Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 26
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,862 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 5 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #390

Aug 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Smelled smoke and the car started to fill with smoke. We pulled the car over and the passenger side sun visor and headliner were on fire. We vacated the vehical and called for help. The car was serviced for this specific recall in December of 2014.

- Canyon Lake, CA, USA

problem #389

Jun 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,800 miles
Jeep was taken in for the P54 fuel pump relay recall on 6/12/15. Next morning after returning from dealer, the engine would crank but not start. This problem was intermittent, and the engine would sometimes start after 15-30 minutes of trying. Eventually on 6/15/15 it wouldn't start all morning so was towed back to dealer. They couldn't replicate problem and released car back to me doing nothing. Intermittent no start continued for weeks, car taken back to dealer on 7/6/15 and they replaced win module, another component of ignition system. Next morning, 7/7/15, car would not start again. Intermittent crank/no start condition continued to occur for weeks, car taken back to dealer on 7/22/15. This time dealer spent almost 3 weeks working on the problem. First, the fuel pump relay (the recall part already replaced once) was determined to be faulty and was replaced. This didn't solve the problem, and the tipm was said to be causing the condition, and was replaced on 8/10/15. Jeep worked for a week until today, 8/15/15, while driving down a busy long island road car stalled out while driving ~30 mph. My wife and our 4 month old baby were in the car, and I was somewhat terrified. There was traffic surrounding us, and I was left with no power to the brakes or steering. Luckily I was already in the right lane and was able to put hazards on and pull over slowly without incident. If there had been a red light or sudden braking in front of me however, the situation would have been much different. After pulling over, car cranked/no start as it has previously for the past months, and did so for 20 minutes until finally started and drove it home. I have had our Jeep in the shop 4 times for what seems to be the issue described in the fuel pump relay recall, but we are still experiencing the same problem! I am at my wits end, and no longer feel safe in this vehicle.

- Lynbrook, NY, USA

problem #388

Aug 112015

Grand Cherokee

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced an electrical failure and was unable to be started. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed as a failure of the fuel pump relay. The dealer was notified of the failure, however, the vehicle was not repaired for the recall due to lack of available parts. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- South Park, PA, USA

problem #387

Jul 112015

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 35,000.

- Chubbuck, ID, USA

problem #386

Aug 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles
Fire started in passenger sun visor. Recall P36 was repaired on 2/18/15.

- Belle Fourche, SD, USA

problem #385

Aug 092015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 64,440 miles
August 9, 2015, left home in my Jeep and drove approximately for a half mile than noted a severe smell inside. Turned around and went back home thinking that oil is leaking and burning. August 10, 2015, drove to work approximately 15 miles. At work, on the parking lot I lowered the sunvisor on the driver side and that's when I discovered the cause of yesterday's smell. There is a large burned out hole in the roof liner. I know there was a recall on this potential fire hazard in the past. It was apparently fixed by my dealership on November 4, 2014. However, it looks clearly the issue has not been resolved. At the moment, I am a bit traumatized by this apparent fire danger. Thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Castro Valley, CA, USA

problem #384

Apr 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rosedale , NY, USA

problem #383

Aug 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 26,700 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 50 mph, the alternator failed and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the alternated failed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 26,700. MA 10/15/2015

- Massapequa, NY, USA

problem #382

Jul 302015

Grand Cherokee

  • 122,519 miles
While traveling at a speed of 55 mph on the highway with my daughter in the car, the charging system light came on and seconds later the car killed. All power was lost and thankfully I wasn't in an intersection or anything and I was able to pull the vehicle over towards the shoulder. Vehicle would not start after. Got someone to try to jump it off but it would die as soon as we would take the cables off. Had battery tested and it was fine so pulled the alternator and it was dead. Never heard of having to replace an alternator on a vehicle that is only four years old.

- Schriever, LA, USA

problem #381

Apr 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 09/18/15

- Sault St Marie, MI, USA

problem #380

Jul 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 81,120 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Alternator failure diagnosed as faulty regulator by mechanic. Symptoms began spontaneously wherein vehicle would not start. After charging or jump starting vehicle, battery would again go dead after vehicle sat off/not running for a few hrs (less than 8).

