Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 26
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,836 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 4 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #408

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to reimbursement for totally integrated power module recall notice repairs. The consumer stated on or about November 3, 2014 the vehicle would not start. It appeared the vehicle was not getting any fuel to the engine. The consumer called the dealer and they stated the problem sounded as if the totally integrated power module (tipm) was malfunctioning. The consumer was finally able to get the vehicle started and drove to the dealer. An inspection revealed the (tipm) did indeed need to be replaced. The consumer was quoted a price of 41100. The vehicle was repaired. However, on Saturday November 8, 2014, the consumer received a recall notice in the mail regarding the replacement of the (tipm). The consumer sent in recall # 14V530000.

- Bridgeport, WV, USA

problem #407

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the entire drive train needed to be replaced. The contact also stated that the gear was in drive position, but began to reverse while the gear was still in the drive position. The vehicle was constantly stuck in eco mode. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed and repaired several times. The failure was persistent. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Pemberton, NJ, USA

problem #406

Oct 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. When the contact started the vehicle, flames appeared from the roof on the driver side. In addition, the instrument cluster lost power. A fire and a police report were filed. The firefighters sustained injuries while extinguishing the fire, which required medical attention. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 31,000.

- Rodchester Hills, MI, USA

problem #405

Aug 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. the vehicles head has to be replaced due to bad valves at only 59,000 miles. 2. the front right turn signal stopped working, and is burning the bulb socket and headlight housing. It was determined by an independent mechanic that the tipm module is going bad causing shorts, and other electrical issues. (the dealer claims it is a burned bulb socket, but we tested the socket, and entire system and found the true problem) 3. the horn stops working randomly, and sometimes when it does work its only the high tone. This problem is also traced back to a faulty tipm module.

- Barrigada, GU, USA

problem #404

Sep 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • 95,717 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while in park, the keyless entry and the key fob failed without warning. The vehicle had to be started manually using the key. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 95,717.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #403

Sep 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system). The recall repair was performed. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact noticed an abnormal odor. The vehicle was pulled over and the contact noticed smoke coming from the passenger side visor. The contact pulled down the visor and noticed melted plastic. There were firemen onsite who disconnected the battery and flames appeared from the headliner above the passenger seat. The firemen extinguished the flames. A report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000.

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #402

Aug 152015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at approximately 70 mph, the driver side sun visor and headliner caught fire. The contact extinguished the fire. The contact sustained serious burns to his left hand that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 54,000. Updated 11/20/15 updated 1/14/2016

- Evergreen, CO, USA

problem #401

Sep 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 19,500 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), but the failure recurred. The contact stated that the brake light illuminated randomly. Upon applying the brake pedal, the vehicle veered to the right which caused the suspension to be unstable. In addition, the vent control failed to work for the heater and air conditioner. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for various repairs, but the contact continued to experience the unstable suspension. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 19,500.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #400

Sep 222015

Grand Cherokee

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While in park and attempting to start the vehicle, the vehicle failed to start and the system lock was displayed across the message board. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 102,000. Updated 11/18/15

- Spartanburg, SC, USA

problem #399

Sep 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While attempting to start the ignition, the battery failed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 102,000. Updated 11/19/15

- Spartanburg, SC, USA

problem #398

Sep 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to dealership has not tried to remedy recall defects. The dealer informed the consumer, the parts were not available. The consumer referenced recall numbers 14V391000,14V530000 and 14V154000.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #397

Jul 092013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Jeep turns off when I am driving it. This has been an ongoing problem for several years and I have explained the problem to Jeep repair shop on 2 occasions now, yet the problem continues. Recently Chrysler recalled the fuel pump relay and stated it could cause stalling while driving. I have had the recall work performed however my car has stalled while driving it since the repair was completed. This is dangerous as the car turns off while it is moving. Once off, the power steering no longer works making it nearly impossible to turn the car until it is restarted. Many of the times this has happened have been on a freeway offramp while decelerating. I have been very lucky so far that none of them resulting in accidents yet. This problem needs to be fixed as it is dangerous. Im not sure of the exact date when it started (I guessed above) but it has been several years

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #396

Sep 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
This is the sixth time, today, 9/13/15. I haven't been killed yet, but it's a future possibility. My Jeep loses power and will not steer. It happened with my mom and my only child in the Jeep. Chrysler tells me every time to take it to the local dealer, quirk Jeep in marshfield, MA. I do. They run the ever popular 'diagnostics' and find nothing wrong with it. Yet, it keeps happening! the last time it happened, I was on the highway during rush hour traffic. State police would not allow me to wait for aaa so I had to pay out of pocket $120 to be towed off the road by some neanderthal in a tow truck. What can I do before I am killed by this vehicle? last time it happened was in early August of this year. I contacted Jeep with this email and was told to take it in to the dealer for 'diagnostics.' I did and they found no problem again! my Jeep is again losing speed and power steering. It is random. I am driving along and it loses acceleration and power steering. I am terrified to drive on the highway expect in the far right lane at minimal speeds. This is a problem because I am a travelling salesperson and must be on the road all day, five days a week. I travel up to 200 miles a day. As I indicated back in December, this is my fifth Jeep. Quirk says all the recalls on my vehicle have been done and their diagnostics can find no reason for the loss of power. However, it is happening and it is extremely dangerous. Originally, when this first started happening, shortly after I bought this pre-owned Jeep, I was told the tipm recall would correct these problems. Obviously, it has not. Addition, I have random issues with my key not working or my car refusing to turn on. I am a single mom who has to work. I do not have the financial ability to buy a new vehicle and junk this Jeep. I need this vehicle to work as it is supposed to work.

