CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn’t seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It’s worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Sweedish Magazine’s “moose test”. the test measures a vehicle’s ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn’t want to hit while driving down the road … like a moose.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 39
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,042 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 10 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #235

Jul 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on the highway when my battery light came on and moments later my wipers started to go on themselves along with my blinkers blinking and gps screen flashing, and every other possible light flashing. Then my truck suddenly shut off and I had no brakes or power steering and lost control of my vehicle and couldn't stop or direct it to where I wanted it to go. Luckily I was on the right lane and my vehicle veered to the right towards the grass and luckily there was enough grass to slow me to a stop. God was on my side! if I was on the left or middle lane it would of been a horrific incident because it was during rush hour. I was so scared of my life I would of crashed and would of been in a horrible accident. And thank god my kids wasn't in the car with me. But I have a problem because there is a recall about the exact problem that I'm having with is NHTSA campaign is number 14V634000 and the dealer is stating that my VIN and vehicle does not apply to it! but I'm having the exact problem and Chrysler needs to re check other vins because I'm 100 percent sure that's the recall. So please respond to me as soon as possible because I need this issue resolved or I will be contacting my lawyer and will fight this hard and will not give up and will give it my all to resolve this the right way. Thank you! alfred adzemovic. Also the dealer is security Dodge in amityville New York

- North Massapequa , NY, USA

problem #234

Jul 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #233

Apr 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount for time for repair. The dealer stated that parts needed were not available. The manufacturer had not yet determined a solution for the issue. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jonesville, LA, USA

problem #232

Jul 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/21/15

- Lugoff, SC, USA

problem #231

Apr 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Upon turning the key in the ignition, the vehicle failed to start. The battery was replaced; however, the dealer was not able to duplicate the failure. The contact had to constantly get the battery recharged due to the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and indicated that the part was not available. In addition, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available for an extended period of time to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000.

- Lock Haven , PA, USA

problem #230

Feb 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V11500(electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Long Branch, NJ, USA

problem #229

Apr 242015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/5 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 12/21/2015

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #228

Jul 282015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notified notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/18/15 updated 01/26/16. The consumer stated the part was replaced on August 18, 2015. Updated 3/23/2016

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #227

Apr 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V634000(electrical system) and 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lansdale, PA, USA

problem #226

May 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- London , OH, USA

problem #225

Feb 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Mifflin, PA, USA

problem #224

Feb 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts needed were not available for repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pringle , PA, USA

problem #223

Jun 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). However, the repair parts needed were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #222

Apr 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Battle Creek , MI, USA

problem #221

Jul 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I was driving my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland to work, when I smelled smoke. I immediately did not know where it was coming from. All of the sudden the shield covering my sunroof opened by itself. There was then visible smoke on the outside and the inside of my car coming from above my head and the headliner visor area. The smoke soon turned to flames just inches above my head on the drivers side. I had to pull over immediate and get a fire extinguisher, and put the flames out as they started to spread to the interior visor/ ceiling area. The fire department also had to come and they mentioned that it looked like it was an electrical issue as there were wires hanging down. The Jeep had been towed back to the dealership and I am in the process of trying to figure out where to go from here.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #220

Jul 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
I was driving my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland to work, when I smelled smoke. I immediately did not know where it was coming from. All of the sudden the shield covering my sunroof opened by itself. There was then visible smoke on the outside and the inside of my car coming from above my head and the headliner visor area. The smoke soon turned to flames just inches above my head on the drivers side. I had to pull over immediate and get a fire extinguisher, and put the flames out as they started to spread to the interior visor/ ceiling area. The fire department also had to come and they mentioned that it looked like it was an electrical issue as there were wires hanging down. The Jeep had been towed back to the dealership and I am in the process of trying to figure out where to go from here.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #219

Apr 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • 27,500 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 40 mph, the vehicle attempted to stall. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) and stated that the fuel pump needed for the recall repair was not available. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 27,500.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #218

May 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,413 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 55,413.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #217

Jul 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 09/09/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 09/15/15

- Tidioute, PA, USA

problem #216

Apr 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Erie, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?