CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 27
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,927 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 23 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Sep 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • 56,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle cranks but does not starts. Part not available. Dealer claims is in national backorder. Vehicle was towed to dealer and diagnosed as a defective total integrated power module. Other 17 similar vehicles waiting for same part at Chrysler Jeep dealer repair shop.

- Toa Baja, PR, USA

problem #33

Jul 252013

Grand Cherokee

  • 58,543 miles
I tried to start my Jeep Grand Cherokee 2011 with the push start and it turned over but would not crank. I finally got it crank after several tries and waiting five minutes. I have since experienced intermittent problems starting my Jeep each morning or after it sits for more than four hours. In the past week I have experienced difficulty starting everyday. It getting harder to start. I read online that a lot of people are having the same problem and someone recommended using the remote start button to start your vehicle. That is the only way I have been successful getting my Jeep cranked each day. I took my vehicle to the Jeep dealership and they said I need a tipm and it is not covered under warranty. I am a female nurse who drives my car for a living and I do not feel safe in my vehicle. I go in unsafe areas for my job and it is not a good feeling worry if my Jeep start. It is going to cost over $1200 to get my car repaired and part is on back order. I worry everyday that I will get stranded and this is suppose to be an award winning SUV. Please help me!

- Holly Springs, NC, USA

problem #32

Sep 062013

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles
Car won't stop. Tipm fuse exploded. Jeep dealer says I won't have a car for2 weeks and Jeep won't cover this main stream issue. I found 1200 complaints on the same issue. We want extended warranty or full recall on all Jeep Grand Cherokee. 2011 and 2012. People can die if their car shuts off on the highway. I was warned I can die if I drive this Jeep by shaver Jeep in thousand oaks ca. Tipm needs recall and will end up killing Jeep owners

- Woodland Hills , CA, USA

problem #31

Sep 052013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 19,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Starting issues - cranks but won't start. 2011 Jeep gc overland 4X4 5.7L hemi, 19,200 miles. Bad part: "totally integrated power module" (tipm) part# rl692316ai. Part is on "back order" dealer best guess is 3 to 6 wks or more - they do not know. Corporate confirmed parts situation. Aug 26, 2013 1st day Jeep in shop. Dealers now has 3 vehicles all waiting for this part. My concern is that there is more demand than parts and will the new part be upgraded to eliminate problem. Dealer part cost about $1,000 plus labor if out of warranty. Sept 5, 2013 now 11 days in shop with no more information on part. I hope this data will support a recall for tipm part # rl692316A used in 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee and other vehicles too.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #30

Aug 292013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50,500 miles
My Jeep Grand Cherokee overland 4X4 2011 is experiencing starting problems. The yark Jeep dealer in toledo Ohio diagnosed the problem to be the total integrated power module or tipm on September 4, 2013. I had not driven the car for 5 days due to a fear of being in a strange place and not being able to get the car started. The yark dealership, on advice of Chrysler, performed a software update, which seemed to work for about an hour at the dealership. Then it [constant starter cranking, which the dealership said was because the tipm was not sending any power to the fuel pump] started again at the dealership. Now, I am being told, by the yark dealership, that there is a 2000 part backlog on the tipm and that the part-distributor re-stocking date has moved from 9/9/2013 to 9/23/2013. If the delivery date holds I will be without my vehicle for about three weeks. Internet research (townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.F0F8B2B/1112) reveals many people that the same problem and Chrysler will not pay for a rental car unless the tipm is totally non-functional which I feel is unacceptable.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #29

