Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
50 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
25 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,157 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 6 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #136

Feb 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since I purchased my Jeep Grand Cherokee in 2014 I have had problems with my electronic gear shifter. Several times that I have stopped my car and thought I had placed it in park to go out side my vehicle it was not. Several times while exiting the car my leg was dragged bending it backwards that resulted in a bruise. One time I actually had to chase after my car as it lurched forward. This is a very serious issue. Just pushing the shifter forward does not always place the car in park. Something must be done. Dealer said there was no problem and they could not replicate the problem. I now have to double check the gear shift display to be sure that the car is in park

- Cumberland, MD, USA

problem #135

Apr 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 600 miles
Electronic gear shiftier not reliable. There is no feeling or sense of proper gear engagement. I sit each day and rev up engine thinking I have engaged drive mode. You never know when you have properly engaged park feature. I have gotten one leg out of car while auto starts moving.this electronic feature is unsafe. Otherwise this is the best new car I have ever owned. No accidents but I am extra careful with this gear shift. I will never buy another care with this innovation. The problem happens at startup and shutdown / exit mode. Scary to exit auto and someone notify you later that the auto engine is still running and in neutral. Mode. Jerry

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #134

Feb 052016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
On approximately 10 occasions in the past 18 months, I have almost left the vehicle after attempting and thinking it was in park. The shift level is incredibly dangerous.

- Kirkwood, MO, USA

problem #133

Jan 112016

Grand Cherokee

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife placed the car in park and took her foot off the brake and the vehicle continued forward and hit a pole at about 2-3 miles per hour. The front license plate and plate holder were damaged but more importantly it now makes her afraid to drive the car because this is the 3rd or 4th time this has happened.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #132

Feb 022016

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,260 miles
Making sure the truck is in park is dififcullt to determine.putting the truck into park or into drive is also difficult. Have had it happen 3 times to me, thought the Jeep was in park exited the vechicle and it was still in drive mode and started rolling forward!

- Canton, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #131

Jan 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,500 miles
Jeep Grand Cherokee has rolled while in park. It was parked on a grade each time, but not steep enough for the transmission not to hold. Most recently, it was parked on a slight grade, on ice, with the parking brake on. The vehicle suddenly rolled down the driveway (with the rear wheels parking break engaged but sliding on ice, and the front wheels freely rolled). The vehicle was in park, parking brake engaged, and vehicle was turned off.

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #130

Dec 182013

Grand Cherokee

  • 10 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was in the park position on a small incline, the vehicle rolled backwards approximately 20 feet. The contact was able to apply the brake pedal and stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred intermittently. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #129

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 700 miles
My current lease, a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, has been plagued with defects. There have been 9 recalls, 16 service bulletins, and 5 investigations¿.in addition there are 587 driver/owner complaints. My problems: Instability of the transmission. After parking next to a storage bin, transmission slipped out of park and the Jeep moved forward crushing my leg in the door and denting/scratching the exterior of vehicle. There has been no indication that fca (Jeep) has resolved this issue. Another problem I¿M having, which has been plaguing many other Jeep owners, is where the engine warning light illuminates with no indication of specific information with regard to what the malfunction might be. After 5 service visits over the past 2 years, Jeep has proven they unable to remedy this. I continue driving with uncertainty and stress with my passengers and I fearing ourlives may be endangered. The engine light is currently illuminated. I am not getting the level of vehicle safety and dependability I am paying for. I have filed a complaint on the website of Jeep and have offered fca(Jeep) a settlement whereby I would be refunded the leasing charges I paid and the company would consent to an early termination of the lease with no penalties or charges. Fca(Jeep) has failed to remedy my problem. (please see attached details) fca us llc is required to execute certain performance obligations, pursuant to the July 24, 2015 consent order, amended December 8, 2015, the objectives of which are to mitigate the risks of harm and promote safety for we, the consumers. Fca, however, persists in violating and disregarding me in a blatant act of non-compliance with the order. I seek assistance in expediting remedial action in this matter as a victim, and the protection of my rights as a consumer, and as an american citizen. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

problem #128

Nov 082015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle began to reverse independently while the engine was on. There was no occupant in the vehicle. The vehicle traveled across the street and crashed into a mailbox, then proceeded to roll up an inclined driveway while still in reverse. The contact attempted to enter the vehicle but the vehicle then moved forward and knocked the contact to the ground, driving over her legs. The vehicle eventually stopped and crashed into a fence. The contact sustained leg injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the body damages were repaired but the failure was not determined. The failure was recurring. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000. Updated 04/08/16

- Atkinson, NH, USA

problem #127

Dec 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was parked on an incline, it rolled down the incline and crashed into a tree. The contact was able to exit the vehicle. The contact sustained major injuries that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The electronic gear selector was is in the process of getting repaired through a local auto body shop. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 9,000. Updated 02/18/16..updated 05/09/16

- Stratham, NH, USA

problem #126

Dec 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at approximately 50 mph, the vehicle jerked and independently slowed down after an unknown warning indicator illuminated. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal failed to respond. The contact had to hit the gear shift. The engine revved and went into sports mode. The contact continued to hit the gear shift until the vehicle shifted back into gear. The failure recurred on several occasions while driving at various speeds. Upon purchasing the vehicle, they were told that if the vehicle independently shifted into sports mode, they should push the gear shift back to change the mode. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 7,000.

