Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 26
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,415 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 23 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Jul 112013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 35,500 miles


I have a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee, and was experiencing the same cold start issues I drove it for about another 2 weeks and on one trip I drove about an hour out of town and had to run into a bank. When I got back in my car I started it and died right in the middle of the driveway I was exiting. Took 30 minutes for it to restart. The paperwork says they replaced the win (wireless ignition node). 11 days in the shop. The next morning I went out to go to work and the car would not start. Called dealership told me to bring it back up. I did the next day, this time getting a Dodge dart from the rental company 8 days in the shop when I received a call that it was ready, this time they replaced the ignition module and gave me a new remote key. The next day Aug 8th went to go to work and the car wouldn't start. Half hour later got the car started and back to dealership, this time I received a Nissan versa rental. They have had it ever since 14 days and counting. I talk to service department on Thursday August 15th. And they told me they got it not to start and that it was the fuel injectors, I interjected and told him about this forum and to check the tipm and they just released 2000 from the factory on the 13th. Said he would speak with technician and get back to me. Called me Friday and said they were replacing the tipm and he would have a better idea on a time frame by the middle of this week. I called today and they are telling me that its back ordered to Sept. Not giving me any specifics of when in Sept. The service manager gave me Chrysler number to call and complain.this is a serious issue with many individuals effected it needs to be looked into as a recall issue. What happens if the company in Mexico who makes the part goes out of business. This is wrong especially for a taxpayers bailout company..

- Ansonia, CT, USA

problem #21

Aug 132013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I would like to place a formal compliant against Chrysler group, llc. My family along with hundreds, if not thousands of other 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee owners. This issue is around the tipm device that seems to be failing on many consumer's vehicle dating back to the early part of 2013. Finally, after a couple to trips to the service department for this issue, I was finally told the part is on back order. The problem is the dealer, nor the Chrysler group doesn't have an idea when this part will be available leaving many of us without a car for an undetermined amount of time. This part (tipm) needs to be placed on official recall by the corporation and until it actually has placed undue financial strain of many of the owners of the Jeep. We are expected by the banks to continue paying our car note, along with insurance. Now chrsyler is saying that we must also come out of pocket for rentals to replace the vehicles we have and or paying for until they resolve this issue. This is so not right on so many levels and apparently they can get away with this without recourse. In conclusion, just asking the justice department to look into this issue and assist us consumers being held hostage by Chrysler group, llc.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #20

Jul 302013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
Beginning the evening of July 30, I experienced issues with starting my Grand Cherokee. These issues were sporadic, however once every three or four times I attempted to start the engine, the engine would crank but fail to start. On July 31, I scheduled an appointment with my local Jeep dealership (videon Chrysler Dodge Jeep in newtown square, pa) for August 5. by August 2, the Jeep was not drivable as starting it would take 20-30 minutes each time. I was forced to rent a car at my own expense for the weekend of August 3-4. on August 5 the dealership diagnosed the issue as pertaining to tsb 08-053-11 and reprogrammed the totally integrated power module. On August 7, I experienced the no start issue again and scheduled a second appointment with the dealership for August 8. on August 8, the tipm was identified as needing to be replaced. I was informed by the dealership that the necessary part was on backorder with an estimated arrival time of within "a few weeks". the dealership advised that it was ok for me to continue driving the vehicle in the meantime despite the issue. On the evening of August 16, while driving the vehicle at a speed of approximately 40 miles per hour, the engine stalled, causing the vehicle to lose all power near the intersection [xxx] given the nature of the road as well as the traffic around me, this situation posed a serious safety hazard to myself, my passenger, and others near my vehicle, and since that point I no longer feel safe operating the vehicle in its current condition. As such, I have been entirely unable to operate this vehicle since August 16. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Wayne, PA, USA

problem #19

Aug 212013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles


While driving my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee I saw white smoke coming from the driver side sun visor and then a burning smell. I pulled over and after a few minutes the smoke cleared, the bracket for sun visor stayed hot and shows signs of melting. No injuries, the vehicle was driven to dealership immediately... updated 08-20-14 updated 08/25/2014

