Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 26
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,836 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 6 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #368

May 182015

Grand Cherokee

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall repair for visor was completed Jan. 16,2015. On May 18th 2015 while driving the drivers side sun visor erupted into flames. I pulled into the nearest location, which was a gas station. The mechanic doused the flames with his fire extinguisher....the car was towed to the dealer where it was purchased and we are still waiting to hear from this dealer. In Feb. The car was serviced for electrical problems twice in a 2 week time period....we are seniors and this was our only car. We don't know where to turn now or how this will be resolved by Jeep.

- Highland Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #367

May 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,000 miles
No voltage indicator light or voltage reader

- Friant, CA, USA

problem #366

Jun 152011

Grand Cherokee

  • 3,000 miles
Sometimes, not often when I use the cable tv remote my vehicle starts up in the garage and runs for 15 minutes or until I turn it off, if I know it has started. This has also happened when I turn my electronic fire place on. The first time this happend I herd a noise, I thought was a car running in my drive way, as I walked into the garage to open the garage door I knew immediately it was my vehicle and ran for the keys to turn it off, the garage was full of exhaust fumes so I held my breath as long as possible. Good thing I not have kids this is a major safety issue in my opinion. I have taken vehicle to several dealerships in my state including where I purchased the vehicle and they say they fix it, however it still not fixed. It seems all they do is reset the battery, I have told them I already did that several times and it not fix the problem. Same ole same ole, yada yada yada

- Sequim, WA, USA

problem #365

Apr 272011

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle unlocks randomly as I walk away from it, have to lock then try again and again sometimes. Several times have come back to vehicle after locking it only to find it unlocked. I have taken it to 3 dealerships including the one I bought it from and they have never fixed the issue as stated.

- Sequim, WA, USA

problem #364

May 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,136 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the recall repair was performed for NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) in October of 2014. On May 2, 2015, while driving at an unknown speed, smoke appeared from the driver side sun visor. Shortly after, flames were present coming from the visor. The contact used a fire extinguisher to extinguish the flames. The cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,136.

- Millsboro, DE, USA

problem #363

Apr 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to totally integrated power module recall. The consumer stated the recall letter stated the parts were not available. However, the letter stated if a failure had been experience to submit documentation. The consumer submitted the required documentation. Chrysler informed the consumer because she had a third party extended warranty with a $300 deductible that Chrysler would only reimburse $50 for the totally integrated power module. Chrysler's rationale for the reimbursement amount was the following: In the same visit the totally integrated power module was repaired, the consumer had a door repaired, which cost $200 and a $30 car rental was listed on the original receipt.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #362

Apr 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had the tipm fuel pump relay bypass "fix" done last fall after failing to start a number of times. It has been recalled since I had the repair done. I am now experiencing the exact same problem. It fails to start a few times each week, eventually starting after several attempts. I've taken my vehicle to a local dealership a number of times and they can't find anything wrong (no error codes). This is an intermittent starting issue and apparently difficult to diagnose. It's almost certainly related to the tipm. I continue to pay diagnostic charges since no "codes" are registering anywhere. ($150) until they get a "error code", they claim there's nothing they can do and it's not covered by my extended warranty. The internet is full of similar complaints for this make and model year. I just want my car to start and run well!

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #361

Nov 242014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
First incident was: ~11/24/2014 took to mother lode motors, sonora, ca second incident was: 3-09-2015 took to motor lode motors for recall P54/ NHTSA 14V-530 ( tipm); took to central valley motors in modesto, ca my Jeep would not start. The starting motor continued to turn over even when I stopped pressing it. Because there is not a Jeep dealer within 70 miles, I took it to a local dealer (Dodge) who claimed to be able to mechanically work on Jeep. They used to be a Jeep dealer. I told them of the problem. I left it over night. They told me they had to reset the computer. ($300). No parts replaced. Four months later (3/9/2015), the same problem occurred, only it was worse. So I took it back to the same garage, and left it over night. This time they told me the whole computer had to be replaced. ($1507). I finally was able to take it to a real Jeep dealer to get a recall item fixed. (P54/NHTSA 14V-530, tipm). When I mentioned the above incident, they told me that the recall item was the cause of the above incident, and what the Dodge dealer did was not necessary. Fixing the recall item would have fixed it, at no cost. The dealer that did the "unnecessary" work that cost me $1807, was "mother lode motors" in sonora, ca 95370. I went back to them and told a supervisor about the incident, and he just looked at me, didn't say a word, didn't even ask my name or apologize. I called the owner of mother lode motors to let him know of my complaint, and he basically accused me of making excuses and said, "how did I know that they didn't fix the problem?" again no apology.

