Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,931 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #44

Aug 202016

Grand Cherokee

  • 156,843 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The original problem was a battery light that came on when the car was being driven during a light rain. The solution suggested by our normal mechanic (who is very good and has serviced the car for years) was to replace the alternator and then it was noted the battery was bad. It was replaced since it was three years old. After the repair the car started to die intermittently while being driven. The car was taken back to the mechanic who check the diagnostics and said it appeared to be pointing to the ignition switch (based on their diagnostic flowchart). The mechanics service technician was able to duplicate the stalling in the vehicle when he drove it. Suggested we take back to the dealer who had replaced the ignition switch tumblers during the recall for this vehicle last November. The dealer wanted a $85 diagnostic fee to just check the switch. We received a download of the diagnostic codes which appear to be related to multiple failures of ignition modules but the dealer reported his service technician had not been able to duplicate the failure. He thought it might be the tipm but was sure it was not the switch. He was unable to tell us what the failure was and said we would have to pay for more diagnostics if he was to find out what exactly it was. I took it back to my mechanic who replaced alternator. However, as I was driving the car last Saturday it died after we stopped at a railroad crossing waiting on a train and then tried to cross the tracks after the arms had gone up. The crossing T-bones into another road and a very deep bar ditch at the side of that road. The crossing was a steep incline. Almost put car in ditch. My wife would not have been able to control and stop it as I barely was able to. After reviewing other similar complaints I now believe it is the tipm. This is safety related since all safety equipment is tied to this.

- Sealy, TX, USA

problem #43

Dec 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 35 mph, the steering wheel stiffened while turning. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #42

Jan 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • 25,000 miles
I have received a recall notice over a year ago from Fiat Chrysler. I have had the vehicle turn off due to the ignition switch multiple times. Both my husband and my son were driving the car at the time. The engine stopped, the power steering did not work, it was on the highway and on a country curvy road. I do not feel I can sell this car to someone else who might potentially wreck due to this issue. I am still being told the parts are not available to fix this vehicle.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #41

Sep 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at an unknown speed. The vehicle stalled without warning and the steering seized causing the contact to crash into another vehicle. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #40

Sep 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 98,000 miles
Car has lost power while driving -went into neutral. Have tried Jeep 800 number for info on recall--line is always busy.received recall notice in summer 2014

- Fort Myers Beach, FL, USA

problem #39

Aug 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 112,000 miles
Complaint submitted in regard to fca us llc recall P41 NHTSA 14V-438 first complaint filed 12/12/2014 ODI number: 10663969 on 8/19/2015, I was at the mukwonago post office to send a package. I came back out to my vehicle, started it and attempted to back out of my parking space when the steering wheel locked up and the engine shut off. Another car was on its way down the parking isle I was parked in and almost hit me because the driver was anticipating that my vehicle would have kept moving. I got out of my vehicle and apologized to the young lady who had almost hit me and explained to her the situation. She said, "you should really get that fixed. You could cause an accident." I was upset, to say the least, but needed to get back to work. I started my vehicle two more times, in addition to the first attempt, and attempted to put it in gear - no success. Finally, I was able to keep the engine running and proceed to my route.

- Waterford, WI, USA

problem #38

Feb 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My husband and I were traveling to charleston, SC on I-26 to have a nice valentine's weekend. Everything was fine until we merged onto I-26 in columbia, SC, when we felt a small jolt in the truck like it was hesitating or something. So we dismissed it as maybe bad gas or something. It happened a couple more times and as we were passing a rest area outside of orangeburg, SC in the left lane going with the flow of traffic at about 80 mph, the whole truck just shut down. No power steering and the car will not crank in neutral. Traffic is pretty heavy on a holiday weekend, and I have tractor trailer beside me and behind me on a two lane interstate. Trying not to panic, I put on the hazard lights and waving out the window like crazy trying to get these truck driver's attention, thank god they noticed and the one beside me sped up and my husband was able to get over by the exit of the rest area. After thanking god for our lives, we decided to try and make it to a dealership in orangeburg. We get there, and after 2 hours they say it was the throttle body and a tune up $300 bucks and another 2 hours we finally got on our way. We made it to charleston and salvaged a pretty good day trip considering what we went through, with no problems. It jolted once on the way back about 40 miles from home. So the next day I remembered we had gotten a letter from Chrysler, and when we looked at it we realized that the recall was the real problem. This letter came in September of 2013, and we have not heard anything from them since then, almost 2 years later. Also, you would think that a Jeep dealer would know about recalls on all of the vehicles they sell when they put the VIN in the system. Now we just use the one key, stay close to the right lane and hope for the best. Another car/payments is not an option.

