Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 26
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,415 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 20 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #82

Oct 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles


I purchased the vehicle pre-owned with 28,000 mi on it and a year old, after a month of having it, the car would continue to have difficulty starting. Brought to dealer they couldn't diagnose. By the 3rd time they replaced starter. Car still had problems. Now a year later and out of warranty it is still occurring (especially when it is cold).. brought back to Jeep and they now say it is the tipm and will be $1000 to fix. Eventhough this was there 3X under warranty they will not cover cost. This seems to be a major issue since part is on back order for approx 2 months and there are 100S and 100S of posts about this.

- Bound Brook, NJ, USA

problem #81

Nov 192013

Grand Cherokee

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to power on without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the totally integrated power module (tipm) needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 47,000.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #80

Nov 112013

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to power on without warning. The contact attempted to power on the vehicle several times before it finally started. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection but was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Plantation , FL, USA

problem #79

Nov 122013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 58,666 miles


When attempting to start the car it will just crank without firing up.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #78

Nov 112013

Grand Cherokee

  • 26,000 miles
Jeep is unreliable turning on. Will crank and crank and crank, but never turn over. After 10 or so tries, will sometimes start. Other times, I have to leave it and try again later. Dealer says it is related to the tipm. Which is backordered, with no estimated ship date in sight. This part is also linked to my automatic brakes, airbags, electrical, etc. My car is still under warranty and the dealer refuses to grant me a courtesy or rental car until the part comes in. They suggested I keep my unreliable car for the time being.

- Homewood , AL, USA

problem #77

Nov 122013

Grand Cherokee

  • 49,000 miles
For the past 3 weeks I have had trouble with my Jeep taking multiple attempts to ignite. The engine would repeatedly turn but it would not start. I took my Jeep to the allen samuel Jeep dealership twice in one week, 3 weeks ago, and they stated they could not diagnose the problem though I informed them of a significant number of complaints I had found online regarding the tipm. I brought my Jeep to the ron carter Jeep dealership on November 8, 2013 and on November 12, 2013 I was informed that I needed to replace the tipm. The dealership would not cover the cost and Jeep/Chrysler has not recalled the tipm at this time. This problem is widely known and there is a 2-3 month back order for the tipm. I was lucky in that the dealership had one on hand and was able to immediately replace it. Jeep needs to be held responsible and forced to recall this product.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #76

Oct 302013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles


The tipm (totally integrated power module) is on back order and now Chrysler is saying its backordered to January 14, 2014.

- Verona, NJ, USA

problem #75

Jan 052011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
The Jeep has a faulty tipm which controls the whole car. It would not start just turns over. I had it towed in for repair and they told me it was something other than the tipm. And that they had fixed it. It has happened many times since and they keep saying they fixed it or that they cant find anything wrong because it works when its at the shop. Now I have it in for the same problem and they admit its the tipm. The car is no longer under warranty and I have to pay for it. The problem is their are no replacement tipms because the hole nation is having this problem and they don't know how to correct the tipms. They have told me they don't know when they will be able to make new tipms that work properly. Some people have had their Jeep turn off while driving, others have had it turn on while it sits in the garage. This is so dangerous something has to be done. Please help us.

- Azusa, CA, USA

problem #74

Aug 232013

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The contact attempted to start the vehicle several times before it finally did so. The contact also mentioned that the battery was being drained so the fuel pump fuse had to be disconnected. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that the passive entry module needed to be flashed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who stated that the total integrated programming module needed to be repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #73

Oct 292013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 44,135 miles
The vehicle had been experiencing intermittent problems with failing to start for approximately two weeks prior to the vehicle stalling while in motion while we were taking it in to be fixed. The tipm was diagnosed to be faulty and needed to be replaced for a price of more than $1000. The vehicle is out of warranty, but this part is only available from a dealership and needs programming to function properly. The consequences could be severe if the vehicle dies at the wrong time.

- Bennington, NE, USA

problem #72

Oct 212013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 50,432 miles


Vehicle cranking long before starting, dealer diagnostic was tipm, Jeep was contacted they agreed they has issues with part mentioned and agreed in provide part w/$100 deductible, I still paid for the cranking sensor and labor, new tipm created more electrical problems. When turning signal was activated fog lights were blinking but not the turning lights, taken back to dealer they temporary fix the problem until Jeep releases the new update in at least 2 months, after they fixed the turning lights another issued resulted, now the stop tail brake lights don't turn on if ignition switch is not in on position and sometimes even with the engine running, or if engine is not running. This issue concerns me a lot, since this is very critical if driving on highway and engine stop working how I will let the vehicles behind me that I have an emergency and I'm stepping on the brakes, lights will not turn on. Are you people from NHTSA waiting until fatalities happen to force Jeep to make a recall and fix the problems.? there are thousands of vehicles with failures related to this tipm, please prevent people die in crashes for this issue and do something about it. Now my car is in the dealer again because they can properly fix it, and all related to this new tipm. These corporation was already bailout with our tax money, now they are passing the cost of repairs to people who purchased a defective product, it is very suspicious that all of the tipm went bad, between 50,000 and 60,000 miles just after warranty has expired...please do something.

