Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,532 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #103

Nov 242014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First incident was: ~11/24/2014 took to mother lode motors, sonora, ca second incident was: 3-09-2015 took to motor lode motors for recall P54/ NHTSA 14V-530 ( tipm); took to central valley motors in modesto, ca my Jeep would not start. The starting motor continued to turn over even when I stopped pressing it. Because there is not a Jeep dealer within 70 miles, I took it to a local dealer (Dodge) who claimed to be able to mechanically work on Jeep. They used to be a Jeep dealer. I told them of the problem. I left it over night. They told me they had to reset the computer. ($300). No parts replaced. Four months later (3/9/2015), the same problem occurred, only it was worse. So I took it back to the same garage, and left it over night. This time they told me the whole computer had to be replaced. ($1507). I finally was able to take it to a real Jeep dealer to get a recall item fixed. (P54/NHTSA 14V-530, tipm). When I mentioned the above incident, they told me that the recall item was the cause of the above incident, and what the Dodge dealer did was not necessary. Fixing the recall item would have fixed it, at no cost. The dealer that did the "unnecessary" work that cost me $1807, was "mother lode motors" in sonora, ca 95370. I went back to them and told a supervisor about the incident, and he just looked at me, didn't say a word, didn't even ask my name or apologize. I called the owner of mother lode motors to let him know of my complaint, and he basically accused me of making excuses and said, "how did I know that they didn't fix the problem?" again no apology.

- Sonora, CA, USA

problem #102

Apr 032015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 57,626 miles
While driving my 2011 Grand Cherokee and my speed was 50mph the car start losing power, start dropping from 50mph to 45pmh to 40mph to 35mph and I was not able to accelerate at all, and I realized that the car going to stop, so I was lucky to enter to parking lot area were my car stalled. I tried to start the car on but the car wont start. After being towed to the dealer and tell them about the including the dealer called me after couple hours and told me that the fuel pump is not good and I need to replace it. Three months ago I had my car in the same dealer for the P54 recall were my car was inspected and installed external fuel pump relay were the mileage were 54,224. When the incident happen the mileage were 57,626. My car never lost power before, I think this happen after performed the P54 recall into my car. The dealer is asking for $ 823 to replace the fuel pump. I thank god cause I was lucky to enter the parking lot area cause otherwise my car would stall in the middle of a busy road and lead to risk of crash.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #101

Mar 022015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 57,500 miles
The recall for the tipm was issued in October 2014 (P54/NHTSA 14V-530) and the parts are still not available as of March 3, 2015. I need more of an update than, sorry we know your car has a safety issue, but we don't have the parts. If it's enough of a safety concern that they notify me each month of the failure to have inventory, perhaps they should save the postage and Focus on purchasing the parts. I am tired of waiting.

- Hartford, WI, USA

problem #100

Jun 032013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car would not start I took it for service and it was corrected and replaced under my warranty. However I've had a fuel pump relay recall and have been waiting for months for the car dealership to call me and replace it. Each time I call to follow up they say we will call you once the part is in. Please help!

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #99

Jan 142015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 60 mph, the engine completely shut off and the vehicle came to a complete stop without warning. The vehicle restarted, but the failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the fuel pump relay needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000. Updated 02/27/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired but, the failure recurred. Updated 4/26/2016

- Groton, MA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #98

May 302014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
I have received 3 recall notices regarding my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee (NHTSA 14V154, 14V530 and 14V391). After receiving notice 14V154 I contacted the local dealership (larry H miller in boise Idaho) and was informed that the parts were back ordered with no date when parts would be available. This information was repeated in September. Having now received 3 recalls I attempted to schedule to have all 3 resolved at the same time. However, when I tried to schedule a service, I'm told that, while parts are available, they will not order the parts until I bring my vehicle in first. When I asked why they stated that they needed the VIN number. However, they not only have my vehicle information on record and I had the VIN available during the call. I asked to complete the service order on the phone and was told it was "policy" to schedule service appointments only when the vehicle is present and only then will they order parts. This dealership has exceeded the reasonable amount of time to complete the repairs and is creating an unreasonable barrier to completing the services.

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #97

May 142014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I've been receiving recall notices on a Jeep I purchase last February (used) on recalls P14, P36 and P54. I continuously call Jeep to have these issues repaired and am told the parts are not available, Jeep hasn't shipped or they just have too many recalls. How do I get my recalls fixed before I do have a crash?? I am concerned.

- Sun Prairie, WI, USA

problem #96

Dec 272014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Unable to get parts at dealer. Key auto mart in moline I have contacted them many times and they state they can't get the parts. I have recall notices for a fuel relay pump and brake booster.

