CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 27
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,927 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 14 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #214

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hello, I was browsing the internet after running into the faulty tipm with my 2011 Grand Cherokee. I purchased a certified pre owned vehicle from buhler bitter dealership in hazlet NJ in late January/ Feb 2014. This past Friday I brought my vehicle to the dealership to have the problem looked at. In return I was given a bill for over 1,500 dollars to fix the issue. They told me the issue was not a recall and was not covered by the limited warranty I was given. Is there any steps I should take with this? I already paid and had the vehicle fixed.. thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #213

May 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Earlier this year I started experiencing starting difficulties with my Jeep. While pressing the start button, the ignition would run but not turn over. Eventually it would start. However, over the summer the problem became worse and on occasion the vehicle would not start and when it did it would stall out. I took it to the dealer on 8/23/2014 and they were able to replicate the problem. They called me and said I had a bad fuel pump and it needed to be replaced at a price of $1,300. While the Jeep was in the shop, I started doing an online search of my problem and discovered the problem that a huge number of people were having - a bad tipm. On 8/26/2014 I went in to pick up the vehicle and noticed on my receipt that they replaced the tipm and not the fuel pump. I presented my research with the service tech and said since this is definitely a design flaw with this vehicle, this should either be covered under warranty or recall. He said that he had no authority to do this and I was forced to pay $1,233.42 to retrieve my vehicle. I have now been made aware of a recall for this problem wherein the remedy will be to replace the fuel pump relay with one external to the tipm at no charge. Since my problem was resolved prior to this recall I am expecting a reimbursement of the $1,233.42 that I have already paid.

- Lexington`, KY, USA

problem #212

Sep 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mukilteo, WA, USA

problem #211

Feb 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • 28,689 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start on numerous occasions. The contact mentioned that there was a continuous hissing sound coming from the rear of the vehicle. The dealer stated that the tipm needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 28,689.

- Rosedale, NY, USA

problem #210

Aug 132014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
My 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee with only 42,000 miles on it is not starting properly. It tries to turn over but sometimes it can take 5 times before I can get it to start. I have read online many other Jeep owners are having this issue and it is related to the tipm. Please investigate. Thank you.

- Austin , TX, USA

problem #209

Sep 192014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
On Friday, 9/19/14, my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee almost killed me. I was driving between va and NY via I-81 for a family funeral. I stopped half-way there for lunch and then experienced a problem starting it. Hitting the start button, it would not start, and would not stop trying to do so - it kept cranking and would not stop until I opened the door. It did this 3-4X, and then it started. It had never done this before. I continued on, more cautiously. An hour later, while passing several big rigs, part of the electrical system stopped working. I lost power steering, accelerator function, and my dash lit up - and the engine continued running and even revved despite the lack of the accelerator. My brakes also didn't work for approx. 10 seconds. The road curved, and I almost lost control and flipped the Jeep trying to avoid the big rigs, which were slamming on their brakes all around. Ultimately, I was able to pull over with no accident or damage and turned the vehicle off. After 15 minutes, it re-started, and I was able to get to my destination with no other problems. Upon arrival, however, I experienced the same things while testing it at very low speeds on back roads. After the funeral on Saturday, I was able to get it to the local dealership, where it still is undergoing diagnostics. I had to travel back to va on Sunday, and now have to rent a car, deal with long-distance repairs with an unknown dealership, and travel back to NY to get it once repaired. The dealership indicated it sounded like a tipm issue, which I have learned Jeep/Chrysler know about, but have not recalled. I have previously experienced minor electrical issues (flashlight never worked, multiple back bulbs, etc), which the dealership indicated may indicate tipm issues since the day I bought the vehicle, but were always dealt with as isolated repairs. Please help with a Jeep/Chrysler tipm recall!