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #379

Jul 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 54,000 miles
While motoring along, my wife and I noticed an acrid smell which became more and more intense until our eyes began to burn and it became clear that the acrid smell was from our own vehicle, and not from another source such as some other vehicle driving ahead of us. We pulled off the road and immediately we saw smoke coming from the passenger-side sun visor which was is the up position. We shut the car off and flipped down the sun visor to see what was going on, and the visor broke off as we did so. Sparks and molten metal began dripping from wires which protruded from the headliner. It was clear by the amount of smoke that the headliner itself was on fire in between the passenger compartment and the roof panel, and almost immediately flames burned through the headliner material. By purest chance a police vehicle drove by at that moment; we flagged the officer down and he produced a fire extinguisher from his vehicle and put out the fire. The flames were spreading so quickly that it was clear that, had the officer not happened by at that moment, our vehicle would have been completely destroyed. The fire department was called and they disconnected the battery to insure there could be no further electrical fire and that it was safe to tow away the vehicle. In 2014 we received a recall notice from Jeep (real P36) which cited a possible risk of fire due to resistance in the wiring of the vanity lamp.the recall repairs were performed by our local dealer in December, 2014.

- Madison, CT, USA

problem #378

Jul 112015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While making a right turn at 20 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to steer the vehicle. In addition, the brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to stop and then stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 105,000. MA 10/23/15 updated 11/03/15.

- Santa Fe Springs, CA, USA

problem #377

Jul 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the push to start failed to start the vehicle without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- West Valley , UT, USA

problem #376

Oct 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles
3 occurrences: 1st ) Oct 2014 - while making a right turn, my car died in the middle of the turn, lost all power steering and power brakes and came close to hitting another vehicle. 2nd) March 2015 - while making a left hand turn, and going about 30 miles/hour, my car died while in the middle of the turn and lost all power steering and power brakes. 3rd) June 2015 - while coming to a quick stop my car died and lost all power steering and power brakes. Updated 09/15/15

- Granville, OH, USA

problem #375

Apr 202015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
On or about April 20, 2015 I had just driven my Jeep about 20 miles to get groceries came home unloaded and went back to start Jeep to go pick up grand daughter at school and the Jeep would not start. It would crank for about 30 seconds and then stop. Tried to start 5 or 6 times. Took my truck to get grand daughter. Called Chrysler and they sent dealer to get Jeep. About an hour later Jeep started then but they took it to check it out. After 5 days they told me I need a new battery. They wanted $355.31 for new battery. Took Jeep to 2 parts stores and they checked the battery and said it was stronger than what was posted on battery. On May 7, 2015 I was out at store and Jeep would not start. Tried about 6 or 7 times and then it started without my foot on brake but would not go into gear. Restarted and was fine. Called dealer and took back on May 8, 2015. Dealer kept Jeep over night and told me I needed a new battery. Bought a new battery through my son in laws shop cost me $122.14. The dealer charged me $90 for the test. So I am out of $212.14 as of now. Today June 13,2015 I went to start my Jeep and it would not start. Same as both times before. I know the problem is with the tipm and no test will show that there is a problem with it. Called Jeep hot line and they said there is no recall on this and no reports. To take it to the dealer and have them test it again that they could not help me with this problem because my Jeep was out of factory warranty. I only have 32989 miles on my Jeep. It only had 32627 on the second visit to dealer. I have extended warranty on the Jeep but they charge $50 if the test don't show up a problem. So I am between a rock and a hard place. Where do I go from here. I know there are a lot of reports on here about the same problem I am having. Thank you for your time.

- Pulaski, VA, USA

problem #374

Jun 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,200 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted. The contact notified the dealer about the incident. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. In September of 2014, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V53000 (electrical system). The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The failure mileage was approximately 70,200.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #373

Mar 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle made a jerking motion and stalled. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician diagnosed that the fuel pump and the tipm module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was experiencing the failure listed in NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system); however, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000.

- Boiling Spring , SC, USA

problem #372

Oct 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle intermittently shook. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. Additionally, the contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer stated that parts were not available for the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000.

- Dearborn Heights , MI, USA

problem #371

Jun 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 30 mph, the passenger side vanity lamp caught fire. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) and believe the failure was related to the recall. The contact did not sustain any injuries. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?