Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,898 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 6 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #114

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice # P60/NHTSA 14V-634 regarding the alternator diode, which states that a failure could result in vehicle shutdown/and or underhood electrical fire, calls to car dealer & Chrysler group recall assistance center today, both state, parts not yet available, no information as to when parts will be available, but keep driving & paying for the car this is not an acceptable response, Chrysler needs to fix the problem or repurchase the vehicle.

- Short Hills, NJ, USA

problem #113

Aug 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 800 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 800.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #112

May 162014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
There are 3 recalls on our vehicle, the 1st one 5/14, we called our dealer to have fixed, they said they didn't have parts, still doesn't have them 9 months later, another one 8/14 for a sun visor lamp wiring, and another one for an occupant restraint control module.

- Indian Valley, VA, USA

problem #111

Dec 232014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,000. Updated 3/12/15 updated 03/26/15

- Brightwaters, NY, USA

problem #110

Jan 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #109

Jan 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
This has been an ongoing issue since I purchased this vehicle new. Jeep/Chrysler has been unable to fix the problem along with many other major electrical system failures and glitches. The steering wheel controls will become in operable and the steering wheel heater will continue to heat up until it is so hot I am unable to hold the steering wheel. The only solution is to shut the vehicle down lock up and let it sit for a couple hours. Last evening when this issue occurred I decided to drive home, and grab my laser thermometer. Upon turning on the steering wheel heater it quickly heated up to 125 degrees. Then 142 degrees, then 150... the maximum temperature reading was 169 degrees at which point I shut the vehicle down. The american burn associations states that 3rd degree burns will occur to human skin with 5 seconds of exposure at 140 degrees, 2 seconds at 148 degrees and 1 second at 158 degrees. I have had the vehicle serviced multiple times for this issue with no repairs being conducted because they were unable to reproduce the issue nor find an error code. Jeeps typical "fix" for any electrical issue is to "flash" the uconnect system which to date has not resolved a single issue. I have requested on two different occasions that Jeep replace the vehicle due to chronic major electrical system failures. Jeep consistently states that there is nothing wrong with my vehicle. To date they have replaced nearly every module and the entire uconnect system (which controls every aspect of the vehicle including every safety system) with no success. At this point, I have experienced so many different electrical issues with the airbags and other major safety systems that I have no idea if they will actually work as intended. I will add that I have not experienced a single mechanical issue with this vehicle.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #108

Dec 292014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The audio went out.

- Richton Park, IL, USA

problem #107

Dec 082014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V634000 (electrical system) and 14V643000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the parts were unavailable for the recall repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/24/15 updated 6/10/2015

- Prince George , VA, USA

problem #106

Dec 162014

Grand Cherokee

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 55 mph, the instrument panel lights failed and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was restarted after several attempts. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000.

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #105

Aug 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes and service brakes hydraulic), NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000 (air bags), and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available for several months. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #104

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V634000 (electrical system), and 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #103

Dec 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts) and 14V391000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the parts were unavailable. The dealer stated that only a limited amount of parts were available and placed the contact on a waiting list. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wausau, WI, USA

problem #102

Dec 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical system); however, the part was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Las Vegas , NV, USA

problem #101

Dec 102014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 8,500 miles
Lights keep flashing intermittently and blind spot monitoring system works intermittently. These are safety hazards.

- Saint Augustine, FL, USA

problem #100

Dec 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed were not available. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonable estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Ellenton, SC, USA

problem #99

Dec 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 1/28/15

- Robins, TX, USA

problem #98

Dec 082014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts), NHTSA campaign id number: 14634000 (electrical system), NHTSA campaign id number: 14V391000 (electrical system), and NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Mailed out 01/13/15 updated 02/02/15 updated 02/19/15

- New Berlin , WI, USA

problem #97

Dec 062014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 21,500 miles
When shifting into drive or reverse or park it is difficult to know you are in the right gear. On multiple occasions I shift from drive into park and the car did not go into park. When I stepped out the car was rolling down hill and almost ran over my foot. This electronic gear shifter is terrible it is difficult to go into and out of gears safely. This is just a poor design and unsafe.

- Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA

problem #96

Dec 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system) however, the parts to do the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #95

Dec 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to recall concerning sun visor wiring. The consumer was unhappy with the amount of time, it will take to perform the recall.

- Houston, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?