Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,481 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

Oct 092013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 125,000 miles


I was driving my 2007 Grand Cherokee overland 5.7L hemi and the truck just cuts off with no warning and then all the warning lights came on and car stopped in the middle of the road during morning rush hour traffic. Car restarted after a few tries and the key was removed from the ignition. As I see this is an on going issue with the 5.7L hemi Jeep Grand Cherokee overland's and there has been no resolution to this problem. It can cause a major accident and a huge lawsuit against Jeep. This should be seriously looked into an a recall should be done for all the other Jeep owners that have this same problem all over the untied states.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #28

Oct 072013

Grand Cherokee

  • 125,000 miles
As I was driving my car jerked real hard and all my dash lights came on and my ability to drive my car was useless. My Jeep slowed down on the freeway during morning rush hour traffic almost causing several accidents. As I was trying to restart my Jeep it just keep making a clicking noise and wouldn't stop. I had to pull the key from the ignition and reinsert the key and try to start the Jeep. After 3 tries it started and I went to drive off and as I was accelerating my Jeep did it again finally it stayed on and I was able to drive to a safe location. My Jeep sounded real strange not like normal. This is the 5 or 6th time this has happened since I had my Jeep not even a year to date.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #27

Sep 132013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Summary: The vehicle experienced significantly reduced power while driving in freeway traffic. It was necessary to move to the far right lane and exit the traffic flow. This has happened on several occasions. It is unsafe when the condition occurs in heavy traffic.

- Co Spring , CO, USA

problem #26

Jun 162010

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles


The first incident happened when my Jeep Grand Cherokee unknowingly shifted into neutral while driving down my neighborhood road. I was not aware of this until I tried to increase my speed and was not able to. I then had to turn off the car and turn it back on. This has happened three times since 2011.

- Jensen Beach, FL, USA

problem #25

Feb 122007

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 1,186 miles
While driving, the prndl had lit boxes around all the letters, and dash indicators all lit up, and Jeep lost power as if stalling. It then "went" back into drive on its own. This happened over eleven times, with mileage starting at 1,186, and most recently at 52,536. Dates of repair incidents are : 2/12/07, 12/31/07, 1/10/08, 9/22/08, 1/5/09, 6/9/09, 6/18/12, 10/19/12, 12/26/12, 3/8/13, 3/22/13. My Jeep is a 2007, averaging 8,756 miles per year. I bought it new and I take very good care of all maintenance right away - oil changes, filters, tire rotation, etc.! each time it was brought to the dealer for "repair", they either couldn't find the problem, or replaced : shifter module (twice), transmission wiring harness (three times) and suggested a new battery (we replaced that also), and transmission plug and seal. There were also numerous "software and anti-theft updates. In addition to these, I replaced the driver's side window regulator twice. Now, they want to replace the "transmission temp circ." And esm module - for another $1,500. All this in 52,536 miles and 6 years !!! I firmly believe there are serious manufacturer defects with this vehicle. My biggest concern is the safety of this Jeep is unpredictable. I never know, even after all the "repairs and replacements", if it will suddenly lose power and I might be in danger (traffic, intersection, etc.). how in the world could Chrysler deny this problem" it needs to be resolved at the source, they are responsible for the safety of their vehicles !!!! there are many reports of this same issue from numerous 2007 Jeep owners - where is the recall ??"!!!!

- Freeland, PA, USA

problem #24

Mar 042012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 60,980 miles
I bought my 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland in June of 2011 with 52095 miles on it. In March of 2012, I experienced the first of many stalls happen to the Jeep with 60,980 miles on it. It has random, unpredictable stall outs that happened through out the year. It seems to stall when accelerating however not all the time. It's stalled while driving on the highway (mass pike or rt. 9) and on side roads. I have not observed any precursors to the stalling. When it stalls, it bucks and then the Jeep does not accelerate however the lights come on, just like what happens when a manual vehicle is stalled. These types of stall outs I experience do not happen all the time. What happens sometimes is the Jeep will buck, like it's going to stall, but it doesn't after slamming on the accelerator. After a stall out, I am able to restart the Jeep after a minute or two. The engine light has never come on, just the oil light. This Jeep has had the ignition connector and software replaced twice in over a period of two years. It's been replaced because of a stored code: Fcmcgw B2185. There are two other codes stored in the computer: PCM P0884 and ABS C12K. I have taken the Jeep to dan's Jeep in westborough, MA since the first stall out to the present. The recent stall out was Friday, January 11th. This stall out was a little different because "programming assess" (something like that) appeared on the dash with a blinking red light. Everytime I bring the Jeep to dan's, they give me the same response to the problem...they don't' know why this is happening and I can start replacing parts to see if it corrects the problem. I do not have the finances to just keep replaces parts to see if it'll correct this serious and unsafe problem with the Jeep and Chrysler has not reported how to fix this or made the step forward to fix it.

