Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,253 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Jul 132016

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,750 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Wife parking on 1st floor of parking structure in downtown green bay, wi July 13th 2016. She shifted to reverse to adjust the vehicle so as to enter the parking space correctly. The vehicle started to move back while she looked over her shoulder to see what was behind her. All of a sudden the truck stopped going back & violently jerked forward. The truck started moving rapidly forward even though it had not been shifted into drive. The front tires jumped up on the curb at the front of the parking spot. The truck hit the cement wall violently at the front of the parking space. The front of the truck actually went through a portion of the cement wall. The motor was revving loudly while the truck was pressed up against the wall as if trying to push its way through the wall. Wife had difficulty getting vehicle to shut off as the push button start was ineffective due to the vehicle not shifting easily out of gear. The accident resulted in $11K+ in damages to the truck and $40K+ in damages to the parking structure. There is a recall on the shift lever for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee which is S27/whtsa 16V-240. Tried to get recall fixed a month prior to the crash but was advised by dealer the parts were not available as of yet. Crash occurred while waiting for parts to be available. Chrysler says this recall is not the cause of this incident. Reluctantly filed accident claim with my insurance company. Claims adjuster advised he had 2 other incidents where the insured claimed this model of truck had shifted itself into either reverse or drive on its own.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #32

Sep 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • 61,000 miles
I put the car into park, and as I was exiting the car, at a dead end road in my neighborhood, I realized that the car was going in reverse, as I was half in and half out of the car. The door knocked me to the ground, and the car almost ran over my foot. I got abrasions on several areas of my body, sprained my knee, elbow and my hand. My glasses also got ran over and were destroyed. The car kept going in reverse, and hit a chain link fence before I could run to catch up to it. The rear hatch door is all scratched, the window scratched, the left rear quarter panel is dented and scratched, inside the hatch on the left hand side of the frame is scratched and dented, the left rear light is broken. I called brown's Jeep in patchogue, NY after receiving this recall approx 8 weeks ago, to schedule an appointment to have the recall fixed, and was told by them that everyone was calling about that recall, and I'd have to be put on a waiting list for the recall. I haven't heard a word from them since. I feel as though Jeep should pay for all the repairs to my vehicle and fix the recall asap, as well as pay for new glasses for me, and give me a loaner car until the repairs are complete. I also think I should be compensated for getting banged up, although I didn't break any bones. It was very scary. I got a police report as well.

- Riverhead, NY, USA

problem #31

Jun 112016

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,000 miles
Pulled the vehicle into personal garage to change oil. Placed vehicle in park and exited the vehicle. The vehicle was not in park (electronic shifter) and the door hit the driver and then caught the cement wall of the garage causing the vehicle to stop. Caused $1200 worth of body damage to lower driver side door.

- Livermore, ME, USA

problem #30

Apr 162016

Grand Cherokee

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I thought I put the car into park but when I stepped out the car rolled away and hit a palm tree. This caused body damage to my passenger fender and bumper. Also paint damage to most of the passenger side of the vehicle.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #29

Jul 162013

Grand Cherokee

  • 2,500 miles
Double parked my vehicle in a busy urban retail commercial area in hoboken, NJ and left it running while I went into a store to pick something up quickly. When I returned the car was gone. It had backed itself up halfway down the block and turned into traffic, crossed 2 lanes of traffic and smashed into a car parked on the other side of the road. Caused minor damage to the rear quarterpanel. Could have run someone over, could have mowed down a bunch of kids, who knows!?! the electronic shifter in the Jeep should have been in park but was actually in neutral. Impossible to tell with no tactile feedback, all the gears feel the same to the touch.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #28

Jun 192016

Grand Cherokee

  • 31,600 miles
This morning, while traveling South bound on us 931 in kokomo, in my sunroof in my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee exploded. The glass shattered after making what sounded like a hand gun going off next to me. During my drive, all windows were up and the ac was on. There were no cracks in the glass before the "explosion."

- Russiaville, IN, USA

problem #27

Apr 152016

Grand Cherokee

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata, on April 15, 2016 I had a head on collision with a 2004 Ford pick up truck on state highway 28 in seneca SC the Jeep was totally destroyed and I suffered multiple serious bodily injuries. The airbags did not deploy. If the airbags had deployed it would not have concluded in broken ribs, broken hand, multiple cuts and bruises and the loss of 90 % of my site. Even the state trooper said he had never witnessed such a travesty.

- Walhalla, SC, USA

problem #26

Dec 312015

Grand Cherokee

  • 28,514 miles
Vehicle recently purchased as certified pre-owned, bumper to bumper warranty, 28K miles: After driving vehicle less than 100 miles discovered the following defects: Radiator leaks power steering rack leaks loose object rolling back in forth inside driver's door panel vehicle being serviced by dealer under warranty, however I needed to pay for a rental for 1 week.

