Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn’t seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It’s worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Sweedish Magazine’s “moose test”. the test measures a vehicle’s ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn’t want to hit while driving down the road … like a moose.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 36
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,711 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 19 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at a speed of about 25 mph, I heard a vibrating noise, smelled and saw an excessive amount of smoke coming from the engine compartment. I drove directly home as the battery/electrical light came on. Once stopped, I opened the hood to find smoke pouring from the alternator area. I am guessing the this may involve the current campaign "P60" and/or recall number 14V-634. The SUV currently cannot be safely driven.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #41

Sep 252014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
My wife was driving the vehicle when all of the sudden the engine started to rev and would not shift up or down. She could only go maybe 20 mph - people passing and honking on a 4 lane road. She found an area and pulled off the road into a retail parking lot. She put the car in park and then shifted back into drive and the issue continued as the car moved but the engine rev'ed without shifting to the next gear. She put the car in park and called the local dealer, where she was told to call Chrysler road side assistance and have it towed in. The dealer took a look at it the next day and could not make it happen again. They said they re chipped it I believe(reset the electronics). This same issue happen again approx. 30 days later and it was towed in and they could not find any issue. They said we had to take the vehicle back and there was nothing they could do. We have had the vehicle towed twice now both in the morning taking our daughter to school. We cannot trust this vehicle and are looking at selling it. That is what the dealer suggested as well.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #40

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chelsea, MI, USA

problem #39

Sep 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 23,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car started to make loud, whining noise on 9/5/14 when it was taken to fields Jeep, glenview, il to be checked up. 2 mechanics check the car and told it was safe to drive. Due to the lack of interest or unprofessional staff, the car was not taken immediately to service even though it was apparent that it was dangerous to drive. The service was scheduled for 9/15. The alternator failed and the car stalled on 9/12/14 at the garage and the car was towed to fields Jeep. The fields Jeep service was reckless - recall was announced on 10/16/14.

- Glenview, IL, USA

problem #38

Oct 162014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
I have had multiple minor issues with this vehicle and returned for repair as many as 3 times to get them fixed. Those are minor compared to the challenges I encountered last week with the vehicle. I took it into service the brakes for normal ware and tear and had two recalls taken care of. I also had the rear window which was leaking fixed (3rd time) and dashboard trim repaired (2nd time). About an hour after leaving the dealer the check engine light came on. I returned to the dealer the next day and they discovered it had 2 bad codes that had something to do with a bad ground. Their first thought was the recall work was not done properly. Once they dug into the codes they discovered a couple of things. First the module-active dampening was bad at a cost to me of $749. In my opinion this module had nothing to due with my care for the vehicle and should last the life of the car. It was so hard to get it took the dealer 2 days to find one. They also commented it was the first they have ever replaced. They also discovered due to the check engine light that one of the shocks is bad and will cost approx. $1600 to replace and they are none to be had right now. They are on back order. Again another part that should not be replaced in less then 2 years of highway use. This is a srt model (the most expensive car in Chrysler's line) and it only has surface street and highway miles on it. As for the shock the dealer is asking Jeep to pay for all of it except $100, we shall see. Finally they discovered something they call a "bracket" which is an electrical wiring harness was bad. It was explained to me that they repaired it but if it goes out again it will be another $1600 repair. Once again should not a electronic component that would have to have the dash board removed to replace it last the life of the car?

- Bexley, OH, USA

problem #37

Oct 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (exterior lighting, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #36

Aug 132014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 39,120 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle was at the repair shop for about 1 week having the cylinder heads replaced for the 2nd time. When I received the vehicle back I had it for approximately 1 day and I was driving down the street and the battery light came on and the vehicle stalled and would not start, the vehicle needed to be towed from the restaurant to the dealer where the heads were replaced. I was told the fuse on the starter blew and it was repaired, I picked up the vehicle and on the way home the battery light came on again, I turned around and brought it back to the dealer and they had it for 2 days and said it was the alternator that needed to be replaced and it was not covered under the warranty because of the mileage. I had to pay $652 to replace the part. On 10/16/2014 on the news was a recall for the Jeep Grand Cherokee that the alternator needed to be replaced due to the same thing that happened to my vehicle. I contacted the Chrysler company and was told my VIN was not part of the recall and I would not be refunded my money to replace the alternator. I don't agree that it was not included in the recall. I feel that I should be refunded my money as it is obviously the same issue that is now being recalled. I just don't understand how you choose which vehicles are affected by the recall.

