Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,123 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #58

Feb 052013

Grand Cherokee

  • 124,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down the road the car will not go over 45 mph. The only way to quick fix the problem is to turn the car off then back on then it will run normal. Also the car has stalled out when I was turning down the road and would not go until I put the car in park then put it back in drive.

- Great Falls, MT, USA

problem #57

Feb 082007

Grand Cherokee

  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the transmission did not shift gears properly and had a substantial delayed response. The contact also stated that the vehicle jerked violently. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was shut down and restarted; the vehicle functioned as normal. The failure occurred intermittently at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to both an authorized dealer and independent auto shop for diagnosis. The technicians were unable to duplicate or locate the malfunction. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 500.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #56

Jun 012010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 32,800 miles
Originally having issues slowing down going around corners and up a steep incline. Felt like vehicle was staying in higher gear, you could down shift it manually. At that time there were no codes present in the system. Then last year in August 2011 we did a cross county trip (7000 miles) vehicle would stall at both low speed and high speeds, not every day. Sometimes vehicle would restart itself and others the key had to be removed and reinserted, but most times not. The weather did not seem to be a factor. Upon return vehicle had approx 45,000 miles, codes retreived from vehicle were multiple. Active codes: B2105, C121C pending code: P0524 stored codes P0129, P0688, P0884. At 35,000 miles new oem spark plugs and water pump (due to coolant leak) with new antifreeze. Vehicle is serviced regularly every 3,000 miles since new. Since 45,000 miles all related circuits and components have been inspected and checked for proper operation. New crank sensor and electrical ignition switch. Code B2105 keeps recurring even without stall. All wiring connections and grounds have been cleaned and checked, new battery at 36,000. Had vehicle to dealer and they said they may not be able to find problem. We have stopped driving this vehicle even though we are still paying for it because we feel that it is not safe. My husband has 40 years as certified automotive mechanic and is very frustrated with this vehicle.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #55

Oct 312012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased 07 Jeep 10/20/2012 shortly after it stalled in car wash about a week later it stalled again. The problem soon began to stall on interstate and recovers at higher speeds. As time passes the problem is happening at least 8 times a week mostly while idling or coasting.

- Sparta , WI, USA

problem #54

Dec 272012

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
I was driving down the road, only going around 15 mph, when my P R N D all lit up and I was unable to drive. I stopped and put it in park and tried again and it ran fine. This happened on two other occasions. I was getting ready to leave and put my vehicle in drive and it jerked forward. I'm very disappointed that I have to replace the electronic monitoring system at such a low mileage, the cost for this is close to $400 and that is not pricing labor and not to mention dangerous for this to happen while you are driving.

- Greencastle, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #53

Mar 182012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 45,203 miles
Vehicle stall out at various speeds, or when idling stationary. Comes on without warning. Seems these stalling problems are common with 5.7 hemi Jeep Grand Cherokee, even according to the dealer. This is a serious safety hazard as power steering and brakes are lost during a stall. An inoperative vehicle in a traffic lane could suffer a rear-end collision from this condition. Please help by ordering a recall from Chrysler company to remedy the problem. Nothing seems to remedy the situation and it keeps occurring.

- Havre De Grace, MD, USA

problem #52

Jan 142013

Grand Cherokee

  • 105,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down road and engine stalled. Loss of power steering and power brakes. Put car in park and the car still moved wouldn't restart had to switch ignition off and take key out of ignition before engine would start. Stalls at random without any engine malfunction lamps. Hazard to be driving on road. Problem still unknown and vehicle is out of extended warranty.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #51