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #208

Sep 192014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Friday, 9/19/14, my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee almost killed me. I was driving between va and NY via I-81 for a family funeral. I stopped half-way there for lunch and then experienced a problem starting it. Hitting the start button, it would not start, and would not stop trying to do so - it kept cranking and would not stop until I opened the door. It did this 3-4X, and then it started. It had never done this before. I continued on, more cautiously. An hour later, while passing several big rigs, part of the electrical system stopped working. I lost power steering, accelerator function, and my dash lit up - and the engine continued running and even rev'ed despite the lack of the accelerator. My brakes also didn't work for approx. 10 seconds. The road curved, and I almost lost control and flipped the Jeep trying to avoid the big rigs, which were slamming on their brakes all around. Ultimately, I was able to pull over with no accident or damage and turned the vehicle off. After 15 minutes, it re-started, and I was able to get to my destination with no other problems. Upon arrival, however, I experienced the same things while testing it at very low speeds on back roads. After the funeral on Saturday, I was able to get it to the local dealership, where it still is undergoing diagnostics. I had to travel back to va on Sunday, and now have to rent a car, deal with long-distance repairs with an unknown dealership, and travel back to NY to get it once repaired. The dealership indicated it sounded like a tipm issue, which I have learned Jeep/Chrysler know about, but have not recalled. I have previously experienced minor electrical issues (flashlight never worked, multiple back bulbs, etc), which the dealership indicated may indicate tipm issues since the day I bought the vehicle, but were always dealt with as isolated repairs. Please help with a Jeep/Chrysler tipm recall!

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #207

Aug 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • 57,000 miles
I parked the car in the garage and heard a noise. After searching the whole car, the fuel pump was stuck on. I turned car on and off thinking it would reset and it did not. I had to pull the fuse to turn off the pump. I took it to the dealer and was told that the tipm was bad and will cost $1500 to replace.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #206

Jul 092014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Car was shut off, locked and parked in motel parking lot. 45 minutes later, call was made to room that it had rolled across lot, down a hill and crashed into a tanker truck which was refueling @ a gas station. Car was running and in drive. I am doubly sure car had been shut off, placed in park, and locked securely. Weather had been extremely hot that day (+100 degrees).

- Sandpoint, ID, USA

problem #205

Jul 182014

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,000 miles
My wife was driving the vehicle across a busy intersection, an intersection where 2 lanes merge into one on the far side. She was in the through lane, the left lane. Our vehicle lost all engine power. Cars were merging from the right and no one could comprehend that our vehicle was in a failure mode. With engine not running, and bells ringing which no idea why the bells, the power-steering was inoperative and the brakes were very ineffective. She was trying to get the vehicle off to the side of the road, without hitting anyone or being hit. Somehow, she avoided an accident. She's a very small in stature person and it took all she had to steer and stop this 5200 pound Jeep. After letting the Jeep sit, it started up after multiple attempts and we went directly to the Jeep dealership. They plugged in a code-reader, found no codes, and sent us on our way. They would not provide us with a repair work order so we have no paper work. They know what's wrong but are avoiding the issue. It's the tipm! this issue has continued to occur and the fuel pump isn't running when in the failure mode. Sometimes the horn blows by itself! we've had the wipers not function and the window not roll up. The vehicle is haunted. What does it take for a recall NHTSA?

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #204

Sep 172014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 77,528 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Jeep became increasingly difficult to start. I took it to the dealership and it was a tipm issue. The dealership rewired the fuel pump circuit to tipm with a stand-alone outside relay. This new relay is used to turn-on the fuel pump.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #203

Sep 182014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the gear was in reverse, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure occurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician stated that the failure might be due to a defective tipm. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000. Updated 11/14/14 updated 4/29/2015

- Huntingdon Valley, PA, USA

problem #202

Sep 162014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 59,717 miles
My Jeep would not start. I checked online and found many people had the same problem however some said that when they got the vehicle to start it would suddenly quit running while driving. I brought the vehicle to the dealer who explained that the electrical connection to the fuel pump was the problem and that they would have to replace the tipm. The service writer said that this problem was more prevalent on the 2011 model. If it is true that this is a defective part and that the fuel could shut off at any time, this certainly seems like a safety issue.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #201

May 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 32,000 miles
Jeep will not start on first try. I removed the push start button and began starting with the key. That worked fine for about a month then it required multiple tries to get it started. I have now started using the remote start and it worked for 4 days. It is not hard to start every time but at least twice a day I have a problem with it. I had the Jeep dealership check my battery in August to see if that was the problem and they informed me my battery was fine.

