Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,999 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 5 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #110

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes); however, the parts needed to remedy the failure were not available. After contacting the dealer, the technician verified that the parts were not available and the estimated timeframe to receive the parts would be more than two years. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #109

Jul 292009

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I called [xxx] of morton, the dealer I purchased this Jeep from and was told there was a waiting list for this recall and that they would put me on their list and call me when it came in to set up an appointment. They have never called for this and now I have another recall on the sun visor wiring and am hesitant to take it back to the dealer for this as the other recall has never been fixed yet. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Morton, IL, USA

problem #108

Aug 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #107

Sep 192014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact's vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system: Wiring). The contact notified the dealer once in person and three times over the phone and was informed that the parts were not available. The dealer further stated that they were waiting on the manufacturer to supply them with parts to repair the vehicles. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #106

Sep 192014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 9,999 miles
Repeated attempts to get vehicle in for recalls sun visor and brake cover (serious?) after 2 months still way down non list; also, list of recalls for this vehicle appear to include more items I have not been notified about (only notified of 2 of the 5)...

- Ticonderoga, NY, USA

problem #105

Aug 282014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 850 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving up an incline at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated to about 77 mph. The contact depressed the brake pedal numerous times, but the vehicle continued to accelerate. The code service electronic throttle was displayed. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 850...updated 11/03/14 updated 7/9/2015

- Carlsbab, CA, USA

problem #104

Sep 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 8,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee into the dealership to have two recalls addressed, both regarding the brakes, I believe. Upon working on the vehicle, the master cylinder "fell apart, " accordion to the service advisor. The master cylinder is on nationwide backorder, and I will be in a rental until "mid-November 2014." Really" this is unacceptable. How does a master cylinder "fall apart""

- Taylors, SC, USA

problem #103

Sep 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Montclair, NJ, USA

problem #102

Mar 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000 (visibility) and 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/24/2014

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #101

Jun 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 24,650 miles
Recall P/14/NHTSA 14V-154 - brake booster, called immediately after receiving notification (06/05/2014). Told parts not available, only receiving about 5 per week. Placed on list. As of 09/11/2014, still on list as parts not available in sufficient quantities. Recall P36/NHTSA 14V-391 - sun visor wiring, same as other recall, parts not available. Why are recalls issued if there are no parts available? Jeep is putting owners at risk by not having parts available.

- Morris, CT, USA

problem #100

Jun 092014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000 (visibility) and 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The contact stated that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/22/14

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #99

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the part needed for the recall repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Ewing, NJ, USA

problem #98

Sep 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
I have a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee srt. I was at a stop light in the turn left lane. Once the light changed green I pressed accelerator and while turning all power cut out on the vehicle. While in traffic I coasted to the side of the road. The vehicle restarted after I can to a full stop power appeared to come back on and I pushed the start button with foot on brake. Second event happened 9/10/14 again I was in the left hand turn lane (different street) and when light changed I pressed accelerator and while starting the turn all power instantly went out rendering the vehicle totally disabled in traffic. Once I got it into a safe spot I called and tried to have it jump started. This did not work at all. Total power failure no response and had to be towed to dealer. Very dangerous situations.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #97

Jun 042014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 11,880 miles
Our 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee was issued a recall for brake booster. The needed repair was noted by dealer when the vehicle was in for routine vehicle maintenance on June 4, 2014 and we also received a recall notice. We were told on 6/4/14 that there were no parts available to make repairs and we would be notified when the parts came in. To date 9/11/14, the repairs have not been completed. We have called the dealer, 4 times including the service manager, and Chrysler (group recall assistance center) twice. The repairs have still has not been made and no appointments have been set up.

- La Quinta, CA, USA

problem #96

May 192014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The contact stated that the part was not available for the recall repair and had been waiting approximately five months to have the vehicle repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue.

- Scottdale, PA, USA

problem #95

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system). The parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #94

Dec 132013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 6,200 miles
Brakes failed at stop light, car rolled forward, hitting the car in front of me. Going less than 5 mph.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #93

May 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system). The parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date as to when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Milford, CT, USA

problem #92

Sep 092014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was not available. The contact stated that three months was not a reasonable amount of time for a recall repair. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/07/14 updated 3/12/15

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #91

Sep 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain as to when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lynchburg, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?