Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn’t seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It’s worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Sweedish Magazine’s “moose test”. the test measures a vehicle’s ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn’t want to hit while driving down the road … like a moose.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 39
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,102 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 6 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #314

Dec 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While operating the vehicle, the battery sensor light suddenly illuminated for approximately ten minutes before the vehicle suddenly shut off while driving through an intersection. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #313

Apr 152015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 02/12/16

- Spring Grove, PA, USA

problem #312

Nov 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,500 miles
Vehicle was in motion when I noticed smoke coming out of the passenger vanity mirror area. I immediately pulled over, turned the car off, and called 911. The responding firemen had to cut a hole in the roofliner of the automobile in order to determine the location of the start of the fire, which they confirmed was the wiring to the visor. The direct cause of the fire was confirmed by service employees at the dealership the car was brought to, as well as investigative engineers for Chrysler, as faulty wiring to the visor lighting on the passenger side of the vehicle. The cause of this incident is directly related to NHTSA campaign #14V391000, Chrysler recall #P36. A recall for the visor wiring was issued, and repairs were made at the dealership. The fire in the vanity area of the automobile occurred roughly a month after the recall repair was completed. This leads me to believe that the solution for the recall issue is not sufficient and should continue to be investigated.

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

problem #311

Jan 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer has exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect

- Poyton Beach, FL, USA

problem #310

Dec 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,000 miles
My vehicle has a recall (R09/NHTSA 15V-115) for failure of the tipm resulting in vehicle stalls and non starts which have occurred on multiple occasions since 2013 most recently 12/15/15. My vehicle has stalled in traffic on the highway and interstate at speed in heavy traffic almost causing several accidents. I have taken the vehicle to the local dealer (napoleton) who attempted to fix without resolve. In fact, I brought back after there first attempt and they want to charge me $1600 to repair. I have researched other complaints and truly know this is an electrical issue that is part of the safety recall. Additionally, my airbag light continues to come on which is also addressed in the recall. Jeep has refused to repair and I cannot drive vehicle due to safety concerns. Please help.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #309

Dec 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,000 miles
Vehicle recall repair (tipm fuel pump relay) was completed on Sep 03, 2015 and again followed up on Sep 14, 2015. No start conditions continue to occur multiple times per week. Must cycle through ignition/accessory/run/off multiple times before starting on occasion. This condition may happen 1, 2, or 3 times in succession before engine will start. Other times there is no occurrence for many days.

- Spring Grove, IL, USA

problem #308

Dec 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2012 Grand Cherokee used three weeks ago to the day when while driving the kids to the library Saturday, suddenly all the warning lights (check engine, ABS, traction control, brake, service power steering system etc.) buzzers, speedometer and transmission position started acting erratically. I pulled over and turned the car off. After a few minutes I restarted it and made it to my driveway when it did it again. I got it into my garage, disconnected the battery cable and let it sit until this morning. When I re-connected the cable and started the car only the check engine light came on. So the wife followed me to the dealer where we dropped it off. Luckily it made the 8 mile trip without any other issues. Then a few hours later the service dept. Called me to say it was the tipm, appx. $950, not under warranty, and about 3 to 5 days to fix.

- Brunswick, OH, USA

problem #307

Oct 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the parts to the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Highlands Ranch, CO, USA

problem #306

Nov 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • 85,000 miles
On 11/3/2015 at approximately 5:30am I was driving my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee when I began to smell strong fumes which I suspected was coming from my car. Moments later smoke began overwhelming the cab of the vehicle. I pulled over, got out and it was then I saw flames coming from the top of my car over the area of the driver's seat. The fire department came to put out the fire. The roof and driver's seat was damaged from the flames. Inspections by my auto insurance and Jeep confirmed the source of the fire was from wiring located on the driver side sun visor. This is related to a recall on the vehicle which I had addressed in October 2014 (paperwork attached as well as pictures of the damaged vehicle and fire).

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #305

Apr 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start when the push button start was pressed. The contact stated that the push button start would also not turn off the vehicle. There was a display error indicating that the ignition was still on each time the failure occurred. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system). The contact was waiting for the part to repair the vehicle for several months. The contact was unable to determine when the recall repair would be completed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Wolfforth, TX, USA

problem #304

Nov 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start occasionally. In addition, while accelerating from a stop, the accelerator pedal traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle stalled without warning. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Artesia, CA, USA

problem #303

Jan 032015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to brake system recall notices. The consumer stated she did not know about the brake recall. However, by that time, she had already hit four vehicles, because she was not able to stop. Also, two days after the vehicle was purchased, she went to start it, but it wouldn't start. The vehicle stalled while at a stop sign. The consumer sent in a recall regarding the sun visor. Updated 03/24/16.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #302

Oct 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles
In the last 2 days, my 2012 Grand Cherokee has shut off while driving twice. On 10/29/2015 exiting the highway with my 2 year old daughter. The second time was the following day 10/30/2015 with my wife driving by herself. I have had the vehicle for about 30 days. I purchased it from the dealership. The vehicle shut off. There were no warning lights. The radio and lights all still worked. I had to coast to the side with no brakes, no power steering. Once stopped I could put it in park and start it again without issue.

- Woodbury, MN, USA

problem #301

Jul 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #300

Oct 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 48,900 miles
While traveling down a paved country road at night, the indicator lights on the dashboard started blinking, the engine quit and the headlights went out. The hazard lights wouldn't work, so I was sitting in total darkness. The vehicle would not start. I could't get it out of park to move it off the road. The tow truck driver had to drag the Jeep onto the bed of the tow truck because the wheels wouldn't turn. The service dept. At the dealership replaced the tipm and core return. They had no explanation as to why this occurred, which is very unsettling.

- Pikeville, TN, USA

problem #299

Jul 242015

Grand Cherokee

  • 74,600 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced a complete loss of power. The vehicle was able to be restarted after numerous attempts. The failure occurred without warning. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000(electrical system), but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 74,600.

- Desmoris, IA, USA

problem #298

Feb 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at an unknown speed, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted and was taken to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000.

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #297

Oct 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 64,600 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated while driving at approximately 30 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the alternator failed and needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 ( electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 64,600.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #296

Oct 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gaylesville, AL, USA

problem #295

Apr 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start after several attempts. The contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V115000 (electrical system) and 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed were not available. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 27,000.

- Middletown, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?