- Crawfordville, FL, USA

problem #200

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Vehicle would not start. Dealer replaced fuel pump relay, mentioned many people were having this issue and that Chrysler may have/need to recall so keep receipt. Suspect it may be the tipm.

- Windham, NH, USA

problem #199

Sep 162014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Engine did not start.

- Gig Harbor , WA, USA

problem #198

Sep 122014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
I currently have a tipm issue which can sometimes make it impossible to start my car. In addition, it can cause any of the following. The fuel pump not turning off the airbags not deploying or deploying randomly the engine stalling while driving the horn going off at random times. I have a 7 year old son and I use this vehicle everyday and I can not and will not put my life, my son and other drivers life at risk because of this issue with this vehicle. About a month ago I had to get my break boosters replace as well because they went out and I almost got in to an accident and hurt not only me and my son but another driver. I contacted Chrysler the seem to show not much concern but I was able to take it to a local Chrysler service department and they corrected the break booster issue. Now I have this electrical issue that is not safe and I don't wan to cause any damage to anyone or myself because my Jeep stalls in the middle of the highway my airbags go off while driving and cause me to hurt someone or myself. Please help me not only me but help me for the other drivers on the road no one needs to get hurt because of these defects of this vehicle. Thank you!

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #197

Sep 022014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
When cranking my vehicle it begins to stall and sounds as if it is flooding. It continues to do this until I can get it to turn off. The stalling is continuous. When I took my Jeep to the dealership they informed that the problem I am experiencing is due to a defective totally integrated power module, or tipm. This defective part is the cause of the problems I'm incurring with starting my vehicle and it's stalling. While researching the issue I learned that the tipm can "prevent the fuel pump from shutting off properly, cause headlights and taillights to shut off, and can cause random and uncontrollable activity of the horn, windshield wipers, alarm system, door locks, and airbags."

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #196

Sep 082014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 51,466 miles
I was driving on the highway and the vehicle shut off, the lights started flashing and there was no power to the vehicle. I thought I was going to die!!! it was very hard but I got it to the shoulder. I called 911 and my insurance company and they had it towed to the nearest dealer. They could not use a normal tow truck they hat to use dolly wheels, since everything was locked. My lights continued to flash for over six hours till the dealer could get them shut off, it blew my fog lights and a turn signal. They said it was the tipm and they luckily had one. This was to be all fixed back in February.

- Milford, DE, USA

problem #195

Jun 192014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 33,313 miles
Vehicle began presenting with grinding noise upon start up (similar noise to turning the key in older vehicle once engine was running). Brought to dealer's attention at time of service - dealer could not duplicate grinding noise. Within a few weeks, vehicle began taking more than 1 attempt to turn engine over (sometimes up to 4-5 attempts), including prolonged engagement of starter motor. If multiple attempts, noticed rich fuel smell. Mentioned to dealer at time of next scheduled service - dealer could not duplicate starting problems over the course of 2 days in their care. Dealer said to wait for more frequent occurrences to begin then they would check again. Starting issues were intermittent and continued to occur until last week, where after "hard start, " vehicle engine stalled while in reverse pulling out of parking spot (<5 mph); however, power to lights and radio remained on; steering locked up, and had to push vehicle to safe spot. Took 2 starts to get engine running again. Next day, after 4 failed starting attempts (5th successful), had battery tested and replaced day after thinking it could be part of problem (starter and alternator tested fine). The day after battery replacement, vehicle produced what sounded like abnormal start, then engine stalled while in motion under 5 miles per hour. Based on evidence and prior reports, faulty tipm is suspect. We are fortunate that both stalls occurred under 5 mph; it is only a matter of time before this happens at highway speeds. Hoping the NHTSA will force Chrysler's hand into opening formal investigation into faulty electrical systems in vehicles.

- Burlington, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?