10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,329 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 25 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #118

May 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 20 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle hesitated but was able to restart after several attempts. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The battery and starter were replaced, but the failure recurred. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system), but the part needed for the repair was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- Riverview , FL, USA

problem #117

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The manufacturer advised the contact that the parts might become available at a minimum of sixty days. The contact refused to drive the vehicle at this time or during inclement weather because of the potential safety risk. The contact purchased the vehicle in June 2007 and was the original owner. The current mileage was 49,000. There were no failures at this time. Updated 12/01/14 updated 10/13/2015

- Defiance , MO, USA

problem #116

Aug 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number 14V438000 (electrical system). The dealer would not be able to repair the vehicle for one month because the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. Pam

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #115

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical) was received in September of 2014. The contact stated that after contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, he was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle was still not available and no estimated time to receiving the parts could be given. The contact did not experience a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Clifon, NJ, USA

problem #114

Jun 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V54000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 133,000.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #113

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact would have to wait several minutes before the vehicle would restart. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Prospect, KY, USA

problem #112

Dec 012008

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number 14V438000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to remedy the recall was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Bridgewater Corners , VT, USA

problem #111

Jul 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,400 miles
I have been having trouble starting my 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee for months. First I changed the battery that was over $170 dollars, then a few weeks ago the starter that was $340 dollars meanwhile the problem was the ignition switch.I brought my car back to my mechanic and now he tells me it is the ignition switch that same day I receive in the mail a recall notice from Chrysler for the ignition switch. Chrysler also states that they do not have any parts to fix the problem and that the car is totally unsafe to drivein their recall notice. I need a car to go to my appointments for work I cannot depend on this car and it is unsafe to drive. Therefore I have to rent a car and Chrysler should pay for the rental car that I need to drive during the period that they do not have parts for my car. I already called my local dealer and they said speak to Chrysler. I called their toll free number 1 800 992 1997 and received an incident number of #[xxx]. the person I spoke to was [xxx] she said she was escalating my call to parts and they will be contacting me in a few days. It is now Sunday September 21st and I am renting a car as of today because Chrysler does not have parts to fix the car they manufactured. Chrysler must be held responsible for all costs and injuries related to this problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Baldwin, NY, USA

problem #110

Aug 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph, the engine stalled without warning and failed to restart. Additionally, the contact stated that the entire instrument panel failed and was not reading the correct reading levels for the fuel and speedometer. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced and that there was an electrical failure present. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received NHTSA campaign: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer was uncertain of when the part would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 113,000.

- Wikes Barre, PA, USA

problem #109

Sep 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 48 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning causing the contact to crash into a curb. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was able to restart. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. On another occasion, the vehicle stalled at a stop light. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V348000 (electrical system) but the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 121,000.

- Chesterfield , MI, USA

problem #108

May 022008

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled intermittently on several occasions. The vehicle was able to be restarted after numerous attempts. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. While exiting a parking lot, the vehicle stalled and crashed into a utility pole. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The contact was informed of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system), but the parts were not available to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified and did not provide a remedy. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 11/14/14 the consumer stated the vehicle had multiple electrical failures involving the windows, sunroof, and dash lights. Updated 8/5/2015

- Neptune City, NJ, USA

problem #107

Aug 082014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
It usually takes a good 10 to 15 minutes to start sometimes then when I do get it started I have the same issues that I have read about on this website and many other websites. The car will not go over 20 miles per hour and you have to pull off the road, turn off the vehicle, wait and turn it back on. It is almost like the Jeep has to be reset. I have talked with several people and had the codes ran. It keeps coming up that it is the solenoid and starter. I have read on many blogs about the same issue that the solenoid wires are not protected from rain water in this vehicle and it causes them to corrode or go bad all together. This is an issue that needs to be recalled. If they know that the wires are not protected from rain water then there needs to be some type of protection that they can put over them or install a different kind of wire. This is costing people hundreds of dollars to repair something that should have never been an issue. Also this is a safety hazard because when we pull out on the road we expect our vehicle to excel properly and go over 20 miles per hour.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #106

Sep 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 62,585 miles
The first incident occurred in a brief manner. The vehicle would not start, system stated that the vehicle was not in gear. I turned the key to off. Then tried again and the vehicle started. I left in the vehicle without incident several other times that day. The next day I attempted to start the vehicle, it would not start. One of the attempts the brake would not depress. After several other attempts (of on to off) the vehicle started. Ran normal. Once turned off it would not restart. The brakes are normal again. All electrical cables are attached, no corrosion. Vehicle has full power to other components. Yet the starter is not engaging. The system is not showing any errors. We called Chrysler (not a dealer), according to our VIN they determined that the vehicle is not included in any of the ignition recalls.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #105

Dec 232013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 70,850 miles
When stopped at a stop light on a very congested road. I pressed the accelerator to proceed when the light turned green. I experienced a slow sluggish start so I pressed the accelerator further to the floorboard, there was no response by the engine. Car proceeded at a slow rate of speed (10 mph with RPM's at 2500). I had to pull off to the side of the road and restart car which did somewhat fix the problem. I have experienced this numerous times now, usually occurs when the car is shifting in 1st and 2nd gear. My concern is when I pull into a right of way and the car does not properly accelerate I put myself and passengers at a safety risk of being collided in the rear of my car by another car.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #104