- Taylor Ridge, IL, USA

problem #95

Jul 312014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 45,248 miles
About 6 months ago, my engined began stalling while driving without any warning. Finally my car would not start up and required towing. Throughout this time, abnormal noises could be heard from the starter. The dealer tried to repair it by replacing the Chrysler Jeep tafn kit and charged me $1,361 for the service. But the car was still not repaired and working properly since it continued stalling while driving particularly on the highway, not accelerating, showing the electronic stabilizer light going on along with no power, and emitting screeching noises when turned on. Again I took the car to the same dealer and the mechanic claimed that it "might be cam sensor" and charged me again ($324) for a repair service that had no impact except to make the situation worse. So the car is still not repaired or functioning and continues to exhibit the same problems describe above. In November of this year, I received a recall (P54) notice from Chrysler about a fuel pump relay problem that described the problems I have been having with my car which led me to believe that the dealership could make the necessary repairs; but you can see, this did not happen. In its recall message, Chrysler recommended that I contact you if my dealer has failed or has been unable to remedy this defect without charge. My complaint is two fold: The defect has not been remedied and the dealer keeps charging me for each service repair visit.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #94

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I received a recall notice for the totally integrated power module for my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee in October 2014. The vehicle now struggles to start almost every time it is prompted to. It usually takes two or three attempts to successfully start after it makes a sort of rev type of noise and even produces an odor which is smelt on the outside of the vehicle. The dealership has told me that the part to correct the issue is currently unavailable, and when it does become available, there are over 20 people ahead of me on the waiting list to be repaired. The recall states that the issue could cause the car to stall unexpectedly which makes me fearful for my, and others, safety being that I drive on the interstate everyday.

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #93

Dec 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle doesn't want to start. Tries to turn over but won't. had happened very intermittently for past couple of years. Over past month has happened almost every time I try to start the car. Used to only do it once and then it would start on the second attempt but is now doing the "try but won't start" thing 6 and 7 times in a row before it will finally turn over. Now smelling raw fuel after it starts due to it trying so many times to crank. Called dealership and got the same excuse as many people who have complaints listed here..."we don't have the parts yet." I don't understand how they don't have the parts 2 months after the recall on something like this. In addition to the potential safety issues if it begins stalling in traffic like others are reporting, it's completely trashing my starter/battery/etc as it sits there and tries to crank multiple times. I have zero confidence in my local dealership as I have had tons of run ins with them over warranty work due to multiple problems my Jeep has had. This is ridiculous.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #92

Dec 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
My vehicle is having issues starting/stalling, and sounds like the water pump and/or alternator is failing. I went to the dealership and they said this is all tied to P54/NHTSA 14V-530. The tipm parts are not available to fix this issue, and have not been available since I received the first recall notice back in October 2014. The dealership said the parts are not going to be available for weeks, possibly months. I called Jeep/Chrysler and they also said that is the cause of my problems and they have no date that recall replacement/correction parts will be available. I asked them what I should do since I'm driving a vehicle that doesn't want to start (takes multiple attempts), that stalls out, and that other components under the hood are being affected. They said they will not cover any towing, or rental costs, and had no guidance on what to do besides "good luck". this is a serious issue, I can become stranded, the car could stall (potentially while driving and this car is always on highway high speed driving), and I now have other parts under the hood that this issue is taxing (alternator, battery, water pump, and I could only imagine what else). What am I supposed to do that I'm forced to drive a vehicle with a recall that is not safe to drive" I can't even pay to get this fixed, there is no solution at this time. I don't understand how the vehicle is not recalled entirely and taken off the road, or that if people are experiencing this issue there is no recourse. No free towing, no rental cars ready, no ability to trade in or buy a new vehicle. Nothing. I'm not sure what to do next, get a lawyer? contact BBB" please let me know as I don't see how this is legal, I'm being forced to drive a vehicle with a manufacturing defect that is dangerous. Thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wood Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #91

Dec 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • 62,800 miles
I have been waiting for 2 months for parts for the fuel pump relay recall. I have been having issues with the initial hard start for months. It always has eventually started after time and now my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee has started to stall from this faulty relay also. I was heading home on the local highway moving between 65-70mph and the vehicle stalled as I slowed to around 45mph to exit the highway. Luckily I was approaching an exit and was able to manage to get off safely. I was able to start it again and get back home. To have this happen at speed and lose your power steering and all is very dangerous. Chrysler & the dealers all say they have not a clue when parts will be available for this recall. These Jeep are junk !! there are so many issues with them its not funny. This is my only means of transportation and I have missed several days of work due to the Jeep not starting/stalling etc. I don't have endless money to rent cars and spend on costly repairs. Furthermore, the recall fix of mounting an exterior fuel pump relay to the tipm and bypassing the faulty one buried deep inside is the cheapest way out for Chrysler. What they should be doing is installing all new tipm`S for customers with working relays. I didn't pay $40K for a Jeep to have it cobbed up with cheap recall fixes.