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #35

Oct 142014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 38,400 miles
Total power loss in cabin and engine, unable to open passenger doors from inside. The vehicle would not start and there was a burning circuit smell emitting from under the tipm. Aaa tried giving a jump but the vehicle would not turn over even though temporary electrical power had been established while connected to aaa power source. Electrical power was lost upon disconnect from aaa source. Dealership determined that the problem was alternator failure which resulted in subsequent damage to the vehicles battery and connecting cables. Dealership also determined that the burning smell emitted from the battery.

- New York City, NY, USA

problem #34

Oct 132014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
My 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee encountered the same problem as stated in the Chrysler recall P54, which is the recall for 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The engine would stall while driving, and it also encountered not start problem as well as the not start on the first attempt problem. Even the car could start, the engine would stall again shortly. The problem is resulted from the faulty tipm, which is the same on both 2011 and 2012 model. However, only the 2011 Grand Cherokee is being recalled. So I urge Chrysler to initiate a recall on the 2012 model as well.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #33

Sep 272014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 11,800 miles
Sudden unexpected stop avoiding hitting another car, front left and right seat safety belts failed to lock. After several test back seat safety belts also failed. Windows and door safety electrical safety lock did not operated ( 2 times replaced).

- Gurabo, PR, USA

problem #32

May 152014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have 2 recall notices from Chrysler on my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee which I have had for several months (recalls nos. P14 and P36). Every time I contact my Chrysler dealer, South point Chrysler in austin, Texas, I am informed they do not have the parts to do the recall work.

- Austin , TX, USA

problem #31

Oct 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Toluca Lake , CA, USA

problem #30

Mar 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system). The parts needed to repair the vehicle would not be available for several months. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sandwich, MA, USA

problem #29

Jun 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • 33,936 miles
06/30/2014: Car was craning slow. Outcome: Battery replaced. Brake booster recall and replaced. 08/18/2014: Car was towed in. Outcome: Fuel pump overlay was replaced. 09/15/2014: Car was towed in not starting. Outcome: Battery replaced and new alternator replaced. Last incident happened on 09/12/2014 I was driving home, the car panel started flashing, vehicle shut off, and I lost power steering. No control of my car. Thankful I wasn't in an accident. I had my children in the car. Precious cargo. This is a huge safety issue and concern. If I was on the freeway I can only imagine what would have happened. My car only has 37K miles on it. An alternator should not be needed to be replaced at such low mileage. I can understand 100K. Plus 2 battery replaces needed within 2 months. This car is not reliable nor safe.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #28

Apr 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number 14V391000 (electrical) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer advised that the parts were not available for repair and did not know when parts would become available. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Camas , WA, USA

problem #27

Sep 162014

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,500 miles
Car would not start on first attempt. This occurred everyday for 3 days at which point I brought it to the dealership for service. The problem was an issue with the fuel pump related to a faulty tipm. The part was replaced by the dealership at no charge.

- Middlesex, NJ, USA

problem #26

Sep 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #25

Aug 132014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 44,300 miles
Car would not start on a regular basis. Smelled electrical burning. Brought to ramsey Chrysler Jeep and was told that tipom was no good which was the total integrated power module that operates all electrical functions of the vehicle. Item was not covered under warranty and cost me $1418.43.

- Franklin Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #24

Sep 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • 31,116 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the key fob would activate intermittently and that the key failed to unlock the doors. The contact also stated that she replaced the battery on numerous occasions however the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the key needed to be replaced and replaced the battery in the key fob. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 31,116.

- Chadbourn, NC, USA

problem #23

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 51,300 miles
The totally integrated module went bad 3 weeks after purchasing vehicle.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?