CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 27
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,927 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 4 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #414

Oct 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has completely shut down while driving 5 times in the recent past. 1X19 Oct; 2X31 Oct; 2X7nov. The vehicle completely shuts off while driving. This is very dangerous as all power is lost for breaks, steering, and obviously no acceleration. Chrysler safety recall P54 has been applied prior to these issues. Dealer and Chrysler are charging me customer (at my expense) to flash new software files on the vehicle computers. I sense this is very likely a much broader safety issue and am hoping our government (NHTSA) officials will investigate before someone is injured as a result of this.

- Dunlap, IL, USA

problem #413

Oct 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 91,000 miles
Since safety recall P54 was applied, my vehicle has completely died while driving on 5 separate occasions 1 on 19oct, 2on31oct, and 2on7nov. The vehicle is currently at sam lehman Chrysler Jeep dealership in peoria, il. They claim that I need new software at my expense to address the vehicle shut downs. Attached transcript is with Chrysler. They do not appear to take this safety issue very seriously.

- Dunlap, IL, USA

problem #412

Jul 222015

Grand Cherokee

  • 64,000 miles
When stopped trying to start the engine, push button starter will not start the car. Have to turn the switch to get a restart. Sometimes takes several tries. Have had engine not cut off when button pushed. Had to repeat several time to get engine to stop.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #411

Aug 312015

Grand Cherokee

  • 47,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tipm failed causing car to stall while in motion during rush hour traffic. Power steering, power brakes also failed. Lastly, power door locks also failed with one year old in the car.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #410

Oct 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • 86,591 miles
10/10/2015 at approximately 320 pm cdt, I was driving I35 South between duluth mn and minneapolis mn. Smoke started billowing out of the headliner, rh side above the windshield/sun visor. I pilled to the side of the road, pulled the a pillar and pulled down the headliner. Flames were present, I reached in thinking it was a wire (it was) sustained burns on my right hand. Grabbed the owners manual, located the fuse for courtesy lights under the hood, pulled the 15 amp fuse (which had not blown). Removed the sun visor and vanity light, and associated wiring. Fire was extinguished at that point. Removed the visor and wiring, found a burned connector and smoldering wiring. Grabbed a side cutter and terminated the wiring to the lighted vanity light, after removing the center upper map light assembly. I sustained minor burns right hand (three fingers). Vehicle was in motion when fire broke out speed 70 mph. Vehicle damage was inspected by duluth Jeep, duluth mn. Duluth Jeep kept the removed parts. Recall #36 was accomplished 11/2014 by duluth Jeep.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #409

Oct 262015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,200 miles
Chrysler recall # P54 regarding totally integrated power module was applied to my vehicle. It totally shut off while driving on 3 separate occasions prior to the so called "fix" via P54. My vehicle shut down while driving home last nite. Each time the vehicle has shut down, it has happened whilst breaking and coming to an intersection. This was the same as last nite in which the vehicle shut off while I was cornering through an intersection. Battery is fine, fuel is full, I change the oil every 4,000 miles or less and rotate the tires every 6,000 miles. This tipm is a real problem. Shutting a vehicle down while motoring is extremely dangerous. I sincerely hope the NHTSA takes action on this before lives are lost.

- Dunlap, IL, USA

problem #408

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to reimbursement for totally integrated power module recall notice repairs. The consumer stated on or about November 3, 2014 the vehicle would not start. It appeared the vehicle was not getting any fuel to the engine. The consumer called the dealer and they stated the problem sounded as if the totally integrated power module (tipm) was malfunctioning. The consumer was finally able to get the vehicle started and drove to the dealer. An inspection revealed the (tipm) did indeed need to be replaced. The consumer was quoted a price of 41100. The vehicle was repaired. However, on Saturday November 8, 2014, the consumer received a recall notice in the mail regarding the replacement of the (tipm). The consumer sent in recall # 14V530000.

- Bridgeport, WV, USA

problem #407

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the entire drive train needed to be replaced. The contact also stated that the gear was in drive position, but began to reverse while the gear was still in the drive position. The vehicle was constantly stuck in eco mode. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed and repaired several times. The failure was persistent. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Pemberton, NJ, USA

problem #406

Oct 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. When the contact started the vehicle, flames appeared from the roof on the driver side. In addition, the instrument cluster lost power. A fire and a police report were filed. The firefighters sustained injuries while extinguishing the fire, which required medical attention. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 31,000.