- Waterford, NY, USA

problem #90

Nov 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle hesitated to start without warning. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired due to the part not being available. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system), but did not confirm if the vehicle was included. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Dover, TN, USA

problem #89

Jul 192014

Grand Cherokee

  • 89,000 miles
On July 19, 2014 my vehicle ceased to start properly. It would turn over and over and after several attempts would finally start. Additionally, there were several incidents of stalling at a stop sign or exiting the freeway then difficulty restarting. This became more and more frequent, and each time my mechanic was unable to pinpoint the cause. September 4th is the last day that my car started. I had it towed to the mechanic who after having possession of my vehicle for 3 weeks unable to pinpoint the issue, found through research that Chrysler had announced a massive recall for this exact issue. He referred me to the Chrysler recall specialist phone number, which I called immediately. My first four phone calls were nothing more than a run around game until I found the information on NHTSA website. According to the NHTSA recall information, repairs were set to begin 10/25/14. According to Chrysler, the notices were set to go out by mail on 10/31/14 the gentleman assured me that I would also receive an email recall notification to provide the repairing dealer on 10/31/14. I make an appointment at rancho Jeep for recall P54 repair at 10am November 1. 10/31/14, 3pm, I have yet to receive an email notification. I call Chrysler again and am now told that I had been misinformed, it is a preliminary notice, no repairs can be done. My Jeep is still nonoperational, since September 5, 2014. The vehicle cannot be repaired because there are no parts to replace the faulty part with...I have had a rental car for almost 3 months because of this recall issue, costing nearly $800 each month. Chrysler refuses to accommodate a replacement vehicle or reimburse rental expense wholly or partially. My vehicle would be operational if not for this factory recall P54, and I would not have incurred $2400 rental car expense to date.

- Lakeside, CA, USA

problem #88

Nov 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 33,000 miles
Cruise control stopped working.

- Nine Mile Falls, WA, USA

problem #87

Nov 132014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Our car stopped working and we were stranded. I was stranded with my 3 year old child. The vehicle's alarm went off and the tires locked making it difficult to tow. We called the Chrysler twice and they cannot tell us when the parts will be arriving. The dealership fixed the totally integrated power module ( the part listed in my recall notice). However, Chrysler refuses to reimburse me for my expenses until they receive parts. It has been a month and I paid $1400.17 for the recalled part and labor.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #86

Oct 242014

Grand Cherokee

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start and stalled immediately after it was started. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The technician diagnosed that the fuel pump relay would need to be replaced. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer stated that the part needed to remedy the failure was unavailable. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #85

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Early Oct. My vehicle started to have a issue with starting. So I just ignored it for a few weeks as time went on it got worse and worse. So on October 30th I did some research. Found that it was a tipm problem I was occurring. Mind you I am mechanically incline I do work for a car company and fix cars all day. So on Oct 31st I took it to Suburban Chrysler in troy mi. They did 2 recalls and said you have a tipm issue. Ok covered under warranty" nope! $1190 to fix. I state to the service advisor [xxx], there is a recall for the same issue. He states it dose not apply to your vehicle. I state I don't understand. But there is a fix can I have my vehicle repaired the same way. He states no. So I need to buy a whole tipm where others just get a bypass? they state yes. F*** that. I remove my vehicle from there. I call Chrysler for any kind of support. Nothing. No assistance. No words of advice. I tell them, how do I drive my car if it stalls or wont start. Sorry cant help you. Am I supposed to drive my car? they cant tell me if I can drive my car. That up to me they state. So there not sure if I should drive or not. Over the weekend I contemplated about where to take my vehicle to get fixed. I guess ill pay $1190 Monday goes by. I get home and sure enough a recall notice in my mail. You mean to tell me they did not know 3 days earlier? they just wanted me to pay $1190. So his commission check is nice. I know how it works. Little did they know I was a service advisor for Chrysler for over a year!!!! now its 11/21 and my vehicle did not start this morning due to the fuel pump running all night.... now if the fuel pump burns out do they replace that under the recall" there is a trick. If it runs when the vehicle is off. Open the hood and slap the fuse box and it will turn off. Mind you it was 11degress here this morning. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Washington, MI, USA

problem #84

Nov 132014

Grand Cherokee

  • 69,700 miles
My car would not start, it only cranks up, but it is not drivable and I will not put my life at risk for operating a defected vehicle on the highway, when it could stall and result in a car crash. My safety is not guaranteed at this time. Last Friday morning, my vehicle was towed to the closest dealership to be service and parts are not available. Chrysler has not provided repair parts (the internal pump relay) to the dealerships in the area and there is no expected time of when these parts will become available. The dealership will not provide me with a loaner or pay for a rental car, while my car is being repaired. Chrysler is not being helpful is remedying the situation at hand.

- Memphis, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?