CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 27
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,927 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 20 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #94

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Jeep Cherokee grand. I have 50,000 miles on it. It has stalled and is not consistently starting up. Tipm has gone bad.

- Hampstead, NC, USA

problem #93

Dec 172013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
Purchased a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4X4 from moore auto sales in moore, Oklahoma on Nov. 16, 2013 and have had problems with it since the 17th. The Jeep was having trouble starting and if it did start, the fuel pump would run after we shut the vehicle off. Would have to pull the fuse to the fuel pump to turn it off, now after a month of dealing with this is will not start at all, it will just turn over. Jeep says it is most likely a faulty tipm core, but they are back ordered to who knows when! very frustrated!

- Haven, KS, USA

problem #92

Dec 132013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,450 miles
Headliner caught fire, origin appears to be near passenger vanity mirror base... updated 08-20-14 updated 08/25/2014

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #91

Dec 032013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 28,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle fails to start multiple times. Turned off while backing up multiple times. It is currently on a Jeep service dealer, they indicated failure on the "tipm" module. The replacement is on backorder, with no specific date for arrival and installation.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #90

Dec 102013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
I have owned a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee since may of this year. This past week my wife began have trouble getting the Jeep started. Yesterday morning, it took her 45 minutes to get the Jeep started. She left work around noon to run an errand and ended up stuck in a parking lot in freezing temperatures for over an hour trying to get the vehicle started. Only after I called my insurance company for a tow truck, did the vehicle finally start. She drove it to the dealership where they diagnosed a faulty tipm. The service representative then proceeded to tell me that it would be a $1500 repair. After doing some research and discovering that this is a common issue with this model year I call Jeep costumer service yesterday and again today and received the same answer. There is nothing they could do to help. This is unacceptable.

- Stephens City, VA, USA

problem #89

Dec 082013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
Had intermittent issues with the key. The key wasn't being recognized by the vehicle. Still occurs once in a while. I have to remove the key from the case and slide it back in. It usually works after that. Recently when starting the Jeep. After pushing the start button the engine will crank repeatedly but not turn over. All my gauges work. The vehicle will still lock and unlock. The lights work in accessories. The Jeep will turn over sometimes. The problem is intermittent.

- Waianae , HI, USA

problem #88

Nov 262013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Jeep Cherokee, problems with cranking and fuel pump not shutting off sometimes when vehicle is off. Vehicle is not starting properly but will start after several tries. Then the fuel pump will continue to run when the vehicle is off. Dealership stated it is a faulty relay switch built into the tipm (totally integrated power module) so you have to replace the entire tipm at the cost of 1,000 for the part. And, the part is not available at the moment, on national back order. Hundreds others are having this problem. Fuel pump could just cut off at any moment because of a $10 relay switch that is built into the tipm. This should be a recalled item due to faulty switch inside the tipm that is leaving hundreds of people stranded without a vehicle while they wait on a single part for weeks!

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #87

Nov 272013

Grand Cherokee

  • 56,000 miles
Vehicle fails to start multiple times. Came close to stalling a few times. Same symptoms as mentioned by many with the tipm module. I believe this to be a very important safety issue as well as financially and emotionally. No warning as to when and where the problems can arise.

- Republic, MO, USA

problem #86

Oct 022013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 43,280 miles
Vehicle: 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4, purchased new in October 2010. I experienced difficultly in starting vehicle, problem persisted and became worse. Dealership indicated bad fuel pump, replaced at a cost of $1,000 +. starting problem persisted and again back too dealership. Diagnosis this time was bad starter module (tipm unit) cost $1,000 + and I was told that the part was on "extreme" back order and they could not even give me an estimate on the arrival date. I was also informed that the bad tipm had created an electrical short that had led to the initial failure of the fuel pump. Present: Eight (8) weeks have passed and no part available and a vehicle sitting in my driveway gathering the leaves of the change of the season. I have been a loyal Jeep owner for the past 25 years with at least seven (7) vehicles. This one is the most problem plagued vehicle of them all, with major electrical/computer problems. I did not list all the problems (electrical and other wise ) that occurred in the first 36,000 miles for thankfully they were cover by warranty. I must say I will hard pressed to purchase another Chrysler (Jeep) product in the future. This one has to be towed into the dealership to be repaired (new tipm) before I can drive it to another dealership and hope for a good trade in!!!

