Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
50 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
25 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,098 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 4 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #175

Nov 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was parked, the gear lever shifted into the park position and rolled away. The contact stated that the gear shifter independently shifted into the drive position. The failure recurred on numerous occasions and the gear shifter also shifted into reverse. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 12,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 06/30/16 updated 07/11/16.

- Black River, MI, USA

problem #174

May 022016

Grand Cherokee

  • 19,500 miles
My initial complaint was the vehicle not shifting into park correctly which I now see Fiat Chrysler is prepared to issue a recall. However, the solution offered is in my opinion insufficient. Warnings as opposed to a real fix is totally unacceptable and I believe NHTSA must demand a replacement of the entire shift module.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #173

Nov 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,514 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while the driver left the vehicle running with the gear shiftier in park, the vehicle rolled away and crashed into a parking garage. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be determined. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,514.

- Scotch Plains, NJ, USA

problem #172

Feb 232016

Grand Cherokee

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I parked my vehicle in my driveway and exited the vehicle to enter my home. I was in the house for 5 minutes and heard a loud crash, upon looking out the window my vehicle had come out of gear and drove itself through my garage door damaging the door, the front end of my Jeep and my harley inside the garage.

- Lake George, NY, USA

problem #171

Apr 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
I am writing this because of the recent transmission shifter recall regarding my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. On April 9, 2015, at approximately 2:00 a.M., I stopped at the post office to mail a letter. I placed the electronic vehicle gear shifter into 'park'. it actually went into reverse. As I stepped out of the vehicle, my foot began to slip. I thought I had stepped onto some oil on the parking lot. I placed my other foot onto the pavement to catch my balance. It began to slip, also. In the confusion, I was unable to determine whether the vehicle was moving forward or reverse. I still had a hold on the door and the steering wheel. As I tried to pull myself back into the vehicle, the steering wheel turned. At that point, and since the door was wide open, I decided to drop to the pavement to move away from the moving vehicle. When I did, the front left wheel rolled over my right leg. My leg must have been in a folded position. The wheel rolled onto the inner-upper part of my lower leg, missing the knee, and off the outer-lower part of my upper leg. The pain set in. I was able to get up, chase down the vehicle, get in, and stop it before it crashed into anything. I sat in the vehicle for a while until some of the pain subsided a bit, drove back to the original place at the post office and parked it. I lost the letter I was mailing and searched for it. I went home, took three aspirin and a shot of whiskey, and watched television for a while until I could sleep. The next day at the office, my assistant named the vehicle "christine". on April 12, while getting ready for church, I noticed my foot looked very dirty. It would not wash off. My brother was visiting at the time, so I asked him to take me to the hospital. There was lots of soft tissue trauma, scaring, and nerve damage. One year later, the scars and some numbness remain.

- Hawthorne, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #170

Jun 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,408 miles
Transmission does not always go into park after positioning transmission selector in park mode and vehicle has started to roll away as I exited vehicle. This is a concern as I live on a hill and vehicle has rolled backwards catching me with the drivers door. Had vehicle checked at Jeep dealer but unable to correct problem. Have talked to other Jeep owners and they have experienced same problem.

- Kalispell,, MT, USA

problem #169

Sep 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our 2014 Jeep was running and stationary in our garage with my husband and myself beside the Jeep when it shifted into reverse, crashing out of our garage knocking my husband down and out, dragging him outside. It hit numerous lawn mowers, wheel barrows and finally a large tree before stopping.

- Tum Tum, WA, USA

problem #168

Dec 112015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
While my cars engine was running and the transmission was in the parked position, I exited my vehicle and I shut my drivers door. I walked 30 ft beyond rear of my car (three other parties following me in their own vehicles). We all had a discussion on exactly where we were going. We were all following each other in our own vehicles parked along same side walk facing the same direction. We had all exited our own respective vehicles and met in the street and discussing the exact location of where we were going. While in discussion with the other three parties we all noticed that all of a sudden my unoccupied vehicle began to move in reverse on its own. I attempted to chase my vehicle down the road on foot to open the drivers door and shut the car off. I could not reach before it hit an on coming car, it bounced off that car and proceeded to rest against a tree on a lawn down the street on the opposite side of the street. I not only have myself and the other three parties following me as witnesses that my vehicle moved into reverse at a minimum of 30 seconds after I had exited the vehicle and moved on its on. I also have a witness of a fifth person who is the person whom my vehicle struck their vehicle that can attest to this unoccupied Jeep had moved in reverse on its own well after I exited the vehicle with all doors closed on my vehicle. How can you get out of a vehicle in reverse without fighting the drivers door that would knock you back into the car? you cant, the vehicle would have been moving backwards and the drivers door would be pushing you back into the vehicle. This vehicle on its own with this new design electronic transmission shifted itself into reverse well after I exited the vehicle. I have five witnesses that will attest that this Jeep moved on its own, unoccupied, well after I exited the vehicle of a minimum of 30 seconds after I had exited it.....updated 06/15/16

- Stoneham, MA, USA

problem #167

Mar 042016

Grand Cherokee

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. After shifting the vehicle in park and exiting, the vehicle rolled down the driveway on its own and struck another vehicle. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed, but the failure could not be replicated. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. A police report was not filed. There were no injuries. The failure mileage was approximately 28,000.