- Franklin, NJ, USA

problem #25

Aug 142015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V393000 (structure) and 15V509000 (visibility); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Portland, CT, USA

problem #24

Nov 072015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V393000 (structure) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Williamson, GA, USA

problem #23

Apr 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, there was a complete loss of power. The failure occurred on two occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was unable to be diagnosed. The contact mentioned that the vehicle had the transmission replaced prior to the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V393000(structure) and 15V509000 (visibility) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 48,000. Parts distribution disconnect. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Washington, NJ, USA

problem #22

Oct 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V393000 (structure) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #21

Oct 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 24,000 miles
The collision avoidance system activates and slams on the brakes without cause while traveling forward which is startling and dangerous because I have been nearly rear ended by another driver for braking without cause. When parking the gear selector feels like it is in park it is actually in reverse or neutral. Brakes squeak and were wearing groves into rotors when vehicle was brand new. Also the front bumper has never fit correctly as well as the fender moldings peeling off. Very sad for a $55,000 vehicle.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #20

Oct 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 0 miles
The front driver's side window has two stress cracks that just appeared. There is not a impact marks or anything which would cause the glass to crack. They are two stress cracks due to cheap glass or design problems. Located many others online which have the same issue and Jeep will not warranty it.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #19

Oct 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V393000 (structure) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #18

Sep 042015

Grand Cherokee

  • 14,000 miles
I would like to report 2 incidents where my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee has rolled after it was \put into park and the engine was turned off. The 1st time happened on 9/4/15 after parking my Jeep and exiting the vehicle it rolled backwards approximately 1' into the car behind me. No damage to the other vehicle and only small scratches on my rear bumper. The 2nd time was 9/5/15, after parking the vehicle on a small incline the vehicle rolled 2' forward into a guard rail post causing significant damage to my front bumper and grill. I brought my Jeep to the smith haven Chrysler Jeep dealer today 9/23/15 to have the vehicle inspected and the service representative told me "this is normal especially on an incline" and "it should not roll more than 3 feet". I could not believe I was being told that this is a normal and there was nothing to do about it. This is clearly a safety issue.

- Ronkonkoma, NY, USA

problem #17

Jan 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles
I pulled into a parking spot in a parking garage but was favoring the right side. I backed up approx. 6-8 feet to straighten the car out. As soon as I put the car in drive, it lurched forward at full throttle, with my foot still on the brake. I couldn't stop it. The car accelerated rapidly and shot forward, over the parking barrier and rammed into the cement support structure of the deck. The impact was jarring and the car jerked back upon hitting the structure. Although the distance was only about 6-8 feet, the impact did $3,300 damage to the car. I took photographs of the accident site and the damage to my car. The photos show that my front tires laid down skid marks on the pavement and up and over the parking barrier as I was trying to stop it. A clear indication I was on the brake. The force of the car pulling ahead against the brakes was very strong and was only stopped once I slammed in the parking garage wall. After contacting Jeep, I was referred to the special investigation unit.I met with a special investigator and he evaluated my vehicle and sent the findings to Jeep for further evaluation. The investigator declined to view my photos of the accident scene. A few weeks later I was notified that the findings showed nothing was wrong with my car and the case had been closed. I appealed but was once again denied. Other occurrences of a similar, but less dramatic, nature occurred with the vehicle both before and after the accident. I reported several of these to the dealer. Finally in may I was told I had a problem with my transmission and they reprogrammed it. I have not had any occurrences since. I am convinced my car had/has a serious transmission issue that poses a danger to both me and those around me. I have read numerous stories online about people experiencing similar issues with the transmission on 2014 Jeep....updated 03-10-16

- Lakewood Ranch, FL, USA

problem #16

Aug 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V636000 (electronic stability control) and 15V461000 (equipment); however, the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available and indicated that it may take longer than six weeks. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. Additionally, there was an abnormal noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 13,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #15

Nov 272013

Grand Cherokee

  • 2,210 miles
Vehicle was in a level parking lot with a boat and trailer attached. Vehicle was in park configuration with engine running. Vehicle was left unattended for about 1 minute and it rolled about 100 feet, through the parking lot and across a road and down a levee where it hit a tree on the left front side. The driver was not in the vehicle when it hit the tree. The California highway patrol arrived at the scene and there was no citation issued. There was no other property damage other than to the vehicle and the boat trailer. The insurance company paid for the damage to the vehicle less the deductible.

- Shingle Springs, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 15,000 miles
While driving at 80 mph, a very large buck ran in front of the car on the interstate. After driving back by to see the deer the next day it was probably around 300 lbs. The entire front portion of my vehicle was caved in. No airbags deployed whatsoever. Hitting something so massive at such a high rate of speed should have deployed some sort of safety mechanism I.e (airbags!!!!!)

- Denver, CO, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?