Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,898 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 8 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #74

Sep 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and 14V391000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain as to when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lynchburg, VA, USA

problem #73

Jul 312014

Grand Cherokee Diesel

  • miles
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to transmission issues. The consumer stated twice, he encountered a serious problem. When he attempted to make a turn, the vehicle almost stalled. He tried pumping the accelerator, but the vehicle would only move at a crawl. The second incident occurred on July 31, 2014, the consumer was attempting to make a turn, when the vehicle almost stalled. The consumer was informed there were some wires that rubbed against something that caused the engine to stall.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #72

Sep 272013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 200 miles
I have had this SUV for almost one year. On multiply instances I have thought to have put this truck in park, but it has either gone into neutral or reverse. It comes with an electronic shifter. Because it is electronic it has the same position in any and all of the four desired gears. Further complicating the process of making sure the truck is in the desired gear is that the only way to tell what gear you are in is by an illuminated shifter with letters P R N D/S... when it very sunny or you have the sunroof shade open it is even more difficult. Having the sunroof open on a sunny day(different than just the shade open) it is almost impossible!! I believe something tragic will occur eventually if this not corrected. It wont with me because I am very aware of the situation. But someone somewhere will not be as aware of it as I am! I have the same truck in 2009 and it does not operate in that method. I do not know how many other vehicles operate manner but I will not be buying another one and thought others deserved this information.

- Brewster, NY, USA

problem #71

Apr 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) along with 14V391000 (electrical) and stated that the parts were not available for months. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Newtown, PA, USA

problem #70

Dec 212013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,450 miles
?approximately twenty nine (29) days after purchasing the vehicle I began to have trouble with the 911 button on the rearview mirror flashing red which would lead to a message on the navigation screen which read "vehicle phone requires service contact dealer?. ?the vehicle has been returned to the dealer for service on 12/21/13, 5/17/14, 7/21/14 and 7/29/14 for this 911 button issue on 5/17/14 said vehicle was returned to the crowley service dept. For the same problem of the 911 button flashing and the message on the navigation screen reading ?vehicle phone requires service contact dealer.? on 7/21/14 said vehicle was again brought to the crowley service dept. For a multitude of issues: ?again the 911 light on the rearview mirror was flashing and the navigation screen read ?vehicle phone requires service contact dealer?. ?the airbag light on the dashboard was illuminated: ?the seatbelt indicators for both driver and passenger were lit up and would not stop ?dinging? regardless of proper use or there not being a passenger in the seat ?the rpms would suddenly skyrocket and the vehicle would make a ?vroom? noise while the digital screen read ?service shifter?: "the air conditioning system was blowing warm air. On 7/29/14 said vehicle was returned to the crowley service dept. For a completely non-functional A/C system. On 7/31/14, after having the vehicle back from the crowley service dept for less than 24 hours, I attempted to answer a phone call using the bluetooth software in said Jeep. The in dash phone displayed on the navigation screen no longer rings to notify the driver of an incoming call. Attempts to select the green button to answer the calls lead to a transfer of audio from bluetooth to the handheld device, (illegal to use while driving in ct), and the call is terminated.

- Middlebury, CT, USA

problem #69

Apr 042014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,991 miles
Purchased 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland on January 1, 2014. Engine malfunction indicator light ("mil") engaged on multiple occasions in 1st 6 months of lease. Codes are P035 knock sensor (3 times- 4/4/14, 4/11/14, 5/2/14) code P0520 oil sensor (5/19/14) and car has been at dealership since 8/26 for new unidentified issue also related to mil. Car is also subject to most recent safety recall (vanity light/fire). Car is unsuitable for driving with small children. Concerned that multiple related issues are part of a larger safety issue.

