Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 26
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,836 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 24)

problem #468

Nov 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to dealership unable to repair recall notice 15V-879. Consumer has previous correspondence on a 2012 Dodge Ram.

- Utica, NE, USA

problem #467

Nov 112016

Grand Cherokee

  • 94,500 miles
Vehicle has shut off while driving a number of times. Two incidents were while I was sitting idle at a stop light. Two other incidents happened while in motion, slowing down, approaching a stop light or stop sign. There is a recall for a fuel pump relay describing similar situations but my VIN shows no such recall.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #466

Nov 112016

Grand Cherokee

  • 260,000 miles
I had schedule an appointment with dewey Dodge, Ram, Chrysler, Jeep in ankeny ia on 09/29/16 to address the visor recall. At that time I was told they are lost part of the kit needed for the repair. I scheduled another appointment on 11/11/6 and was told they were still waiting for Chrysler to send what they needed. A month and a half seems an unreasonably long time, especially when compared to how little time it takes when the dealer has to order parts to address a maintenance issue.

- West Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #465

Oct 312016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #464

Aug 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000 (electrical system, interior lighting). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Troutdale, OR, USA

problem #463

Oct 132016

Grand Cherokee

  • 85,000 miles
Two of my alternator diodes failed causing smoking, burning smell, and vehicle to stop mid drive. Recall P60 does not cover my car because it is only for 2012 to 2014 although is experiencing the exact same failure.

- Woodland, CA, USA

problem #462

Aug 202016

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2/9/16 I remote started the Jeep for about 3 minutes while I gathered my stuff up to leave. I drove the car approximately 4 miles. At the stop light I noticed my steering wheel was locked. I put my hazards on, put the car in park and started it up again. The car started just fine. 2/13/16 I drove for about 3 miles and as I was going downhill and I was slowing down to turn right the car stalled. If there was not a concrete curb in the turn lane I would have hit the cars sitting at the stop light. I had no breaks and the curb stopped my car. 8/20/16 I get in the car get on the freeway which is mile from our house. We drive approximately 6 miles (speed limit 70 mph) as I take an exit ramp and my car stalls right before I hit the stop light. My car has never shown an code and no one dealership knows what to do. From my research stalling is a major issue with 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I have never had a car stall on me until I got this car. I got new key fob batteries in February 2016 and sometimes the car will not start and I will get an error saying "key not detected"

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #461

Sep 222016

Grand Cherokee

  • 67,000 miles
When the Jeep was started it would not shift into gear. Also the car could not be turned off. All of the the warning lights on the dash were also on. So the car was left with the engine running but nothing else working. The cooling fan for the engine would not work so the car started to over heat. I called the dealer and asked for suggestions on how to turn off the car. The response was to take off the battery cable. The battery is under the seat and can not be removed with out tools. At this point the car over heated and was pushing out coolant onto the ground. I finally had to open the fuse / relay box in the engine compartment and start pulling relays until the engine turned off. I had no other way of getting the engine to stop running and the fear was something would get hot enough to catch on fire. All of this resulted in over $1600 dollars in damage.

- Troutdale, OR, USA

problem #460

Sep 282016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000 (electrical system, interior lighting); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Johnston, IA, USA

problem #459

Sep 012016

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to dealerships unsatisfactory service of sun visor wiring recall repairs and free oil change services.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #458

May 052016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The sun visors on the passenger side caught on fire the lining was burned, the compass on the dashboard was out as well. Also I have been having a problem with the driver airbag light it has been turning on and off for the past 3 years. I have taken it multiple times to the dealership service to get fixed and they are unaware of the problem. It is a safety issue because if I was to get in an accident the airbag will not deploy.

- Porterville, CA, USA

problem #457

Aug 122016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. On February 11, 2016, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000 (electrical system, interior lighting). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Melville, NY, USA

problem #456

Aug 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,600 miles
The alternator is bad I have change the battery twice, when I reserch I found out that the alternator are the same with durango and they are recalled. It stopped on the road twice. I have to call triple a to tow it.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #455

Feb 112016

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000 (electrical system, interior lighting). The dealer was unable to supply the parts for months. The contact called more than one dealer and was unable to schedule a repair within a reasonable time frame. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 10/21/16

- Calabasas, CA, USA

problem #454

Dec 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee.the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000 (electrical system, interior lighting); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not provided.

- Anderson, SC, USA

problem #453

Feb 112016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep gran Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000 (electrical system, interior lighting ) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Part distribution disconnect.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #452

Jul 222016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000 (electrical system, interior lighting); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Kaysville, UT, USA

problem #451

Jun 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the brake pedal was applied and traveled to the floorboard several times. The dealer was notified immediately and was unable to replicate and diagnose the failure. The failure continued. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who replaced the brake booster. The contact also received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000 (electrical system, interior lighting). The dealer was unable to supply the part for months. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The failure mileage was not available. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 09/27/16

- Monticello, MN, USA

problem #450

May 022016

Grand Cherokee

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the front driver and passenger side windows randomly lowered without warning. The contact had to use the electronic function to wind the windows up each time the failure occurred. The cruise control failed to engage and disengage, which caused the contact to have to turn off and restart the vehicle. The service engine light illuminated when the cruise control failure occurred several times. The vehicle was not inspected and diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000.

- Mequon, WI, USA

problem #449

Jul 192016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Stratham, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?