Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn’t seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It’s worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Sweedish Magazine’s “moose test”. the test measures a vehicle’s ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn’t want to hit while driving down the road … like a moose.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,260 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 10 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #41

Jun 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that he received recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The contact stated that the part needed was not available. The contact was advised he had to wait approximately a month before the part would be available. The manufacturer was made aware of delay; however, no solution was offered.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #40

Jun 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he received NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The contact stated he attempted to get the vehicle serviced but the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #39

May 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received NHTSA recall notification campaign number 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The were no failures at this time.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #38

May 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated NHTSA recall campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) had surpassed the reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available. There were no failures at this time.

- Mount Plesant , NY, USA

problem #37

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 14V154000 (service brake, service brakes, hydraulic) and the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified. There were no failures at this time.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #36

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a nets recall campaign number (service brake, service brakes, hydraulic) however, the contact was not unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the part was unavailable. The contact was placed on a long waiting list. The manufacturer was notified and they informed the contact that one part was being distributed to the dealer per week. There were no failures.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #35

Jun 112014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I responded to a safety recall concerning a brake booster for the above referenced vehicle. The recall notice stated that after an inspection of the issue, if a repair or replacement of parts were needed, the repair would be performed at that time. However, I was informed that they (the dealership) do not have the parts on hand, and that it will take about two months to get those parts in. This is unacceptable. If the manufacturer sends out a safety recall, then they should have already supplied the dealerships with those parts. And at the very least, if it was going to be necessary to order those parts, there is no excuse for it taking close to two months to receive. I also take issue with the statement that "it's ok to drive your car until the parts get here". if it's considered so safe, why the need for a safety recall?

- Midway, FL, USA

problem #34

Jun 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The dealer stated that the part for the repair was unavailable and did not know when it would arrive. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/18/14 updated 08/20/2014

- Greensburg, PA, USA

problem #33

May 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #32

Jun 042014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 28,785 miles
We've had odd pedal firmness issues, then received a Jeep recall, brought it in and they confirmed (after a horrible customer service experience) that our car has the flawed part, and then gave it back and said they can't do the recall now and will let us know? after contacting customer chat and the call center of Jeep na we have discovered there is another recall for the ABS that is likely causing the issue. Our local dealership didn't mention this recall at all and had no problem sending us back on the road with a vehicle with brake defects. I tried addressing it at the local and manufacturer level and they won't even address my safety concerns. They just apologize I am dissatisfied.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #31

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part needed was unavailable. The dealer stated that the part would become available in July of 2014. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/11/14

- Warsaw, VA, USA

problem #30

Apr 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received the recall notification related to NHTSA campaign id number 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The contact stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated parts were not available. Contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer had not been contacted.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #29

Apr 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received NHTSA recall campaign number 14V154000 ( service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The recall repair was not performed in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the parts delay. There were no failures.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #28

May 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes and service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would be available. The manufacturer was also notified and could not provide an estimated date for when the recall repair would be performed. There were no failures.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #27

May 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received NHTSA recall number 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the part needed was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date that the part would be available. There were no failures at this time.

- New Smyrna, FL, USA

problem #26

May 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number 14V15400 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part was unavailable to do the repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Irving, CA, USA

problem #25

Jun 032014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Received recall notice P14 / NHTSA 14V-154 (brake booster) on 5/31/14. Contacted earnhardts gilbert Jeep / Dodge on 6/2/14 (gilbert, Arizona). Was advised to bring vehicle in to service dept. On 6/3/14 by appointment for inspection. Was also advised that parts would have to be ordered. Arrived on 6/3/14 and was informed no inspection would take place until parts arrived "2-3 weeks" later. It was my distinct impression, via initial phone call to dealer and subsequent initial visit, that dealer / personnel were not as familiar with recall as one would think they should be. I also understand the recall issue at hand but at this juncture my wife and I will be waiting 2-3 weeks, perhaps, to have the issue resolved. I find it difficult to believe that Chrysler does not have necessary parts at the time of recall notification to rectify brake booster issue. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- San Tan Valley, AZ, USA

problem #24

May 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The dealer stated the parts would not become available for at least another 4 months. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced any failure.

- Marlborough , MA, USA

problem #23

May 292014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (brakes). The contact stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #22

Dec 142013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 40,825 miles
I started car, backed out of driveway, attempted to stop car, brake hard but would not stop car, complete loss of braking capability. Also loud hissing noise coming from under car. Car was brought to elmwood Chrysler E.providence ri. Invoice no. [xxx]. cause found, brake booster and master cylinder faulty. Cost to repair $705.37. I checked on line for Chrysler recalls, found two mentioning problems with brakes in Jeep Grand Cherokee vehicles manufactured 11/2011 mfr on door is 11/11. Chrysler states recall id#102269 is in regards to brake boosters which is what went on my Jeep. As of 5/20/14 I have not received a recall notice, I sent all information and copies of invoices to Chrysler recall assistance center and Chrysler customer care on 4/3/14, received by them on 4/7/14, I received a call on 5/13/14, spoke with bill, case no. 24885879 assigned by Chrysler, he was very rude, keep trying to get me to say that the brakes were soft, there were no brakes, pedal was hard to the touch, but no stopping power. Told me brake failure was not covered by recall. I am completely at a loss, not only of my $705.37 but my respect and faith in Chrysler products, as from what I researched on line the recalls were for brake booster. Repair invoice states: Cause found, brake booster & master cylinder faulty. This is the second major safety issue with this vehicle the first was in 8/2013, vehicle would automatically drop into first gear, it was a terrifying experience being that I was on the highway traveling at 65 mph, to drop down to barely 5 mph, absolutely no acceleration, fortunately the solenoid-transmission & transuded-pressure sensor & nine other parts were covered under the warranty. I should be so lucky this time ! I feel that Chrysler has an obligation to stand behind it product when it come to the safety of the people who put their trust in them. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pawtucket, RI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?