Jul 152014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 97,715 miles
I was driving on route 50 going 65mph. This vehicle is a quad 4X4 automatic / stick shift manual, which was in my favor. When I realized the vehicle was shutting down I had to think quickly what my next steps would be. I started to get over to the right side of the road and brake, because the vehicle was shutting down the power brakes where going out and I could not brake completely. The vehicle was still moving and I was about 200 yards away from my exit and the side of the road was winding around toward the off ramp and getting smaller for me to drive on. I realized that I was not able stop the vehicle by using the floor brake then the fear factor set in. In my mind the only thing I can do is pull the stick shift handbrake and quickly put the vehicle in park then I was able to get control and safely stop the vehicle. This ordeal happened at 4:20pm yesterday and by the time we towed the vehicle back to the dealership and tried to explain to the general sales manager, si faige, on site at darcars in new carrollton, md what all transpired on the road in the unsafe vehicle that they sold us, he didn't want to hear any of it.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #103

Mar 142014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 67,328 miles
I am writing to you requesting your assistance in finding out what is wrong with my 2007, 67,000 mile Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. For approximately four months while driving the car it has been randomly miss firing, bucking and surging, and stalling when coming to a complete stop. The unpredictability of the cars speed, bucking and surging, and stalling when stopped is a major safety concern to me because this occurs without notice on both street and freeway driving. I have taken my car to the nearest Jeep service dealer, crystal Chrysler Jeep three times now and they have not been able to diagnose the cause to this problem. In fact, my car has been in the service department at crystal Chrysler for nearly three weeks now, and they cannot identify specifically what is causing this malfunction. My frustration over my beloved Jeep grows because without finding the cause there is no telling when my car will be ready. This experience now has me questioning the reliability of Jeep vehicles and the confidence in service dealers like crystal Chrysler. Please help me find out what is wrong with my Jeep vehicle.

- Palm Desert, CA, USA

problem #102

Sep 132013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 87,328 miles
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to service 4 wheel" error code message appears when vehicle is put into neutral. The consumer stated he took the vehicle to the dealer, for repairs under recall 13V175000. After the recall was performed, he stated the following happened with the vehicle: When he attempted to put the vehicle in neutral, a message appeared that read service 4-wheel. He took the vehicle to a repair shop and was told the error code said the transfer case encoded motor was at fault. He had the repair done and had the transmission and transfer case serviced. The encoder motor had to be purchased from the Chrysler dealer. Two months later, he attempted to put the vehicle in neutral and the same message appeared. He took the vehicle back to the dealer and they performed the same recall repairs. On April 24, 2014, the message appeared again. On April 30, 2014 the vehicle would not start, so it had to be towed to the dealer. They replaced the starter solenoid and both front window motors. Also, the service 4 wheel had appeared again. On May 2, 21, and 27 2014, the same service message appeared, as well as June 1, 2014.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #101

Nov 292013

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles
I purchased my Jeep a little over a year ago used. I have had numerous problems since I have purchased it. First it was thought to be an electrical problem since the car would randomly shutter, would not want to start or just turned off. Battery was replaced multiple times, since it would leave stranded at any given time. The engine light comes on, but there has not been a solution to what it can be. I feel very unsafe in my car, and I am not sure what to do at this point. When I turn the car on, there is a loud hum or propelling sound coming out of the engine. When I come to a stop you can feel the car shake when the noise happens.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #100

May 032014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The vehicle is equipped with air pressure sensing tire valves that are made of a substandard metal that corrodes and brakes. The first time I had an issue the tip of the valve broke and the tire could not be inflated. The second time, today, the valve broke in half and the tire deflated in about ten seconds. Fortunately, the vehicle was not moving. I replaced the part at the dealer the first time and they stated it was a known issue with the part and that a new part had been made that would not corrode. The fact that it has happened on two of the four sensors shows this is not an uncommon problem. Clearly such a blow out at highway speeds would have put my life and the lives of those near me in jeopardy.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #99

Jan 082014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 77,905 miles
I took ownership of the vehicle in December 2013. While driving, the vehicle engine has suddenly shut down on three separate occasions. The first time was in January 2014 in heavy highway traffic near Colorado springs at about 50mph. I was able to move to the shoulder and turned the key off then restarted the engine. There seemed to be no adverse effects thereafter so I thought it was a random event. Then one week later driving on a lightly trafficked highway in wy at about 60mph, with the cruise control engaged, the engine again suddenly shut down and again I was able to steer to the shoulder and switched the ignition off and then restart it. When I returned home I had my local mechanic check the vehicle over and had him check the computer for faults. After the checkup I thought the issue was settled. Then in March driving down a winding mountain road near boise id the engine again suddenly shut down and I steered to the road side where I switched the ignition off and then restarted it. There after I read about this issue concerning some Jeep models. I put my VIN number in the Jeep website and it said there were no recalls for it. I will take it to the dealer in hopes there is a resolution for this seemingly chronic serious problem.

- Boise, ID, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?