Aug 292013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 44,444 miles
Incident on 8/29/13 car stalled to start- took car to dealer on 8/30/13 and they diagnosed it to be the tipm. Part was ordered but the dealer does not know when it is coming in and it is on national backorder. This tipm causes the car not to start. It took me about 5 tries to start my car- then finally it started. The car basically starts when it wants to. Called corporate 9/4 and spoke with ella complaining on the issue. She then called the dealer and confirmed that part has been ordered but does not know an arrival date. She said they will email monthly on the status of my part. I then said "monthly". she replied yes we don't know when the part will be in. I told her I am getting very agitated and that I cannot afford to pay a car note on top of a rental. I asked her what do they do in a situation when a car cannot be fixed"??" do you refund $$ give a new car.... she could not answer (basically saying no). I told her my rental will be up on Saturday and I want a new one on their expense because their should be no reason for the dealer not having this part or knowing when it will be in. She advised me to call back on Saturday regarding the rental. Some cars at my dealer have been waiting for this part for month. She stated that she will escalate me file with special tracking. It seems like Chrysler is telling all vehicle owners this.

- Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #28

Aug 272013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 55,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee finally stopped on September 2, 2013. I had to have it towed to the nearest Jeep dealership. After three weeks of it not wanting to start and leaving me stranded several times I was forced to buy a new battery only for it to do the same thing. Today it was diagnosed as having a bad tipm. But that's not the bad part, a tipm is $1200 and it is on back order indefinitely! looked it up online today and found hundreds of people waiting for the same tipm part. This item should be recalled by Jeep and repaired for no charge since it also controls the airbags. Jeep needs to fix this problem immediately. In the meantime, I, along with several other hundred people, have a 2 year old car that is just sitting at a dealership and we are not able to get fixed.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #27

Jul 222013

Grand Cherokee

  • 39,000 miles
Went to start my Jeep after it sat for a few hours and noticed extended cranking. It did fire up and I drove 65 miles to the gym. Same extended cranking issue when I got out the gym an hour later, but eventually, started and I made it home. Did this one more time few days later and the first Monday in August it wouldn't start when I went to leave for work in the morning. Took my wife's vehicle O work and she tried it a few hours later and it fired right up. Brought to local shop to have them look at it since they can service my extended warranty. After a few days there I was notified that it was he tipm and the part we on order, but was on national back order from Jeep and I was number 141 in line waiting for one. As of today, 9/3/14, still no part and still no estimated delivery of said tipm. I have not been able to drive the Jeep since then because it is unreliable transportation and my job requires me to travel up to 300 miles per day. Have now made two payments on a vehicle I can't use.

- River Ridge, LA, USA

problem #26

Aug 232013

Grand Cherokee

  • 85,400 miles
My vehicle would not crank and stalls. Battery replaced, $179 later.mechanic told me that it had updates and reflashed those for $50 and advised me to take back to the dealership for an integrated module. After service evaluated my Jeep, I was told that the problem existed in the tipm. This product is on at least a 6 week back order and that is not a guarantee. Also, there have been no recalls on this product. I have a busy commute to work in heavy traffic. My Jeep stalled on the interstate and I had to veer toward the ditch to avoid an accident. If I were hit, would my airbags even deploy? this is a safety violation!

- Louisburg, NC, USA

problem #25

Aug 192013

Grand Cherokee

  • 33,000 miles
The tipm, a part of the computer, has failed and the vehicle will no longer start. Vehicles have also been known to stall, although this did not happen to me. Chrysler has failed to recall despite hundreds of issues. My small dealer in greensboro, nc has 4 vehicles with this issues. There are no parts available, and they are giving no estimate on when parts will be available. So far Chrysler has failed to recognize the widespread nature of the incident, despite hundreds of online posts by owners, and my dealers recognition of multiple vehicles in their shop for this issue.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #24