- Terrytown, LA, USA

problem #18

Aug 042013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Multiple issues. It began with the key less remote entry not working properly, not opening or locking the car. I then began to notice the car would unlock itself overnight (luckily it is kept in a garage). Moving forward, when I would put the key in the ignition, the car would start, I would then put the car in reverse, and it would immediately shut off, all power gone. I would have to slam the car into park and try again. Most recently, I will put the key in the ignition and turn the car on, unfortunately, the car never turns on, it idles in the ignition phase just before it turns on.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #17

May 312012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
Unable to use remote entry and, start-message unable to locate key-have to use manual entry system etc. Dealer fixed same day. Now approx. One year later with only 8,550 miles unable to do again same type problem but more so-we were taken both set of keys to unlock doors and to start -then would not do either back to manual. Dealer service said 10 days -to 2 weeks to replace -now after checking with dealer after 2 weeks we were advised up to 1 month more due to backlog.

- Wichita Falls, WY, USA

problem #16

Sep 192011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 7,100 miles


I bought a 2011 Grand Cherokee from shave Jeep in thousand oaks, ca. The vehicle started to malfunction within days after purchase. It would seize up, usually at highway speed, stall out, thus losing power steering and brakes. I brought the car in for service about 8 times until I almost got hit by a big rig on the highway at night when my car died. The constant engine light reading was a camshaft position sensor. Chrysler techs attempted to resolve the problem without any luck. Unfortunately the dealer swapped out cars with me and I found out they sold this vehicle without telling the new owners of the major mechanical problems.

- Agoura Hills, CA, USA

problem #15

May 112013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 18,302 miles
Engine starts after key fob is bumped. My garage is inside my house. We could die from carbom monoxide poising reported to dealership they said nothing could be done.maybe my attorney can do something.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #14

Dec 192012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
This vehicle is equipped with a adaptive speed sensor that keeps the vehicle at a preset distance from the vehicle in front with cruise control on. Vehicle is also equipped with a forward collision warning system which warns the driver to brake if it senses an approach of an object that is unsafe. The problems: The system will shut it self off, flashing a warning that the forward collision warning system is not working and shuts off the cruise control as well. System always resets itself after minutes, or longer and the cruise control will once again, work. Safety issue the system has the ability to brake on its own if it senses you are approaching a vehicle too fast with cruise control engaged. The problem is that a car may turn off in a separate lane to decelerate or be in a separate lane to accelerate and the sensor thinks the car is in front of it and starts braking severely cause it thinks it is in its path. This is a huge safety concern since any driver behind me would not be expecting me to brake when cars are not in my path. The vehicle has been to Jeep dealer for numerous attempts to fix it. Right now Chrysler is not doing anything about it. According to the repairing dealership, if Chrysler did decide to replace the part, its on back order.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #13

Mar 052012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 7,269 miles
Similar to other complaint filed 2/13/2012. 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee, problems with the key fob 3 times (4 if you include the battery dying after just over a year) whereby driver was stranded due to key fob malfunction. First time dealer thought it was a defective key fob, however, while waiting for a replacement the then currently working key fob also malfunctioned- whereby the "defective" fob was tried and it worked again. Dealer then said a computer update was the problem and that did seem to fix the problem. However, again recently key fob would not work żż driver entered the car with the emergency door key- pulled off the starter button and inserted the key manually to be told it was a "defective key" (or something similar). Dealer examined car, worked with manufacturer but since problem couldn't be "duplicated" they would take no further action. All incidents happened while in town of residence. However, if this occurred while traveling it could be quite a disaster and potentially put them in harms way if they were stranded in for example grand forks nd in February and there was severe weather as has been the case in the past. Numerous discussions in online forums also discuss the issue (both Jeep and Chrysler). The bottom line - this defect has resulted in our having a serious lack of trust in using this car- it could put my family in a very bad situation.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #12

Jan 202013

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,450 miles


The contact own a 2011 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three different times for diagnosis. The technicians performed a flash update and replaced the win module. The failure continued after the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 36,450.