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #85

Nov 202013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Inability to start vehicle or jump vehicle to start. Required tow to dealership. Electrical problem not correctly diagnosed, starting failure attributed to battery. Same issue after replacement of battery. Required second tow to dealership. Problem now diagnosed as (tipm) total integrated power module. $1400 (estimate) to replace tipm, however dealership stated that this tipm is a nationswide problem and they could not give me an estimate as to when part may be available. Awaiting decision by dealership to provide me with rental vehicle.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #84

Aug 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee suddenly failed to start reliably. Especially after sitting overnight, it would take multiple attempts to start. Initially, the Jeep dealership service department failed to diagnose the problem. Eventually after dealing with this "fail to start" situation for a month, the dealer diagnosed that the totally integrated power module (tipm) needed to be replaced. The problem began just days after the warranty expired. Replacement part needed to be paid for up-front ($932.40) through the dealership. 33 days later, the part still has not arrived and vehicle continues to be unreliable.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #83

Oct 082013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 41,500 miles
Vehicle doesn't start until several attempts.............. remote key doesn't unlock until several attempts.

- Gonzales, TX, USA

problem #82

Oct 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles
I purchased the vehicle pre-owned with 28,000 mi on it and a year old, after a month of having it, the car would continue to have difficulty starting. Brought to dealer they couldn't diagnose. By the 3rd time they replaced starter. Car still had problems. Now a year later and out of warranty it is still occurring (especially when it is cold).. brought back to Jeep and they now say it is the tipm and will be $1000 to fix. Eventhough this was there 3X under warranty they will not cover cost. This seems to be a major issue since part is on back order for approx 2 months and there are 100S and 100S of posts about this.

- Bound Brook, NJ, USA

problem #81

Nov 192013

Grand Cherokee

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to power on without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the totally integrated power module (tipm) needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 47,000.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #80

Nov 112013

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to power on without warning. The contact attempted to power on the vehicle several times before it finally started. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection but was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Plantation , FL, USA

problem #79

Nov 122013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 58,666 miles
When attempting to start the car it will just crank without firing up.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #78

Nov 112013

Grand Cherokee

  • 26,000 miles
Jeep is unreliable turning on. Will crank and crank and crank, but never turn over. After 10 or so tries, will sometimes start. Other times, I have to leave it and try again later. Dealer says it is related to the tipm. Which is backordered, with no estimated ship date in sight. This part is also linked to my automatic brakes, airbags, electrical, etc. My car is still under warranty and the dealer refuses to grant me a courtesy or rental car until the part comes in. They suggested I keep my unreliable car for the time being.

- Homewood , AL, USA

problem #77

Nov 122013

Grand Cherokee

  • 49,000 miles
For the past 3 weeks I have had trouble with my Jeep taking multiple attempts to ignite. The engine would repeatedly turn but it would not start. I took my Jeep to the allen samuel Jeep dealership twice in one week, 3 weeks ago, and they stated they could not diagnose the problem though I informed them of a significant number of complaints I had found online regarding the tipm. I brought my Jeep to the ron carter Jeep dealership on November 8, 2013 and on November 12, 2013 I was informed that I needed to replace the tipm. The dealership would not cover the cost and Jeep/Chrysler has not recalled the tipm at this time. This problem is widely known and there is a 2-3 month back order for the tipm. I was lucky in that the dealership had one on hand and was able to immediately replace it. Jeep needs to be held responsible and forced to recall this product.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #76

Oct 302013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
The tipm (totally integrated power module) is on back order and now Chrysler is saying its backordered to January 14, 2014.

- Verona, NJ, USA

problem #75

Jan 052011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
The Jeep has a faulty tipm which controls the whole car. It would not start just turns over. I had it towed in for repair and they told me it was something other than the tipm. And that they had fixed it. It has happened many times since and they keep saying they fixed it or that they cant find anything wrong because it works when its at the shop. Now I have it in for the same problem and they admit its the tipm. The car is no longer under warranty and I have to pay for it. The problem is their are no replacement tipms because the hole nation is having this problem and they don't know how to correct the tipms. They have told me they don't know when they will be able to make new tipms that work properly. Some people have had their Jeep turn off while driving, others have had it turn on while it sits in the garage. This is so dangerous something has to be done. Please help us.

- Azusa, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?