Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

6.7

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,660 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #18

Sep 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 22,375 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Last night, I was driving at normal speed down the road and person ahead of me braked gradually to make a turn. I began to softly brake. I had a generous amount of space between me and the car ahead of me - at least 5-6 car lengths. The forward collision warning system activated and slammed on the brakes, causing the car behind me to nearly rear-end me. The system should not have activated as there was no reasonable threat of collision. This is not the first time this has happened and I understand the NHTSA is investigating this system so I decided to file a complaint in order to assist the investigation. The system works well when it needs to but it has false positives often. It is somewhat terrifying when your car just decides to slam on the brakes with no cause and there is a legitimate cause for concern when it does. Other drivers behind me may be unprepared to stop and could cause a crash.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #17

Jul 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 52,000 miles
There has been incident the forward collision warning went off and the brake was applied. It happened both high speed and low speed. The recent incident was captured my onboard dash cam. Https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=plqwa_9V6mhpjrx6J4thjgtnma1vf99O-4

- Coralville, IA, USA

problem #16

May 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles
My car is equipped with a forward collision warning that will signal you when you are too close to a vehicle and automatically engages the brake if a collision is imminent. The car has 3 times now signaled and engaged the brakes when there were no vehicles near me. The first two times this happened I was driving on the freeway going approximately 65 mph with no cars in my visible sight and the signal alarmed and then the car braked on it's own. This again happened yesterday 6/29/15 while I was turning left through an intersection with a green arrow and the vehicle braked while I was accelerating. A car behind me had to hit their brakes and swerve to avoid rear ending me. Each time I bring the vehicle to the dealership they tell me that they can't fix a problem that they can't replicate.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 092014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was on the I-94 entrance/exit ramp between fullerton avenue and western avenue. Just before western ave: The left lane is intended for vehicles entering I-94 northbound, the right lane is intended for vehicles that are proceeding to western ave. When the even occurred, there was a line of vehicles stopped in the left lane due to traffic congestion on I-94. I was traveling in the right lane and had no cars directly in front of me. As I began to pass the long line of vehicles that were waiting to enter on to I-94 on my left, the automatic braking system began to chime and braking began for no reason. I quickly reached down, disabled the ABS function, glanced in my rear-view mirror and saw that I had come dangerously close to being rear-ended by another vehicle. After a few weeks, I re-enabled the feature thinking that the event was a fluke. I re-enabled it, but had a handful of instances where the brakes would be applied in seemingly inappropriate situations - mostly all of them in dense city driving. The vehicle now has 10K miles on it. I have yet to take it in for service on this or the multitude of factory recalls. Possibly related, there have been numerous occasions where the parking sensor chimes have gone off while the vehicle was moving -or- in gear, but stopped at a stoplight. I often leave the feature disabled until I get ready to park.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #14

Feb 182015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,916 miles
I was driving approximately 40 mph on w. maple rd in troy, mi in the middle of the afternoon on February 18, 2015. There was minimal traffic on the road and no one in front of me in my lane or the lane next to me. Suddenly, my dash lit up to brake and the car started braking on it's own. It happened so quickly that I wasn't even sure what it was. It happened again about a mile down the road. Again the system applied the brakes and the warning word brake flashed on my dashboard when there was nothing near me. It happened quickly and then the car went back to normal without me doing or changing anything in the car. I brought it to the Suburban Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram dealership in troy and they said they were not able to recreate. No codes were activated in the computer and there were no service bulletins about it so there was nothing they could do... I took the car home and the same thing happened again to me five days later driving at approximately the same speed. This time the dealership kept the car longer, drove it 119 miles, used the miller tool kit to align the camera and still found nothing wrong. The following week, it happened again and I returned to the dealership. This time they replaced the front sensor and bubble aligned. The only thing that the dealership found was that on one of the test drives they couldn't get the acc system to work at all and still no reports showed up on the computer. The next test drive all systems were working, again no report on the computer of the change. The dealership still could not duplicate the problem but they thought that they fixed it.. in may, it happened again. It occurred while I was merging onto the expressway traveling at 63mph. I returned the car to the same dealership and again it was returned to me without being able to diagnose or fix the problem...updated 07/21/15

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #13

May 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 7,861 miles
Vehicle has, on three occasions slammed on brakes when a vehicle slows in the right hand lane adjacent to the lane of travel. Brake warning appears with warning sounds.

