by a total loss of electrical power including headlights. Steering and brakes were both difficult to use while attempting to slow vehicle and pull onto shoulder. This is a very unsafe condition and there was no warning prior to the event. Towed to dealership and was informed there were no codes in the system and they were unable to find a problem after two days of diagnosis and road testing. I have read numerous reports of similar problems, and the 2006 Jeep commander with the same engine was recalled for the same issue.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #14

Apr 032009

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,000 miles
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee, engine failed, not under warranty, was not investigated as to whether it was product failure, $7,000 for a new engine, service advisor advised to scrap and get a new vehicle, an employee at dealership would purchase vehicle for $2,000 (bluebook with running engine is $15,000).

- Davison, MI, USA

problem #13

Oct 272008

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles
On October 27, 2008 I was driving my 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee towards los alamos, New Mexico, for no apparent reason the vehicle stalled and eventually burst into flames, initial reports from the investgation revealed an engine electrical fire was the cause.

- Ranchos De Taos, NM, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?