Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,146 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 13 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #163

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3/15/15 several months ago I received a notice of a safety recall (P57/NHTSA 14V-567) that the frequency operated button ignition key (fobik) may stick between the "start" and "run" position, which may result in the loss of certain electrical features and/or a loss of engine power, power steering assist, and/or poser brake booster assist in addition to other possible electrical malfunctions. The notice also stated I would be contacted again by Chrysler when the remedy part is available. I called a local dealer and was told the parts indeed were unavailable. I have not heard anything further from Chrysler. I have experienced a few minor malfunctions with warning lights but fortunately nothing serious. However, this is taking too *%^&%*( long. What is the problem" really, is Chrysler making an effort to remedy this problem" I am uncertain of the date, because there is no date on the notice; the date listed above is an estimate.

- Wyalusing, PA, USA

problem #162

Nov 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Benton, AR, USA

problem #161

Nov 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V567000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Braceville, IL, USA

problem #160

Mar 122014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would suddenly shut off. The contact also indicated difficulties when attempting to switch the gear selector and the ignition key becoming stuck. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The contact mentioned that a notification for NHTSA campaign number 14V567000 (electrical) was received in July 2014. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 4/20/15

- West Monroe, LA, USA

problem #159

Mar 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

problem #158

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. Updated 04/13/15 the consumer stated the vehicle would cut off while driving. This has ocurred 50 times or more. The ignition may have been sticking and causing the failure. Updated 11/12/15

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #157

Mar 022015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle stalls while driving and when attempting to start it. The consumer received a recall letter. However, the letter stated there was no part to permanently fix the problem. Recall # 14V567000.

- Great Neck, NY, USA

problem #156

May 282014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 109,852 miles
Air bag did not deploy in two separate front end collisions key locked in ignition and could not be removed.

- Arley, AL, USA

problem #155

May 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • 109,852 miles
Key would be locked in ignition airbags do not deploy at collisions above 35 mph.

- Jasper, AL, USA

problem #154

May 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • 109,852 miles
Purchased the vehicle used with approximately 57,000-58,000 miles in 2011. Two separate front end collisons at above 35 mph with deer in rural area. No air bag ever deployed in May 2014 with mileage at approximately 109,852 the key would lock in the ignition and could not be removed. Car was still running, dash lights would stay on and shifter could be moved. Took to maloy Ford in jasper, Alabama. They "repaired" using a "win kit - transmitters and win" it has been working since that time. Question: Is the ignition repaired" is the electrical system still in need of the recall part that was not yet available at time of notification of recall"

- Arley, AL, USA

problem #153

Mar 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #152

Dec 222014

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the front module computer was replaced but the failure recurred. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V567000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #151

Feb 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Bedford, IN, USA

problem #150

May 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
Have had nothing but problems with this Jeep. Purchased it as a certified pre-owned and it has been in the dealer for service a substantial amount. Main issue is the car does not start when I turn the key fob. Have got towed to the dealership three times with this same issue, once in May 2014, again in July 2014 and again in September 2014. Dealer cannot find solution to fix. Coincidentally, I receive a notice from Chrysler in November 2014, notice number P57 which states there is a recall on the ignition! I went for (3) weeks in may and a full month in July with a loaner! four months after I receive the recall notice, the problem is not fixed. My ''ad hoc'' solution when car does not start is to slam the door with the key in the ignition position. This seems to start the car. Pitiful that this is how I must start the car now as there seems to be nothing else I can do...

- Bayville, NY, USA

problem #149

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice about 4-5 months ago for my 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. It is recall P57/NHTSA 14V-567 for an ignition switch. It states that some of the vehicles may experience a frequency operated button ignition key(fobik) that may stick between the "start" and "run" position. This may result in the loss of certain electrical features. It continues to state that the ignition position may result in the loss of certain electrical features and/or a loss of engine power, power steering assist, and/or power brake booster assist. I called the Chrysler group recall assistance center 1-800-853-1403 and they told me that they do not have the part in and have no idea when the part will be in. I find this very disturbing and quite frankly not acceptable. This is a serious safety issue that can cause my car to shut off while driving and possibly crash. In my opinion that is not an acceptable response to thousands of people that are experiencing this and waiting to have this repaired. It has already been 4-5 months since the notice was mailed out. How is it possible to still not have the part in and/or an eta on when the part will be in stock" having ending the recall notice with "we're sorry for any inconvenience, but we are sincerely concerned about your safety" doesn't exactly speak to the response I received when I called Chrysler. Four to five months have passed and still no eta on when the part will be here. How concerned is Chrysler" please, any help with this matter would be greatly appreciated not only for myself, but also for all of the other individuals that have to hear this non-sense from Chrysler. This is putting thousands of people at a severe safety risk.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #148

Feb 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed were not available. The dealer was contacted and stated that the parts were still not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oxen Hill, MD, USA

problem #147

Feb 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I received a recall notice in November from Chrysler stating that there was a recall on my vehicle. Recall #P57, an issue with the ignition. This could cause lose of electrical features while driving, including lose of power, steering, brakes, and could increase the risk of crash. The catch is there is no part available to fix the problem. Luckily my car didn't crash, however it did fail to start. After having it towed (80 miles) to my local dealership they diagnosed the problem as the recall. I have spoken with both the dealership and Chrysler and there is nothing anyone can do to help me. My car, that I take very good care and keep on top of all maintenance, is now a sitting duck. No one can give me any information on when a part may be available and no one can help me to get a car so that I can get to and from my job and live my daily life. I have been informed repeatedly that Chrysler is "working diligently" to come up with a solution. To me it seems crazy that they can't come up with a part to fix an ignition! there are ignitions in every car! at this point I consider this situation gross negligence and Chrysler could be putting somewhere around 300,000 drivers at risk of death because they cannot and will not fix this problem. I don't live very close to my work and there is no public transportation. My car is a necessity in my life and Chrysler has taken that away from me and offers me no support. Corporate giants need to be help accountable for their product.

- Oak Creek, CO, USA

problem #146

Jan 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • 76,000 miles
While on an interstate expressway, engine ignition cut out, loosing power. By shifting to neutral & using the fob-key, engine was started while moving. This has happened repeatedly about six times lately. I believe this to be defect in the ignition switch assembly. Contrary to Chrysler info (P57; NHTSA 14V-567), I believe the fob-key was in the "run" detent position when this event occurred. (Chrysler says this problem occurs when the fob-key passes the run position after starting). Either way, the ignition switch is probably faulty. Chrysler has not made available an improved ignition key assembly per their promise, and currently the old ignition switch assembly is backordered, so I can not affect any corrective action. Loss of power in a congested traffic situation, or during maneuvering can cause loss of control and a serious accident. I seek a timely remedy to this unsafe situation.

- South Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #145

Sep 172014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
On this first occurrence, and numerous times since, the engine will shut down. Sometimes while sitting motionless (e.g. at a traffic light) but also at times while traveling on the road. It has occurred at times where great danger was eminent because it happened during the merging into traffic flow, while passing another vehicle and when trying to cross train tracks and through intersections. I have survived several close calls. I need this repaired asap!

- Carbon Hill, AL, USA

problem #144

Feb 122015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Houston , TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?