- Rock Hill, SC, USA

problem #37

Aug 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • 27,000 miles
Since the first event the vehicle has stalled at the most importuned time. Two years ago it stalled twice while entering the New Jersey garden state parkway on the same day. A year ago it stalled at 40 miles per hour traveling North on university blvd 100 ft from the dealer kelly Jeep dealership were the vehicle was purchased. I was made aware in July 2014 that there was an ignition key problem. By a local auto body repair shop owner. I remove everything from key except a small lightweight identification plastic tag a month ago it stalled again which turning onto high speed four lange expressway. I have contact a different dealer three months go and was told Chrysler is working on the problem. This is a very dangerous situation. I can't believe that in almost a year Chrysler still appears to have not inkling of owh to solve the problem prior to the public announcement in Sept 2014 I had it to the dealer and was required to have vehicle tested by the analyzer. No problem was found. Even though I am 90 years old I still have sufficient strength to get the vehicle to a stop and if possible to the side of the highway in order to restart it. But I am afraid that if this happens with my wife while driving she will not be have sufficient strength to steer of brake the vehicle when it losses complete power. How is this any different than the accidently operation of the ignition key event that has occurred with general motor products. Last we I received a recall notice from Chrysler regarding the need to re-program the final drive control module (fdcm), that may cause the service $wd light to be activated making it impossible to change gears. I do not see that listed as a recall and I have never received any other notice. His apparently has a higher priority at Chrysler than the ignition key issue. Regards,

- Moon Twp, PA, USA

problem #36

May 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
No accident has occured yet, but I have a big concern for my family's safety. Recall on this vehicle has been postponed, ignored and postponed for more than a year...urgent repairs, corrections needed to be made for safty. While driving on hwy the car has completly turned off, driving it has just stopped fo not reason and brake lights malfunction as well as while backing up the car turns off. My husband and I are seniors with this as out only transportation for our drs, grocery and care needs. We also have our grandchildren we drop off and pick up from school (10+13 yrs) unsafe for all but only options we have. Please assist us to get our vehicle repaired already, this is urgently needed. Daily we are stuggling to get to around and need a reliable, safe means of transportation. I have been calling ancira Chrysler Jeep since 2014 and crysler group for some time now also but no solution nor repairs have been scheduled. I have spoken to alyssa, paula and ancira chysler Jeep Dodge as well (service dept) but no assistance to a solution given.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #35

Oct 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I own a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I received a recall on a part in July of 2014. It is now April 2015. There is still no part to replace this ignition switch problem. I have children that I need to drive to and from school. This vehicle is not safe. My husband has seen now at least 3 vehicles (same make, model and year) in car accidents. These car were completely totaled. There is no fixing them. One vehicle a car blew up because the ignition switch. This is ridiculous. Almost a year now, and there is still not part to fix this problem. And I can't sell my vehicle to anybody because then I could be sued because of the ignition switch recall. Your Jeep dealerships will not buy them back for what they are worth because of the ignition switch recall. I get below value offers. I will not buy Jeep again. But the fact that Jeep is taking so long to fix this issue is ridiculous. When people start dying because of it, then you will be sued for those deaths because that ignition switch recall was not fixed in a decent amount of time. I figured 6 months max. Its now almost a year and again still no replacement part. I'm disgusted at the fact that nothing is being done about this. No one seems to care or realize the potential danger this ignition switch causes. I wouldn't wish this upon anyone but it may happen to you just so you open up your eyes and realize what is really going on.