- Humarock, MA, USA

problem #395

Sep 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Asheboro, NC, USA

problem #394

Dec 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • 29,255 miles
My 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee began stalling while driving in December 2014. These occurrences have been documented by the dealership four times. It has always stalled while driving at speeds higher than 50 mph. It has stalled on the freeway 2 times and I have been spared a serious traffic collision due to light traffic conditions. The vehicle never throws a code when it stalls. There is nothing the service department can do for these "phantom" occurrences. The tipm has been replaced since that can sometimes be the issue. However, the stalling continues. I have researched this stalling issue and there are others with the similar problem. What will it take before Chrysler addresses this life threatening problem? currently, my vehicle is back at the dealership for this problem. I am not looking forward to picking up my vehicle since the problem is always looming like a black cloud over my head.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #393

Aug 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • 69,700 miles
August 29, 2015 I had a tune-up performed on my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland. When I returned to pick up my vehicle I was informed that when the service advisor was removing the car from the garage a fire started in the interior of the vehicle. The service advisor showed me the interior damage and it was the passenger sun visor. The visor had approximately a quarter size burn mark on the plastic piece covering the vanity mirror and a burn on the head liner directly above the damage on the cover. It was suggested that I take the car directly to the other dealer that had done the P36/NHTSA 14V-391 recall in October 2014 as the dealer that had done the tune up would not fix the damage and would not help with anything. After I inquired about my safety driving the vehicle (at the dealer's suggestion) it was determined that it probably should be towed. I contacted the dealer that had done the recall. The vehicle was left at the dealer and I contacted Chrysler for assistance. A case was opened for me. August 31, 2015 the dealer that had done the recall repair contacted Chrysler regarding the case and were informed by Chrysler that the vehicle was not to be moved until and investigation could be done. September 1, 2015 I sent an email and timeline (to date) to the GM/president of the dealer that performed the tune up. September 2, 2015 I contacted Chrysler regarding my case and was informed it was closed. The representative re-opened the case. September 6, 2015 I contacted Chrysler regarding my case and was informed it had been assigned and I would need to wait until the assigned agent contacted me. September 8, 2015 to date I have not been contacted by Chrysler, the GM/president of the dealership that has the vehicle, I have not been provided any transportation and I have no idea the status of my vehicle.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #392

Aug 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 10 mph, the sun visor caught fire. The fire independently extinguished itself. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 111,000. The VIN was not available.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #391

Aug 302015

Grand Cherokee

  • 46,500 miles
I was driving and my eyes started burning then smoke was coming out of the visor. Then there were sparks and small flames from sunroof. It almost caught my hair on fire. I had the recal wiring replaced in July and this happened August 30, after recall completed.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #390

Aug 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 75,000 miles
Smelled smoke and the car started to fill with smoke. We pulled the car over and the passenger side sun visor and headliner were on fire. We vacated the vehical and called for help. The car was serviced for this specific recall in December of 2014.

- Canyon Lake, CA, USA

problem #389

Jun 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,800 miles
Jeep was taken in for the P54 fuel pump relay recall on 6/12/15. Next morning after returning from dealer, the engine would crank but not start. This problem was intermittent, and the engine would sometimes start after 15-30 minutes of trying. Eventually on 6/15/15 it wouldn't start all morning so was towed back to dealer. They couldn't replicate problem and released car back to me doing nothing. Intermittent no start continued for weeks, car taken back to dealer on 7/6/15 and they replaced win module, another component of ignition system. Next morning, 7/7/15, car would not start again. Intermittent crank/no start condition continued to occur for weeks, car taken back to dealer on 7/22/15. This time dealer spent almost 3 weeks working on the problem. First, the fuel pump relay (the recall part already replaced once) was determined to be faulty and was replaced. This didn't solve the problem, and the tipm was said to be causing the condition, and was replaced on 8/10/15. Jeep worked for a week until today, 8/15/15, while driving down a busy long island road car stalled out while driving ~30 mph. My wife and our 4 month old baby were in the car, and I was somewhat terrified. There was traffic surrounding us, and I was left with no power to the brakes or steering. Luckily I was already in the right lane and was able to put hazards on and pull over slowly without incident. If there had been a red light or sudden braking in front of me however, the situation would have been much different. After pulling over, car cranked/no start as it has previously for the past months, and did so for 20 minutes until finally started and drove it home. I have had our Jeep in the shop 4 times for what seems to be the issue described in the fuel pump relay recall, but we are still experiencing the same problem! I am at my wits end, and no longer feel safe in this vehicle.

- Lynbrook, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?