Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
50 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
25 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,098 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 10 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #55

Apr 082014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At random times, transmission sticks between drive and sport...and won't shift and car slows down. Have to pull out of traffic and stop to get transmission back in gear. Vehicle brought in for service July 2014 to dealership, within a month....same problem. This vehicle is unsafe and dangerous to drive. Prior to this...I had the check engine light come on 4 times.

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #54

Jun 102014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl Diesel

  • 8,000 miles
While driving up a grade at 50 mph, vehicle began to shake/shudder/vibrate. I had to tramp the accelerator to engage the transmission to work through the situation. This has happened at least a dozen times. Dealer has not been able to replicate the condition. The catalytic converter is being replaced on 7/16. I do not know if this is the cause of the problem.

- Greensburg, PA, USA

problem #53

Jul 102014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl Diesel

  • 1,000 miles
After purchasing the vehicle I started the first leg of a 2000 mile road trip comprising of highway and winding rural roads. During a winding mountainous section of the journey I started to smell something I thought to be possibly a fbrush fire or something burning in the locale I was driving through. Later during another section of stop and go driving I started to smell it again, and noticed some brake fade as well. For the remainder of this leg of the trip I used the paddle shifters to reduce my brake use. Upon a fuel stop before ending the day's travel, I noticed a thick layer of grease coating the inside of the front left wheel. I did a internet search to see if this was a known issue to find several other owners have had the same issue. I have scheduled an appointment at a Jeep dealer for service. Hopefully Jeep can remedy this seemingly common problem.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #52

May 292014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 185 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both cv axle boots leaked all the grease out. Had the axles replaced with new parts from the mfg, and both boots leaked again after only 475 miles or less. Appears that the bands on the boots are not tight enough, or the boots may be too short. They seem to pull apart if wheels are steered close to maximum radius. The issue is that the grease is slung all over the wheels and onto the front disc brake assemblies. This can cause loss of brakes or severe braking issues that can lead to a serious accident. I called Jeep customer service and they are aware of the issue but told me no recall is current. They called my dealer in wilmington nc, and I have another appointment to replace. These will be the third set of cv axles. The Jeep forums online are full of this issue. Seems to be a problem with vehicles built around March/April 2014. This should be a recall with a recognized approved fix. There are probably several vehicles that are affected by this and the owners are completely unaware of the problem as it requires you to look for it. Dangerous.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #51

Jun 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 5,450 miles
During a vacation trip, we parked the vehicle in a remote mountain road turn-out area to take a scenic photo. Returned to vehicle, started the vehicle; however, no matter how many times and what methods were used, the transmission would only pop-back into park. On safecar.gov, I noted previous 2014 Jeep Cherokee complaints concerned with the transmission popping only into neutral; but, for us it was popping only into park. The towing company did over $3,000 worth of front-end damage to vehicle in attempting to tow it while the transmission was frozen in park. On the same trip, the dashboard controls would go completely dark on an apparent infrequent random basis. We also noted cruise control acceleration problem with unexpected and or apparently random uncontrolled accelerations beyond driver's expectations or immediate control. Both of these which frightened us. Another strange thing we noted was when the transmission changed gear (primarily in lower gears), the vehicle jerked in a rough manner beyond what we have experienced in any other modern vehicles.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #50

Jun 182014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 730 miles
Vehicle lost all forwarded speed (engine was still running), transmission was not allowing the vehicle to continue to move forwarded. My Jeep was almost hit several times by different eighteen wheelers, cars, and pickups while trying to get the Jeep off the highway to a more safe spot. My family and I where put in great danger because of this incident. The second occurrence was when I left the Jeep in park and walked in front of it, at which time the Jeep began to move forwarded hitting me, if it were not for my wife sitting in the passenger seat and pushing the shifter up, I would have been ran over. The shifter is not supposed to move without applying the brake (a major problem exists somewhere). The third occurrence was when we entered the highway with the posted speed limit of 70 mph, the Jeep would not accelerate faster than 38 mph. Again my family was in immediate danger because of the hilly terrain and the traffic running up on us at 70 mph. We found ourselves having to park on the side of the road placing ourselves in another dangerous environment. The transmission finally engage properly and we were able to get the Jeep to the repair shop. The Jeep had already been in the shop twice for the front drive axle. The second time it was in the shop, they were suppose to check out the transmission to correct what had happened the first time the Jeep stopped running down the highway. My family was lucky that we did not have a major accident because of these problems. I feel that an investigation needs to be initiated quickly before someone or some family die in a fatal crash because of these problems.

- Liverpool, TX, USA

problem #49

Jan 142014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 4,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle does not reliably select the park position and in general it is very awkward to select any gear without putting into the wrong gear, reverse for forward, neutral for reverse, etc, . on multiple occasions after the vehicle was apparently put in park it suddenly rolled away in reverse gear. It was then very difficult to select the park position to stop the vehicle. The sudden movement in reverse almost caused the vehicle to hit another car. Problem has occurred on at least five occasions.

