CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn’t seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It’s worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Sweedish Magazine’s “moose test”. the test measures a vehicle’s ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn’t want to hit while driving down the road … like a moose.

3.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,353 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #56

Jan 052017

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Similar to other complaints I've seen and related to the tipm / fuel pump relay in my opinion. Car cranks but fails to start, however with a little patience and re trying it occasionally works. The battery was replaced and still persisted. Then the keys were replaced and still persisted. Then the win module was replaced and still persisted until finally I couldn't get it started after several attempts. Towed to dealer and they think its fuel pump. ( but not 100% sure ) noticed intake manifold is cracked now too. ( from cranking over and over perhaps ? ) recall on the tipm resulted in them installing external fuel pump relay but my guess is the tipm is defective and the external fuel pump relay was band-aid solution. I'm still waiting to hear back from the dealer. I told them to start a tech ticket with head office so the unnecessary costs don't escalate any further.

- Toronto, NY, USA

problem #55

Dec 192016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 15V115000 (electrical system), and 15V879000 (electrical system, interior lighting). The contact later found out that the repairs were not completed. While driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Medford, GA, USA

problem #54

Jan 042017

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles
When driving the vehicle within the first 20-45 minutes of starting, the vehicle will stall while driving when slowing down. The vehicle is still at speed but the engine stalls leaving no power steering or brakes. This occurs when slowing typically but can occur at speeds of up to 30-40mph. This happens almost daily at this point and seems to be getting worse.

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #53

Dec 172016

Grand Cherokee

  • 99,990 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee to arrigo Chrysler Dodge Jeep for 2 recalls in September 2016 one wiring issue in the visor and one fuel pump relay. Dealer informed me recalls were remedied. December 16, 2016 I was experiencing problems starting vehicle and problems with vehicle sputtering while driving and while stopped. Took car back to arrigo to diagnose problem. Was told problem was fuel pump relay at cost of approximately $650. Expressed my concerns that although recalls were recorded as "performed" in their system, car was not properly repaired. Service advisor told me there was nothing else wrong with my vehicle and the recall actually took place June 2015. That is incorrect as I called fca and they in fact verified that in their system, recall was entered as "completed" in September 2016 at same dealer, arrigo. Called arrigo and service advisor said he re-checked the vehicle and the fuel pump relay was actually in good shape, it was serviced in September 2016. He said the reason the check engine light was on was because the software needed updated and the check engine light would be okay and the vehicle was performing "as it is designed to work" having no other problems. I hesitantly paid $75 to have the "software updated" to avoid the $150 diagnostic fee if there is no service. One hour after I paid and left the dealer the check engine light came on and the vehicle began acting exactly like it had before "servicing" at the dealer. Also later in the evening I tried starting the car and noticed the car would continue to crank without turning the vehicle on. Again, the same problem I had before I took my car in. I believe no action was taken in repairing recall issues and they are trying to make customers pay ($650 in my case) to actually make the repairs.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #52

Nov 192016

Grand Cherokee

  • 64,000 miles
Totally integrated power module (tipm-7) failure. The system continues running after the vehicle has been turned off.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #51

Mar 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I currently have the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee and over the years, my vehicle has had a total of (7) recalls. Recalls: Brakes, electrical, etc. The most recent recall stated that the vehicle could stall with the risk of a crash! upon receiving my notification letter, I made an appointment with the anticipation that the repairs would only take 1 ¿ 2 business days. Unfortunately, the repair time was approximately 1 week through the weekend. I would like to express my un-satisfaction with the service at the Chrysler group llc (Chrysler) and at this time would like to escalate my concern as a complaint. I would like someone from the corporate office such a manager and/or director to contact me and explain why my issue can¿T be resolved. I would also like to register my complaint with BBB. I have attempted to contact Chrysler group llc (Chrysler) on many occasions to resolve my issue. I have purchased and leased several vehicles from Chrysler over the years, and now I am very disappointed with the response I received to settle my claim for rental car reimbursement.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #50

Jul 242016

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has intermittent no start condition. Tipm has been replaced and external relay has been installed per R009 recall but continues to have a fail to start condition. Engine cranks as normal but engine doesn't start. Will run after multiple tries. Cost of repair was $900 but mostly paid by extended warranty. 38,000 miles.

- Old Hickory, TN, USA

problem #49

May 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 39,000 miles
Check engine light fault code "P2066" appeared twice since purchased new in 2012. The first event occurred in April 2013 at 17,000 miles. Chrysler dealership replaced right and left fuel pump along with fuel level sensor under warranty. The second event occurred in May 2016 at 39,000 miles. The dealership quoted a price of $1700 for repair but after speaking to Chrysler representative the price for repair was $500. This issue mirrors the 2005 Chrysler pacifica recall NHTSA ref#06V432000 in which a P2066 fault code was generated leading to fuel pump module replacement. My understanding is that Chrysler agreed to extend the warranty to 150,000 miles as there was was a defect in the engine subframe assembly leading to corrosion in the fuel pump area.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #48

Mar 162016

Grand Cherokee

  • 94,000 miles
Unexpected engine stall while driving on freeway. This is the second time experiencing unexpected stall out while drive after the recall was completed.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #47

Oct 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I have made 4 calls total to frontier in lubbock and all american in midland with no response on resolving the recalls P36, P14 and fuel pump relay. First call was made in October 2015. Left 2 voice message2 and talked to 2 reps. That said they would call back to schedule.

