Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,146 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 12 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #183

Feb 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 110,566 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have received a recall letter prior to this date and when I called the dealer they said they had no information on this recall. I was parked and when I turned the key it stuck after the car tried to start back in the accessory position. I asked the dealer how long before the details and parts would be in. Still no details to date. Any update when I can get an appt. Concerns me the other part of this recall is vehicle shuts down while going down the road? thanks, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Timberlake, OH, USA

problem #182

May 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles
While driving the vehicle on the hwy all the interior lights on the dashboard flickered on, and then the car lost power. Has happened multiple times since the, and we haven't driven it in 3 months. Chrysler sent us a recall notice last year, but still has not manufactured a part to replace this safety recall. Recall # P57 / NHTSA 14V-567. Since this problem started I have wasted time and money trying to have it repaired..... and it keeps on happening. Jeep dealers should issue loaner cars, until they have a part to fix this.

- Parkland, FL, USA

problem #181

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 79,000. Updated 6/8/15 updated 06/11/15

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #180

Sep 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed were not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #179

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) was received in October of 2014. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mount Sterling, KY, USA

problem #178

Apr 012015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
The vehicle has shut off randomly with key in on position, once happening while driving. Dealer states there is no open recall on this and to remove key rings from keys. Only thing inserted at time of issue is key fob removed from emergency access key so not a key weight issue, driver is short so knee can not contact at all.

- Bethel, CT, USA

problem #177

Mar 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 105,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. When starting the engine, the vehicle failed to start. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 105,600.

- Urbana , OH, USA

problem #176

Dec 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Upon attempting to restart the vehicle, the instrument cluster gauges and sensors flickered. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #175

Nov 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fort Leonord Wood, MO, USA

problem #174

Mar 242015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I was driving the vehicle at 68mph on the freeway when the airbag light came on. Three minutes later the car indicated that the rear passenger door was open (which it was not). About 30 seconds later the passenger side-curtain airbag deployed which almost caused me to crash because it was so loud.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #173

Mar 272015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/12/15

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #172

Oct 192014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #171

Oct 162014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the vehicle was not serviced under the recall because the part needed was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Harrision, NY, USA

problem #170

Jan 192015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Problem started with the key fob not releasing when trying to turn off the vehicle and will stick between the ignition and auxiliary positions. I have to wait for 10-15 minutes or disconnect the battery cables in order to remove the key fob and lock my vehicle. Now the key fob will move to the auxiliary position or in between the auxiliary and on position while driving. This has caused the engine to stall and almost caused me to have an accident on the highway with my children in the vehicle. Jeep/Chrysler has been absolutely no help as I have been told that my Jeep was produced one month after the effective date of the ignition recall and they will not fix it. I went to the Jeep dealership where I purchased the vehicle and was told that this was a "common problem" but a month later I am still waiting for the ignition module. Now I have a Jeep that I believe is not safe for my family to travel in and am constantly getting a run-around from the dealership when attempting to get this problem repaired.

- Sahuarita, AZ, USA

problem #169

Jul 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that there was extreme difficulty in getting the key to turn over on several occasions. The contact mentioned that the vehicle stalled several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for multiple repairs that did not repair the vehicle. The details of the repairs were unknown. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V567000 (electrical system) but the part was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #168

Mar 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag, windows, moon roof and air conditioner failed. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts needed for the repairs were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 38,000. Updated 5/5/15

- Clymer, PA, USA

problem #167

Jan 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Twin Mountain, NH, USA

problem #166

Feb 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The dealer was contacted and was unable to provide a time frame from when the parts would become available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #165

Mar 182015

Grand Cherokee

  • 95,000 miles
Was advised of recall 14V567000 affecting my vehicle about 6 months ago. Was told no parts available to repair ignitions. About 3 months ago started to have starting problems with ignition. Contacted dealer and told that we had to keep waiting for parts. Now vehicle is horrible to try to get the ignition to start. Have to keep turning key fob back and forth. Contacted dealer again for ignition repair and we were told only to contact Chrysler customer assistance. Contacted Chrysler and they told us to get car serviced. But service dept says they can't replace ignition without approval on limited parts from Chrysler. Giving us a headache and inoperable car. Made a complaint to them and now they told us we misunderstood directive from service. They got service to allow us to schedule brining in car. Next available date of service is in three weeks. And we have to pay costs upfront as no parts available still for this recall that was issued over 6 months ago. Getting frustrated with inoperable car.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #164

Mar 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 35 mph, there was a sudden increase in engine rpms. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 141,000.

- Horseshoe Bend, AR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?