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #48

Jun 212014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 125 miles
Front cv axle boot is exploded. The retaining clip has fallen off, grease is everywhere. The vehicle did not even make the trip back from the dealership when new, car has less than 150 miles.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #47

Jun 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • 455 miles
Driver's side front outer cv joint boot slipped due to an improperly-installed boot clamp and the grease from the joint migrated to the brake splash guard, suspension components, and inside of the wheel on that side. No grease apparent on the brake rotor at this time, however the dealer, grapevine Dodge Chrysler Jeep, in grapevine, tx, has instructed me to drive the vehicle to them for service in a few days. Any grease on the brake rotor could cause a brake failure on that side (leading to loss of control) and would require some parts to be replaced. I understand that this is a common problem with Jeep Grand Cherokee manufactured in March and April of 2014, however the dealer's service advisor whom I spoke with appears to be unaware of the trend and largely ignorant of the danger that it presents.

- Justin, TX, USA

problem #46

May 302014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 375 miles
Purchased brand new Jeep Grand Cherokee overland 4X4 with a 03/14 build date on May 26, 2014. On May 30th, 2014.....5 days later......noticed an excessive amount of grease on the inside of both front rims. After researching the issue, came across a blog on jeepforum.com that described and provided pictures of others with same build date that had experienced the same problem. Notified Jeep customer care hotline of the issue and they claimed to have no knowledge of issue. Took vehicle to dealership it was purchased from and they diagnosed the issue as a loose clamp on the front cv driveshaft axles. Both sides had to be replaced. Dealership claimed to be unaware of the issue affecting a larger number of Jeep and Dodge owners. How many individuals need to die/be hurt for a recall to be issued for this factory defect? www.jeepforum.com/forum/F309/factory-defect-warning-grease-front-wheels-3-14-build-date-2352729/index18.html.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #45

Jun 112014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 825 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Inspected front wheels noticing grease on the inside of rims. Upon further inspection, found defective cv joint boots causing grease to be spread all over inside of both front wheels.

- Smithfield, RI, USA

problem #44

Feb 172014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 101 miles
The vehicle slipped into "manual shift mode" seemingly on it's own not allowing the transmission to shift after I pulled out of my driveway. It was then stuck in 2nd gear (8 speed transmission) and the tachometer went to redline (over 6500 RPM)as I was expecting to increase to normal driving speed. There was no oncoming traffic or it could have left me in the oncoming lane too long. This has happened multiple times. I reported to the dealer and I am told this is manual mode and normal behavior. The placement of the manual shift paddles on the steering wheel make it convenient to extend a finger and shift up or down. This placement also means you repeatedly go into manual shift mode when you do not want to. When turning left across a few lanes of oncoming traffic it can be dangerous. There is no way to prevent this as the shift paddles are active all of the time and any touch puts you in manual and the only way out is to pull back on the console shift lever and switch to sport mode then again to drive mode which is where I started or continue manually shifting. While manual shifting is an option that may be needed when "4 wheeling" over rock or in mud etc., there should be a way to select it when wanted and not have it pop in at random. All it would take is some programming of the transmission to require that both shift paddles be held down for a few second until the display says "manual shift mode on" before the transmission is allowed to shift using the paddles. It could be turned off in the same manner. No parts or extra hardware needed, just programming.

- Mount Pulaski, IL, USA

problem #43

May 302014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10 miles
As of yesterday I have had my 2014 Grand Cherokee for 1 year. I bought it with 6 miles on it brand new. Since then I have been back to the dealer 16 times for numerous issues. 4 of which was related to the faulty transmission. There were 3 flash updates for the transmission and none of the addressed he problem. The rough shifting, jerking of the vehicle and extremely high running RPM's must be doing further damage to the power train. There is no smooth shifting from 1-2-3 nor is there from 3-2-1. getting on and off the highway is always interesting. Trying to get on the highway the vehicle feels bogged down and takes some time to shift to the next gear. You are giving it gas and it just is stuck in 3-4 or 5th gear and you are putting on the highway trying to get on and then out of no where the transmission unleashes and the car just takes off. Getting off the highway on an exit ramp any time of slow down (fast or gradually) the car just whines and the RPM's are way in the red, since the transmission will not downshift properly. Again brought it to the dealer that sold it to me for all the flash updates and another visit to say it is still not operating properly and they told me to run it in sport mode or turn off the eco button. Well what good is giving you the option for a eco button and can't even use it....not to mention it really doesn't address the underlining problem with the faulty transmission. Very frustrated with he car, Jeep and the dealer due to their lack of support. This is a well known issue on this new released vehicle and no one wants to fix it until someone unfortunately gets hurt from faulty operation of the power train. I now have about 10,000 miles and still like from day one I am having all the same transmission problems.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #42

