Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn’t seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It’s worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Sweedish Magazine’s “moose test”. the test measures a vehicle’s ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn’t want to hit while driving down the road … like a moose.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 36
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,711 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 17 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #82

Jul 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V634000 (electrical system), and 14V391000 (electrical system). The contact was informed that the parts would be unavailable for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact stated that the keyless entry was not working in order to enter the vehicle. The failure mileage was unknown.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #81

Nov 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 55 mph, the battery warning light illuminated, the dashboard lights flashed on and off, and there was a whistling sound coming from under the hood. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Del Rio , TX, USA

problem #80

Dec 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,853 miles
Vehicle started stalling 12/5/14. Stalled again 12/7/14. Took it to dealer 12/8/14 and was told 'couldn't duplicate the problem'. since then it has stalled 3 times with last 2 times between 12/27/17 and 12/31/14. Took it to dealer today 1/2/15 and was told same thing. 'couldn't duplicate the problem. Thankfully it has been at a low speed and during braking. I understand that it is out of warranty but this is a safety issue. Thank you.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #79

Jan 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the parts needed were unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Culloden, WV, USA

problem #78

Jan 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Houma , LA, USA

problem #77

Aug 222014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I did not have an actual incident with the vehicle - my complaint is about the lack of action for certain recalls. I received a recall notice on August 22, 2014 stating that the brake booster on my vehicle may prematurely corrode and ingest water. If the water freezes, the driver may have to apply force which may slow the driver's brake reaction time and cause a crash without warning. Quite a frightening scenario. I called my Jeep service center and they told me that the repair part for this recall is on backorder due to a parts shortage. I was asked to be put on a list and they would call me when the part arrives. I called the service center on December 18, 2014 (4 months later). I was told that I am number 124 on the waiting list and that they were only at number 40. I was told that Chrysler only sends the service center one repair part at a time and when they complete one repair, then Chrysler sends them another repair part for the next customer. I then asked the service manager if it is dangerous to drive the vehicle with this faulty part - he did not answer me - all he said was that "he knows what I know". also a frightening scenario. During the 4 months that I have been waiting for this repair, I received another recall notice for an alternator dioide that may experience rapid failure in which voltage may drop to critical levels and disable the antilock brakes, the electronic stability control, the electronic control module, and the central body controller. This may lead to vehicle shutdown and/or an electrical fire. This recall notice states plainly that "the parts required to provide a permanent remedy for this condition are currently not available". crazy!

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #76

Nov 072014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000 (electrical system) and 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/4/15 updated 03/26/15

- Las Vagas , NV, USA

problem #75

Oct 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • 14,000 miles
Around Sep of this year Chrysler notified me of two recalls on my Jeep Grand Cherokee; P36 / NHTSA 14V-391 (sun visor wiring) and P14 / NHTSA 14V-154 (brake booster corrosion).. when I contacted the local dealer they told me to wait until Oct as the manufacturer didn't have parts available. I contacted the dealer, planet Jeep in flagstaff, AZ on 10 Oct and was told Chrysler was rationing parts and that they would place me on a list. I've been in that virtual queue waiting on parts since 10 ocvt 2014 and every time I call the dealer I'm still on the list. I contacted Chrysler to complain about the poor service as I've been waiting for parts to fix safety problems for going on three months. I've been through several recalls over the past 40-years and have never experienced an excessive delay like this. It is actually easier to get my Mercedes Benz repaired and the nearest dealer is a 2 hour drive from hear. Chrysler has demonstrated a lack of concern and no sense of urgency to correct two safety issues with my vehicle. Their advise to me was to continue contacting my dealer to ensure I'm still on the waiting list.

- Flagstaff, AZ, USA

problem #74

May 162014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The dealer informed that the manufacturer had not released the parts needed for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Morrilton, AR, USA

problem #73

Dec 232014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact felt that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brooklyn Park, MN, USA

problem #72

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the parts would become available and informed that contact was 450th on the waiting list. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #71

Dec 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee consumer isn't pleased with dealer doing recall repairs once a week the consumer was informed his vehicle would on February 16, 2015, because there is a waiting list. Recall numbers 14V154000 and 14V391000.

- Casper, WY, USA

problem #70

Oct 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Battery light came on after approximately 5 miles of driving after starting the car, on 10/5/14. This pattern continued for two days, and on the morning of 10/8/14 the car stopped running completely while I was pulling into the parking lot of the auto shop to have it looked at. While driving, I lost power steering and ABS before the car stalled completely a few moments later. I had to have the alternator replaced with only 50,000 miles on the vehicle. Several days later I learned of a new recall on Chrysler vehicles due to alternator problems, and today I learned my vehicle was not a part of this recall because I have a 180 amp alternator, and those recalled were 160 amp. I am choosing to report this incident because I believe the failure of my alternator could have caused serious injury to myself or other drivers if I had been traveling at high speed when the battery died, and I believe the 180 amp alternators should be investigated for a possible recall.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #69

Dec 182014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #68

Dec 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the battery warning light illuminated. In addition, while the vehicle was parked, the contact noticed smoke and smelled a burning odor. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. However, the failure recurred. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V63400 (electrical system), but the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #67

Dec 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to a safety recall. The consumer stated it has been over three months since she received the recall letter, and the parts were not available.

- Ekalaka, MT, USA

problem #66

Dec 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #65

May 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I am sitting on 3 recalls on my vehicle list above, brake shield, visor wiring, and now alternator problem. I am not very happy with 3 recalls that they don't have part for, and the dealership can not tell me if and when parts will be in, I am to the point I don't want this vehicle anymore because of these issues. I don't wanna wait till there is a injury or fatality. I want this resolved or vehicle replaced. I am guessing the air bags will be next knowing there is a recall on them on other vehicles.

- Indianola, IA, USA

problem #64

Nov 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles
The engine would turn over, but it would not start. It would start again after ten minutes or so. It has happened three times and been to the dealer twice. The dealer says they do not know what is wrong and can't fix it. The internet has information indicating that Chrysler knows about the problem but does not have the parts to fix it. Apparently, it could be an issue with the tipm.

- Ballston Spa, NY, USA

problem #63

Dec 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V634000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Staten Island , NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?