- Rodchester Hills, MI, USA

problem #405

Aug 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 59,000 miles
1. the vehicles head has to be replaced due to bad valves at only 59,000 miles. 2. the front right turn signal stopped working, and is burning the bulb socket and headlight housing. It was determined by an independent mechanic that the tipm module is going bad causing shorts, and other electrical issues. (the dealer claims it is a burned bulb socket, but we tested the socket, and entire system and found the true problem) 3. the horn stops working randomly, and sometimes when it does work its only the high tone. This problem is also traced back to a faulty tipm module.

- Barrigada, GU, USA

problem #404

Sep 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • 95,717 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while in park, the keyless entry and the key fob failed without warning. The vehicle had to be started manually using the key. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 95,717.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #403

Sep 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system). The recall repair was performed. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact noticed an abnormal odor. The vehicle was pulled over and the contact noticed smoke coming from the passenger side visor. The contact pulled down the visor and noticed melted plastic. There were firemen onsite who disconnected the battery and flames appeared from the headliner above the passenger seat. The firemen extinguished the flames. A report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000.

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #402

Aug 152015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at approximately 70 mph, the driver side sun visor and headliner caught fire. The contact extinguished the fire. The contact sustained serious burns to his left hand that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 54,000. Updated 11/20/15 updated 1/14/2016

- Evergreen, CO, USA

problem #401

Sep 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 19,500 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), but the failure recurred. The contact stated that the brake light illuminated randomly. Upon applying the brake pedal, the vehicle veered to the right which caused the suspension to be unstable. In addition, the vent control failed to work for the heater and air conditioner. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for various repairs, but the contact continued to experience the unstable suspension. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 19,500.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #400

Sep 222015

Grand Cherokee

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While in park and attempting to start the vehicle, the vehicle failed to start and the system lock was displayed across the message board. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 102,000. Updated 11/18/15

- Spartanburg, SC, USA

problem #399

Sep 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While attempting to start the ignition, the battery failed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 102,000. Updated 11/19/15

- Spartanburg, SC, USA

problem #398

Sep 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to dealership has not tried to remedy recall defects. The dealer informed the consumer, the parts were not available. The consumer referenced recall numbers 14V391000,14V530000 and 14V154000.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #397

Jul 092013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Jeep turns off when I am driving it. This has been an ongoing problem for several years and I have explained the problem to Jeep repair shop on 2 occasions now, yet the problem continues. Recently Chrysler recalled the fuel pump relay and stated it could cause stalling while driving. I have had the recall work performed however my car has stalled while driving it since the repair was completed. This is dangerous as the car turns off while it is moving. Once off, the power steering no longer works making it nearly impossible to turn the car until it is restarted. Many of the times this has happened have been on a freeway offramp while decelerating. I have been very lucky so far that none of them resulting in accidents yet. This problem needs to be fixed as it is dangerous. Im not sure of the exact date when it started (I guessed above) but it has been several years

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #396

Sep 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
This is the sixth time, today, 9/13/15. I haven't been killed yet, but it's a future possibility. My Jeep loses power and will not steer. It happened with my mom and my only child in the Jeep. Chrysler tells me every time to take it to the local dealer, quirk Jeep in marshfield, MA. I do. They run the ever popular 'diagnostics' and find nothing wrong with it. Yet, it keeps happening! the last time it happened, I was on the highway during rush hour traffic. State police would not allow me to wait for aaa so I had to pay out of pocket $120 to be towed off the road by some neanderthal in a tow truck. What can I do before I am killed by this vehicle? last time it happened was in early August of this year. I contacted Jeep with this email and was told to take it in to the dealer for 'diagnostics.' I did and they found no problem again! my Jeep is again losing speed and power steering. It is random. I am driving along and it loses acceleration and power steering. I am terrified to drive on the highway expect in the far right lane at minimal speeds. This is a problem because I am a travelling salesperson and must be on the road all day, five days a week. I travel up to 200 miles a day. As I indicated back in December, this is my fifth Jeep. Quirk says all the recalls on my vehicle have been done and their diagnostics can find no reason for the loss of power. However, it is happening and it is extremely dangerous. Originally, when this first started happening, shortly after I bought this pre-owned Jeep, I was told the tipm recall would correct these problems. Obviously, it has not. Addition, I have random issues with my key not working or my car refusing to turn on. I am a single mom who has to work. I do not have the financial ability to buy a new vehicle and junk this Jeep. I need this vehicle to work as it is supposed to work.

- Humarock, MA, USA

problem #395

Sep 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Asheboro, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?