Mar 232014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 3,800 miles
I leased my car from May 9 2013. I have problems with tail gate (trunk ) and rear view camera tall gate unexpectedly opening on the road and impossible to close it. Some times impossible to open tall gate. This problem occurred already few times on road and all my staff from trunk was on the road. Rear view camera doesn't work. Screen turns blue I was in service 7 times since Nov 07 2013, but they still did not fix. Chrysler opened case #[xxx] but they do nothing, only are suggesting me to go in service again. Using car becomes unsafe because the trunk can be opened at any time on road I pay regularly lease and already in despair they don't not answer to my requests. Thank you for your help information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #41

May 192014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 1,100 miles
After driving vehicle for first week of purchase, while cleaning vehicle I noticed an incredible amount of grease on the inside of the front rims. Looked under the vehicle the right drivers boot was split and the clamp was hanging around the axle. When I returned vehicle to dealer they looked at it and said it was safe to drive until they ordered the replacement parts which was on backorder. It has been two weeks since then and still no parts have come in. I am concerned about driving the vehicle because the grease is all over the disc brake pads and could cause and accident due to brake failure from the grease.

- King George, VA, USA

problem #40

May 302013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 6 miles
As of yesterday I have had my 2014 Grand Cherokee for 1 year. I bought it with 6 miles on it brand new. Since then I have been back to the dealer 16 times for numerous issues. 4 of which was related to the faulty transmission. There were 3 flash updates for the transmission and none of the addressed he problem. The rough shifting, jerking of the vehicle and extremely high running RPM's must be doing further damage to the power train. There is no smooth shifting from 1-2-3 nor is there from 3-2-1. getting on and off the highway is always interesting. Trying to get on the highway the vehicle feels bogged down and takes some time to shift to the next gear. You are giving it gas and it just is stuck in 3-4 or 5th gear and you are putting on the highway trying to get on and then out of no where the transmission unleashes and the car just takes off. Getting off the highway on an exit ramp any time of slow down (fast or gradually) the car just whines and the RPM's are way in the red, since the transmission will not downshift properly. Again brought it to the dealer that sold it to me for all the flash updates and another visit to say it is still not operating properly and they told me to run it in sport mode or turn off the eco button. Well what good is giving you the option for a eco button and can't even use it....not to mention it really doesn't address the underlining problem with the faulty transmission. Very frustrated with he car, Jeep and the dealer due to their lack of support. This is a well known issue on this new released vehicle and no one wants to fix it until someone unfortunately gets hurt from faulty operation of the power train. I now have about 10,000 miles and still like from day one I am having all the same transmission problems.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #39

Mar 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles
I have owned a new 2014 Grand Cherokee limited V6 for six months and have experienced rough shifting with my transmission from day 1. the transmission is especially rough when cold and/or shifting from 1->2->3 and 2->1 downshifts. I have brought it in to Jeep numerous times for a fix, the dealer recognizes that the transmission is not shifting smooth or correct, but says until there's a fix or update from Jeep, there's nothing that can be done. It is very frustrating to spend $45K on a new vehicle that has "jerky" transmission shifting, to the point where I cannot use my vehicle with business clients due to the harsh ride. I've been on multiple Jeep forums and based on the number of postings about this issue, the discontent is widespread among Jeep owners and fans. With the issue getting worse over time, I'm concerned my transmission will fail and become a serious safety issue.

- Lavista, NE, USA

problem #38

May 232014

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,032 miles
Traveling at highway speed numerous warning messages and warning chimes started to go off. Created distractions to driving and it appears that air bag and seat belts stopped functioning intermittently. Cruise control also failed. Vehicle already serviced on all prior recalls two months ago. These issues are new starting on 5/23/2014. Dealer appt is scheduled for 5/26/2014. In past, also reported issues with transmission shifting and HVAC. Not a well tested vehicle. Far too many dangerous issues with vehicle. Hope NHTSA can investigate issues.

- Wildwood, MO, USA

problem #37

May 232014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 196 miles
I noticed grease coating inside of front wheel while washing car. Upon inspection, the cv boot appeared ajar and the assembly was exposed. Only 170 miles on the vehicle before failure of component. With a little research on Jeep garage forum, many consumers are complaining, specifically with build dates around March 2014, which this car is presumed built around. Unknown if second failure of passenger side cv boot is immanent.. car is now in the dealer lot awaiting assembly component.

- Glen Mills Pa, PA, USA

problem #36

May 202014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 1,475 miles
Failure in drivers side cv joint. Grease splattered everywhere. Upon investigation, this is a common issue that Jeep will not address proactively. I asked service to replace both halves as one side failure is a sure sign that they both will go. They refused insisting again that the other one was fine. That's what they told me before I took delivery - they were both fine. Now, I'll have to go through this process twice - on a truck that is 9 days old.

- Rochester, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?