Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,309 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #67

Aug 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at 80 mph, a very large buck ran in front of the car on the interstate. After driving back by to see the deer the next day it was probably around 300 lbs. The entire front portion of my vehicle was caved in. No airbags deployed whatsoever. Hitting something so massive at such a high rate of speed should have deployed some sort of safety mechanism I.e (airbags!!!!!)

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #66

Sep 182013

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,500 miles
Jeep rollaway complaint: My brand new 2014 Jeep Cherokee rolled away from me when I put it into park. I got out of the car to get the mail and few seconds later, I hear a crash. The Jeep rolled off the driveway into a tree. Thank god no one was in the way and my daughter was not in the car. I got back into the car and found that it was in reverse, not park! the font bumper was dislodged and smashed. I had been having a lot of trouble getting the electron gear selector to choose the correct gear since the day I bought the car. 50% of the time I would discover that I was in reverse when I thought I was in park. There is very little clearance between the two gears, nothing definitive like there is on a slide track in most cars with a definitive clunk when you put it into park. The only way to be absolutely sure was to look down at the gear shift to see the light indicator. I've been driving all my 59 year old life and have never had an accident. I was so upset and frustrated with the gear shift that I took it back and ordered a 2013 Jeep with the old gear shift on a track system. I'd had it! if they don't change the gear system in the next Jeep, I will have to buy a different make. The problem, although may have been some kind of defect in the electronic gear shift, is, in my opinion, not a defect, so naturally Chrysler will not find any defects. I think it is poor design and a hazard. It is a human interface problem. Park should not be so close to reverse. The gear shift only moves about a 1/4 inch one way or the other. You can not depend on feel to tell which gear you are in, which you can when you have a car with a slide track gear shift. Also, another incident: I was making a left and had to break hard for a sec, my purse moved forward and easily pushed the gear into neutral when I needed to be in gear for oncoming traffic. Stupid design.

- Woodstock, NY, USA

problem #65

Aug 122015

Grand Cherokee

  • 25,000 miles
Merging vehicle into highway traffic when electronic instrument console went blank, losing power. Instrument panel then lit back up and all warning signals (check engine, battery etc.) were illuminated. Engine continued running, but very slowly (as if stuck in 1st gear). When able to safely exit the highway and pull off roadway, was unable to shift car out of drive into park. It appeared all the electronic controls were not working. Because this car has a push button ignition (and a fob, rather than a key), the push button ignition could not be turned off, because the car was not in park. I had to remain at the wheel with the brake on to prevent the car from moving. I was unsuccessful at contacting Jeep technical assistance to try to identify how to cut power to the engine. Ultimately, after holding in the ignition button for a prolonged period of time, the power returned and I was able to put car in park. Please note, recall notice 13V-483 had been repaired on this vehicle prior to this event.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #64

Feb 222015

Grand Cherokee

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon starting car blue/gray smoke comes out of exhaust. Smoke billows for 30-40 seconds. Recurring issue specifically when car is parked on incline in driveway. Been told by dealer there is no recall but it is a common problem.

- Staten Island , NY, USA

problem #63

Dec 222014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 20,100 miles
Event occurred December 22, 2014. After multiple monthly check engine lights and "replace" of the computer, the vehicle information center gave a warning of "incorrect def detected." (only mopar def had been used). Within 10 miles the vic warning stated "vehicle will not restart in 200 miles." Return to the dealer again after the previous visit 3 days prior to "reflash" the computer indicated a recent tsb for replacement of the catalytic converter. I also had them check the def pump and nozzle which was clogged with crystallized def. After two weeks of waiting with them not able to find a catalytic converter and new oxygen sensor I was forced to trade the vehicle at a loss. (Chrysler would not offer any help on the trade). Update 9/15/15 on June 7, 2014 the traction control light illuminated, the steering sensor shorted out. On August 12, 2014, the check engine light illuminated and the PCM software was updated. On August 14, 2015, the clockspring was replaced. The engine light illuminated several more times. The catalytic converter was replaced. Updated 10/01/15 updated 12/23/15.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #62

