Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 26
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,836 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 15 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #188

Sep 102014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was trying to leave work on Sept. 10, Jeep wouldn't start. It would try for a minute, the whole thing would shake, and then it would turn off. I tried again, Jeep started fine and drove home fine. The next morning when I was headed to work, the Jeep wouldn't start - same shaking thing, I tried 5 times and it would never come on. Started researching online and looks like we've fallen victim to the tipm problem I keep reading about.

- Muskogee, OK, USA

problem #187

Sep 072014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 83,829 miles
Vehicle hard to start, failed to start, and quit after starting. Failure of the defective totally integrated power module (tipm).

- Viper, KY, USA

problem #186

Sep 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical). The contact stated that the parts were not available to perform the recall repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Middletown, NY, USA

problem #185

Sep 082014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 38,737 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Jeep Grand Cherokee hasn't been starting regularly for about 3 months. Four days ago the headlights turned off while I was driving, yesterday it wouldn't start at all. Currently having the tipm replaced to the tune of $1100.

- Spring Valley, CA, USA

problem #184

Jul 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving various speeds, the engine would stall. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. Also, the instrument panel warning indicators intermittently illuminated. The dealer stated that the tipm unit was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000.

- Buckholts, TX, USA

problem #183

Aug 122014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 62,500 miles
We purchased our 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee brand new in August 2010. Over the course of the last year there were moments when the vehicle was hard to start. In the last two weeks the hard starting only occurred the initial start of the day. Subsequently, August 31st - September 5th the hard start occurred at every start through out the day. I no longer felt comfortable driving it anywhere feeling like I would be stranded somewhere. The car is currently at the dealership with a new tipm being installed at a cost of $1000 for the part and another $411 in labor and tax.

- Bonare, GA, USA

problem #182

Oct 202013

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,650 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

October 20, 2013, attempted to turn ignition off when the starter motor remained engaged and continued cranking after shut off and engine check light came on. Starter motor finally disengaged after pushing the start/stop button multiple times. Vehicle has only 20652 miles on the odometer. Vehicle taken to the dealer who advised that the starter motor never remained engaged while cranking during their test. Dealer invoice reports "check veh for check engine light on, hook up to scanner found "dtc P0108". checked for flash found power train flash reprogram PCM then retest, vehicle ok". dealer mentioned nothing about a possible tipm problem. Vehicle ran fine for a while, but the same thing occurred several months later. Since the second incident, no further problems until yesterday (September 6, 2014) when the engine would not start as the starter motor remained engaged and continued to crank. The starter motor disengaged and stopped cranking when the start/stop button was pushed, but the same thing happened 5 successive times when additional attempts were made to start the engine. Finally, the vehicle started. I googled the symptoms and learned about the ongoing problem with the tipm involving the 2011 Jeep. I've recently received two recall notices from Chrysler for "P36 / NHTSA 14V-391 and 154" (lamp wiring and brakes), but nothing regarding the tipm problem. I now have a lack of confidence in my Jeep.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #181

Jun 162014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Vehicle will stall at any speed without any prior warning causing loss of steering and braking. The vehicle has to come to a complete stop to be started as it is a push button start and it has to be in park with foot on brake. Started a case number with Jeep, took it to several Jeep authorized service facilities and they could not diagnose the problem. The vehicle had a tipm (totally integrated power module) replaced at about 80,000 miles. Should have been recalled, was not. Jeep closed the case telling us there was nothing they could do for us as they could not diagnose the problem. This vehicle has had numerous electrical issues documented starting when it only had 50 miles on it. This vehicle is not safe to drive.

- Granger, IN, USA

problem #180

Sep 022014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
My Jeep was having problems starting for 3 weeks now but the dealer couldn't look at it until 9/9/14 on Tuesday 9/2/14 it stalled while doing 55 mph on the long island expressway, I was able to coast to the shoulder and able to get the car started after about a dozen tries. I called the dealer and tried to get in earlier because on my concern about safety. They told me I was lucky I still had the appointment that I had because they are overbooked. It would not start at all on Friday 9/5/14 I had it towed to another dealer that diagnosed it as a faulty tipm. And it would cost me 1098 to fix because the warranty will not cover it. After looking up the problem I see that this is a serious issue with my model. This is a serious problem with the engine stalling at speed. Chrysler should fix this for free!

