Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,891 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Jun 212016

Grand Cherokee

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving various speeds, the vehicle lost power. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 72,000.

- St Charles, IL, USA

problem #38

Sep 272016

Grand Cherokee

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the gear shifter was in the park position, the vehicle rolled away in reverse and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 114,000.

- Indiana, PA, USA

problem #37

Mar 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • 44,680 miles
This Jeep engine failed / stalled while driving. This caused the vehicle to veer off the road twice on a turn, and almost cause two rear ends by failing in mid traffic, in four different occasions, since 2014. The vehicle engine cuts out, which causes the power steering and brakes to not function properly. The vehicle was in motion on various main streets, when this occurred. Naperville Jeep dealership (where this vehicle was purchased) has also maintained this vehicle per the maintenance schedule, has worked on this problem since it began. They have not been able to resolve the issue and returned the vehicle to us confident the problem was ¿resolved¿ or non-existent. Attached is the vehicle recall and replacement record. From online research it seems this has occurred to other Jeep Grand Cherokee before and the typical solution is replacing the totally integrated power module (tipm). This vehicle's tipm was ¿repaired¿ Sept 3, 2014. Below are the maintenance records related to this problem. 03/26/2014 mileage: 44,680 wro# 599705 11/25/2014 mileage: 51,329 cro# 615926 01/07/2016 mileage: 65,485 cro# 646292 06/10/2016 mileage: 69,938 cro# 658369 this vehicle is not safe and we have lost all trust and confidence in this vehicle.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #36

Jul 182016

Grand Cherokee

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving between 55 and 60 mph, the transmission independently shifted into fourth gear. The contact stated that the transmission remained in fourth gear until the vehicle was cycled off and on. The vehicle was not taken to be diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the failure recurred three times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000.

- Fort Blackmore, VA, USA

problem #35

May 212016

Grand Cherokee

  • 22,575 miles
This Jeep has the electronic shifter. I very rarely drive it as it is my wifes car. I pulled into a parking space today in a pouring rain. I pushed the shifter all the way forward into park, hit the engine shut off button, grabbed the key fob, and stepped out the door. To my horror I discovered that the car was still running in reverse. I had to run several steps and dive into the car and push the brake pedal down with my left hand and shift it into park with my right hand. The parking lot was full of people including many children. Had I not gotten lucky and stooped the vehicle, their could have been a tragedy. I know from the news that there is a recall being considered on this deadly shifter. It can.T come soon enough. I beg you to pressure Chrysler to address this extremely dangerous situation before people are killed. This car is not safe to drive, especially by someone not used to it. Please get back to me with a response. Thanks, russ foster

- Finleyville, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #34

Dec 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 53,183 miles
Transmission cooler, A/C condenser combo unit began leaking transmission fluid around 50,000 miles. There is no dip stick to know how much fluid is in the transmission so it is dangerous. The trans could be low on fluid and possibly fail while driving causing an accident. Upon searching the internet I found other 2011-2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee with the same leak, on the same part, at the same location on the part, around the same miles. Chrysler believes this is normal to have the part fail even though it is failing before the transmission or A/C even require servicing. I disagree because my other vehicle has 297,000 miles and has the same condenser from when the vehicle was purchased. I paid to have the part replaced and contacted Chrysler for reimbursement and to open an investigation. Chrysler said there is no recall and if a recall happens in the future they will notify us. We strongly believe this leak should be investigated as a manufacture defect and public safety issue.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #33

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the entire drive train needed to be replaced. The contact also stated that the gear was in drive position, but began to reverse while the gear was still in the drive position. The vehicle was constantly stuck in eco mode. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed and repaired several times. The failure was persistent. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Pemberton, NJ, USA

problem #32

Sep 142015

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle would not exceed 30 mph with the accelerator pedal all the way to the floorboard. The warning lights were illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact was able to drive the vehicle to the dealer to be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Manlius, NY, USA

problem #31

Aug 162011

Grand Cherokee

  • 2,309 miles
1. after 2300 original miles on odometer, vehicle developed a vibration in "coast" mode (foot off gas, slack in drive train) between about 45 to 30 mph. Dealership has kept it overnite, test driven it, and contacted Jeep "engineers" about problem, numerous times over the last 4 years. Dealer can't "duplicate" problem, and "engineers are looking for a solution, with less than a handful of reports on 2011 overland's throughout usa". 2. the dealer service rep once said that a dealership mechanic was working on a similar problem with a limited or Laredo model. 3. I bought this Jeep new and ordered it with certain options I wanted. I bought it to last me thru my retirement years, being a top rated 4X4. It now has 20,000 miles on it, still has the vibration, and after sporadically checking with the dealership during service or recall work for the past 4 years(!!!!), a solution has not been reached. 4. there's always a "what if" in the back of my mind on what to do in the event I'm at freeway speeds (65-80 mph here) and the drivetrain component (tranny, transfer case, rear axle, drive shaft) that's causing this vibration suddenly disintegrates. 5. other non-dealership mechanics agree with me on the above listed suspect components based on where I feel the vibration (literally in the seat of my pants).

