Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn’t seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It’s worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Sweedish Magazine’s “moose test”. the test measures a vehicle’s ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn’t want to hit while driving down the road … like a moose.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 36
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,711 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 10 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #222

Apr 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Battle Creek , MI, USA

problem #221

Jul 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I was driving my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland to work, when I smelled smoke. I immediately did not know where it was coming from. All of the sudden the shield covering my sunroof opened by itself. There was then visible smoke on the outside and the inside of my car coming from above my head and the headliner visor area. The smoke soon turned to flames just inches above my head on the drivers side. I had to pull over immediate and get a fire extinguisher, and put the flames out as they started to spread to the interior visor/ ceiling area. The fire department also had to come and they mentioned that it looked like it was an electrical issue as there were wires hanging down. The Jeep had been towed back to the dealership and I am in the process of trying to figure out where to go from here.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #220

Jul 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
I was driving my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland to work, when I smelled smoke. I immediately did not know where it was coming from. All of the sudden the shield covering my sunroof opened by itself. There was then visible smoke on the outside and the inside of my car coming from above my head and the headliner visor area. The smoke soon turned to flames just inches above my head on the drivers side. I had to pull over immediate and get a fire extinguisher, and put the flames out as they started to spread to the interior visor/ ceiling area. The fire department also had to come and they mentioned that it looked like it was an electrical issue as there were wires hanging down. The Jeep had been towed back to the dealership and I am in the process of trying to figure out where to go from here.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #219

Apr 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • 27,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 40 mph, the vehicle attempted to stall. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) and stated that the fuel pump needed for the recall repair was not available. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 27,500.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #218

May 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,413 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 55,413.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #217

Jul 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 09/09/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 09/15/15

- Tidioute, PA, USA

problem #216

Apr 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #215

Jul 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to complete fuel pump relay recall notice. The consumer also received recall # 15V115000. Updated 09/18/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was taken in to have 3 safety recall repairs completed. Updated 3/23/2016

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #214

Jul 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Upon turning the key into the ignition, the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop and the mechanic diagnosed that the tipm needed to be replaced. The part was not available so the mechanic re-wired the tipm around the fuel pump relay. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system), but the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to receive the part. The repair shop was unable to replace the tipm. The contact notified the manufacturer. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 09/18/15

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #213

Apr 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14373000 (electrical system, air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to produce the part for the recall repair. In addition, while driving at any speed, the vehicle hesitated and lunged forward. The failure recurred multiple times. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 26,000.

- Leawood, KS, USA

problem #212

Jun 222015

Grand Cherokee

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First incident: Vehicle would crank but would not start on first attempt. Vehicle started on 3rd attempt. Vehicle was parked overnight (8+ hrs) in attached garage with ambient temp approx 75F before first attempt.. second incident: Same conditions as first incident, 8+ hours parked in garage temp approx 75F, takes 3 attempts before starting. Third incident: Same day as second incident. Conditions are temp approx 85F 10pm at night I had been parked at walmart shopping inside for about 45 minutes. It had been raining so I go to parking spot to get Jeep to pick up wife from the front of store. It struggles to start after 3 attempts, I back-ed out of parking spot and drive towards front of store. As I am nearing the front of store the vehicle starts hesitating and dies while in motion. It died like it was out of fuel (fuel gauge read about 7/8ths full). Placed vehicle in part, restarted and drove 1.5 miles home. 15 July 2015 I called around noon to make an appt at dealership to have problem diagnosed, made appt for Monday 20 july2015 at 7am. A few hours later when I was leaving work I get in the vehicle and it takes 3 attempts before it starts it died almost immediately. I cranked and ran on 4th attempt. I called wife while on my way home and uconnect failed in the middle of my call. I went straight to dealership and now they are trying to work it into their schedule for diagnosis.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #211

Feb 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Evans, GA, USA

problem #210

Apr 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to complete fuel pump relay recall notice. Recall # 15V115000.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #209

Jul 112015

Grand Cherokee

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 65 mph, the front passenger side visor behind the headliner caught fire. The contact stated that the passenger side column, the visor, and the headliner with various wires had to be ripped off to stop the fire. The contact extinguished the fire. The contact was injured, but medical attention was not required. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 54,000.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #208

Jul 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was parked with the engine running, the vehicle caught fire from the headliner near the sun visor wiring. The fire department was able to extinguish the flames. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system). The vehicle was also included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system), but the part was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000. Updated 09/15/15

- North Wales, PA, USA

problem #207

Jul 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #206

Jun 182015

Grand Cherokee

  • 68,232 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While attempting to start the vehicle, it would not start. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was determined that the tipm for the fuel pump relay needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,232.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #205

Aug 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the push button start hesitated at times. After a second attempt, the vehicle was able to start, but the failure progressed without warning. The contact also stated that there was excessive fog and that the vent controls were not functioning properly. The failure was reported to the dealer and they were not able to replicate and diagnose the failure. The dealer indicated that they performed the repairs for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000 (electrical system) and 14V634000 (electrical system), but provided no confirmation. The dealer only stated that these two of the four recalls were performed and that they did not know when the other two recalls would be performed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 15V115000 (electrical system) and the dealer did not give a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for the two recall repairs. The failure mileage was not available. MA 10/5

- Hertford, NC, USA

problem #204

Jan 112015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hampton , NH, USA

problem #203

May 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Around May 1, 2015 received recall notice warning that defective tipm could cause a crash w/O warning. Contacted Jeep to schedule repair. Told no parts available. Reluctant to drive vehicle that "might crash w/O warning. Parts are still not available for repair. Have effectively lost use of vehicle for 10 weeks. Jeep should be required to provide loaner or pay for comparable rental until parts are available and repair is made. Jeep should extend warranty for the months vehicle is not safe to drive....updated 09/22/15

- Mars Hill, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?