- Grafton, MA, USA

problem #23

Dec 152012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles


I was driving 65 miles per hour on the expressway, when suddenly, my Jeep began to decelerate until it reached about 40 miles per hour, even though I maintained constant pressure on the accelerator pedal. It felt like I had no control over the speed of the vehicle. Traffic was light so I coasted, and pressed the pedal a little harder, until eventually, the SUV lurched and then started to accelerate. About 3 minutes later, the same thing happened again while I was still driving on the expressway. The vehicle decelerate to 35 while it seemed that I could not control the speed, and then accelerated again. After the acceleration dropped and then increased the second time, I was able to maintain 65 miles per hour until I exited the expressway 15 miles later near my home. Driving a vehicle under these conditions is a horrible feeling! I was so afraid that a car or truck moving at the normal speed would crash into me. If the traffic had been heavier, I would have had to pull over to the side of the highway, which would have been even more terrifying, because it was dark outside, and I had no idea what was going on or how long I would be stranded. We just had the SUV's engine tuned one month ago at the dealer's service center, and we also had the oil changed at the same time. There haven't been any episodes like this until now. I'm actually afraid to drive the Jeep again!

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #22

Nov 262012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 43,387 miles
This is a continuing issue. The speed will suddenly decrease to 30 miles per hour without any action on drivers part. This is dangerous, especially on busy roads. We were told it was the front control module but after reading reviews it doesn't solve the problem. Chrysler should be held responsible to identify the problem, then issue a recall. They are not interested in doing anything. We bailed them out?

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #21

Nov 162012

Grand Cherokee

  • 79,000 miles
The vehicle will stall out when you are trying to accelerate, even with the gas pedal to the floor the rpms will shoot up but the vehicle will not move forward. If you stop and put the car in neutral it will sometimes fix itself but not always and this is not a good option to resort to in the middle of an intersection. This vehicle will also downshift on its own while you are driving at a high speed slowing your car without warning. Very dangerous if driving on the interstate with other vehicles around. Was told replacing the electronic shift module (at $1100) may possibly fix the problem but the dealership was not sure that this would remedy the issue.

- Newport, KY, USA

problem #20

Jun 082011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Shortly after changing the spark plugs in my wife's 2007 Grand Cherokee overland the vehicle would stall on deceleration. I thought it might be an isolated incident, but the stalling continued frequently. The engine completely shuts down and the vehicle must be stopped or put in neutral while coasting to be restarted. After conducting some internet research I found this to be a common problem with the 2007 Grand Cherokee with hemi's. I was amazed at the number of occurrences of this happening among this vehicle. There are Jeep forums ( that discuss this issue in depth. The vehicle stalls less frequently than it did when I first changed the spark plugs, but it still happens. The most recent occurrence was on November 1, 2013 when my wife was picking my son up from school. Chrysler corporation fails to take a stance on the problem denying that the problem exist. I have spoke to my local dealer's service department about the problem and they denied any knowledge of it. I would sale the vehicle, but in good conscience I could not do that to another individual. Several dealerships have replaced the upper and lower wiring harnesses on several vehicles and this seems to have resolved the problem. Again to restate the problem it seems to occur after the spark plugs are changed in the vehicles. This would lead one to believe that disturbing the position of the wiring harness effects the vehicle. Chrysler no longer manufacturers that wiring harness, as they are on the third version of it. This in itself would lead you to believe that Chrysler has some knowledge of a problem, but will not issue a recall or take any official position. My main concern is for my wife and children's safety while riding in this vehicle. I ask that you please take an in-depth look into this situation.

- Lillington, NC, USA

problem #19

Aug 142012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles


My wife was driving our vehicle down the road and not even 2 miles the vehicle would not let her go faster than 30 mph and the vehicle would not shift out of gear. The check engine light came on and we took it to get an obii scan. The code that was prompted was an esm malfunction or transmission speed sensor. I am having so much trouble finding a speed sensor that is available and high priced. The esm is not hardly available anywhere except at a dealer. I have been reading tonight online and there have been many cases of these problems happening with some more severe incidents. If so many people are having shifting, esm and speed sensor issues, shouldn't this issue be addressed. I am pretty sure this isn't the first issue or complaint. I have a 3 year old and a vehicle that was named a smart buy by consumer guide automotive in 2006 and the redefining vehicle of Jeep flagship is a hazard and unsafe for my family. I will not be recommending a Jeep of this year to anyone. I hope you take this incident with thoughtful consideration and start thinking about your consumers safety. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Richmond, IN, USA

problem #18

Aug 112012

Grand Cherokee

  • 95,000 miles
Jeep looses power, will not accelerate over 30 mph. This has not happen on a highway yet (luckily) only in-town driving. No error codes present in dtc report or from a diagnostic that cost $90 something needs to be done about this before an accident results in a fatality. There seems to me many instances like this on these boards. This is the first investment of a 'real' vehicle that I've had. To pay money for something dependable is the goal. Currently this vehicle is not dependable, let alone safe.