Nov 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles
From a stop, right turn, accel towards planned speed of 60. At app. 50mph approaching guardrails then bridge the vehicle 'locks up' (no screeching brakes), thought 'trans' (previous unresolved problems), engine sputters, about to die, speed has dropped 30mph, (assume no brake lights). Quick decision (rails 75'), get to shoulder. Small shoulder, deep ditch with a steep downhill pitch to the river. Just as I was about to enact the decision the engine "roars" to life and hits 65mph before I can react and apply the brakes mid-bridge. The whole incident only took seconds, maybe 7 to 10. Took it, once again, to blevins motors, potsdam NY and once again was told that their diagnostic computer saw no abnormalities. This time I asked for a print out of said report and was told there was no such thing as a 'print out'. I am a 100% disabled vet with a head injury and ptsd. This the salesman was notified of the first thing. I did not mention the ptsd as it had always been my problem and explosive anger was never present. The "injury" was after months of lies and 'dirty dealing' from the start that they finally 'beat a path' in my brain to the anger part. It led to many visits with my va psychologist, loss of friends as I seemed abnormally consumed with my ill-treatment by blevins, which I was, and total frustration that I had no recourse via the law because I could "blow" at the least slight. I have to a great degree put the 'ptsd' back in its box, but the damage to what was an already slowly slipping brain that I had accepted, it took a big hit damage wise. I no longer check E'mail. 315-353-5016 day or night. Thankyou!

- Norwood, NY, USA

problem #61

Apr 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,388 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the transmission software was upgraded but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 18,388.

- Prior Lake, MN, USA

problem #60

Jul 042015

Grand Cherokee

  • 19,000 miles
During a drive up a mountain grade in southern California and towing a recreational boat on 7-4-15, our 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee with the 3.0L ecodiesel engine overheated (I.e. coolant) and the oil temperature reach over 300 degrees. These conditions caused the vehicle to go into a very slow driving condition (I.e. 5mph) on a two (2) lane highway causing a traffic jam behind us and a dangerous situation since turnout lanes were infrequent. When opening the hood, it appeared that the coolant had sprayed out of the reservoir through the cap and onto the engine. We attempted to cool the engine down over a two (2) hour period and added over 1.5 gallons of a water/coolant mixture however, the vehicle still overheated and had the engine oil reach over 300 degrees until we could park it for several more hours. The vehicle is rated to tow 7200lbs. With the factory installed towing package however, Jeep curiously did not install a towing feature on the model to help with shifting, etc. The boat and trailer weighs less than 3450lbs. This is an unsafe condition and I am afraid that the issue has damaged the engine. The Jeep/Chrysler assistance line would only tow the vehicle but not our boat and was no help to us so we were left on our own during our 4th of July vacation. Jeep needs to provide a towing feature, install a heavy duty additional oil cooler and additional engine cooling provisions for the Jeep Grand Cherokee with the 3.0L ecodiesel and factory towing package from a safety and equipment reliability/longevity perspective. Please assist us. Thank you.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #59

Jun 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • 6,798 miles
Enter vehicle and placed it in the run position, I heard a ding from the console and noticed that the engine malfunction light had illuminated. I then drove the vehicle for about 15 minutes however the light stayed illuminated. The dealers' service advisor states that it will be two weeks before the service department can service the vehicle. He advised that I continue to drive the vehicle, as I normally would, with the serve malfunction light illuminated"??" that makes no sense.

- Snoqualmie, WA, USA

problem #58

May 242015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
My daughter was parking her 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee outside of a retail store. As she slowed and pulled into a parking space, the Jeep suddenly surged forward, jumping the curb, crossing a sidewalk, going through a small grass median, and into a different area of the parking lot. The police report, Oklahoma city police department report, case number 15-redacted, accurately records the "surge." The officer's conclusion was driver error. Through research I have found numerous similar complaints concerning 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I called the service manager for the Jeep dealership where we purchased the vehicle. I told him about the accident and that when the Jeep came in for repair, I wanted the accident data preserved. He told me the only data that he could obtain was Jeep's proprietary information, which I could not have. A representative form my insurance company is adamant that we, as the owners of the Jeep, have a right to any information captured by the Jeep's systems. However, the insurance company had no way to obtain that information when they appraised the damage to the Jeep. I need help in obtaining the data by someone outside of Jeep who can access it, or help to compel Jeep to provide me with the information, hence this online submission. The website which contains other complaints about 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee is www.carcomplaints.com/Jeep/grand_cherokee/2014/engine/vehicle_speed_control-2.shtml. 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee vehicle speed control problems | page 2 the website concern Jeep Grand Cherokee or all years having trouble when the tires/brakes get wet is jumpin' Jeep are hard to tie down

- Nichols Hills, OK, USA

problem #57

Aug 062013

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. When starting the vehicle, the engine light illuminated. The failure recurred once. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that there was a malfunction with the oil pressure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Guntersville , AL, USA

problem #56

May 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
My 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee has been at beaver county Dodge Chrysler Jeep since 5/5/2015. It was taken in for stalling issue, odometer adding excess miles, touch screen radio going black, seat belts that do not tighten and other various recalls. My Jeep has not left their parking lot since 5/8/2015 I called today 5/22/2015 and it is still not finished they stated. I have paid an entire month on my lease and I have not driven my vehicle. The service department has not made one attempt to fix my Jeep and I am not sure when I will ever get it back at this point. The dealership and fca have been giving me the run around since August 2014 about fixing these problems that they state simply cannot be fixed at this time? I have been having these problems for 9 months now and the dealership and fca keep telling me that they have no resolution to my problems.