- White Plains, NY, USA

problem #68

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (electrical). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made of aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #67

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
I have been leasing a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee for roughly ten months. Throughout that time, I have been notified at least three times of active safety recall notices for my vehicle. My vehicle shows computer modules broken which as a result has disabled my air bags. In addition, my vehicle has a safety recall for a brake booster and now an inoperative vanity lamp which may cause a fire. My vehicle is entirely and completely unsafe to drive and Chrysler Jeep is not taking the appropriate immediate action to rectify this event. I am being forced to drive a vehicle with possibly deteriorated brakes, and disabled air bags.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #66

Aug 252014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 24,056 miles
Message on nav screen says "vehicle phone requires service" dealer does not understand the problem and cannot repair. Image on rear view camera flickers (dealer cannot understand).

- Canonsburg, PA, USA

problem #65

Aug 162014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 2,100 miles
This is the second time where we have complete loss of power, steering, brakes etc affected and is a serious safety defect. Both incidents reported to the NHTSA site and both incidents occurred after approximately 90 miles or 1.5 hours of travel. This is a serious safety defect and owners need to be notified and a recall remedy initiated.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #64

Aug 022014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 1,461 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our vehicle completely lost all power while traveling in heavy traffic in the left hand lane of a major four lane highway at ~75 miles per hour putting us in a very dangerous situation due to the difficulty maneuvering (loss of steering and brakes) the vehicle across three lanes to the right side emergency lane. Several different tow trucks had to be called causing us to be left sitting for hours on a hazardous interstate. The vehicle was never able to be restarted until it had been at the dealership several hours. The consumer experienced an identical failure on August 16,2014 updated 09/10/14

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #63

Jul 212014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 690 miles
1) driving ~ 45 mph. 2) parking/crash detection sensor on the front driver side makes audible noise for 2 seconds, then noise ceases - this parking/crash detection issue was reported to the dealership 3 days prior. 3) all consoles go blank, to include speedometer (which is digital), temperature, navigation, etc. (driver & center consoles) - hands free phone call linked within the vehicle disconnects midway through call at this time as well. 4) engine appears operational, but seems to be in a lower gear and acceleration is problematic, brakes are sluggish. 5) electrical system in the vehicle reboots while driving ~10 seconds later, displaying multiple warning messages (check engine light, low battery voltage, no ABS, suspension system, etc.). 6) pulled the car over at the first safe location ~1/4 mile. 7) vehicle would not go into park, applied emergency brake and turned vehicle off. 8) restarted vehicle, check engine and low battery voltage light remains on, but vehicle appears stable enough to drive ~2 miles home.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #62

Jul 192014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 5,767 miles
Incident: While operating vehicle, visual display screen went black (no data). Computer attempted reboot and displayed a vehicle phone requires service message. Simultaneously, a service air bag and driver seatbelt unbuckled warning visual and audible displayed on the instrument panel and would not shut off. Computer continued to attempt rebooting. History: The repeated rebooting of the computer has been occurring several times a month since it was purchased in June 2013. Three dealer attempts to repair have failed to correct the rebooting. Dealer has not replaced any hardware, reportedly only reloaded software. A search of the internet regarding these issues display page after page of related problems with this vehicle.

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #61

Jun 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 5,450 miles
During a vacation trip, we parked the vehicle in a remote mountain road turn-out area to take a scenic photo. Returned to vehicle, started the vehicle; however, no matter how many times and what methods were used, the transmission would only pop-back into park. On safecar.gov, I noted previous 2014 Jeep Cherokee complaints concerned with the transmission popping only into neutral; but, for us it was popping only into park. The towing company did over $3,000 worth of front-end damage to vehicle in attempting to tow it while the transmission was frozen in park. On the same trip, the dashboard controls would go completely dark on an apparent infrequent random basis. We also noted cruise control acceleration problem with unexpected and or apparently random uncontrolled accelerations beyond driver's expectations or immediate control. Both of these which frightened us. Another strange thing we noted was when the transmission changed gear (primarily in lower gears), the vehicle jerked in a rough manner beyond what we have experienced in any other modern vehicles.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #60