- Linthcum Heights, MD, USA

problem #166

Mar 312016

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the gear shifter was shifted into the park position, the vehicle rolled away in reverse. As a result, the contact crashed into the front of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 18,000.

- Huntington Woods, MI, USA

problem #165

Sep 142015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While attempting to shift the vehicle to the drive position, the gear remained in neutral. While driving on an incline, the contact placed the vehicle in drive and it began to reverse without warning and crashed into a tree. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The failure occurred randomly. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 07/27/16

- Gretna, LA, USA

problem #164

Sep 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 150 miles
I have experienced the same issues with the electronic shifter as reported in multiple media outlets. I thought it was just me not being careful but after reading the reports I know it is the shifter. I have not had an accident but I have come very close to accidents on about 2 occasions and have experienced about 20 other occasions where I caught the vehicle from rolling before leaving the vehicle. I now am very deliberate on engaging the park mode and I double check before leaving the vehicle. Even then I have experienced a couple times where the vehicle is not in park. I am just providing this information to help document the issue experienced another person. The date and mileage is an approximation of the first occurance.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #163

Mar 232016

Grand Cherokee

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle shifted out of gear without warning. The vehicle was unable to switch gears. The vehicle was driven to the dealer and they were not able to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure recurred at least four times. The vehicle was repaired under warranty for a transmission replacement and two valve bodies. The contact retrieved the vehicle from the dealer on March 12, 2016. The approximate failure mileage was 23,000. Updated 05/10/16

- Chesapeake City, MD, USA

problem #162

Jan 052016

Grand Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While placing the gear shift into park, the gear shift became inoperable without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the cause of the failure was not determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 4,000.

- Eagle Creek, OR, USA

problem #161

Feb 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. After stopping the vehicle and shifting into the park position, the vehicle went into reverse and dragged the driver while attemtping to exit. During the incident, the driver suffered an injured left shoulder. Medical attention was not required. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but no information was available. The VIN was unknown. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 37,000.

- Woodmere, NY, USA

problem #160

Oct 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,971 miles
I placed my 2014 Grand Cherokee overland (4 months old 1900 miles) in park and left it running while exiting to get my mail from my mailbox. Upon exiting, I validated my Jeep was in park on the shifter. It did not move when I let off the break (on complete level ground), the backup camera display was not present, and the vehicle did not chime when exiting to show the vehicle was still in gear. I did not have the emergency break activated. I walked 50 feet to my mailbox as I noticed the vehicle was accelerating in reverse towards my neighbor's house. I ran after it as it drove through my neighbor's landscaping and was ready to run into his garage door. I caught up to the vehicle, jumped in it sideways to hit the break, was thrown out of the vehicle and it slammed into the garage door. Had I not partially stopped the vehicle prior to full impact, the damage would have been even extensive. Luckily I just had minor cuts and bruises and no one else was hurt, but there was damage to the rear passenger side bumper of my Jeep (stress marks and paint damage) and I had to replace my neighbor's full garage door. I took my Jeep into my dealership the next day (10/13/14) and they said they could not repeat the issue, however, they had to apply a transmission software update that controlled downshifting gear ratios about coming to a complete stop. I find this ironic this had nothing to do with my timely transmission issue. As I have seen many more cases and news stories reported on this issue, I wanted to ensure I reported mine to help Jeep take needed action to prevent any further accidents or injuries.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #159

Jan 192016

Grand Cherokee

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while parking the vehicle and shifting to park, the vehicle began to roll away. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure could not be determined. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 31,000.

- Bayville, NJ, USA

problem #158

Feb 252016

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles
On February 25th, I shifted my car into park and was getting out to look at back wiper which seemed to be stuck. I had left the car running. The car took off in gear and caused me to fall and break my ankle in an open compound fracture that required hospitalization and surgery. My Jeep ended up hitting a parked garbage truck and sustained about $5000 damage. Who knows what my medical bills will end up being. Plus my ankle may never be right. I will include a photo of my car and X-ray. It happened on private property (taco bell parking lot). A police officer came and parked my car and called an ambulance but did not make a report since on private property. We have not heard from garbage truck and doubt it did anything to it. The car was in park and not sure how fast was going when hit the garbage truck.

- Powell, OH, USA

problem #157

Mar 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Once the vehicle was shifted into park, it did not register the correct gear. The contact's vehicle rolled away and struck another vehicle. The failure occurred once a week. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. Due to the failure, the driver side doors, driver side rear window quarter, rear bumper, and other driver side components needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 21,000.

- Wyckoff, NJ, USA

problem #156

May 212015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. After shifting into park and refueling the vehicle, it failed to engage into park and started to roll away. As a result, the vehicle rolled over the driver and fractured 22 ribs, the clavicle, and an ankle. Medical attention was required. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. Updated 06/15/16

- Blauvelt, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?