- Beaver Falls, PA, USA

problem #55

May 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,300 miles
Driver proceeded from a from a 4-way stop to the posted speed limit of 55 mph. Shortly after getting up to speed, the vehicle's dashboard illuminated with several warning indicators (service electronic throttle control, service airbag system, low oil pressure, low voltage) and lost all engine power. Vehicle coasted to a stop in a nearby parking lot. Driver was attempted to restart the vehicle several times, but unsuccessful. Vehicle has been towed to the dealership awaiting service.

- Elizabethtown, KY, USA

problem #54

Apr 022015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 10,225 miles
Drove one block from home and the battery voltage spiked to 17V. Warning sounds and messages posted on the odometer. Parking assist off; acc unavailable-service required; wipers activated even though turned off; transmission locked in D; radio screen blacked out/came back on; message read to stop, press the brake, turn engine off then place in park. Red battery icon, anti skid icon, engine icon lit on odometer plus warning sounds non stop. Took directly to the dealer where the tech tried to get a reading on all of the trouble icons. Nothing was posting on their equipment. It was decided the vehicle may need the alternator replaced. Was told to continue driving and if this happens again to turn the engine off and restart the vehicle and keep driving.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #53

Mar 142014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10 miles
When accelerating, the engine always hesitates for several seconds, then surges forward. This condition creates a safety issue during passing, merging into oncoming traffic, evasive maneuvers, etc. This problem has existed since new, and has not improved. Bergey Chrysler, Jeep service dept. Has informed me that the hesitation while accelerating "operates as designed", and cannot be repaired.

- Hatfield, PA, USA

problem #52

Mar 182015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 680 miles
After making a right hand turn at a four way stop, I began traveling through a residential area at about 25 mph. After maybe 100 yards, the car came to a stop and the engine was revving, as if the vehicle were in neutral. The shift knob indicated the vehicle was in drive, but it was no moving forward. Obviously this caught me completely off guard, as someone at the four way had waved me to go before them, the I unexpectedly stopped in the middle of the road and would not move. I began applying the gas more gently, good thing or I would have jumped forward, and eventually the vehicle began to drive again. The low number of miles on the car is because I am scared to drive the car until the two brake recalls are completed, and now this. I see this has been a big concern in other years for the Jeep and have found many similar complaints online for this model. When will this issue be addressed? big safety hazard!

- Murrysville, PA, USA

problem #51

Mar 142015

Grand Cherokee

  • 19,300 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that fumes emitted inside the vehicle from the engine compartment. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 19,300.

- Potomac, MD, USA

problem #50

Feb 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • 7,800 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and failed to switch gears. The engine restarted after numerous attempts. The check engine and service transmission warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the PCM and tcm needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. However, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 7,800.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #49

Aug 192014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 11,929 miles
In less than a year of ownership my car started with the problems. On 8/19/14 the car idles but it will not start. Towed it to midway Jeep and Chrysler the car was returned to me running but was told they would be ordering a tipm part which is part of a recall. On 9/4/14 I came back and the tipm was replaced. On 12/17/14 the same issue occurred again and another tipm was replaced. It is now 2/27/15 and I am experiencing the same problem. The car has been towed again. This is a lemon.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #48

Dec 092014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
On separate occasions vehicle had issue shifting from 1st to 2nd gear lurching forward even when at a stop and my foot was on the break. The vehicle also had three issues with the def sensors which were worked on or replaced three separate times. Since the last fixed was just done on or approximately around February 1st, I will be waiting to see if the issue continues. The latest issue is has something to do with the catalyst. It's having an issue sensing that the vehicle is creating enough heat to burn off by product. It is slated to be replaced within two weeks. I have been notifying Jeep about all of these problems. I have a case manager working on the problems. I have read several sites that show there is an issue with an exposed def sensor which Jeep is not acknowledging. It is the new eco-diesel engine.

- Londonderry, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?