Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,123 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Oct 222010

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles


After being parked the Jeep would not start, code displayed in the dash stated transmission over temp, after sitting for about 30 more minutes the Jeep started - drove home and it would not start again - took it to a garage and they could not get the problem to replicate after having it for a week. July 5, 2011 - Jeep would not start again, transmission over temp code, still intermittent, after 2 weeks the garage replaced the transmission control module, August 6, 2012 - transmission over temp error code, this time it will not start after any pause in driving, had it towed to the dealer and they are saying its the starter (Jeep now has about 65,000 miles on it) - also had to replace the right front speed sensor (it is bad and causing the traction control system not to function properly).[additional notes: Had to replace the esm at 28596 miles, Jeep loss of engine power and all lights lit up on gear shifter, at 27170 miles had to replace both front window regulators].

- York Springs, PA, USA

problem #37

Dec 082009

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles
I write this only because I just experience my fourth mechanical breakdown in three years. In December 2009, I experienced the first breakdown in what has become a string of malfunctions. The transmission on my 2007 Grand Cherokee Laredo gave out at about 40,000 miles. When trying to start the vehicle, I got a 'transmission overheat' message on the dash display along with the engine malfunction indicator. I took it to the dealership where I purchased it and it took nearly a month for the repair shop to locate, receive and install the necessary parts. Apparently supply and demand had something to do with it, indicating to me that this was an issue nationwide. A month later, another malfunction, this time, the electronic shift module (esm) had died. Just over a year later, the same component (esm) died again (of course just out of warranty), this time while I was driving along rt. 50 outside of DC. Now, less than six months later, with less than 40,000 on the already replaced transmission, my transmission has blown again - same 'transmission overheat' message, same engine malfunction light, same undrivability. Clearly from seeing the comments on this forum as well as other reputable sites such as edmunds and consumer reports, the 2007 Grand Cherokee Laredo has a long, long history of mechanical and electronic problems. I have a phone call scheduled with a case worker scheduled for tomorrow, 7/13/2012. They'll either make it right or I'll be taking my story to small claims court. I encourage everyone who's had issues with this model to do the same.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #36

Jun 262012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
While driving on a 5 lane interstate at 4:30 pm, I accelerated to move over into the far left lane and lost all acceleration while doing this. Also, the check engine light came on while this happened. Had to coast across five lanes of interstate into the emergency lane. Stopped the car and put it in park. Waited a minute and put it back in drive and the accelerator magically worked again. The check engine light remained on, drove to an auto parts store to have the code checked. The technician said it was code P0730, gear ratio incorrect.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #35

Feb 012012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles


I have two problems with the vehicle that make it unsafe to drive. The first is that the engine randomly stalls. Most of the time it stalls when the vehicle is stopped. Sometimes it stalls at very slow speeds. When stopped, sometimes I hear a "thunk" right before it stalls like it was trying to go into gear. It has done this running in park and when the brake is pressed while in drive. It has stalled on me in busy intersections putting me in unsafe situations. Turning the key all the way off and back on will restart it. The second issue is that the transmission randomly gets stuck in 4th gear. It happens most often when a lot of power has been applied from stop. But it also happens randomly. When it occurs, I pull over and stop the engine turning the key all the way off. Usually when I restart it will go back to drive and all the gears in the transmission function normally. The issue is so chronic now with the transmission that it immediately goes into 4th and the vehicle is not drivable. It is at the dealer now. The dealer pulled codes and recommends replacing the transmission solenoid pack. This part is currently on national backorder and there is no eta of when the part will be available to the dealer. Also there is no guarantee that this part will fix the transmission problem. If it doesn't, the vehicle will require a new transmission. They are not even looking at the stalling problem until the transmission problem is resolved. The stalling problem is very serious and I cannot confidently use the vehicle without fearing putting children in an unsafe situation. There should be a safety recall by Chrysler on these vehicles.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #34

Mar 102010

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4. While the contact was driving approximately 65 mph, the entire instrument panel illuminated intermittently. The vehicle suddenly began to decelerate. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing on two occasions for the similar failure. The technician stated the problem could possibly be contributed to the esm or either the PCM. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Groveland , MA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #33

Apr 102012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 38,100 miles
Jeep does not start. Message saying transmission temp over.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #32