- Eidgefield, WA, USA

problem #12

Apr 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving through the eisenhower tunnel the brake warning system activated. The brakes did not engage. I have had this Jeep for over a year and have driven through this tunnel over 80 times and now whenever driving through the tunnel this brake warning will flash. This has occurred approximately 16 times now. This warning is now going off on the open interstate and secondary roads. The adaptive cruise control stops workings after 15-20 minutes. This has been into two different dealers, only to tell me the lens was dirty. Within 20 minutes after leaving the dealer (who cleaned the sensor) the system stops working and says to clean the sensor. No snow or water was driven through prior to the message being displayed.

- Morrison, CO, USA

problem #11

Aug 272014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
1) collision avoidance system engages for no safety reason whatsoever. The 'brake' warning on the dash flashes, the brakes charge, and the brakes engage. I can be the only vehicle on the road and this will occur. Has been happening intermittently each and every day the vehicle is driven. Causes distracted driving, sudden unexpected stopping and unsafe performance of the vehicle putting vehicle occupants at grave risk. 2) after a period of driving time with the adaptive cruise control engaged, the system disengages for no apparent reason. A message alerting the driver to clean the lens is displayed on the dash. The lens is not dirty or obstructed in any way. This occurs each and every time the adaptive cruise control is engaged. Causes unanticipated deceleration of the vehicle, distracted driving, and unsafe performance of the vehicle putting vehicle occupants at grave risk.

- Northport, NY, USA

problem #10

Nov 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 9,700 miles
Intermittent problem: Acc/fcw not available. Says service required. Stability controls turns on and off by itself. Also driver's assist backup camera not showing lines. Next day same thing happened.

- Roland, AR, USA

problem #9

Dec 132013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 1,349 miles
1. when adaptive cruise control is set and vehicle has to adjust speed, there is a static noise coming from under the steering column. 2. when adaptive cruise control is set, vehicle will accelerate when approaching vehicles instead of slowing down. 3. vehicle brakes on it's own and displays "brake" in display when more than 3 car lengths away. This happened with and without vehicle adaptive cruise control set. As a side note, Chrysler/Jeep has not been responding to our dealer to rectify these problems.

- Oro Valley, AZ, USA

problem #8

Jun 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • 3,452 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle traveling at 5 mph, A/C on max, fan speed at highest setting. A loud "pop", followed by a rush of refrigerant through the vents. The vents had been pointed directly at my face and I immediately started choking. Within 3 seconds, the entire interior had been flooded with this dense fog of refrigerant. I could not see, I could not breathe, I thought my Jeep was trying to kill me. I managed to stop the vehicle, open the door and exit before I choked to death. I opened all of the doors and let the vehicle "air out" before getting back in to drive home. The vehicle is being serviced at the dealer right now. The failure is a leak in the evaporator coil.

- Alliance, OH, USA

problem #7

May 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 300 miles
I am currently leasing a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee - the lease started in May 2013. Since driving the car off the lot I have had constant problems with the radio/navigation/bluetooth and back-up camera - none of them work 90% of the time. The car often wont turn off even after turning it off (ie radio wont go off headlights wont turn off). I have taken the car in twice for repairs and the problems are no better. I have 2 other friends with the exact same car and the exact same problems.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #6

Nov 042013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 64 miles
Purchased a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee on Oct 27, 2013 and discovered the forward collision system (fcw) is not working, the dealer attempted to fix but failed. They gave me another 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee on Nov 2, 2013, I realized it has the same exact defect, and again, the dealer tried to fix but failed to do so. Two brand new vehicles have the same exact problem, the vehicle VIN numbers: 1C4rjxxxxxx and 1C4rjfcxxxxx I spoke with manufacturer and they tried to convince me that "system available" means "system is on" which directly contradicts the manual provided by them. That in addition to the system not working at all. Spoke with other Jeep owners that have that function, they also indicated that they having trouble getting that to work and they having trouble getting support from Jeep. Updated 11/19/13