May 312014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl Diesel

  • 7,992 miles
Driving down interstate when on vacation away from home, and message about exhaust filter full came on. Message instructed to drive at highway speeds which I had already been doing for hours. Suddenly a red lightening bolt symbol appears on dash with message stating to service throttle body. Vehicle suddenly dropped into 3rd gear and decelerated suddenly with no warning. Limited control of vehicle speed to under 20mph in traffic flow that was greater than 70mph. Vehicle towed to dealership for repair. Vehicle returned only to have same incident occur again around June 9th. This time it was taken to local dealership who insist the error message was due to the wrong oil installed while the vehicle was in the shop for this same problem a week earlier. Dealership says it won't happen again. Now on July 1, the same problem happened again. No warning. The electronic throttle control light came on, and the vehicle decelerated suddenly from 50mph to 5mph in heavy traffic. Will schedule to have vehicle towed to dealership as it is not safe to drive.

- Summerville , SC, USA

problem #59

Jun 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • 3,452 miles
Vehicle traveling at 5 mph, A/C on max, fan speed at highest setting. A loud "pop", followed by a rush of refrigerant through the vents. The vents had been pointed directly at my face and I immediately started choking. Within 3 seconds, the entire interior had been flooded with this dense fog of refrigerant. I could not see, I could not breathe, I thought my Jeep was trying to kill me. I managed to stop the vehicle, open the door and exit before I choked to death. I opened all of the doors and let the vehicle "air out" before getting back in to drive home. The vehicle is being serviced at the dealer right now. The failure is a leak in the evaporator coil.

- Alliance, OH, USA

problem #58

Sep 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • 876 miles
Whole panel goes blank lose all info for driving brakes seem abnormal does not brake easy. Navigation instrument panels go blank and freeze also car shifter from auto drive to super while driving. 3rd attempt to fix replaced whole cluster but still have the same problem my wife will not drive car anymore due to fear of safety and have children only 5000 miles on it and we cannot drive anymore very unsafe. Lemon law should go into effect asap.

- Stoneham, MA, USA

problem #57

Oct 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland. The contact stated that the navigational system and satellite radio system failed intermittently. Also, the contact stated that the system was releasing radiation and interfering with the instrument panel commanding system and causing it to darken. The dealer updated the software several times however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer inspected the vehicle and concluded that the electronic system was operating normally. The failure mileage was 6,000 and the current mileage was 10,000.

- Berthoud, CO, USA

problem #56

May 282014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
I purchased my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited 4X4 on June 2nd 2013. Since I have had this vehicle I have experienced multiple problems which are a concern to my safety and other Jeep drivers.. I have recently received the recall due to the brakes and was told by my Jeep dealer and another Jeep dealer that the parts are not available to fix this safety concern. I am forced to drive an unsafe vehicle at his time. This concerns me greatly. I have also been experiencing problems with the instrument panel which intermittently blacks out when driving. This prevents me from seeing the speed in which my vehicle travels and other indicator lights. This is also a concern to my safety and other drivers on the road. Last week, I experienced my airbag light coming on and remaining on. I made an appointment with the dealer and they have now advised me they are having a problem diagnosing the issue. They have had to remove the seat and still struggle to diagnose the issue. They did advise me that my vehicle is a major safety concern and not safe for driving on the road. I was advised today that they diagnosed the airbag situation but will not have the parts until June 13th. I have driven my vehicle 21,000 miles in one year and believe this vehicle is a safety issue. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle with all these electrical issues I am experiencing. I would like answers from Jeep as to why I amy experiencing these safety issues with such a new vehicle and why parts are not available for recalls.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #55

Mar 232014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 3,800 miles
I leased my car from May 9 2013. I have problems with tail gate (trunk ) and rear view camera tall gate unexpectedly opening on the road and impossible to close it. Some times impossible to open tall gate. This problem occurred already few times on road and all my staff from trunk was on the road. Rear view camera doesn't work. Screen turns blue I was in service 7 times since Nov 07 2013, but they still did not fix. Chrysler opened case #[xxx] but they do nothing, only are suggesting me to go in service again. Using car becomes unsafe because the trunk can be opened at any time on road I pay regularly lease and already in despair they don't not answer to my requests. Thank you for your help information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?