Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,499 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #51

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles


I bought a used 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee 2 years ago in Alabama. We have since moved to New York state and they do vehicle inspections (Alabama does not). When getting the vehicle inspected it was discovered that the cut out for the check engine light on the instrument panel is non existent. All other cut outs are present and the led for the check engine light is present and working. The instrument panel is stamped as being original and not aftermarket. Because there is not a cut out the led for the check engine light is not visible with the instrument panel installed and will not pass inspection. I have contacted my local Jeep dealership (fx caprara) and they told me today that I have to pay to fix it. A new panel being $600 and a used panel from my local pick and pull being $125. I called Jeep customer service today and they again told me Jeep can't do anything and that it is up to the dealerships. I don't understand why it would be up to me to pay for this. It is a manufacturer defect and should be corrected on that level. I did my due diligence when purchasing the car but one cannot be expected to pull the dash panel to ensure all the cut outs are present. This needs to be resolved quickly as it cannot be used until it passes inspection. It also posses a safety concern as you are unable to know if there is a code present. Please get back to me with a resolution in a timely manner.

- Watertown, NY, USA

problem #50

Feb 242014

Grand Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
While driving the vehicle it started to accelerate and while stepping on the brake the vehicle went faster. I turned the key and the engine stopped and I went to the side of the road. I looked up a recall for this problem and there was a K 11 recall. When I contacted Jeep they said my VIN number was not part of the recall. Well I think there is a problem and they should investigate to extend their recall to include this and other vehicles. I will bring the vehicle to a Jeep dealer.

- Staten Island , NY, USA

problem #49

Jun 012010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 32,800 miles
Originally having issues slowing down going around corners and up a steep incline. Felt like vehicle was staying in higher gear, you could down shift it manually. At that time there were no codes present in the system. Then last year in August 2011 we did a cross county trip (7000 miles) vehicle would stall at both low speed and high speeds, not every day. Sometimes vehicle would restart itself and others the key had to be removed and reinserted, but most times not. The weather did not seem to be a factor. Upon return vehicle had approx 45,000 miles, codes retreived from vehicle were multiple. Active codes: B2105, C121C pending code: P0524 stored codes P0129, P0688, P0884. At 35,000 miles new oem spark plugs and water pump (due to coolant leak) with new antifreeze. Vehicle is serviced regularly every 3,000 miles since new. Since 45,000 miles all related circuits and components have been inspected and checked for proper operation. New crank sensor and electrical ignition switch. Code B2105 keeps recurring even without stall. All wiring connections and grounds have been cleaned and checked, new battery at 36,000. Had vehicle to dealer and they said they may not be able to find problem. We have stopped driving this vehicle even though we are still paying for it because we feel that it is not safe. My husband has 40 years as certified automotive mechanic and is very frustrated with this vehicle.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #48

Mar 012011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles


My vehicle stalls while driving. It happens while at idle at a stop light, and it happens while at speed. It hasn't occurred yet at speeds above 45 mph. Everytime it stalls, I get a oil pressure warning light. I occasionally receive a electronic throttle warning light as well. I also occasionally receive a electronic stability program (esp)/traction control system (tcs) indicator light when my power steering cuts off due to the engine stall. The problem always corrects itself upon shutting the key off, and restarting the vehicle. I have had it to the dealership, and they haven't been able to diagnose nor recreate the problem. Fyi, I recently had my 5 year powertrain inspection done by the Chrysler dealership, and my Jeep passed with no noted issues. I have included a link to a website that shows many other people having similar problems with this vehicle. This vehicle is a safety hazard, and it needs to be recalled. Here's the link to the website:

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #47

Jul 272012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Engine stalling during deceleration due to oem spark plugs thus no power steering or power brakes when it is needed the most. Champion spark plugs has 2 different spark plugs with same part number re14mcc4. This is the Chrysler oem supplier ans part number for hemi engine spark plugs through 2007. One of the two spark plugs is incompatible with the hemi engine and leads to stalling while decelerating. The consumer has no information on which one to use. National automotive parts distributors have not been made aware of the difference. Chrysler has an internal memo ("star case") that documents the issue but has not released it to the public. I was shown the memo but was not allowed to have a copy. No tsbs exists. No recall either. NHTSA told me they do not handle this. They advised me to contact the ftc. The ftc took my complaint but referred me to the dot as they were concerned for consumer safety. I have side by side pictures of the 2 spark plugs with the same part number and would be willing to supply them. I also have one of each plug in my possession. There is visual differences. This issue occurred in a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee with the hemi engine. It started to stall while decelerating after the 60,000 mile service interval. Did champion change manufacturing process" did Chrysler request a change due to a discovered issue after production? if it was champions fault one would think that Chrysler would issue a tsb as they would have no responsibility for the issue. Since they are not releasing the info are they the ones that requested the change" the correct spark plugs were changes and the issue has not occurred since.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #46