Jun 242013

Grand Cherokee

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This issue has to do with the totally integrated power module (tipm) used in Jeep and other makes. This part is responsible for a lot of the power switching/modulation/distribution, and communications with other systems in the electrical system. There are numerous complaints online regarding this part that is on national backorder. Our car has been out of service sitting at a Jeep dealer since July with no estimate from Chrysler of when the part might be available. There has been no talk of a recall at this point. The part almost always goes bad after the warranty has lapsed and costs anywhere from $900 - $1400 depending on the dealership, etc. Once it goes, the car is rendered useless. We spent $2,000 at a mechanic who thought it was the fuel pump and an additional $1000+ on a rental car before the car was towed to the dealer. We are unable to only have one car, so we have now bought a third car. Fortunately we are in a position to do this. Many people are unable to afford even a rental. The safety issue comes into play because the car may jsut stop while you are driving. This did happen to ours once, but it was before there was an obvious problem and the car worked fine after the incident so we never looked into it. There is also the issue that sometimes it may start, but if you turn the car off it may not start the next time possibly stranding the driver who knows where. At this point people would just like this issue acknowledged and investigated.

- Odenton, MD, USA

problem #23

Aug 152013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 41,308 miles
I have a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee that has a defective part called a tipm (totally integrated power module). It downloads data and is part of the onboard computer and specialized for each vehicle. My defective tipm causes the vehicle to stall and eventually it will prevent it from starting. The tipm is covered under my extended warranty, but the part is on national backorder and Chrysler is unable to get it from the manufacturer (at least that's what they tell us). I have read on some message boards that they do not have the rights to produce the tipm themselves and that the company that makes it is going bankrupt and closing. It is also likely that whoever makes it is in another country (they will not tell us where). Chrysler is treating people differently - those without warranties are completely out of luck. They have no working/safe/reliable vehicle and have to pay for the repair, but since the part is not available, no luck and no transportation. Those of us with warranties are told different lies. They give us a date that is a month or two away, then when that comes around, they change the date. We have the added "bonus" of being in jeopardy each and every time we drive somewhere and not knowing if we will be stranded or not. There are at least several hundred people having this problem, and according to one post I read on edmunds.com, the Chrysler case manager told someone that 25,000 of these were needed. Chrysler is well aware of this defect, but they refuse to do a recall and so far they have not provided me with a rental car. They claim that they will, but then play the phone game, where Chrysler usa, cannot reach the service manager at the local dealership, who cannot reach the rental department and so on.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #22

Jul 112013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 35,500 miles
I have a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee, and was experiencing the same cold start issues I drove it for about another 2 weeks and on one trip I drove about an hour out of town and had to run into a bank. When I got back in my car I started it and died right in the middle of the driveway I was exiting. Took 30 minutes for it to restart. The paperwork says they replaced the win (wireless ignition node). 11 days in the shop. The next morning I went out to go to work and the car would not start. Called dealership told me to bring it back up. I did the next day, this time getting a Dodge dart from the rental company 8 days in the shop when I received a call that it was ready, this time they replaced the ignition module and gave me a new remote key. The next day Aug 8th went to go to work and the car wouldn't start. Half hour later got the car started and back to dealership, this time I received a Nissan versa rental. They have had it ever since 14 days and counting. I talk to service department on Thursday August 15th. And they told me they got it not to start and that it was the fuel injectors, I interjected and told him about this forum and to check the tipm and they just released 2000 from the factory on the 13th. Said he would speak with technician and get back to me. Called me Friday and said they were replacing the tipm and he would have a better idea on a time frame by the middle of this week. I called today and they are telling me that its back ordered to Sept. Not giving me any specifics of when in Sept. The service manager gave me Chrysler number to call and complain.this is a serious issue with many individuals effected it needs to be looked into as a recall issue. What happens if the company in Mexico who makes the part goes out of business. This is wrong especially for a taxpayers bailout company..