- Quarryville, PA, USA

problem #11

Dec 112012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 21,517 miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle stalled then turned off while driving. The consumer stated when the vehicle stalled, it became impossible to the steer the vehicle, the brakes did not respond, the headlights went out, they blinkers did not work and the dashboard was dark. The only display on the sash was the radio/navigation display and the center console text indicating how to start the vehicle. The consumer tried pressing the brake and the start button, but nothing happened. When she slowed down enough, she pushed the transmission lever hard into park, hoping to bring the vehicle to a complete stop. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The service technician determined the remote keyless entry module was not communicating correctly with the other modules associated with operating the vehicle correctly. An update was performed on the modules, including the remote keyless entry module. However, the technician could not guarantee that it wouldn't happen again. On January 9, 2013, a similar symptom occurred again. When the consumer pushed the ignition button, the vehicle started, but it only lasted for a moment. It then shut down and the center console text displayed on how to start the vehicle. The consumer then pressed the brake and the push button and the vehicle started again, but shut down minutes later. When the key fob was physically placed in the ignition location, the vehicle started without any problems.

- Federal Way, WA, USA

problem #10

Aug 272012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 32,100 miles
Tried to enter vehicle. Would not unlock using passive key fob. Had to use a key to unlock door. Once door unlocked, the security horn started. Had to re-lock door to shut horn off. Door would now unlock using passive system. Have had numerous instances of the vehicle not recognizing the key fob. Had to take it out of my pocket and hold it close to the dash or open and close the door several times before being able to start the vehicle.

- Nancy, KY, USA

problem #9

Aug 052010

Grand Cherokee

  • 350 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4. The contact was unable to open the doors when activating the key fob. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, where the key fob was replaced with a new key fob. Five months later, the identical failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the key fob was replaced for the second time. The contact planned to notify the manufacturer of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 350.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #8

Dec 052011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
December 5, 2011 vehicle remote started, shut off and failed to restart. Taken to dealership, related that it was a key programming issue. December 9, 2011 vehicle would not start, towed to dealership, related that it was a climate control module. December 12, 2011 vehicle would not start, taken to dealership, related it was a "totally integrated power module" and a block fuse. Vehicle remained out of service until January 11, 2012. January 11, 2012 vehicle picked up driven 170 miles, turned off would not start, towed to dealership. January 17, 2012 dealership related that the vehicle had a undetermined electrical issue and the problem was not resolved, Chrysler had open a "Chrysler star case" on the vehicle. January 18, 2012 contacted by dealership relating that the vehicle was fixed, replaced battery and that resolved all problems. Vehicle has had four separate electronic component failures and has not been picked up since release date January 18, 2012. It is my belief that the vehicle still has an electronic anomalies that render the vehicle unreliable.

- Niceville, FL, USA

problem #7

Nov 252011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 479 miles
We purchased a new 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee 11/23/2011. The car had 308 miles on odometer. On 11/25/2011 as we were going out of town the vehicle's diagnostic (obd II) system warning appeared, with a symbol "mil" indicating a malfunction indicator light. I checked the fuel tank cap and it was tight, I drove the vehicle to the nearest Chrysler/Jeep dealership in hamptonroads, va. The service department checked out the problem and determined it to be a # 6 cylinder, misfire-coil failure. None were available for replacement. The service department person stated that it was ok to drive the vehicle locally but suggested it would not be a good idea to drive it out of town, as it would not get very good gas mileage! we started to drive the vehicle home, however; approximately 2 miles after we departed the Jeep dealership the vehicle caught a fire and burned the entire engine compartment/front of vehicle. We, my wife and I escaped without physical harm, but had to stand by and watch it burn until the firedepartment arrived.