Dec 222012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 53,863 miles
Purchased 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland 5.7 hemi July 31, 2007. December 1, 2010 my wife was traveling on an interstate at 65 mph when the engine suddenly shut down. She managed to pull the car off the road, started the engine and drove home without any more issues. Dealership technician discovered P0884 code from the PCM. He could not find any problems. Car continued to stall numerous times at high speed and sometimes while stopped at a stop sign or red light. This problem started shortly after the engine spark plugs were changed. After numerous parts were changed at the dealership, with no results, the technician contacted an engineer from the Chrysler company. During an on site visit the engineer suspected there was an issue with the upper engine harness receiving an electrical induction from the engine coils causing the PCM to shut the engine down. The technician installed foil around the harness and wire tied the harness up off the cradles they lay in. Engine performed normal with no shut downs for several months. Decision was made to change the upper engine harness. Since the harness was changed my Jeep has stalled out four more times. The most recent stall occurred the last week of December 2012. This is an extremely dangerous situation to be traveling at interstate speed limits and your car stalls. Chrysler places drivers in a situation with a vehicle that is uncontrollable while traveling on an interstate with cars behind you. I started an on line thread in Jeep forum.com concerning this issue. www.jeepforum.com/forum/F67/2007-Jeep-grand-Cherokee-overland-stalling-problem-1147825/. there are numerous other folks having this problem in the usa, Canada, and Hawaii. I think that an investigation should be performed to discover what is causing this issue and come up with a positive repair for customers that are having this problem.

- O'fallon, IL, USA

problem #50

Jan 042013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
Driving down road and engine stalled. Loss of power steering and power brakes. Caused car behind me to slam on brakes to avoid getting hit. Put in neutral and tried to start. Had to switch ignition off before engine would start. Stalls at random without any engine malfunction lamps. Hazard to be driving on road. Problem still unknown and vehicle is out of extended warranty by five thousand miles.

- Gaston, SC, USA

problem #49

Jun 222012

Grand Cherokee

  • 64,500 miles
While driving on the interstate at 65 mph, the vehicle's engine stalled. I had to put the vehicle in neutral, turn the ignition off an back on to restart it. This first happened just after the 30 day warranty was over, as I bought the vehicle used in may of 2012. Since that time, the vehicle has stalled at highway speeds or when slowing down for a stop on dozens if not hundreds of occasions. The spark plugs, egr valve, ignition coil, PCV valve and map sensor have been changed to no effect. There are no meaningful diagnostic codes stored in the obd-II system. I feel this condition is very dangerous, as I never know when the vehicle will stall, causing a loss of power steering and brakes, and the ability to accelerate out of harm's way. It is my understanding that many of these same vehicles with the same engine are having similar issues. I can no longer let my wife or teenage son drive the vehicle because of this condition.

- Churchville, MD, USA

problem #48

Aug 112010

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl Diesel

  • 31,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3.0 liter crd has had multiple problems from purchase to include air intake, oil systems, and seals. Engine is unreliable and does not seem to last more than 5,000 miles before needing major repairs. Based off of my experiences I believe the engine is faulty and can lead to safety issues while driving. In a 3 year period vehicle has been quoted as needing in excess of $20,000 in engine repairs. Air intake clogs with oil. Oil system leaks from multiple locations to include engine oil cooler, and intake runners. Back engine oil seals leak. Turbo clogs with engine oil. Vehicle has 46,000 miles on it.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #47

Nov 282012

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles
Esm- electronic shift module issue: P, R, N, D, L all light up simultaneously and the car gets confused as to which gear it should be using.the check engine light has come on. It shifts roughly. Often the car loses power driving down the street, highway and interstate, how is this not a recall"?? this is the 4th time this has happen, and this time the check engine light is on. Does someone have to get killed before this is recalled??" ps-your vehicle drop box does not work. ## VIN failed ##

- Monroe, GA, USA

problem #46

Nov 162012

Grand Cherokee

  • 79,000 miles
The vehicle will stall out when you are trying to accelerate, even with the gas pedal to the floor the rpms will shoot up but the vehicle will not move forward. If you stop and put the car in neutral it will sometimes fix itself but not always and this is not a good option to resort to in the middle of an intersection. This vehicle will also downshift on its own while you are driving at a high speed slowing your car without warning. Very dangerous if driving on the interstate with other vehicles around. Was told replacing the electronic shift module (at $1100) may possibly fix the problem but the dealership was not sure that this would remedy the issue.