Apr 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • 54,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle began to jerk and then the speed began to reduce to 20 mph unintendedely. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis and they stated that the failure was contributed to a faulty electronic shift control module. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that there was not a recall related to the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 54,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Mountain Home, AR, USA

problem #31

Feb 142012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 58,774 miles
Was attempting to merge onto a busy freeway and accelerated up to 60mph when the Jeep suddenly slammed into second gear and refused to shift. I couldn't get it to do anything other than "limp" very roughly to the shoulder. If people hadn't slowed down I would have been busted from several points. Took it to the local Jeep dealership and they told me that it happens with Jeep Grand Cherokee all the time and that they recommended replacing the esm but stated that it doesn't always fix the problem and that they've replaced thousands only to have it recur months later. This is going to get someone killed.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #30

Jun 012009

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
While pulling out of a gas station into heavy traffic, I began accelerating to the speed limit of 45 mph. I was accelerating rapidly as traffic was coming quickly from behind. The Jeep stopped accelerating and the instrument panel showed all of the drive letters with boxes around them. The Jeep would not accelerate for over 20 seconds, causing me to rapidly pull off of the road to avoid traffic behind me. The dealer found a faulty electronic shift module and replaced it. The vehicle has worked well until 2/15/12. At 70,000 miles, the dealer installed module has failed again. Once more this happened when entering a heavy traffic roadway. There have been numerous reports throughout the internet of people experiencing this same issue. In my case, both failures resulted in me having to take evasive action to avoid a collision. I find it hard to believe that this seemingly common problem has not been identified as the tremendous safety problem it.

- Perry, OH, USA

problem #29

Feb 162012

Grand Cherokee

  • 69,000 miles
Was pulling from a stop sign when the vehicle suddenly shifted to fourth gear without touching shift left lever causing the vehicle to accelerate very slow and was almost hit by cross traffic because I could not get out of the way, luckily they swerved around me. I have read multiple complaints of same problem with shifting out of control. It must be a manufacturer defect. If it had not been for an alert driver the situation might have turned out differently for my family and I. Jeep needs to remedy this problem before somebody is killed.

- North East, PA, USA

problem #28

Mar 162010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 47,025 miles


The "shifter module" is clearly defective and is a serious safety hazard. My wife and kids were in the car when it first starting acting up. Luckily, they were just leaving the driveway and no other cars were coming down the street. The transmission malfunctioned. On the instrument cluster "transmission overtemp" was flashing, and all of the other warning lights illuminated on the cluster. When I brought the car to my local dealer, a parts representative told me that he has had to replace so many of these shifter modules that he's memorized the part # (not kidding). He told me that they are aware of the problem and that their shop swaps out the defective Jeep shifter modules with Mercedes shifter modules. Unfortunately, this repair cost me well over $1000. Bottom line - my wife drives this car around town. I don't have a tow hitch, and I pamper this car. Still, Jeep refused to reimburse me for this costly repair. I have called Chrysler about this, but Chrysler will not acknowledge this defective part. Yet, on reputable auto forums, many other owners have complained about the same exact shifter module defect. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Hauppauge, NY, USA

problem #27

Jan 112012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 79,400 miles
I purchased this vehicle on December 14, 2011. About three weeks later in a parking lot, we noticed the vehicle would not accelerate even though the accelerator pedal was pushed virtually all the way down. A few days later the engine warning light came on. Then the lack of acceleration happened on the interstate. My mechanic cleared the engine warning light but it came back on a few days later. I did a lot of research and it appears this is a common problem on Jeep vehicles. The problem is a failure of the electronic shift module. It if very expensive to have replaced. My local dealership charged me $924 plus tax. As many comments as I have seen on this and the fact that lack of acceleration is a safety issue, Jeep should not hesitate in issuing a recall.

- Fort Smith, AR, USA

problem #26

Jan 202012

Grand Cherokee

  • 44,433 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact was driving 65 mph when all of the warning lamps illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after several moments. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the shift module was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who stated that they would contact her at a later date. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 44,433.

- Trenton , MI, USA

problem #25

Jan 212011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
Upon acceleration from stop vehicle will hesitate and lose power. This constitutes a hazard to vehicle and any approaching vehicles during a turn. Inspection indicates that transmission electronic control module is at fault along with a possible transmission sensor failure. The check engine light will come on. Both of these conditions ( power and check engine ) are intermittent, indicating that the module is faulty. There have been many complaints about the transmission ECM on these vehicles. The other complaints have varying symptoms but all go back to the transmission ECM. These unit should be recalled and repaired or replaced at manufacturers cost. This problem exists in many different models and years of vehicles, but always go back to this ECM unit. After investigating this problem I don't feel that the consumer is at fault or causing this to occur. Chrysler modules are and have been faulty in the past. Anecdotal evidence says that other modules in Chrysler vehicles have had problems too. Please investigate the Chrysler transmission ECM's and have them recalled.