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #6

May 182011

Grand Cherokee

  • 6,500 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the forward collision system was defective and if a vehicle was in front of the contact and he approached the vehicle at rapid speeds, the alarm would not sound in time enough to avoid a crash. The failure would also occur when attempting to park the vehicle and would not alert him when the vehicle was too close to another. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but they were unable to determine the failure. The failure mileage was 6,500.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #5

Apr 302011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100 miles
Purchased 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo new from dealer mick's North hills Chrysler. Have had vehicle in for repair or reprogramming of passive entry and pushbutton start multiple times. The problem began happening the day after it was purchased. Repair took quite a while and also had downtime where vehicle shut itself off when driving at least twice. The original problem was corrected after multiple visits and calls to dealer. The problem began happening again over past couple of weeks with "key not found". one week ago Saturday (4/30) the vehicle would not start using either key nor when removing push button and attempting to start with key inserted. It would crank and crank but not start. After leaving sit overnight it started the next day. But still getting intermittent "key not found". the dealer took the car in for service again on 5/2 and this time dealer replaced batteries in both key fobs. Two days later the vehicle would not start in the am or any other repeated attempts throughout the day. Had it towed to another dealer for service and repair pending as of 5/9.

- Pa, PA, USA

problem #4

Mar 122011

Grand Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
Hi, my name is [xxx]. on Jan. 18, 2011 I purchased a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee X package from Grand Prix Jeep and suburu, for my daughter, for her first car. On March 12, I was stopped at a light, my foot on the brake, the car started to rev high and then was trying to accelerate forward, I thought the cruise control was on, I had no idea what the problem was, but it was so scary. I had to ride with my foot on the brake the whole way home. Engine light came on and so did the electronic throttle light, which looks like a lightening bolt. I brought the car to the dealer, spoke with ethan. I explained to them of the sudden acceleration problem. He said he would take a look at it and let me know the problem. I called on Monday, no one looked at the car, stall. Tuesday, I called and spoke to ethan, he said he had no idea what was wrong with the car and he had to wait for Chrysler to call him and let him know what to do, scary. Miraculously Wednesday he said he replaced the gas pedal the sensor was bad, and the car was fixed. Still terrified from te first occurrence, I took the car home. Om March 24th, 2011 it was beginning to snow, I was stopped at the corner stop sign waiting to make a right turn and the car surged forward into the intersection skidding onto the sidewalk just missing a pedestrian and a utility pole. If it was my daughter driving, who is a new driver, I don't think she would have been so lucky as to miss the pedestrian or the pole. This time I called the dealer and told them I almost died in the car, due to the same problem, sudden acceleration, engine and throttle light on. They actually had the nerve to tell me to drive the car to the dealer for service. I declined and told them to come and get it. They sent a tow truck that day to pick up the car. I called, both the sales and service manager and told them that I almost died twice in this car and I do not want it back. They both assured me they would replace the car. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wantagh, NY, USA

problem #3

Mar 262011

Grand Cherokee

  • 17,000 miles
There were electrical failures leading up to the complete electrical and engine system shutting down while driving. After being to the dealer for serious vibration and countless other issues, including remote start needing complete replacement and tons of software updates and was still not fixed!!!!!!! electrical failures started with key and key fob not functioning, which caused vehicle to be inoperative. The major safety concern occurred when vehicle completely stopped functioning while driving 70 mph on I-75, down the mountains with a trailer on the back. All headlights and electrical system shut down, power steering disabled, brakes locked, engine dead. Hazards wouldn't work and this was a major safety concern when vehicle is stuck in the middle of the road, with no lights and it was after midnight for us. We see another identical complaint here from another Jeep owner. We have an attorney trying to go thru the lemon law, but that may not pan out. It seems like a lot of consumers could/will be at serious risk with this vehicle. Especially for families with children.

- Goergetown, KY, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?