Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,146 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 5 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #323

Sep 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For several months my vehicle has been shutting off while I am driving due to the key fob popping out of place. I went to the dealer in January 2015 and was told the part is not ready and to call for an update. I have called and been back several times only to be placed on a waiting list. I have been contacting them and getting the same response the part is not available. On 9/16/2015 while operating the vehicle I noticed the navigation/radio console start to pixilate and become inoperable then the console blacked out, after that the entire dash board lit up and I received several system warnings (service gauges, park assist disabled, check sensors, service suspension, my engine light and wipers came on, I was unable to signal, use my lights or turn off the wipers) all of this happened while I was driving. I made a right turn into the parking lot out of fear at this time I heard the key fob pop back and the car completely powered down and I was unable to break because the brakes locked up. The parking lot was semi-empty so I was able to maneuver until is rolled to a stop. I thought I was going to die. I need a resolution now, I still have two years worth of payments left and I want this problem resolved.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #322

Mar 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/29/2015

- Omaha , NE, USA

problem #321

Sep 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while parked, the ignition switch would not turn out of the on position to the off position. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the win module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 111,000. Djr

- Pittsfield , MA, USA

problem #320

Jul 312015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #319

Aug 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the failure recurred. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The mechanic stated that the ignition wiring was corroded and replaced the wiring. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 11/23/15

- Detroit , MI, USA

problem #318

Jun 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle did restart. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000. Updated 11/23/15

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #317

Mar 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at approximately 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 81,000.

- Elsobrante, CA, USA

problem #316

Nov 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Market , TN, USA

problem #315

Nov 102014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part to do the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.....updated 10-15-15- updated 3/28/2016

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #314

Sep 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Salem, PA, USA

problem #313

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that there was a progressing failure in which the key would not turn over to start the vehicle. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who replaced the battery, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the mechanic who was unable to replicate and diagnose the failure. The dealer was notified of the failure. The part was unavailable to repair the vehicle for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The contact continued to experience the failure and was unable to determine when the recall repair would be performed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and were not able to provide a reasonable timeframe. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- North Woodstock , NH, USA

problem #312

Jan 272012

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,443 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times and failed to restart. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice and they replaced the wireless ignition node module twice, but the failure recurred. The contact later received notification of a manufacturer's recall. The dealer repaired the vehicle, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The failure mileage was 55,443.

- Colliers, WV, USA

problem #311

Sep 042015

Grand Cherokee

  • 92,193 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system), but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 92,193.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #310

Apr 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle experienced multiple electrical failures. The contact mentioned that the radio was not turning on, the vehicle failed to shift and would not accelerate past 25 mph. The contact mentioned that in order for the vehicle to resume normal function, the key had to be removed from the ignition switch. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 89,000. MA 10/21/15

- West Yarmouth, MA, USA

problem #309

Sep 022010

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
Multiple incidents of unintended change in ignition switch position to the off position, resulting in engine shutdown, electrical and power steering completely shutdown/lock. First occurrence (approximately 2010) was during a left-hand turn, which nearly caused a multiple vehicle accident. Constant airbag light warning. Multiple other occurrences since then, resulting in multiple calls to dealer and contact to 1800 numbers provided. Fac P57/NHTSA 14V-567 important safety recall notice received and dealer again contacted. However, I was advised that the ignition is no longer in production and there is no way of knowing if/when the part will become available. Accordingly, no repair/remedy can be made. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #308

Apr 302015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 2 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Baxter, MN, USA

problem #307

Oct 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,000 miles
Vehicle turn signal randomly indicates the wrong direction. Has happened multiple times in vehicle. It appears to affect the right turn signal more than the left. Occasionally it will flash the wrong turn signal once, then it flashes the correct one. However there has been instances where it flashed the wrong direction the entire time the lever was in position. During a visit to dealer for a recall on another part, the service manager informed me that there are new module updates available. However he would not inform me what they fixed, and they would end up costing me $90/ service flash. This should not be legal for the dealers to charge for a safety related update. Provided that the update is for that issue

- Jackson , MI, USA

problem #306

Nov 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact stated that when the ignition was turned to the on position, the key became stuck in the forward position. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Bermuda Dunes, CA, USA

problem #305

Nov 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #304

Aug 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Anthony, NM, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?