- Rochester Hill, MI, USA

problem #24

Dec 162011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 20 miles
While I was driving home last night 12/16/11 with my fiancee we stopped at a traffic light, and when the light turned green the Jeep started back up fine all except it couldn't go faster than 20 miles per hour. So I put my flashers on and the traffic behind me went around us, then it worked itself out, but did it again when I came to another traffic light. But this time I was able to use my manual shift to help it. No warning lights came on. And I just purchased this Jeep 2 days ago. I would like to get this safety issue fixed since I have seen that this is a dangerous and common problem with the other 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I am also a firefighter and I depend on this Jeep to get me to fire scenes and other emergency scenes, and I don't want to be in an emergency scene involving me due to the safety issues this Jeep is having. Can someone please do a recall and have this issue fixed.

- Henderson, TN, USA

problem #23

Aug 242011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
While driving the vehicle loses power no matter how much gas you give it. The engine light comes on and off every few days. All the gear indicator lights are highlighted.

- Saxonburg, PA, USA

problem #22

Dec 092011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 47,200 miles
I was driving approximately 40 mph in the fast lane of a main two-lane residential roadway when the vehicle suddenly jerked violently forward throwing me into the steering wheel and then all acceleration and speed stopped. The steering wheel became abnormally stiff and difficult to turn however I was able to guide the completely stalled and decelerating vehicle to the slow lane and pull-off on the side of the road (with no side lane) with hazards flashing and traffic passing. This was an inherently dangerous condition as the flow of traffic was going approximately 35 - 40 in the fast lane at which time I completely lost power and had limited steering (more like coasting) ability. I was able to turn the engine completely off and restart, however the next day under similar conditions of normal driving conditions the vehicle jerked and stalled again, and restarted after a complete shutdown. This vehicle on the third day post the first incident failed to restart after driving to a local shopping destination and turning the car off to park. I left the vehicle at the location for approximately 4 to 5 hours and retrieved the vehicle upon which it started with a documented call into road side assistance program from Jeep. The next day (Monday) I drove to an authorized dealer upon which they stated the failure was the electronic shift module (esm) [(not to be confused with the electronic stability control (ESC)] which controls the electronic signals from the computer to the transmission at a personal cost of $820. I believe this represents a known defect as currently 55 out of the 133 complaints listed here are describing a similar series of events and root cause, and would be willing to be involved in a class action law suit against Jeep as life, limb and property are at stake.

- Columbus , OH, USA

problem #21

Nov 162011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
When you shift from park the prdnl will have a box around each of the letters. When backing up it slams into reverse and then slams into drive and the vehicle will only go 20 mph no matter how much you step on the gas. This has now happened 5 times and the only way it goes back to normal is to shut off the vehicle and start it back up. I have now seen numerous blogs where this happens at highway speeds, in the middle of intersections and is so dangerous to drive cause you never know when it is going to happen. From what I have read it looks like you have to replace the electronic control module at a cost of almost $800 to just have it go out again later and have the same problem again. This is very dangerous and scary!

- Elkhart, IN, USA

problem #20

Nov 192011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
While driving the vehicle, had a sudden lose of ability to accelerate, no throttle response, no rpms on the tach, and every gear indicator was illuminated as if in all gears at the same time (park, reverse, neutral, drive). Dealership says its part # 52124137ac that needs to be replaced, and is not covered under any power train warranty, at a cost of $817. This problem happened 4 times before I was able to get it in to the local dealership, never on the highway, if it had happened on the highway, im sure I would have been taking a chance with my life.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #19

Oct 182011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Owned the 07 Jeep for 5 months. Vehicle has been serviced for 2 different incidents. The 1st incident(actually happened several times) is when the vehicle would not shift during acceleration and it would force me to the side of the road where I would have to turn the vehicle on and off until it would run correctly. Was told by dealership service that it was a transmission sensor, had the part replaced-not covered by warranty. Less then 3 weeks later, 2nd incident occurred when I was driving 55mph down the interstate while accelerating to get over to an exit, the vehicle threw itself back into 2nd gear and I was forced to get over into the emergency lane so as not to be struck by oncoming traffic. The Jeep had almost come to a complete stop in traffic! check engine light came on and went off after that. Dealership states the gear ratio and valve cover forced the vehicle into 2nd gear. Very dangerous!

- Macon, GA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?