Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 27
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,863 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 7 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #351

Oct 072014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer states intermittently vehicle will crank and not start and fuel pump signal issues. The dealer traced the problem to a fuel pump relay losing signal at the tipm module.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #350

Dec 162014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 61,218 miles
I have had my Jeep worked on twice to fix the tipm at billy craft Chrysler Jeep. In August they advised they were doing a temporary fix. On December 16, 2014 they indicated that they completed recall P54 and input this into the system as complete - my vehicle has now started having the same problems. In addition when the temporary fix was done in August this caused the automatic high beam sensor to stop working - billy craft states this is a coincidence and unrelated. Despite indicating the recall was completed in its entirety, I found out this week billy craft Chrysler Jeep did not in fact complete the recall despite telling me they did and inputting into the corporate Jeep system that this had been completed as of 12/16/14. I am now having to take the vehicle back again to have the actual fix completed. If there are recalls made, the shops performing the recall fixes should maintain a high level of integrity and actually complete these or there should be some type of corrective action taken against their business. I am now working with the general manager and will be trading my Jeep in as soon as possible. My safety and the safety of others on the roads is not worth this.

- Forest, VA, USA

problem #349

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notices for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes) in June of 2014, NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) in July of 2014, and NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to remedy multiple recalls were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #348

Oct 082014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car does not start, the ignition keeps turning over but the engine does not start, then it does not turn off so you have to sit and wait for all the lights on the panel and the radio to go off before trying to start again. If I press the start button before everything shuts down, the ignition stays on but refuses to start the engine. The dealership does not have a clue why this is happening. I know it's not only my car because I have been at the service department with others who have the same problem, there has to be a reason for this, someone at Jeep knows (I am sure).

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #347

Mar 022015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to brake booster, vanity mirror wiring and totally integrated power module recall notices. The dealer informed the consumer, the parts were not available.

- Worcester, NY, USA

problem #346

Sep 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Slingerlands, NY, USA

problem #345

Mar 022015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 57,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The recall for the tipm was issued in October 2014 (P54/NHTSA 14V-530) and the parts are still not available as of March 3, 2015. I need more of an update than, sorry we know your car has a safety issue, but we don't have the parts. If it's enough of a safety concern that they notify me each month of the failure to have inventory, perhaps they should save the postage and Focus on purchasing the parts. I am tired of waiting.

- Hartford, WI, USA

problem #344

Oct 232014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/06/15

- Muskego, WI, USA

problem #343

Feb 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving in reverse at approximately 10 mph, the vehicle began to hesitate. The failure recurred on a separate occasion. The contact experienced the same failure as mentioned in NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). The vehicle had not been repaired because the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000.

- North Lawrence, OH, USA

problem #342

Dec 042014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer received repairs on vehicle due to recall notice and would like reimbursement. The consumer stated the vehicle would intermittently turn over, but never start due to lack of fuel. Repeated attempts to start the vehicle were unsuccessful for a while, but eventually it wouldn't start at all. The dealer informed the consumer the problem was with the tipm, which was a recalled part. However, the dealer stated they would have to charge him, even he if showed them the recall notice. Recall # 14V530000.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #341

Feb 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 25 mph, an abnormal odor emitted from the overhead of the vehicle on the driver side. Also, the windshield wipers activated without warning. The headliner above the driver's left shoulder started to emit smoke and ignited into flames. The materials from the ceiling were dropping onto the driver seat and burned the seat. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a storage lot. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 18,500.

- Washington, UT, USA

problem #340

Feb 282014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
My husband was in an accident on a sunny morning with no precipitation or ice involved while driving in a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. He was not speeding or found responsible for this accident. A Chrysler authorized body shop and the insurance company totaled the car based on the steering column, electrical system, the airbags, as well as the seat belts - which we found strange since we drove the car from the accident. It has been over a year now that he has been dealing with the aftermath of this accident - a traumatic brain injury from this small collision, still out to work, having trouble functioning, and trying to get some answers as to how an airbag that deployed at a speed of 30 mph or less can injure someone so much. Fca (which is now Chrysler) is not giving us any straight answers as to whether this case is involved with the tanaka airbag recall situation. Based on their actions we feel that fca doesn't want to pay for/take responsibility for the vehicles that they have inherited from Chrysler. Through our dealings with fca we are learning that they cannot be trusted to do what they say they are going to do. Fca has told us a few different stories about the orc module, airbags, and seat belts, what we have found is that fca is a group of liars and this needs to be looked into by the federal government immediately as fca is directly putting american safety at risk. We were very loyal Jeep customers prior to the fca buyout because of Chrysler's previous track record of safety and their reliability as a company to take care of important issues like these, fca is not following in their footsteps and I hope all who read this that can do something about this will.

- Agawam, MA, USA

problem #339

Feb 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V530000 (electrical system), 14V391000 (electrical system), and 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bismark, ND, USA

problem #338

Sep 102014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo a P14 recall was received. The consumer was informed the parts were not available and was placed on a waiting list. Also, the sun roof function was inoperative, the leather was separating from the dashboard and the rotors were completely rusted.

- North Babylon, NY, USA

problem #337

Jan 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/6/15 the consumer stated the recall was completed on March 20, 2015. Updated 04/09/15

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #336

Oct 172014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
In October 2014, my Jeep Grand Cherokee stalled without warning three time. There was complete loss of power, no warning lights. I have a push button start and had to come to a complete start, place it in park, and restart. Each time was on a busy street with many unhappy drivers slamming on their brakes. I left the car at the Jeep dealership for two days and they found nothing. The next week, I got the recall. I took it back and they checked with the regional service guy. They changed the tipm pending the "final fix." No more stalls occurred. They then did the "final fix" in January. I had another stall on January 26! I'll take it back with the next recall for god knows what and see what they suggest. I'm not optimistic.

- Pueblo West, CO, USA

problem #335

Sep 252014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer states he paid for recall repairs but have yet to receive reimbursement. According to Chrysler, the part required to provide a permanent remedy was not available and there was no repair procedure in place. Recall # 14V530000.

- Rome, NY, USA

problem #334

Jan 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Petaluma, CA, USA

problem #333

May 302014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
I have received 3 recall notices regarding my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee (NHTSA 14V154, 14V530 and 14V391). After receiving notice 14V154 I contacted the local dealership (larry H miller in boise Idaho) and was informed that the parts were back ordered with no date when parts would be available. This information was repeated in September. Having now received 3 recalls I attempted to schedule to have all 3 resolved at the same time. However, when I tried to schedule a service, I'm told that, while parts are available, they will not order the parts until I bring my vehicle in first. When I asked why they stated that they needed the VIN number. However, they not only have my vehicle information on record and I had the VIN available during the call. I asked to complete the service order on the phone and was told it was "policy" to schedule service appointments only when the vehicle is present and only then will they order parts. This dealership has exceeded the reasonable amount of time to complete the repairs and is creating an unreasonable barrier to completing the services.

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #332

May 142014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
I've been receiving recall notices on a Jeep I purchase last February (used) on recalls P14, P36 and P54. I continuously call Jeep to have these issues repaired and am told the parts are not available, Jeep hasn't shipped or they just have too many recalls. How do I get my recalls fixed before I do have a crash?? I am concerned.

- Sun Prairie, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?