- Riverdale, UT, USA

problem #30

Apr 082014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
When the Jeep Grand Cherokee vehicle is exiting the freeway or when coasting with no pressure on the accelerator, the vehicle stalls. Engine power is lost, power steering is lost, and power braking is lost leading to a significant inability to control the vehicle. The vehicle is unable to restart until it comes to a complete stop in the roadway and is put into park. This issue has occurred on four separate occasions before Chrysler even issued a recall. Chrysler has now notified me by mail of a recall for the fuel relay which could cause a stall and crash and has recommended I take the car to a dealer for repair. After taking the car to the dealer, the dealer has stated that no problem can be found and they cannot recreate the issue. The Jeep dealer has no evidence showing them that the problem is occurring as a result of the fuel relay even with the recall in effect. The dealer has advised me to pick up the car and wait until parts are available to fix the recalled part. This means they have advised me to drive the car with this potentially fatal flaw. This is as of November 18th, 2014. Chrysler's recall department has advised by phone I drive the car to another Jeep dealership to see if another service department can diagnose the issue. This recommendation puts myself and the public at risk of serious injury or death. There has been no temporary repair suggested or a date when a permanent fuel relay replacement part will be available. No alternative transportation has been provided or offered. I am without a means of transportation while my vehicles is not functioning due to safety reasons.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #29

Oct 262014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Date above is most recent occurrence message: 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee - about 26000 miles now; since purchase new well below 5000 miles, and occurring 1-3X/month, usually shortly after starting out, the automatic transmission does not transition through the sequence and stays in low. 4-5 X in the last 4-5 months. Most recently on 10/26/14, upon entering I95 from a side street in baltimore into heavy traffic, the transmission stayed in low - in that traffic had to pull over with very little room - shift into neutral and start out again - very unsafe. Every time I take it to the dealer they tell me it "meets specs". well the specs must be wrong - eventually this will cause an accident!!!! also, there are times of unpredictable acceleration - again, usually within 10-15 min of being underway.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #28

Sep 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start on the first attempt. The contact mentioned that after several attempts the vehicle was able to restart. In addition, the contact stated that all the warning lights on the instrument panel illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 57,000.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #27

Sep 242014

Grand Cherokee

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated while driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted after the first attempt but the failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician diagnosed that the tipm module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #26

Sep 272014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 49,500 miles
My 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland 5.7L has not starting multiple times. Other symptoms include intermittent rough idle after starting, sputtering/missing when accelerating and uphill, and intermittent failing to shift at high RPM. Dealer proposing to install starter/fuel module relay which Chrysler has made due to "amount of people with this problem" but quoting me $410 for the repair. No definitive diagnosis that this will fix all the symptoms. Advised by dealer to not drive vehicle until problem is fixed as the truck can stall or turn off at any time resulting in a serious safety risk. This is a very dangerous problem!!!

- Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #25

Sep 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while pulling out of the driveway, the vehicle hesitated and stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the fuel pump relay had failed. However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000.

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #24

Mar 102014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
While driving in outerbanks, nc. The vehicle decided to shut the 4X4 system off and lower suspension completely, all while driving. My new born son, wife and 4yr old daughter in the vehicle and we are stranded. Paid for towing and after towed the vehicle goes back to normal with no maintenance. Upon returning home vehicle randomly shuts off while in motion, will not start or fuel pump randomly runs and now way to shut off. After some research I am finding this is a common problem with the tipm in these vehicles. You are not able to get the parts as they are on back order and nothing is being done to the manufacturer. Who do we complain to if this happens while my children are in the car and there is an accident. This seems like this will be the only way something is going to be done about this issue.

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #23

Jul 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • 57,753 miles
Car made grinding sound when starting. Wouldn't start. Tipm failed causing fuel pump to burn out. Also had to replace ignition switch.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #22

Aug 132014

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,254 miles
While driving up the freeway ramp and accelerating past 50 mph the entire vehicle started to shake. Had to immediately get off the freeway, stop the vehicle and have it inspected by our local mechanic. It was a frightening incident for my wife and kids.

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #21

Jun 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • 52,000 miles
When started and shifted into "D" drive mode, car would self engage in manual gear "4" and then had no traction or acceleration, only reverse. Transmission completely died and would automatically go into manual "4" gear itself when put into "D" drive mode from park or while driving on the road. Very dangerous and very scary. Had it towed to dealer who wanted $1,300 to repair faulty tipm module and would not cover under powertrain warranty. Called Chrysler and negotiated it down to $100. This should be a recall and is very dangerous because the car is putting itself into the wrong gear while moving and would not accelerate or move in drive mode.

- Lititz, PA, USA

problem #20

Oct 012010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle would accelerate from one gear to the next on multiple occasions without warning. The contact stated that he experienced the failure more than fifteen times. The contact stated that the automatic transmission gear would go into a low gear when he did not shift the vehicle into manual. Additionally, when the gear box was bumped, it changed gears at random. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer multiple times, who was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 2000. Updated 05/12/14

- Baltimore, MD, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?