- Fargo , ND, USA

problem #17

Aug 012012

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • 100,000 miles
My wife was driving and just about to get onto the interstate and with no warning, she couldn't accelerate past 25-30mph. Luckily she was able to pull to the side of the road quickly without an issue and turned the car off, waited a minute and started the Jeep up again and was then able to accelerate. When talking to the dealer, they have never heard of this problem before. When Jeep was checked at a local dealer, they pulled error codes that pointed to the transmission speed sensor. Only about $700 to replace that with labor!! the sensors are all part of the circuit board and thus need to dismantle the transmission to replace the sensors. Then I get on this site and see all the complaints with the same issue. This weekend I'm going car searching to get rid of this thing.

- Hamel, IL, USA

problem #16

May 212012

Grand Cherokee

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle suddenly began to decelerate independently while the contact was depressing the accelerator pedal. The vehicle then accelerated suddenly and rapidly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000.

- Simsbury, CT, USA

problem #15

Jun 012009

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
While pulling out of a gas station into heavy traffic, I began accelerating to the speed limit of 45 mph. I was accelerating rapidly as traffic was coming quickly from behind. The Jeep stopped accelerating and the instrument panel showed all of the drive letters with boxes around them. The Jeep would not accelerate for over 20 seconds, causing me to rapidly pull off of the road to avoid traffic behind me. The dealer found a faulty electronic shift module and replaced it. The vehicle has worked well until 2/15/12. At 70,000 miles, the dealer installed module has failed again. Once more this happened when entering a heavy traffic roadway. There have been numerous reports throughout the internet of people experiencing this same issue. In my case, both failures resulted in me having to take evasive action to avoid a collision. I find it hard to believe that this seemingly common problem has not been identified as the tremendous safety problem it.

- Perry, OH, USA

problem #14

Dec 052011

Grand Cherokee

  • 62,000 miles
Curious as to why Jeep hasn't recalled and fixed the electronic shift module. It is a very dangerous problem that needs attention. Thank you.

- Stephenville, TX, USA

problem #13

Jan 112012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 79,400 miles
I purchased this vehicle on December 14, 2011. About three weeks later in a parking lot, we noticed the vehicle would not accelerate even though the accelerator pedal was pushed virtually all the way down. A few days later the engine warning light came on. Then the lack of acceleration happened on the interstate. My mechanic cleared the engine warning light but it came back on a few days later. I did a lot of research and it appears this is a common problem on Jeep vehicles. The problem is a failure of the electronic shift module. It if very expensive to have replaced. My local dealership charged me $924 plus tax. As many comments as I have seen on this and the fact that lack of acceleration is a safety issue, Jeep should not hesitate in issuing a recall.

- Fort Smith, AR, USA

problem #12

Nov 192010

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles
I was not able to control the speed of my vehicle during acceleration. When I accelerated, the car would significantly decrease in speed almost as if it was running in low gear. It has happened at least 4 times since I purchased the car brand new. Today at 60,000 mi it happened twice. A few months ago I tried to merge onto the freeway and lost power which was very dangerous and I had to turn on the hazard light and quickly pull over to the shoulder. I noticed all of the lights [ P, R, N, D] on the dash board were on. The car seems to reset when I shift to park or turn the ignition off and then on. The problem happens intermittently. I believe that this could be a manufacture defect. I took the car to 2 authorized Jeep Chrysler dealerships to get it checked out. One dealership told me that they've never heard of the problem, another one found a code U0404 but didn't know what it meant. I find this extremely dangerous and could be a manufacture defect.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #11

Jan 212011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
Upon acceleration from stop vehicle will hesitate and lose power. This constitutes a hazard to vehicle and any approaching vehicles during a turn. Inspection indicates that transmission electronic control module is at fault along with a possible transmission sensor failure. The check engine light will come on. Both of these conditions ( power and check engine ) are intermittent, indicating that the module is faulty. There have been many complaints about the transmission ECM on these vehicles. The other complaints have varying symptoms but all go back to the transmission ECM. These unit should be recalled and repaired or replaced at manufacturers cost. This problem exists in many different models and years of vehicles, but always go back to this ECM unit. After investigating this problem I don't feel that the consumer is at fault or causing this to occur. Chrysler modules are and have been faulty in the past. Anecdotal evidence says that other modules in Chrysler vehicles have had problems too. Please investigate the Chrysler transmission ECM's and have them recalled.

- Rochester Hill, MI, USA

problem #10

Dec 162011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 20 miles
While I was driving home last night 12/16/11 with my fiancee we stopped at a traffic light, and when the light turned green the Jeep started back up fine all except it couldn't go faster than 20 miles per hour. So I put my flashers on and the traffic behind me went around us, then it worked itself out, but did it again when I came to another traffic light. But this time I was able to use my manual shift to help it. No warning lights came on. And I just purchased this Jeep 2 days ago. I would like to get this safety issue fixed since I have seen that this is a dangerous and common problem with the other 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I am also a firefighter and I depend on this Jeep to get me to fire scenes and other emergency scenes, and I don't want to be in an emergency scene involving me due to the safety issues this Jeep is having. Can someone please do a recall and have this issue fixed.

- Henderson, TN, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?