- Evergreen Park, IL, USA

problem #34

Aug 162014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 97,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 45 mph making a right turn, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver and the power steering warning light illuminated. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle failed to start intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the power steering line needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 97,200. Updated 4/29/15 the consumer stated the vehicle goes into delay mode upon starting vehicle. The vehicle intermittenly shuts off. Updated 11/10/2015

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #33

Nov 272013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
Normal driving conditions on road and Jeep totally dies, no power at all, this has happened twice. Two other instances the Jeep loses power and slows down on the highway and in heavy traffic. I have contacted my Jeep dealer more than once, with no satisfaction.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #32

Aug 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 68,000 miles
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo engine stalled out while trying to accelerate when red light turned green. Loss of engine power, power steering and loss of braking. Received a recall (# P41) for a faulty ignition switch in September 2014 for this problem. Engine has been cutting off intermittently since August 2014 while either trying to accelerate from a dead stop or while trying to make a turn. Chrysler said to remove any objects from key ring which we have done and the problem persists. We are afraid to drive this car at all. We have been to several Jeep dealership mechanics and they say that the problem does not show up on their diagnostic testing so they cannot fix anything until Chrysler sends new parts for the recall. Have tried to speak with Chrysler personnel and am always put on hold for 2 hours at a time!! is Chrysler waiting for a tragedy to occur before dispatching the parts to fix this recall??

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #31

Jan 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,300 miles
Vehicle will shut down without warning. This happens when vehicle is idling or at speed -any speed. The engine will shut down, steering locks up and brakes shut off. Secondary systems like radio and fans will continue to operate but there is otherwise no power. This problem has been occurring on and off for two years. Dealer and mechanic both could not find solution to the problem; however, an electromagnetic field from distributor/spark plugs theorized as the culprit. Adding shielding to the PCM computer cables and grounding it seems to have mitigated the issue, however it is still sporadic and has caused near miss accidents with pedestrians, motorists and stationary objects while making turns.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #30

Nov 112014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 96,121 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the brake pedal was tapped causing the vehicle to lock up and sieze. In addition, the power steering assist failed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 96,121. Updated 1/13/15 updated 10/5/2015

- Evergreen Park, IL, USA

problem #29

Oct 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and eventually the vehicle stalled. Also, the contact mentioned that she recently received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The dealer was contacted and they made the contact aware that the parts needed were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Manasquan, NJ, USA

problem #28

Sep 242014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Unintended change in ignition switch position while driving.

- Newport, ME, USA

problem #27

Jun 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph in a parking lot, the vehicle became very difficult to steer without warning and the vehicle stalled. The contact restarted the vehicle and it resumed normal function. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The contact was made aware of recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical). However, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The vehicle had not been repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #26

Mar 172014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
As I was driving the truck jerked real hard which almost knocked the wind out of me and I lost control of steering, speed, I was unable to start the truck. I had to make my way to the shoulder in morning traffic on the highway to put the car in park and turn the ignition off and start it over again I had to do this 2 times before it started. Proceeded to get back into traffic and it jerked again this time it stopped running and started clicking all by itself until I stopped the truck and turned it off and started it again. This is not the first time this has happened and it very dangerous and from the looks of things this is a ongoing problem with this model & year Jeep.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #25

Jan 312014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 138,500 miles
As I was driving the truck jerked real hard which almost knocked the wind out of me and I lost control of steering, speed, I was unable to start the truck. I had to make my way to the shoulder in morning traffic on the highway to put the car in park and turn the ignition off and start it over again I had to do this 2 times before it started. Proceeded to get back into traffic and it jerked again this time it stopped running and started clicking all by itself until I stopped the truck and turned it off and started it again. This is not the first time this has happened and it very dangerous and from the looks of things this is a ongoing problem with this model & year Jeep.

- Spring, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?