- Sonora, CA, USA

problem #360

Jan 302015

Grand Cherokee

  • 67,724 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled intermittently without warning. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic); however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer was able to diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 67,724.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #359

Apr 142015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I received notice by mail in December that my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee had a recall (P36 sun visor wiring) and there was a risk of fire due to a wiring issue. I immediately took my car to dadeland Dodge Chrysler Jeep in miami, fl to get the recall fixed. My car was at the dealership for about 24 hours being repaired and the next day I was called to go pick it up because the recall had been done and the car was good as new. Fast forward to Tuesday, April 14th and I am driving and stopped at a red light. My car filled with smoke and I could not breathe in the car. I had no idea where the fire was coming from so I started opening all the windows and noticed there was a fire by the sun visor. All of the electrical functions on the center console and the steering wheel had disabled and I was unable to open the sunroof to let the smoke out. I had to pull over, turn off the car and truly feared for my life because the car had filled with smoke and the sun visor was completely burned. The fire could have burned me had I been on a highway and unable to stop. I think it's incredible that I did my part, took the car to get the recall fixed, and was returned a car that was clearly not fixed. This fire could have severely injured me and I no longer feel safe driving this car. This model car has had several recalls, including one involving the breaks, and to be honest, I just do not feel safe driving it after what happened to me. I simply want back what I paid for this manufacture defected vehicle.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #358

Apr 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While in park, the sun visor caught fire and flames spread throughout the vehicle. The fire department was able to extinguish the fire. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the sun visor, roof liner, air bags, steering column, and other multiple parts needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- Walahalla, SC, USA

problem #357

Feb 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,900 miles
My 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee dies on me when I start to decelerate when approaching a stop sign/signal light. When it does die there are no dummy lights and it starts right back up. This is very dangerous due to the fact we have no control over vehicle whenever it decides to die. In fact we were almost rear ended just 2 days ago as we were going through an intersection and the Jeep died to which the car behind us had to swerve to miss us. Again this so dangerous in the fact that we are scared to drive this Jeep in not knowing when we could be seriously hurt.

- Deer Creek, IL, USA

problem #356

Feb 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled and the ability to steer and brake seized. The contact had to maneuver to the side of the road. The contact restarted the vehicle and drove to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the power control module shorted all the spark plugs and the software needed to be updated. The failure occurred twice. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 63,000.

- Forbes, NJ, USA

problem #355

Jan 112015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 6/30/15 the consumer stated the dealer kept the vehicle for 92 days. Updated 07/02/15

- Carlsbad, NM, USA

problem #354

Sep 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times. On one occasion, while driving at low speeds and making a left turn, the vehicle stalled. After several attempts, the vehicle was able to restart. The vehicle was taken to a dealer more than twice and they were unable to replicate the failure. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V530000 (electrical system) but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 34,000.

- New Haven, MI, USA

problem #353

Aug 192014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #352

Mar 162015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
Intermittently, the vehicle will crank but not start on the first try. Usually only happens if vehicle has been sitting for several hours. Sometimes it will start, but immediately stall.

- Granbury, TX, USA

problem #351

Oct 072014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer states intermittently vehicle will crank and not start and fuel pump signal issues. The dealer traced the problem to a fuel pump relay losing signal at the tipm module.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #350

Dec 162014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 61,218 miles
I have had my Jeep worked on twice to fix the tipm at billy craft Chrysler Jeep. In August they advised they were doing a temporary fix. On December 16, 2014 they indicated that they completed recall P54 and input this into the system as complete - my vehicle has now started having the same problems. In addition when the temporary fix was done in August this caused the automatic high beam sensor to stop working - billy craft states this is a coincidence and unrelated. Despite indicating the recall was completed in its entirety, I found out this week billy craft Chrysler Jeep did not in fact complete the recall despite telling me they did and inputting into the corporate Jeep system that this had been completed as of 12/16/14. I am now having to take the vehicle back again to have the actual fix completed. If there are recalls made, the shops performing the recall fixes should maintain a high level of integrity and actually complete these or there should be some type of corrective action taken against their business. I am now working with the general manager and will be trading my Jeep in as soon as possible. My safety and the safety of others on the roads is not worth this.

- Forest, VA, USA

problem #349

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notices for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes) in June of 2014, NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) in July of 2014, and NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to remedy multiple recalls were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?