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #46

Mar 102016

Grand Cherokee

  • 2 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takada recall had recalls done car still hard to start and now dies when driving getting angry with the whole car very dangerous with kids in car

- Linden, TX, USA

problem #45

Mar 052016

Grand Cherokee

  • 52,000 miles
Takada recall took car had 4 recalls done now hard to start and while drive shout down

- Linden, TX, USA

problem #44

Jan 142016

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,829 miles
Leak in fuel vapor lines on top of gas tank to the canister and to the purge valve. This must be endemic to the car. There is a 60 backlog on the part. Warning light remains on at all times, stationary or moving.

- Brookeville, MD, USA

problem #43

Jan 182016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Fuel pump relay recall notice was received last summer (approx. 6 mo. Ago), still can't get parts. The last 2 recalls for this vehicle took an extremely long time to get parts. This safety recall states that it can cause a crash! it needs to be fixed promptly or another vehicle should be provided. R09/NHTSA 15V-115

- Glen Carbon, IL, USA

problem #42

Oct 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Well not feel safe driving this car since I purchase this car 4-5 recall on this car and no happy to take for repair because used my own time for this

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #41

Oct 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles
A year ago I called my dealership about my car not starting just weeks after completing a major (normal) service. After complaining to the dealership and Jeep directly, I had my Jeep towed and they agreed to fix the fuel pump (a recall that had recently come out, but not yet on my specific Jeep). The fix seemed to work for a few months, but then began happening again, only now I can sometimes start the Jeep after waiting awhile. Less than 2 months ago when my Jeep wouldn't start again, I called scheduled an appointment to have it fixed again, along with an oil change. When I picked up my Jeep, I learned that the fix was not done. The mechanic noted that it had already been done. I complained to the cashiers that the Jeep not starting was the main reason I brought the Jeep in. I asked to speak to someone, but they couldn't find my service adviser. I asked them to have him call me. He never called. I left several messages and I've sent emails to the supervisor, and no return calls. Now I have a new problem in addition to the Jeep not always starting, I have a significant water sloshing noise coming from the passenger side. Note: Each time that my car has failed to start, it was first in the off position and parked. The number of times my Jeep has failed to start, or died after start had been more than 10 times.

- Alamo, CA, USA

problem #40

Dec 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,000 miles
My vehicle has a recall (R09/NHTSA 15V-115) for failure of the tipm resulting in vehicle stalls and non starts which have occurred on multiple occasions since 2013 most recently 12/15/15. My vehicle has stalled in traffic on the highway and interstate at speed in heavy traffic almost causing several accidents. I have taken the vehicle to the local dealer (napoleton) who attempted to fix without resolve. In fact, I brought back after there first attempt and they want to charge me $1600 to repair. I have researched other complaints and truly know this is an electrical issue that is part of the safety recall. Additionally, my airbag light continues to come on which is also addressed in the recall. Jeep has refused to repair and I cannot drive vehicle due to safety concerns. Please help.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #39

Dec 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,000 miles
Vehicle recall repair (tipm fuel pump relay) was completed on Sep 03, 2015 and again followed up on Sep 14, 2015. No start conditions continue to occur multiple times per week. Must cycle through ignition/accessory/run/off multiple times before starting on occasion. This condition may happen 1, 2, or 3 times in succession before engine will start. Other times there is no occurrence for many days.

- Spring Grove, IL, USA

problem #38

Dec 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 75,000 miles
Vehicle will stall during use when foot is removed from gas pedal. While driving at full speed for the road and needing to take foot off gas pedal, the Jeep's engine will shut off and I receive no light indicating that this has happened. It isn't until I attempt to turn the wheel or stop the Jeep that I realize I have no power. Typically happens when deaccelerating down an exit ramp or when turning through a traffic light. Very dangerous to not be able to turn steering wheel and even more dangerous when I have someone immediately behind me that doesn't realize my car has stalled and is still moving as if I'm moving. I noticed this happening prior to recall notice15V-115 and had the recall work completed on 8-17-15. However, the vehicle continues to have the same issue and the dealership cannot duplicate the issue and the Jeep's computer is not showing that there have been any engine stalls. Specifically, this happens when vehicle is in motion immediately after taking foot off of the gas pedal. It has happened on highway exit ramps, at traffic lights on main roadways, and while turning through a light on a city street. 100% related to going above 35 mph and removing foot off of the gas.

- Delaware, OH, USA

problem #37

Jun 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Safety recall R09/NHTSA 14V-115 it has been over 6 months and it is still not fixed. Dealership keeps saying it does not have part.

- Demotte, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?