- Ridgeland, MS, USA

problem #125

Apr 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the gear shift switched to different gears independently without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle operated as designed. In addition, in rainy weather, the defrost system failed to operate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician informed the contact to set the system inside to the same temperature outside. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #124

May 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at various speeds, the transmission failed to up shift and down shift correctly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing; however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure or reproduce a fault code on the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 19,000.

- Baraboo, WI, USA

problem #123

Nov 022015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • miles
2014 Jeep Cherokee. Attorney representing consumer writes in regards to transmission and several other recall notice issues and problems. It was determined, the transmission needed to be replaced. The manufacturer had the dealer installed a transmission that was not made for the vehicle, but was believed that it would work. The repair did not fix the vehicle.

- West Union, OH, USA

problem #122

Jul 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V509000 (visibility) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. While driving at an unknown speed, the transmission failed to shift. The contact stated that the vehicle would not downshift to the lower gears. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the transmission control module was reprogrammed; however, that failed to remedy the issue. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 7,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #121

Apr 162013

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,000 miles
Bought new in April 2013. Since then, Jeep has been in dealers service dept for many electrical problems, transmission problems, down loads to control modules and front and rear bumpers just falling off. Radio was replaced, wiring harness replaced, many control modulars replaced, generator and battery replaced and the dealer even added an extra negative wire to the Jeep to stop the exterior and interior lights from just turning off and on, altering the Jeep design. My Jeep then began turning on and off certain controls, like the wipers would just come on and off, the radio would go up and down in sound then the whole screen would go black, turning off on its own, dealer had to replace the entire radio system. Recent repairs were the transmission, which have been an ongoing problem within month of purchase. The Jeep would not go higher the 2nd gear. Dealer had to remove certain codes, replace with new codes and reprogram the tcm control module. This has been done many times. Just last month, the front and rear bumpers just began to fall apart. Dealer had to send Jeep to a body shop for repairs. The Jeep is in mint condition and aways has. It's service record is proof of proper mainteance on schedule. On one occasion after the dealer attemptedto finx the lights from going out and had the Jeep for sevral weeks, the dealer told me they go the lights to at least not go out but it still has a slight flicker. When I told the dealership that's not fixed right, the dealer told me that they considered the repairs commercially acceptable. It's been almost a year since I hired an attorney to address this under the lemon law but Chrysler continues to drag this issue out without addressing the safety issues my family continues to endure on a daily basis. Asking the attorney to become more involved, I was told they have to do what the law allows

- Williamstown, NJ, USA

problem #120

Oct 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 150 miles
The car was purchased with only 132 miles on it. And the transmission will not shift into first gear unless it is at a dead stop. I can't even get up my drive way without coming to a complete stop. It slips then grabs first gear with a jump forward. I have never had an automatic that shifts like this. I have had it into the Jeep dealership twice for this and was told that's the way this transmission works you have to live with it. This problem happens everyday.

- Mankato, MN, USA

problem #119

Oct 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 30,946 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle stalled. Prior to the failure, the battery and check engine warning light illuminated. After the third attempt, the vehicle was able to start. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission module needed to be updated. The approximate failure mileage was 30,946...updated 02/01/16

- Manorville, NY, USA

problem #118

Sep 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle was not downshifting from 3rd to 2nd or to 1st gear. If the vehicle were shifted manually or from a complete stop, the vehicle would shift intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the mechanic informed that the failure was commonly experienced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000. The VIN was not available.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #117

Jul 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
On July 16, 2015, with about 5,000 miles, the electrical system failed and the vehicle was towed to my dealership. On July 21, 2015, we learned that it had lost the key and done nothing to repair it. On July 22, 2015, it was towed to another Jeep dealership. On July 23, 2015, we were advised that the problems were caused by a bad battery. On July 25, 2015, when we went to pick it up, it would not start even with a new battery. On July 27, 2015, we were told that another new battery had been installed. On July 28, 2015, we picked up the vehicle but on August 14, 2015, the electrical system again failed and it was again towed to the second dealership. On August 17, 2015, we were advised that the vehicle had been repaired by replacing various electrical components. On September 15, 2015, the electrical system again failed causing the ABS and AWD systems to rapidly cycle on and off; the transmission to rapidly shift through both forward and reverse gears; and for the vehicle to lurch forward and backward. A third Jeep dealership refused to service it because of its history. On September 17, 2015, the vehicle was again towed to the second dealership. It had only 5757 miles on the odometer. On September 24, 2015, we were told that the dealership thought the problem might be with a crash sensor and proposed that the sensor be disabled. On September 25, 2015, after we objected to disabling a safety sensor, we were told that sensors had been ordered for the adaptive cruise and speed controls, but as of today, the dealership has not repaired the vehicle and is uncertain whether it can repair it. The vehicle has been at a dealership 25 out of the past 72 days. The dealership has not repaired the vehicle; will not say that it can be repaired; and will not say that it will be safe to operate. Jeep refuses to help. We don't want to die in this vehicle. Please help us.

- Huntington, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?