Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,719 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 9 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #106

Aug 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 40 mph, the brake pedal sank down to the floorboard when depressed. An independent mechanic stated that the brake booster needed to be replaced. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), but it was not confirmed if the VIN was included. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 52,000.

- Maples, FL, USA

problem #105

Apr 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The dealer stated that the part for the recall repair was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mount Pleasent , MI, USA

problem #104

May 072014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
I was advised in may this year that there was a recall on my car, having to do with the brake booster shield. I called the dealer (pro R Chrysler Jeep 1800 w 104th ave. Denver co 80234)) regarding the repair, and was told that the parts have not come in yet, and I would be notified when they do. About a month later I called again to find out more about the part and repair, and was told I was #20 on the list, and shouldn't be more than about 2 weeks, and I would be called! its now the end of August, called again today, talked to [xxx], and was told again, according to the service manager, none of the parts have come in from Chrysler, and I need to continue to wait until they come in. No other explanation was given. I would appreciate a follow up in this matter. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #103

Aug 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Monson , MA, USA

problem #102

May 062014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 55,070 miles
On 05/06/14 vehicle brake pedal went all the way to the floor and the vehicle would not stop at an intersection. The vehicle rolled through two stop signs with an infant in the vehicle nearly causing two separate accidents. Brakes did not function at all even after brake pedal was pumped. While driving to the dealership a collision occurred with a white tail deer due to brake pedal being depressed all the way to the floor and no slowing of vehicle. At the dealership, they discovered an internal failure of the brake booster. Chrysler would not provide reimbursement after multiple phone calls and vehicle having only 55kmi. On 8/19/14 Chrysler still has not refunded costs associated with brake booster recall P14 / NHTSA 14V-154 for 2011 through 2014 model year Dodge durango and Jeep Grand Cherokee vehicles, which was sent in May 2014. Recall notice states reimbursement within 60 days.

- Middle Grove, NY, USA

problem #101

Aug 182014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) but was informed that the part was not available. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Middletown, NY, USA

problem #100

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 23,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice for NHTSA 14V-154 notifying me of a potential problem with the brakes on my vehicle. I have called my dealer repeatedly in the over 3 months since I received the recall notice and have been told each time that the parts to perform the recall work are still unavailable. I know that Jeep has been manufacturing and selling new 2014 Grand Cherokee during this time that have the part that is needed to perform the recall on my vehicle. How can you (the government) allow them to use the part that is needed for a safety recall on my vehicle on other new vehicles that they haven't sold yet and claim that the part needed to perform the recall on my vehicle isn't available" shouldn't they be required to use those parts to perform the recall on the vehicles that are already on the road and in use by consumers before they are allowed to use them in new vehicles that they haven't sold yet"

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #99

Jun 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic). However, the part needed to remedy the recall was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Andrews Air Force, MD, USA

problem #98

Jul 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the parts were not available in order to remedy the problem. The dealer was contacted and made the contact aware that the parts were still in the process of being manufactured. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Idyllwild, CA, USA

problem #97

Aug 132014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact had been waiting since April 1, 2014 for the vehicle to be repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The contact was informed that there were 400 people on the waiting list for repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #96

Aug 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Aroda, VA, USA

problem #95

Aug 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #94

Aug 062014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
I have taken this vehicle to two Jeep dealerships in my area...Chrysler does not have the parts to repair the corroding brake booster that we have received recall notices about..can you not force the company to prioritize these protective brake booster shields..it has been a month and neither dealership (sport dunst or westmark) have these parts!

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #93

Aug 052014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Several attempts were made throughout the day to start my 2011 grand Jeep Cherokee and it would not start, only a clicking noise. I took it to the dealer immediately and the tipm is bad and needs to be replaced. Obviously, my car is only 3 years old and not under warranty now. The part alone is over $900, which seems questionable that something would go bad so quickly on a vehicle and cost so much to repair. Besides the cost, there are so many complaints for the same issue, and even more serious with the engine cutting off while driving. Is someone going to recall this item before someone gets hurt or even killed"???" I purchased this vehicle, and all my previous Chrysler/Jeep vehicles thinking they were safe for my family; now I'm not so sure. Do the right thing and recall the tipm! in addition, I have made several attempts to get the brake booster repaired due to the recall and the parts are still not in. This has been going on for months now.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #92

Jul 292014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 47,500 miles
Over the past year I have experienced several problems with the braking system ranging from a brake light on the dash to having either a rock hard brake pedal or a very soft pedal. The rock hard pedal happens without warning or any brake light on the dash and the only way to get rid of it is to pump the brakes. Within the past few months I have had several instances of a soft pedal and when taken to the dealer they claim that everything is fine. Once telling me the brake light was a loose master cylinder cap. Last week as I was leaving work my brake pedal went soft and the brake light illuminated, the only brake power that I have is approximately 1" at the bottom of the pedal throw and it is all manual. I drove to the dealer and they had a tech drive my car and he diagnosed a bad brake booster. The dealer connect system was down so they said to go ahead and drive it home and they would call me with the eta on the parts. I never got that call and I had to call the dealer only to find out that the booster is on a national backorder with no eta. I then called Chrysler and filed a claim/case with them. The vehicle is not safe to drive and I have expressed this with every person that I have talked to from the dealer to the reps at Chrysler. No one is concerned that the vehicle no safe to drive, I was just told that they would keep in contact with me every 4-5 days. I have repeatedly asked for a loaner but the reps at Chrysler just tell me that if I want one it would be out of my pocket and it's not their responsibility to provide loaners. Today I got confirmation that the booster would be at the dealer on Monday however the booster "installation kit" is back ordered with no eta. This is my only means of transportation to and from work and I have a job that requires me to be in various locations and it is not safe to drive this vehicle to my job.

- Marion, OH, USA

problem #91

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V145000 (service brakes) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Round Lake , IL, USA

problem #90

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to parts are unavailable to complete recall. Consumer has another vehicle complaint in artemis.

- Palm City, FL, USA

problem #89

Jul 282014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Hello, I have been calling my dealership for two months in order to rectify the brake booster issue (safety recall P14/NHTSA 14V-154) and they still do not have the replacement part or know when to expect them. This is unacceptable. Updated 5/7/2015

- Stamford, NN, USA

problem #88

Jul 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #87

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to corrosion and brake failure recall problems. The consumer was informed, the part was not available, and she was placed on a waiting list.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?