- Newport, KY, USA

problem #45

Nov 162012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 10,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 40 mph, the accelerator pedal was engaged but failed to respond. The contact merged to the shoulder, powered off and restarted the vehicle. The vehicle intermittently continued to experience failures with the accelerator as the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and the current mileage was 10,500. Updated 12/11/12 the consumer stated he was in the process of making arrangements to have the vehicle repaired. Updated 12/17/12

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #44

Nov 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle became hesitant and would not accelerate over 25 mph. The contact had to merge off the highway and restart the vehicle before resuming normal operation. The failure recurred on an intermittent basis. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer or an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileages were approximately 65,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Gainesville, VA, USA

problem #43

Sep 292008

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 28,001 miles
09/29/2008 Jeep taken to garage for head light failure nothing found. 03/09/2012 to 11/07/2012 all indicator light flash exterior lights flash. Been to the dealership three times for numerous days at a time they can not find anything wrong still having this problem. Really not good when it is dark out and you don't have headlights. At 15,000 and 35,000 I had to have the shift modular replaced because all the car would basically go in to neutral when being driven. I would have to pull over and turn the car off and restart it. The first time it was at the dealership for three days they could not find a problem and sent it home only to have to return 2 days later with the same problem. As I have found many people on line with these same issues makes you wonder first why these issues can't seem to be fixed, second why there has not been a recall. It is truly a miracle that no one I have heard of has been injured or killed because of these defects. When the Jeep is working I love it. If I had a hope and a pray of getting a new vehicle I would trade in my paid off Jeep in a heart beat so that I wouldn't have to constantly worry that it stop running or that I will be driving blind in the dark. Sadly I didn't even touch on the other electrical issues I.e. window that had to be fixed remote keyless issues it is sad that the company doesn't do anything about these things this will be my last Jeep. I feel that these problems are dangerous for me, my family and anyone that is on the road with me and other Jeep owner with the same issues.

- Royersford, PA, USA

problem #42

Oct 262012

Grand Cherokee

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that she attempted to shift to the park position but was unable to do so. The contact mentioned that the vehicle had to be shifted into the neutral position and apply the emergency brake in order to park it. The manufacturer was notified and stated they had received several complaints but a recall had not been issued at that time. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 62,000.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #41

Jun 132012

Grand Cherokee

  • 33,000 miles
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo - randomly the vehicle will not start, when turning the key to in the ignition you can hear the relay clicking, engine does not crank or start. When the key is returned to the off position the data display below the tachometer momentarily states that the transmission is overheated. The battery is fully charged and everything else, lights, horn, etc still work. There are no error codes dumped. The first attempt to fix this by the dealership was to replace the starter, now 4 months later the vehicle is doing the same exact thing. This has become a reliability issue in that there is no telling when this will occur, each time family members have been stranded with this vehicle, Jeep dealership seems to be "stumped". I have read of many Jeep vehicles that demonstrate this very same problem, without resolution. This can be an intermittent issue, usually have to wait until it becomes a "hard" fail before the dealership will look at it. This is extremely frustrating owning this vehicle not knowing when it will or will not start and whether the dealership can or cannot fix it!

- Essex, VT, USA

problem #40

Aug 112012

Grand Cherokee

  • 95,000 miles
Jeep looses power, will not accelerate over 30 mph. This has not happen on a highway yet (luckily) only in-town driving. No error codes present in dtc report or from a diagnostic that cost $90 something needs to be done about this before an accident results in a fatality. There seems to me many instances like this on these boards. This is the first investment of a 'real' vehicle that I've had. To pay money for something dependable is the goal. Currently this vehicle is not dependable, let alone safe.

- Fargo , ND, USA

problem #39

Aug 012012

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • 100,000 miles
My wife was driving and just about to get onto the interstate and with no warning, she couldn't accelerate past 25-30mph. Luckily she was able to pull to the side of the road quickly without an issue and turned the car off, waited a minute and started the Jeep up again and was then able to accelerate. When talking to the dealer, they have never heard of this problem before. When Jeep was checked at a local dealer, they pulled error codes that pointed to the transmission speed sensor. Only about $700 to replace that with labor!! the sensors are all part of the circuit board and thus need to dismantle the transmission to replace the sensors. Then I get on this site and see all the complaints with the same issue. This weekend I'm going car searching to get rid of this thing.

- Hamel, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?