Dec 082009

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles
I write this only because I just experience my fourth mechanical breakdown in three years. In December 2009, I experienced the first breakdown in what has become a string of malfunctions. The transmission on my 2007 Grand Cherokee Laredo gave out at about 40,000 miles. When trying to start the vehicle, I got a 'transmission overheat' message on the dash display along with the engine malfunction indicator. I took it to the dealership where I purchased it and it took nearly a month for the repair shop to locate, receive and install the necessary parts. Apparently supply and demand had something to do with it, indicating to me that this was an issue nationwide. A month later, another malfunction, this time, the electronic shift module (esm) had died. Just over a year later, the same component (esm) died again (of course just out of warranty), this time while I was driving along rt. 50 outside of DC. Now, less than six months later, with less than 40,000 on the already replaced transmission, my transmission has blown again - same 'transmission overheat' message, same engine malfunction light, same undrivability. Clearly from seeing the comments on this forum as well as other reputable sites such as edmunds and consumer reports, the 2007 Grand Cherokee Laredo has a long, long history of mechanical and electronic problems. I have a phone call scheduled with a case worker scheduled for tomorrow, 7/13/2012. They'll either make it right or I'll be taking my story to small claims court. I encourage everyone who's had issues with this model to do the same.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #45

Apr 232012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles


Multiple times while driving my vehicle has suddenly lost power. I will be going 70 mph or 15 trying to accelerate and then it stalls out and won't accelerate. I will pull off to the side of the road and turn my car off and then back on and it will correct itself most of the time. I took my vehicle to a transmission place and they didn't know what it was. The conducted a transmission flush and replaced some electrical wiring and it seemed to help for about 4 months. Now just last Friday (20 April 2012), I was trying to accelerate after pulling out into traffic and almost got broadsided because the car just wouldn't accelerate past 2.5 rpms and 10 mph. Luckily the car heading straight for me slowed down and I was able to get out of the way for on coming 55 mph traffic. I looked on numerous websites and an ungodly amount of Jeep owners have reported this same issue. I took my vehicle to the Jeep dealer yesterday (23 April 2012) and they said they had to replace the electronic shifter module. I was getting codes U0404 and U0103. It cost $1051.50 to fix. I checked on-line after, and that is what everyone else said that the Jeep mechanics would recommend even though it would just break again 3 months later. One man even noted that the mechanic said that they have changed over 1,000 of those in his shop alone. I feel that this is a major safety issue and should be recalled! Jeep obviously knows this is going on.

- Bellevue, NE, USA

problem #44

Mar 232012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
We recently purchased a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited 5.7 L hemi. It drove just fine for the 1st few weeks of owning it. Recently it has started stalling when at stop lights/signs, while driving, and while in reverse. We have had the vehicle in the shop a few times already. It has been throwing off codes of P0884 and P0688. The dealership has informed us that those codes stand for power up at speed (P0884) and asd relay (P0668). We have just changed all the spark plugs and are now in the midst of changing out the coils everytime the Jeep stalls, we have been doing this for just a few days and are now on #5 of 8 and it is not working. The dealership has run out of ideas as to how to get this fixed. This has become a safety hazard while driving. We have read reviews on several different websites and have found several other consumers with the same issues with no resolve. We have also read some reviews and they have stated that Chrysler/Jeep will not step up to the plate and state that there is a problem. I as a consumer find this wrong. This is a safety issue that I feel could save lives on the road. I don't know what else to do to get this issue fixed/resolved. I have now written down the numbers and address to contact Chrysler/Jeep and will be contacting them in the very near future, in the mean time this is what I am able to do. Thank you

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #43

Feb 142012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 58,774 miles
Was attempting to merge onto a busy freeway and accelerated up to 60mph when the Jeep suddenly slammed into second gear and refused to shift. I couldn't get it to do anything other than "limp" very roughly to the shoulder. If people hadn't slowed down I would have been busted from several points. Took it to the local Jeep dealership and they told me that it happens with Jeep Grand Cherokee all the time and that they recommended replacing the esm but stated that it doesn't always fix the problem and that they've replaced thousands only to have it recur months later. This is going to get someone killed.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #42

Jun 012009

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
While pulling out of a gas station into heavy traffic, I began accelerating to the speed limit of 45 mph. I was accelerating rapidly as traffic was coming quickly from behind. The Jeep stopped accelerating and the instrument panel showed all of the drive letters with boxes around them. The Jeep would not accelerate for over 20 seconds, causing me to rapidly pull off of the road to avoid traffic behind me. The dealer found a faulty electronic shift module and replaced it. The vehicle has worked well until 2/15/12. At 70,000 miles, the dealer installed module has failed again. Once more this happened when entering a heavy traffic roadway. There have been numerous reports throughout the internet of people experiencing this same issue. In my case, both failures resulted in me having to take evasive action to avoid a collision. I find it hard to believe that this seemingly common problem has not been identified as the tremendous safety problem it.