- Ansonia, CT, USA

problem #21

Aug 132013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I would like to place a formal compliant against Chrysler group, llc. My family along with hundreds, if not thousands of other 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee owners. This issue is around the tipm device that seems to be failing on many consumer's vehicle dating back to the early part of 2013. Finally, after a couple to trips to the service department for this issue, I was finally told the part is on back order. The problem is the dealer, nor the Chrysler group doesn't have an idea when this part will be available leaving many of us without a car for an undetermined amount of time. This part (tipm) needs to be placed on official recall by the corporation and until it actually is.........it has placed undue financial strain of many of the owners of the Jeep. We are expected by the banks to continue paying our car note, along with insurance. Now chrsyler is saying that we must also come out of pocket for rentals to replace the vehicles we have and or paying for until they resolve this issue. This is so not right on so many levels and apparently they can get away with this without recourse. In conclusion, just asking the justice department to look into this issue and assist us consumers being held hostage by Chrysler group, llc.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #20

Jul 302013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
Beginning the evening of July 30, I experienced issues with starting my Grand Cherokee. These issues were sporadic, however once every three or four times I attempted to start the engine, the engine would crank but fail to start. On July 31, I scheduled an appointment with my local Jeep dealership (videon Chrysler Dodge Jeep in newtown square, pa) for August 5. by August 2, the Jeep was not drivable as starting it would take 20-30 minutes each time. I was forced to rent a car at my own expense for the weekend of August 3-4. on August 5 the dealership diagnosed the issue as pertaining to tsb 08-053-11 and reprogrammed the totally integrated power module. On August 7, I experienced the no start issue again and scheduled a second appointment with the dealership for August 8. on August 8, the tipm was identified as needing to be replaced. I was informed by the dealership that the necessary part was on backorder with an estimated arrival time of within "a few weeks". the dealership advised that it was ok for me to continue driving the vehicle in the meantime despite the issue. On the evening of August 16, while driving the vehicle at a speed of approximately 40 miles per hour, the engine stalled, causing the vehicle to lose all power near the intersection [xxx] given the nature of the road as well as the traffic around me, this situation posed a serious safety hazard to myself, my passenger, and others near my vehicle, and since that point I no longer feel safe operating the vehicle in its current condition. As such, I have been entirely unable to operate this vehicle since August 16. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Wayne, PA, USA

problem #19

Aug 212013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
While driving my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee I saw white smoke coming from the driver side sun visor and then a burning smell. I pulled over and after a few minutes the smoke cleared, the bracket for sun visor stayed hot and shows signs of melting. No injuries, the vehicle was driven to dealership immediately... updated 08-20-14 updated 08/25/2014

- Terrytown, LA, USA

problem #18

Aug 042013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Multiple issues. It began with the key less remote entry not working properly, not opening or locking the car. I then began to notice the car would unlock itself overnight (luckily it is kept in a garage). Moving forward, when I would put the key in the ignition, the car would start, I would then put the car in reverse, and it would immediately shut off, all power gone. I would have to slam the car into park and try again. Most recently, I will put the key in the ignition and turn the car on, unfortunately, the car never turns on, it idles in the ignition phase just before it turns on.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #17

May 312012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
Unable to use remote entry and, start-message unable to locate key-have to use manual entry system etc. Dealer fixed same day. Now approx. One year later with only 8,550 miles unable to do again same type problem but more so-we were taken both set of keys to unlock doors and to start -then would not do either back to manual. Dealer service said 10 days -to 2 weeks to replace -now after checking with dealer after 2 weeks we were advised up to 1 month more due to backlog.

- Wichita Falls, WY, USA

problem #16

Sep 192011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 7,100 miles
I bought a 2011 Grand Cherokee from shave Jeep in thousand oaks, ca. The vehicle started to malfunction within days after purchase. It would seize up, usually at highway speed, stall out, thus losing power steering and brakes. I brought the car in for service about 8 times until I almost got hit by a big rig on the highway at night when my car died. The constant engine light reading was a camshaft position sensor. Chrysler techs attempted to resolve the problem without any luck. Unfortunately the dealer swapped out cars with me and I found out they sold this vehicle without telling the new owners of the major mechanical problems.

- Agoura Hills, CA, USA

problem #15

May 112013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 18,302 miles
Engine starts after key fob is bumped. My garage is inside my house. We could die from carbom monoxide poising reported to dealership they said nothing could be done.maybe my attorney can do something.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?