Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 1
Average Mileage:
20,873 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #9

Sep 172016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving aprox. 40 mph on a regular city street in my 2013" Jeep Grand Cherokee, my passenger seat head rest ejected and the spring action lunged it forward causing my entire seats air bag system to malfunction. I was informed at the dealership that it was a malfunction, my only option was to pay thousands to replace it. Also that the seat will never go back to its original position and the innards will always show unless I pay to fix it. I was simply driving with my children, nothing out of the ordinary happened. It just went off almost causing me to crash because of the very loud pop causing me to react. I was told that my drivers seat has the same system and basically be cautions while driving. I informed Jeep Corp. They sent a private corporate investigator. I was informed via formal letter that they will not be fixing the problem. This is the 4th. Dangerous malfunction my vehicle has had. #times previously it was a nation wide recall that was taken care of. I fear I will be driving with my children on the freeway when the drivers seat malfunctions and we will crash as a result of this random malfunction. If I crash not only is mine and my families lives in danger but also all of those in the vehicles around me.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #8

May 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles
My Jeep was rear ended at 50 mph while at a standstill. I was ready to turn left in in the left lane. Vehicle came up behind me in the wrong lane and did not slow and hit me full speed.. airbags did not deploy. Headrests came apart and split into two pieces throwing my head and body forward. I was the driver. Back end of carwas hit so hard it was pushed under the car. Accident was on 5/20/15

- Waconia, MN, USA

problem #7

Mar 312016

Grand Cherokee

  • 68,000 miles
On 3/31/2016 I was driving on the highway at approximately 60 miles per hour. Unexpectedly my head was thrown forward. There were no cars in front or behind me. I discovered the drivers headrest separated from the headrest backing by at least 3". (see pictures) I took it to a Jeep dealership where I was asked if the vehicle was in a front/rear accident. I am the only owner and can verify it was not in a front or rear accident. They explained the headrest is designed to deploy during an accident to prevent whiplash. They attempted to reset it with no success and instructed me to call Jeep (800-992-1997). After their attempt to repair the headrest rattles while driving - quite distracting while driving. Jeep has failed to repair or replace the headrest and has failed to return my calls for the past two weeks. Their communication directed me to attempt to re-set the headrest on my own - which I had the same results as the dealership, unsuccessful. I believe this is a serious safety issue. The unnecessary deployment of a headrest while driving on the highway could cause serious accidents. I would like this situation corrected as I am now driving with a deployed headrest forcing my head forward and rattling.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #6

Mar 202013

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The air bags did not deploy upon an accident in the side and front of vehicle. The vehicle was stop before being hit

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #5

Jan 072015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
On Jan 7, 2015, while I was driving towards the garage, my vehicle (Grand Cherokee 2013) suddenly (unexpectedly) accelerated and, although I pressed the brake pedal, it crashed against the wall. The vehicle activated airbags burning and bruising my body; I went to the er and received medical assistance. Some of the parts replaced for this crash included, bumper and hood assemblies, A/C ducts and evaporator, grille, radiator, headlight, computer, wiper wash canister, water pump, fan, seat belt and one fender, etc. In addition the crash toll caused structural damages to the property. The service shop completed the repairs on Feb 27, 2015. On March 2 and May 20, 2015 I took the vehicle to the authorized service center because of transmission shifting failures. They finally changed the whole transmission by May 29, 2015. On July 2 I took it back to the service center because there was a noisy riding and check engine was on; by July 16 they had replaced one shock absorber, the gas pump and tank, and one oxygen sensor (mileage at this point 22,594). On July 22, 2015 I went back again because of check engine and they kept the vehicle for replacing the catalyst. Because of the unexpected acceleration event, all abovementioned repairs, plus five executed recalls (one still open R909/NHTSA 14V-115) and an imminent sixth recall for start button (that does not shuts off); I donżżT trust this vehicleż's safety and quality. IżżM afraid of hurting me or someone else; I could not afford repairs at upcoming warranty expiry. Therefore, I hope you buy back this defective Grand Cherokee 2013.

- Las Piedras , PR, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Apr 142014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
There are now four separate recalls on this vehicle dating back to 2014 and Chrysler Jeep has refused to address any of these claiming they do not have the parts. My daughter, who is a full time student in pa, has been to several dealerships (brenner Chrysler Dodge Jeep, manahawkin Chrysler Dodge Jeep, 'blaise alexander Chrysler Dodge Jeep) and placed on a wait list however none of these have ever cleared for any of the recalls Chrysler Jeep has taken no responsibility to address these recalls in any manner and have inconvenienced a college student let alone put her at unnecessary safety risk. These recalls need to be fixed. She will be in NJ from may-August.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #3

Feb 032014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 40 mph, the brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to respond causing the contact to crash into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were sustained. An independent mechanic repaired the vehicle but the repairs were unknown. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 10/03/14 updated 05/12/2015

- Lincoln Park, MI, USA

problem #2

Apr 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated while traveling 15 mph, the brakes were applied and the vehicle failed to stop. The vehicle veered to the right and the contact crashed into a tree branch. There were no warning lights illuminated when the failure occurred. The air bags did not deploy. The front passengers side bumper was damaged but there were no persons injured. The vehicle was driven and parked at the contact's residence. A police report was not filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure was not diagnosed by the dealer or manufacturer. The bumper was repaired. The failure mileage was 14,000. The current mileage was 15,200.

- Eatontown, NJ, USA

problem #1

Mar 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • 15,858 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Cherokee. The contact was driving 25 mph and another vehicle crashed into her drivers side door at approximately 30 mph. The air bags did not deploy. The drivers side door was pushed in and the rear drivers side door fell off of the vehicle. The vehicle was equipped with side air bags. The contact was forced to exit the vehicle using the front passenger side door. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. A representative with the manufacturer stated that a request would be submitted to a special investigation unit so they could inspect the vehicle; however, that has not occurred. She made more than five unsuccessful attempts to follow up with the manufacturer and no one returned her call. The contact sustained an injury to her leg. The contact was pregnant and lost her child after the crash occurred. The failure mileage was 15,858.

- Hudson , MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?