Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,719 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 6 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #166

Oct 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system). The parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Prospect, CT, USA

problem #165

Sep 122014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Approximately 6 weeks ago I reported a lack of response when braking. Dealer looked at the system and found no issue. Reported it again two weeks ago. Dealer looked at the system and found brake booster needed changing. Got the vehicle back last week and the problem has re-occurred. At a standstill when you press the brake pedal you get an air brake type sound, and a slight knock, which appears to coming from the compartment behind the pedal. Issue has been reported again to the dealer. Thanks,

- Landover, MD, USA

problem #164

Sep 242014

Grand Cherokee

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 70 mph attempting to slow down, the brakes failed to stop the vehicle. The brake pedal went to the floor and the contact applied force to the brake pedal as the vehicle coasted to a stop. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact requested that the vehicle be inspected by an inspector from the manufacturer. The inspector was not able to replicate or diagnose the failure. The contact was not notified but the dealer indicated that the contact was included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes and service brakes, hydraulic). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #163

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to respond. The contact was able to maneuver the vehicle to a safe stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the brake booster needed to be repaired and advised the contact not to drive the vehicle until the repairs were performed. The vehicle was included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000...updated 11/17/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired out of state, because the local dealer, claimed they did not have the parts. Updated 12/11/14

- Cumberland , MD, USA

problem #162

Dec 102013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 56,514 miles
Report receipt date: Apr 01, 2014 NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 component(s): Service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic Jeep has not derived the correct test to correct this issue. My brakes failed last winter due to this very issue. Jeep would not correct the brake issue until they did a formal recall and letters were sent. I now have my letter and went to the dealer. The dealer refuses to replace the brake booster as it apparently passes the test Jeep established. They only put up the booster shield. The problem is that the water already did get into my brake booster and my brakes froze. I nearly had three accidents over the course of the winter 2013/2014. I expect I will have more close calls if not a full on accident this year when my brakes again freeze up and stop working. This needs to be addressed, and Jeep needs to replace all these boosters. Jeep are not only sending me back out on the road with a dangerous vehicle, but thousands of others who allegedly passed the test, yet will freeze again this winter. Unfortunately, we need to become a statistic before Jeep properly corrects the issue.

- Sparta, NJ, USA

problem #161

Jun 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical). However, the part needed was not available for several months. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Groton, CT, USA

problem #160

May 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), but the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The dealer stated that the contact would be added to a waiting list since the parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hampton , GA, USA

problem #159

Apr 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was not available. The contact mentioned that the manufacturer exceeded the reasonable amount of time for the repair. The dealer explained that the manufacturer was only providing five repair kits at a time and placed the contact on a waiting list. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Shady Spring, WV, USA

problem #158

Aug 292014

Grand Cherokee

  • 65,000 miles
As I was driving down a busy highway traffic in front of me was stopping, so I hit the brakes to stop only to realize that I had no brakes and I was unable to stop. So in panic mode I swerved over 3 lanes of traffic to avoid hitting the cars in front of me, finally my Jeep stopped before hitting the car in front of me. Took my Jeep to the dealership took them over a week to get back to me telling me what was wrong, the brake booster needed to be replaced. I still have not received my truck back since I took it to the stop in August 29, 20214.

- Smithfield , VA, USA

problem #157

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to a notice for a brake booster recall. The consumer has been waiting almost two months for the brake booster recall, to be rectified. The dealer informed him, the parts were not available. The consumer referenced recall numbers 14V154000 and 14V391000.

- Saint John, IN, USA

problem #156

Sep 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact was informed that the part needed for the recall repair was on back order. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #155

Sep 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Del Norte, CO, USA

problem #154

Sep 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced and failure.

- Bizmarck, ND, USA

problem #153

Sep 262014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 10 mph, the brakes failed. When the brake pedal was fully applied, the brakes failed to stop the vehicle in a reasonable amount of time. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The dealer could not repair the vehicle for two months because the parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 32,000. Updated 11/20/14 updated 5/6/2015

- New Stanton, PA, USA

problem #152

Sep 262014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
Chrysler safety recall P14 / NHTSA 14V-154 brake booster: Took vehicle for the inspection and was told yes we would get the updated part. Now 2 months later still no completion to the safety recall! the local dealer states the part is on national back-order. Is this a safety recall or not" why so long to get resolved? now I have another safety recall P36 / NHTSA 14V-391 for an issue with the vanity wiring that may cause a fire. Wonder how long this one will take" I have not yet contacted them about this one to be fair.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #151

Sep 222014

Grand Cherokee

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 30 mph, the brakes failed to respond when the brake pedal was depressed. The contact mentioned that the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the part was not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.

- Homer Glen, IL, USA

problem #150

Jul 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the recall was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wolf Point , MT, USA

problem #149

Aug 142014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
I had a recall P36/NHTSA 14V-154 and contacted the dealer. I set an appointment for August 14, 2014 to bring the car in because they told me they needed to inspect and order the part. I dropped the car off for the day, so they could inspect it, and picked it up at the end of the day. It is September 25, 2014, and they have not contacted me or returned my calls regarding the repair. I also got a second recall while waiting for follow-up on the first for this vehicle: P36/NHTSA 14V-391. I called to set that appointment for the same time as they repair the first recall. I left a message with the receptionist and never got a call back. I do not feel as though I need to manage their recall for my vehicle, and they do not make any attempts to manage it themselves or respond to my inquiries. What do I do from here? the dealer is autonation Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, roseville, ca 95661.

- Antelope, CA, USA

problem #148

Sep 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mukilteo, WA, USA

problem #147

Aug 202014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Brake booster failed. There is a recall on the brake booster (P14) and the dealer cannot return the vehicle to me until the brake booster is repaired. They cannot get parts from Chrysler and it has been over a month. I have been without my vehicle for over a month and neither the dealer or Chrysler can give me information on when the parts will be available. I've purchased four Jeep and will not ever again after this.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?