Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,698 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 88,000 miles


I was out driving from the grocery store and I was pressing on the breaks to turn a curve the vehicle speeded up. I was originally going 25 mph and started to slow up because I was approaching a curve but instead of it slowing down it sped up to 35mph while going around a curve. Thank god no one else was on the road at that time. Two weeks later my husband stated that when he was driving the vehicle the same exact then happened to him. At that time we took the vehicle back to gilman Chrysler and Jeep in houston tx where we purchased the vehicle from (8/10/14). They claim they tested the vehicle and found nothing wrong with it. My husband and I kept explaining to the service guy that something is wrong with the vehicle and we don't want to get into an accident for an issue that can be resolved. The service guy stated that they did all they could but they will keep our information on file. I am very upset with this situation. My husband and I have three children in which are in this vehicle all the time. There have been several recalls on this vehicle and none of which have been repaired because gilman Chrysler would state they don't have the part or they don't see a recall at this time. I want something to be done about this now before something terrible happens. I will not let this situation go. I will continue to fight for a resolution until someone resolves it. Please contact me immediately about this situation as this is the only vehicle that we have.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #15

Jul 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,500 miles
Water sloshing sound on start stop. Sounds like it is under the driver's seat. Brought to the dealer and they said lots of water was in the floorpan under the drivers seat. They think it is coming from outside via the heater box. It is not a clogged ac tube because they checked that

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #14

Jun 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 64,800 miles
The vehicle was put in the shop for three recalls and when I picked it up the vehicle was still in the shops pick up bay and would not start. They kept the vehicle for one week and could not find anything wrong with the vehicle. The vehicle was picked up on June 29, 2015, and it started. On July 6, 2015, the vehicle started to do the same thing it did not start. I called Chrysler the operator said that I had to have it towed to the shop ourisman Chrysler Dodge and to have them look at the vehicle. I started the same ticket that I had before. The vehicle did not have this problem until I had the recalls done. I have to have the vehicle towed into the shop.

- Oxon Hill, MD, USA

problem #13

Jun 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • 64,800 miles


The vehicle was put in the shop for three recalls and when I picked it up the vehicle was still in the shops pick up bay and would not start. They kept the vehicle for one week and could not find anything wrong with the vehicle. The vehicle was picked up on June 29, 2015, and it started. On July 6, 2015, the vehicle started to do the same thing it did start. I called Chrysler the operator said that I had to have it towed to the shop ourisman Chrysler Dodge and to have them look at the vehicle. I started the same ticket that I had before. The vehicle did not have this problem until I had the recalls done.

- Oxon Hill, MD, USA

problem #12

Jun 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
A tractor-trailer labelled with enterprise rent a car signage with one sign on the door labelled B unit home delivery parked illegally at lucas and 13th St was blocking both garage openings for my building, the bogen. The driver could easily have pulled up but was obviously too lazy. Apparently the driver had remained in the vehicle the entire time but was too distracted to notice that he was in the way. When the lumper came out with his dolly. Instead of instructing the driver to move out of the way, he calmly put away his dolly and told me to get back into my car as they would be leaving in a moment. When I asked him the name of the company, he refused to answer. I then noticed the vehicle had no rear tag (license or dot number) at all. As I followed the truck around the corner so that I could finally get onto tucker, I saw the the driver in his mirror, laughing. I find nothing funny about such irresponsible behavior and suspect that this company has no rear identification so that they cannot be identified if they cause damage or do other reckleess things.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Mar 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • 53,500 miles
When driving vehicle it will just shut down like it ran out of gas and it won't crank back up, you can leave it for a couple of hours and come back and it will crank back up and if you are lucky we can get it back home. I know there is a recall on these 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee and I need to know what to do to get ours fixed seeing as to we just bought this vehicle and can't drive it in fear of being stranded or causing an accident. It sucks to be paying 400. A month for a new car and can't even drive it. Please help us in resolving this matter..

- Boiling Springs, SC, USA

problem #10

May 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • 75,000 miles


Smoke suddenly appeared in car interior while driving on a highway. I pulled over. Smoke became more intense. Opened sunroof. Flames observed in headliner/door jamb above driver's side. Fire extinguished by fire department but not before extensive damage to the headliner/interior around the driver's side. Car inoperable.

- Laughlintown, PA, USA

problem #9

May 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,000 miles
No voltage indicator light or voltage reader

- Friant, CA, USA

problem #8

Nov 132014

Grand Cherokee

  • 83,000 miles
Car stalled without waring, engine light didnot come on. Im lucky no one hit me on the highway!!! recall P54 ive been told no parts are available to fix.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #7

Jun 132014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I have three recall notices on my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. You mailed me the first one in June and I visited my dealer on July 5th. Four months later, I am still being told I am on the waiting list. The dealer is dade Chrysler Dodge in miami Florida. The recall notices say to contact you if the dealer is not responding quickly enough. I think four months is too long. With three issues on this vehicle I think there should be more urgency.

- Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #6

May 272014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 52,000 miles


Experienced unintended acceleration, at a stop or near stop when parking. Although my foot was on the break, the car lunged forward as if the accelerator had been pushed all the way down, hitting the back of a parked truck violently. Although the impact was great, the air bag did not deploy. The incident was observed by the homeowner/truck owner.

- Cobb Island, MD, USA

problem #5

Mar 022014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Reported by EFI global fire forensics investigator on behalf of vehicle consumer/owner. 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4 was driven and parked in garage at approximately 6:30 P.M.. garage was fully involved in fire at approximately 4:00 a.M. the following morning. Upon fire discovery, fire was venting through double car garage roof. Investigation has placed the fire origin at the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4 vehicle. Investigation is continuing.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 43,000 miles
Initially, I took the car (2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee) to the dealer due to a rough idle, a shaking that had not occurred before. They dismissed it saying it was due to us running the air conditioning during the summer. I then ran the car with out the ac on and it still occurred. Next, the car began cranking and not starting. I looked up the symptoms on the internet and saw many others had problems with the Jeep/Chrysler tipm part. I took the car back to the dealer, described the problem, and asked them to look in to the tipm also as others were having the same problem. The diagnosed the problem as "two codes" that needed to be updated and not the tipm. Within 24 hours, the car did not start and cranked again. For the third time, I took the car to the dealer. They then reported it could either be the fuel pump or the tipm. ( I told them that was what I had asked for them to look at the last visit.) they then determined it is the tipm, and the needed part will not be available until 9-25-13, leaving me car less until that time. My extended warranty only covers a 5 day rental and Chrysler has thus far refused to provide a rental until the part is received. Thank you.

- Bensalem, PA, USA

problem #3

Jun 162012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
My issue is with the A/C evaporator in my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. After driving for about 3 hours on the road with the A/C in use the evaporator freezes up and air stops blowing out of the vents. I can still hear the A/C working but nothing blows out. I took my car to the dealership and they told me Chrysler is aware of the ongoing and reoccurring problem but has determined that they are not going to fix it. They recommended that I just use the A/C on a warmer setting or turn it off after it freezes up and wait a while for it to thaw out. I believe this is an unacceptable fix for a problem that I have and that should be covered under my warranty. I know other people with Chrysler vehicles that have the same exact issue. This can be very dangerous when you are on a road trip in the South in heats of 100+ degrees especially when you plan to ride in a car with functional A/C. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #2

May 132011

Grand Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles
2011, 2012 Chrysler vehicles with the pentastar V6 3.6 liter engine are rated to tow 5000 lbs unrestricted with the tow package installed. There is a design defect in the cooling system in that it cannot cool the engine when towing about 3500 lbs uphill. The tow vehicle starts uphill at the highway speeds of 65mph in the passing lanes with enough power to continue and suddenly without any warning, lights, etc., the tow vehicle looses power and abruptly slows to a maximum speed of about 27mph. With all other vehicles on the road trying to get by and not slow down, this creates an extremely dangerous situation of attempting to cross 3 lanes or more to get off the road while tractor trailers have to slam on the brakes and hopefully screech to an almost stopped position to avoid killing the families in the tow vehicles. Chrysler has confirmed the problem but has refused to do anything about it and has insisted that the vehicles are working the way they were designed but are obviously not working within the advertised specifications. Chrysler does not want to change the advertised specs due to the fact that it might cost them money, even though many peoples lives are at risk. Chrysler could easily perform a recall and fix the problem, saving lives, but there would be a small monetary cost to Chrysler.

- Highlands Ranch, CO, USA

problem #1

Nov 252011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 479 miles
We purchased a new 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee 11/23/2011. The car had 308 miles on odometer. On 11/25/2011 as we were going out of town the vehicle's diagnostic (obd II) system warning appeared, with a symbol "mil" indicating a malfunction indicator light. I checked the fuel tank cap and it was tight, I drove the vehicle to the nearest Chrysler/Jeep dealership in hamptonroads, va. The service department checked out the problem and determined it to be a # 6 cylinder, misfire-coil failure. None were available for replacement. The service department person stated that it was ok to drive the vehicle locally but suggested it would not be a good idea to drive it out of town, as it would not get very good gas mileage! we started to drive the vehicle home, however; approximately 2 miles after we departed the Jeep dealership the vehicle caught a fire and burned the entire engine compartment/front of vehicle. We, my wife and I escaped without physical harm, but had to stand by and watch it burn until the firedepartment arrived.

- Yorktown, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?