Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,999 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 4 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #130

Nov 272014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Traveling through New Jersey on the highway for about one hour, stopped at small store for a few minutes, leaving the parking lot heading back towards the main road and attempt to yield to traffic, brake pedal depressed 100% and vehicle continues to roll towards the road. There was just enough room for the driver to turn the vehicle around and back into the parking lot. In the parking lot the vehicle was moving at about 10 mph and the brake pedal was depressed 100%, again the brakes are barley working and the car takes about 20-30 feet to stop. There was a recall for the 2014 Grand Cherokee but only for models manufactured from January 5, 2010, through September 8, 2013. Our Grand Cherokee was manufactured in November of 2013 and is therefore not eligible for the recall. Our Jeep was towed to a local Jeep dealership where they replaced the brake booster, they told us it had filled with water (exactly what the recall fixes). The recall must be expanded to all affected 2014 Grand Cherokee.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #129

Nov 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign id number: 14V391000 (electrical system). However, the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Arenzville , IL, USA

problem #128

Nov 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the parts needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Unionville , IN, USA

problem #127

Sep 292014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 4,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After coming to a complete stop the vehicle lunges forward. This is an intermittent issue, but appears to happen more frequently after the vehicle has been sitting for a period of time. Additionally the vehicle transmission is always trying to find a different gear (I describe this as fishing for a gear) up shifting when you want to slow down or just the opposite down shifting when you want to speed up.

- Prospect, KY, USA

problem #126

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,000 miles
Waiting on brake booster recall parts for four months.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #125

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle repairs. The dealer informed the consumer, the part was not available, to perform the recall. The consumer stated there was a thumping noise coming the gas tank. The part had to be ordered.

- Coldwater, MS, USA

problem #124

May 202014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000 (electrical system) and 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the parts needed for both recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs to be performed. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/22/15. Status updated 03/25/15.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #123

Nov 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Vandalia, OH, USA

problem #122

Jun 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V145000 (service brakes), 14V391000 (electrical) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact¿'s vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #121

Feb 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #120

Oct 242014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 7,931 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Attempted to have Jeep/Chrysler recall P14 (brake booster) and P36 (sunvisor wiring) completed. Fair oaks chantilly Jeep Chrysler inspected the vehicle but stated there was a nation-wide shortage of parts and the brake recall could not be completed for 2-3 months. After talking to the Chrysler customer assistance hotline, I was advised Chrysler does not have sufficient parts in stock to handle all of the brake booster recalls. When asked for additional details I was told the reason behind the parts shortage was "confidential." I was further advised to "drive slow" and "avoid using the car as much as possible." They confirmed the wait time for replacement parts to "address this important safety issues" was 2-3 months.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #119

Dec 302013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
When coming to a slow brake, the brakes stutter and push the car forward. Additionally, the vehicle sometimes when driving at higher speeds (specifically on the freeway at about 60-70mph) engine revs high without kicking over. Furthermore, when slowing it has a hard time kicking down to the next gear. Transmission light has come on several times as well. When taking the vehicle in for service, they are unable to recognize any problems at all and can not fix.

- Newark, CA, USA

problem #118

May 162014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Recall 14V-154 issued 05/16/2014. The dealer says Chrysler is allocating repair parts based on the number that the dealer replaces the previous week. The dealer states that we are 137 on their list of vehicles yet to be serviced. According to the mopar owners site, parts are available for this recall. My complaint is as follows: 1. the delay in proving the required part(s) is unacceptable. 2. the NHTSA seems to have no oversight or reporting out of the implementation of recalls. The absence of progress reporting creates a false impression that an issue has been addressed. 3. Chrysler is remiss in informing owners that parts are available when such is untrue, unless Chrysler defines available as meaning some parts have been made.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #117

Jun 162014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Neosho , MO, USA

problem #116

May 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes) and stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Newry, ME, USA

problem #115

Oct 042014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
In may I received the recall notice for the brake booster (P14 NHTSA 14V-154) and have called my local dealer several times since then to schedule the replacement. However, the dealer says they do not have the part and are expecting the part to arrive any day. In September, I received the sun visor wiring recall notice (P36 NHTSA 14V-391) and have called the local Jeep dealer regarding scheduling this replacement also. The dealer reports that they do not have the parts for this either and do not know when the parts will be available. This is an unreasonable amount of time to wait for the dealer to resolve the defects, and I feel my safety is at risk.

- Idaho Falls, ID, USA

problem #114

Jun 172014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 6,893 miles
This is a compliant about the untimely ability for repair to be completed for safety recall P14/nhsta 14V-154. I received my first recall the beginning of June 2014. My vehicle was brought to the dealer on June 17, 2014 for this recall. However, they said they had to order the parts and had no idea when parts would arrive. They said it may be a long time. The end of September 2014 I now have a received a second notice from Chrysler for this recall. I believe that this is now an unreasonable amount of time and delay for repair of the brakes as related to this safety recall. I also have a recall for sun visor lamp wiring and per my dealer it appears that there is a similar situation which slow receipt of parts for this also. My vehicle has not been repaired for this recall. I live in an area where the temperatures get below freezing for extended periods of time. I am concerned for my safety.

- Westfield, IN, USA

problem #113

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
My complaint is with Chrysler, I contacted my dealer over a month ago regarding safety recall P14, I am on the bottom of page 2 of a list of customers who have contacted them to get this issue resolved. The dealer has no idea as to when they will receive the parts necessary. I contacted Chrysler directly this morning and they cannot give me a time frame of when parts will be dispersed to the dealers either. This is unacceptable. I live in northern New York (along Canadian border), sub-freezing temperatures are very common and potentially will be here very soon. Chrysler is distributing to all dealerships equally, but maybe they should be taking care of the dealerships/customers that this problem could potentially affect (very northern, who experience sub-freezing weather). I feel that if this was a priority to Chrysler, my vehicle would be fixed already. Would they rather have people killed and be faced with millions of dollars of lawsuits, than get this fixed? I consider this a huge safety violation and Chrysler should be forced to get these parts out to dealerships immediately. Thank you for listening and I hope you can help get this resolved very soon. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. Thank you.

- Ogdensburg, NY, USA

problem #112

Jul 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles
Have had two recall notices on a brake defect from Jeep over two months and parts are still not available. What can be done about this?

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #111

May 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I am trying to let someone know that I am having trouble getting a safety recall fixed. I have received two different safety recall notices in the mail. One in may and another in September. Have contacted dealership and they advised on the first recall I would be put on a waiting list. On the second recall I have not been able to even speak with anyone as I get an answering service and the dealership has not returned my calls. Do not know what I should do at this time.

- Big Spring, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?