NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee (Page 17 of 21)

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn’t seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It’s worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Sweedish Magazine’s “moose test”. the test measures a vehicle’s ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn’t want to hit while driving down the road … like a moose.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 39
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,042 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 17 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #95

Feb 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the battery warning indicator illuminated. Also, the contact stated that the windshield wipers would slow down when the accelerator pedal was disengaged or when the brake pedal was applied. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000.

- Bethleham, PA, USA

problem #94

Feb 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Albany, IN, USA

problem #93

Feb 062015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure updated 3/31/15

- Clear Brook , VA, USA

problem #92

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V634000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mechanicsberg, PA, USA

problem #91

Nov 232014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
No incident occurred - just noticed the symptom in late November 2014. This is related to safety recall P60/NHTSA 14V-634 (sudden alternator failure). As of 02.04.15, this recall does not apply to my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee (jgc) because it has a 5.7L engine (recall only applies to jgcs with 3.6L engines). However, my vehicle also experiences what I think may be symptoms of a faulty alternator: Cold start whining/whirring, excessive whining/whirring during acceleration in lower gears, whining/whirring during sharp turns. Is there still an open investigation on vehicles with the larger engines" is there a similar pattern of complaints or service repairs for this particular model" I'm suspicious that my vehicle model should be included in the recall.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #90

Nov 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning light illuminated. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Utuado, PR, USA

problem #89

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Richmond, MI, USA

problem #88

Jan 222015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Vehicle stalled while stopped at stop light. When started, idled very rough and stalled again. Car was towed to dealer. Dealer indicated failure in fuel pump relay. Repair involves disabling of fuel pump relay in totally integrated power module (tipm) and installing external fuel pump relay. Failure also resulted in failure of valve spring. The repair regarding the fuel pump is identical to the repair outlined in Chrysler safety recall P54/NHTSA 14V-530, which per Chrysler customer service rep is only applicable to 2011 vehicles and not 2012 vehicles. This fuel pump failure affects more vehicles than outlined by original recall.

- Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #87

Oct 312014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced failure. The VIN was not available.

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #86

Jan 112015

Grand Cherokee

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving 4 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where it was diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 51,000.

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

problem #85

Oct 222014

Grand Cherokee

  • 56,593 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had repair after repair done and.spent over 900 just in repairs and I have the receipts. I would like to get a resolution. My top vehicle ceiling was burnt from the recall # 105129 electrical system wiring lamp. I need a resolution I cannot afford to pay for any more repairs. Recall id # 102683 - service brakes full details recall date Apr 01, 2014 component service brakes model affected Grand Cherokee potential units affected 644354 recall date: Apr 01, 2014 model affected: 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee recall id # 102682 - service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum full details recall date Apr 01, 2014 component service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum model affected Grand Cherokee potential units affected 644354 recall date: Apr 01, 2014 model affected: 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee recall id # 102682 - service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum full details recall date Apr 01, 2014 component service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum model affected Grand Cherokee potential units affected 644354 recall date: Apr 01, 2014 model affected: 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee

- Corpus Christi , TX, USA

problem #84

May 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • 25,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle experienced an unintended acceleration. In addition, the engine revved but failed to accelerate on several occasions. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) was received in may of 2014, NHTSA campaign number 14V391000 (electrical system) was received in August of 2014 and NHTSA campaign number: 14V636000 (electrical system) in December of 2014. The dealer informed that the parts were not available and no estimated date for receiving the parts could be given. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000. Djr

- Everette, WA, USA

problem #83

Apr 012012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle experienced a sudden loss of power. The vehicle later resumed normal function. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the parts needed to complete the repair were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 6,000. Updated 02/24/15 updated 10/28/2015

- Milford, MA, USA

problem #82

Jul 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V634000 (electrical system), and 14V391000 (electrical system). The contact was informed that the parts would be unavailable for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact stated that the keyless entry was not working in order to enter the vehicle. The failure mileage was unknown.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #81

Nov 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 55 mph, the battery warning light illuminated, the dashboard lights flashed on and off, and there was a whistling sound coming from under the hood. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Del Rio , TX, USA

problem #80

Dec 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,853 miles
Vehicle started stalling 12/5/14. Stalled again 12/7/14. Took it to dealer 12/8/14 and was told 'couldn't duplicate the problem'. since then it has stalled 3 times with last 2 times between 12/27/17 and 12/31/14. Took it to dealer today 1/2/15 and was told same thing. 'couldn't duplicate the problem. Thankfully it has been at a low speed and during braking. I understand that it is out of warranty but this is a safety issue. Thank you.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #79

Jan 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the parts needed were unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Culloden, WV, USA

problem #78

Jan 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Houma , LA, USA

problem #77

Aug 222014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I did not have an actual incident with the vehicle - my complaint is about the lack of action for certain recalls. I received a recall notice on August 22, 2014 stating that the brake booster on my vehicle may prematurely corrode and ingest water. If the water freezes, the driver may have to apply force which may slow the driver's brake reaction time and cause a crash without warning. Quite a frightening scenario. I called my Jeep service center and they told me that the repair part for this recall is on backorder due to a parts shortage. I was asked to be put on a list and they would call me when the part arrives. I called the service center on December 18, 2014 (4 months later). I was told that I am number 124 on the waiting list and that they were only at number 40. I was told that Chrysler only sends the service center one repair part at a time and when they complete one repair, then Chrysler sends them another repair part for the next customer. I then asked the service manager if it is dangerous to drive the vehicle with this faulty part - he did not answer me - all he said was that "he knows what I know". also a frightening scenario. During the 4 months that I have been waiting for this repair, I received another recall notice for an alternator dioide that may experience rapid failure in which voltage may drop to critical levels and disable the antilock brakes, the electronic stability control, the electronic control module, and the central body controller. This may lead to vehicle shutdown and/or an electrical fire. This recall notice states plainly that "the parts required to provide a permanent remedy for this condition are currently not available". crazy!

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #76

Nov 072014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000 (electrical system) and 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/4/15 updated 03/26/15

- Las Vagas , NV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?