- Perry, OH, USA

problem #41

Jan 222012

Grand Cherokee

  • 33,000 miles


My Jeep will just shut off while driving. It is not soon after starting so the engine is not cool. It has happened on the interstate twice without warning. There is not hesitation or sputtering, you just feel you are decelerating and then you realize you have no acceleration or power steering or brakes. I was in the far left lane and extremely worried I would not be able to safely make it over to the shoulder. Other times it has happened on secondary roads and I have had to park it and then restart it in the middle of the road. When it starts and I put it into drive, it will not engage into gear. I have taken it to the dealer three times and they cannot find the cause but checked all sensors, transmission, changed spark plugs, PCM, and updated the computer. It happened again this weekend except it lurched first then shut off. I got online and see that many others have reported the same problems so I felt I needed to report it in the event this truly is a more widespread problem. Thank you.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #40

Feb 042012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 92,477 miles
Vehicle will randomly die while driving. This has happened multiple times and is really dangerous when the vehicle dies going 70 mph on the freeway in heavy traffic. Once the vehicle dies it is easily restarted once stopped and then drives like nothing has happened. The vehicle shows no symptoms of this problem and it can not be duplicated but rather happens randomly. My mechanic can not find a solution as the vehicle shows no problems. I am afraid that the engine cutting out for no reason will end up causing an accident sooner or later.

- Otsego, MN, USA

problem #39

Oct 282011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
Stalled 10/28/11 under light load at 25mph, stopped vehicle and was able to restart after 4 tries. Stalled 11/9/11 accelerating from stop, started immediately. Stalled 11/12/11 accelerating from stop, started immediately. 11/16/11 dealer advised of faulty ignition switch, had switch replaced. 12/4/11 stalled at 25mph, started immediately after stop. Stalled 12/6/11 accelerating from stop, immediately started. 12/7/11 took to dealer who advised flash all modules which was done. 12/14/11 stalled coasting to stop. 12/23/11 stalled at stop light, started immediately. 12/24/11 stalled at 45mph, started while in motion by shifting to N and turning key. 12/24/11 stalled at 20mph under light load, jump started back on. 12/27/11 installed new evap canister. 1/3/12 stalled accelerating from stop, starts immediately. 1/7/12 stalled at light, started immediately. Stalling started at 91K miles, currently at 93K miles.

- Havre De Grace, MD, USA

problem #38

Dec 012011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
My vehicle will just shut off. Sometimes it shuts off while in park, sometimes while stopped at a red traffic light, and sometimes while going 70mph on the freeway. It has been at my local Jeep dealership for over 2 weeks now. They initially changed numerous control modules they told me are the "computers" or "brains" of the car and still the problem persists. At this point they have told me that they have had an engineer from Chrysler come in to look at the vehicle and he has no clue why this might be going on. Help please!!

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #37

Dec 082011

Grand Cherokee

  • 76,526 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Cherokee. The contact was driving 60 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. As the contact was pulling to the side of road, the vehicle restarted independently. The contact did not take the vehicle to the dealer nor contact the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 76,526.

- Oak Park, IL, USA

problem #36

Oct 282011

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,400 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing or repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 50,400.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #35

Oct 172010

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated while driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled. Upon restart, the vehicle began to function normally. The failure recurred on an intermittent basis. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, but they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 90,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Auburndale, FL, USA

problem #34

Jun 012011

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle lost power while attempting to brake from 30-40 mph. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who test drove the vehicle and was unable to duplicate the failure or locate a failure code. The dealer replaced the oil valve, air filter and cleaned several areas within the engine, but the failure was not corrected and the vehicle continued to stall while driving at any speed. The manufacturer took a complaint and advised the contact to take the vehicle to dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 38,000 and the current mileage was 45,000.

- Doylestown , PA, USA

problem #33

Sep 292011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
On Oct.5th as I was merging onto the thruway at 55mph the truck just stopped accelerating in rush hour traffic. I put on my flashers and coasted to the shoulder just barely avoiding being rear ended. This was the second time this has happened with this vehicle. You could press the gas pedal and the RPM's would go sky high but the truck would not move while in drive. I turned the truck off, waited several seconds, started the truck and it moved in drive. I immediately called the dealer and have a Oct.7th service call.this was a near death situation the second time due to the rush hour traffic. This vehicle has trouble shifting when started in the morning. After looking into the matter this appears to be a common problem with this model and make. It appears the electronic shift modules need replacing.after reading the numerous similar complaints I thought I would file a complaint before someone gets killed.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #32

Aug 252011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Driving at night, doing 50 mph when vehicle engine cut off - could not pull off road, apply brakes or steer.towed in. "repaired by dealership" only to occur again in 6 days when engine would not start at all. Again, sent for repair, five days in shop. Occurred again the very next day - would not start. Has been at dealership another week and they still have no solution to problem. Husband is totally disabled and we must have a dependable vehicle. We bought it used with only 37,000 miles on it so we thought it would be almost new. Cannot take a chance of the engine cutting off while on a busy highway!

- Mathias, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?