- Bell, CA, USA

problem #71

Oct 102013

Grand Cherokee

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who stated that the totally integrated programming module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The approximate failure and current mileage was 62,000.

- Corry , PA, USA

problem #70

Oct 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 74,000 miles
My vehicle was hard cranking in the morning. After replacing the battery, being stranded numerous times, and taking to multiple mechanics including the dealer the issue was a malfunction of the totally integrated power module (tipm). This particular piece is on national back order. There is a shortage of over 25,000 in the nation according to the local Jeep dealer parts department. Jeep is doing nothing about it. I am pretty sure I am not the only person that has made this complaint.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #69

Oct 182013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
Vehicle will not start using key fob or push button start. Vehicle cranks for 5 to 10 seconds and then shuts down. Dealership diagnosed problem as a bad tipm (totally integrated power module), a common problem nationwide. Parts and labor to replace the tipm is $1200. Chrysler/Jeep at 800-247-9753 stated they would not assist.

- Kirkwood, MO, USA

problem #68

Aug 062013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
2011 Jeep Cherokee showing symptoms of same wide spread problem with starting issue. Vehicle cranks over but does not start. Must attempt numerous times until started. While driving, if vehicle dies all loss of power steering and brakes is lost and is a huge safety concern. My vehicle has 40K+ miles and problem seems to be pervasive problem throughout model year.

- Glendora , CA, USA

problem #67

Oct 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,500 miles
My 2011 Grand Cherokee overland has an intermittent starting problem. Not always, but a couple of times a day, it will not start the first time, it cranks and cranks but doesn't start, this last for 10 secs approx then shuts off, this might last anywhere from 1 to 4 attempts, then will start right up. Sometimes it will start and then fade out, like out of gas. Over the weekend the time between starts was more lengthy and at one point it shut off and drifted into an intersection. Jeep is "looking into the situation" which according to the internet is widespread. I was told a recall will not occur since its not a safety issue. I was stranded at a rest stop in rural Pennsylvania at 11:30 pm over the weekend, I think that's a safety concern. My costs associated with this issue will exceed $2000K and dealerships are only aloud to order one part a week since its on national back order. Any time a new vehicle that is well maintained strands you or stalls and drifts into an intersection, its a concern. The issue is random and can be unexpected. Please investigate.

- Annapolis , MD, USA

problem #66

Sep 132011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
My vehicle is having trouble starting and my fuel pump continues to pump after the vehicle is off which is killing my battery. I've only had the car for a year and its only two years old.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #65

Oct 252013

Grand Cherokee

  • 95,000 miles
The car has had intermittent long cranking time for almost the past year and recently the fuel pump would keep running after the car was turned off.I would remove the fuel pump fuse to save the cars battery.I was told the problem was with the total integrated power module or tipm.

- Bayside, NY, USA

problem #64

Aug 212013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 41,500 miles
At first would not get any response when the start button was depressed, this would happen mostly in the morning and few times during the day (changes out the batteries in the handsets twice and of course blamed the wife that it was her!!!). this past few weeks (since Sept.) the engine will crank for a few seconds but will not start, this is mostly in the morning but has happened to my wife during the day. It has now started to leave here stranded and once 'die' on her on the hwy!!! I drove the gc to our dealer ( had to rent a car to get back home) and after a $110 service charge was 'informed' that it would need to have the tipm replaced at a cost of over $1300. And would have to wait 6-8 weeks as the tipm is on back order nation wide because of so many failures!!!!! the technician stated they have 24 on backorder. And if I had an issue to call Chrysler!!! this is clearly a wide spread defective critical component (tipm) that can fail at anytime (multiple times!!!) and dangerous if it fails on the road.

- El Centro , CA, USA

problem #63

Aug 262013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 68,491 miles
During the summer I was having trouble starting my Jeep. By 8/26/2013 it would not start at all. I scheduled an appointment at the local Jeep dealer to fix the problem. I took the Jeep in at the first available time, 9/9/2013. Within two days they diagnosed the problem as being the tipm unit. They told me that the unit was not available and could not give me a time when the unit would be available. The service person at the dealership told me to contact Jeep directly regarding the part. I was also told that the repair cost for the tipm unit would cost me $1,050. When I contacted a Jeep customer service representative on 9/13/2013 I was told the part was on extreme backorder and it would not be a warranty item. The defective part came into the dealership on approximately 10/18/2013. I was without a running vehicle for 7 weeks. The dealership and Jeep said that because I was outside my warranty on mileage only that they would not warranty the part. The warranty for the vehicle is a 3 year/36,000 mile. The mileage on the vehicle is 68,491. So I am over the warranty on mileage but under the warranty for years. In talking with the service reps they told me that this problem has occurred in cars well under the 36,000 mile threshold and they covered the part under warranty. The problem with the part is not a result of mileage, but a result of poor designed or bad manufacturing and should be covered under the warranty of the vehicle.

- Yakima, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?