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #5

May 242013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10 miles
I have been having multiple problems with the brakes in my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee purchased brand new in May. It has a total of 1,000 miles on it, but the problems started with only 10miles. The instrument cluster immediately lights up like a christmas tree and then the check engine light remains on. The rearview mirrors move into downward facing positions while in park and while driving. This alone is a major safety hazard. The ABS brakes intermittently work and finally failed. The ABS module failed. The backup camera works intermittently and the backup warning system also is intermittently working. My car has been at the dealership every month since I have purchased it and it has currently been there for the last 2 weeks awaiting an ABS repair.

- Burlington, NC, USA

problem #4

Aug 012013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
When using the remote start... the car does turn on. However, it doesn't remember settings or adjust inside options (heated seats, steering wheel, defrosters) in the summer the A/C doesn't trn on. When I open the door that's when the settings turn on. System is not running as designed.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #3

Aug 232013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 305 miles
Vehicle is slow when shifting in low gears; pulling away from stop lights/signs feels as if the car is not in drive and going to stall. This could result in being rear ended since so many drivers speed away when light turns green. It seems like it stutters during shifting. Having it in eco-mode highlights the issue further. The down shifting at higher speeds feels like a stick shift car, not normal or comfortable. Even on the highway acceleration is often not very responsive during entrance and passing. The gas pedal is very touchy, no way to pull away slowly, just takes off; this might be part of the issue, confusing the sensors during shifting. I contacted my sales person who said he'd have a service tech contact me, no calls yet. I wish I had checked this site and edmunds before buying, as I would have chose a different manufacturer. This is my 4th Jeep gr Cherokee, unfortunately the least desirable, my '09 had zero issues and original brakes at trade in with over 105,000 miles; '14 is likely my last.

- New Lenox, IL, USA

problem #2

Jul 152013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
The better business bureau has pointed me to you all as you can see in the response below: This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 6/17/2013 6:08:54 pm against Chrysler group, llc. Your complaint was assigned id [xxx]. "although you have not expressed satisfaction in the resolution of your complaint, based on the information provided by both you and the business, the BBB has determined that we have no documented basis to require further action or response from the business. Therefore, the BBB will close this complaint and not pursue it further. For next steps, please contact the NHTSA at www.NHTSA.gov for more information." To sum up the issue, I have the autobraking functionality turned off and the vehicle will sporadically brake on its own when approaching another car/object as part of the anti-collision warning system. Chrysler give the option of turning the braking off or on, and I have it set to "off" but there is no solution as they cannot now duplicate the problem (it's sporadic). I used to be able to replicate the problem with other technology errors I was receiving and they fixed the issue initially, but it's now sporadic. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #1

Jun 202013

Grand Cherokee

  • 50 miles
Issues to date: These issues are not dependent on which key fob is present or which memory setting is pushed. It happens on all memory and personalization settings. --the collision warning and adaptive cruise randomly say they are active or inactive.. sometimes they don't do anything. When clicking the check box for near or far, sometimes it will "uncheck" while you are watching it. Sometimes you can click far, then it moves to near all on its own. --randomly the check marks for other various customizations disappear. Randomly they reappear. --nav/radio randomly reboots. This occurs in park, and while driving at all speeds --nav has completely lost me and put me in the middle of a large body of water (have picture) --ac doesn't come on when vehicle is remotely started. It was set to auto and 74 when the vehicle was shut off. --radio settings don't change when you push for occupant one or two-- then again sometimes it changes just because --xm service sometimes takes 30 seconds or more to load.. even when sitting in a wal-mart parking lot. Whiles it's loading the reverse camera doesn't activate. -- gotten two vehicle needs service 911 messages. One just for service the second time for phone not working (have picture of this screen) --on second message I had the vehicle call uconnect assist. The vehicle called... my phone was not linked to it. The girl on the other end hung up on me after I refused to provide my VIN which the vehicles center console says it sent. I have been working with the local dealership. They replaced the center console/nav unit yesterday and nothing changed.

- Tampa, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?