- Huntington, NY, USA

problem #179

Feb 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 39,000 miles
Engine would crank but would not start. Required repeated tries and would then start. This has occurred several times since February. Seems to occur after car has been sitting for a few days. Radio and ac have also have some unexplained behaviors that may or may not be related. Have now learned through numerous online complaints that tipm may very well be the culprit. Going to dealer on Monday.

- Blue Jay, CA, USA

problem #178

May 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Within the first two months of owning the vehicle, it didn't want to crank (didn't turn over). After two attempts, it cranked fine for the next few months. About a month later, same thing occured. 09/03/14 same type of incident occured except etc light came on. Cranked after two separate attempts. Car alarm also randomly will go off in a parking lot, especially whenever locked, with no other cars or interferences around (happens at least monthly).

- Newton, NC, USA

problem #177

May 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
Within the first two months of owning the vehicle, it didn't want to crank (didn't turn over). After two attempts, it cranked fine for the next few months. About a month later, same thing occured. 09/03/14 same type of incident occured except etc light came on. Cranked after two separate attempts. Car alarm also randomly will go off in a parking lot, especially whenever locked, with no other cars or interferences around (happens at least monthly).

- Newton, NC, USA

problem #176

Aug 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
Driving home from work on a Friday afternoon, while making a turn in residential area, the engine cut off and the steering locked up. The radio, instrument panel and A/C were all still on, so did not immediately realize the engine was off. Was able to restart after putting vehicle into park. Fortunately, no other vehicles were behind me or could have been worse. Dealer not able to find what was wrong since they could not replicate it, so was not able to repair problem. Has not recurred, but now very scary driving, not knowing if it will happen again.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #175

Jul 302013

Grand Cherokee

  • 44,680 miles
My Jeep failed to start on the first 4 attempts. This was one of the many times it has failed to start. My service tech told me it needs a tipm, total integrated power module and that they are know by Jeep to be defective and Jeep needs to recall these before there are anymore accidents. I was also told it will take weeks for a replacement tipm due to the demand of the bad ones being replaced. I was also told this is around a $1300 repair. I bought a extra 5 years warranty and now need to get a rental and have it fixed before it leaves me stranded along the road.

- Portage, PA, USA

problem #174

Aug 302014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 60,225 miles
Car will not start and fuel pump will not shut off. The issue is related to the totally integrated power module (tipm).

- Sand Springs, OK, USA

problem #173

Aug 142014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 36,288 miles
On August 14, 2014 my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee would not start. Over the next two weeks the starting issued got continually worse. The day I took it into the shop to have looked at it took 8 to 12 times to start. The vehicle will crank but not start. The technician performed diagnostic testing and found no fuel pressure when not starting. Technician found fuel pump not being turned on when key is turned. Technician installed a relay overlay harness for tipm circuit. Diagnosis - faulty tipm.

- Lemont, PA, USA

problem #172

Feb 132014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
During the cold winter months in nyc the vehicle failed to start after a few attempts it did actually start. The rear door latch opens but the door doesn't actually open so I need to get out and open the door and close it to remove the door open symbol on my dashoboard. Then the door will do the same thing 3 or 4 times in a row. Also the real glass window doesnt open, but then will open on its own for no reason.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #171

Aug 202014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 82,238 miles
Vehicle would not start due to failed totally integrated power module. The tipm would not send power to the fuel pump and engine would not start. Chrysler knows about this problem but fails to take responsibility for the defect.

- Box Elder, SD, USA

problem #170

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
About a month ago, my Jeep had problems starting. When pushing the start button, it would just turn over and over but fail to fire up. Shut it off, wait, restart the process is the only way to finally get it to start. The problem now has progressed to almost every time and 5-6 X to finally start. I know this site wants me to log each incident separately, but I'd be doing that 5X a day...ugh! not looking forward to a $1200+ repair for a known issue! may be my last Jeep if they don't fix it! I have been told it's a faulty tipm, that it's a known issue, yet it am still responsible for the repair.

- Castle Rock , CO, USA

problem #169

Jul 142014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Problem started a few months ago with my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The vehicle wouldn't start with the push button nor the key. The problem progressively got worse to the point of taking up to ten minutes to crank the Jeep. Would turn the ignition to "run" for several minutes before the vehicle would start. Once the repair shop located the source of the problem, the Jeep wouldn't crank at all. Had to replace the tipm to the tune of $1200 and two weeks in the repair shop.

- Peachland, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?