Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,309 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

Jan 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

January 2nd. 2015 I pull out of the fashion square mall and turn on to rio road into the right lane. This is the turn lane on to route 29 North. I travel about 50 yds. The reporting officer said my vehicle was traveling about 40 miles an hour when I rear ended a truck I felt the impact and heard the crunching metal and I vaguely remember seeing the top my hood being shove back. I was stunned I knew I was hurt and I was having trouble breathing. Someone call 911 and the medics loaded me into the ambulance. I could hear what they were saying but had trouble focusing. The police, and fireman where discussing why the air bags had not deployed for the amount damage done I also remember the medics asking why the airs bags had not deployed.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #46

Aug 212014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
Grand Cherokee Jeep SUV, 2014, a brand new vehicle from tate Chrysler car dealer in frederick, md on 21 July 2014 with only 251 miles. And I purchased this vehicle in full with cash and I was told that I had two months to purchase the lifetime warranty, on the day I returned to purchase the lifetime warranty, the financial manager told me that it was not available for my vehicle. I did complain about the smell of fuses coming from the engine of a new vehicle now to the dealer several time, now all of a sudden my SUV is not qualified for a lifetime warranty. I still purchases the bump to bump 120,000 miles extend warranty anyway, but the dealer has not solve my problem of the smell of fuses coming from the engine, they didnot take me seriously, concerning the smell from the engine. I came home from work and my husband told me they have a re-call on my vehicle. I made an appointment with services department and asked the question could this be a result of the smell that was coming from the engine, and the service department told me no it didnot have anything to do with it. Before my appointment to services department to repair the re-call problem, I am still smell fuses from my engine and now the engine light came on, this is why I believe tate Chrysler deliberately sold me a vehicle that they knew of mechanical problems and did not want to give me a lifetime warranty. I worked very hard to be able to purchases what I need and I really like the style of this vehicle that I am driving but I do believe the dealer sold me a lemon or a vehicle with serious mechanical problems. For a vehicle with only 6500 miles as 1 January 2015. And I have been to the car dealer about smell from engine, to many times and tate Chrysler dealer did not do anything about.

- New Market, MD, USA

problem #45

Dec 212014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 4,700 miles
Recurring engine stalls. Dangerous if on highway or going through intersection (which occurred in my case). Vehicle is at dealer for engine repair.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #44

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This situation has happened 5 or 6 times between June-Dec 2014 on our Jeep Grand Cherokee summit 4X4 ecodiesel. After coming to a complete stop a service electronic throttle warning flashes on dash board. When the accelerator is pressed to continue forward there is no power and the vehicle will not accelerate forward. On some occasions the car had to be restarted several times before it operated normally again. On other occasions the car regains acceleration capability after a short 10 to 15 second delay. We have had the car in for service for this issue but the dealer found no error codes in the system when diagnostics were run. We are taking the car in for service again on 12/16/14. We have been lucky so far that we are not in the way of oncoming traffic when this has happened or that we have not been hit from behind when we are unable to accelerate after stopping at stop signs or traffic lights. We would certainly like to get this problem fixed before we are involved in a crash.

- Fort Thomas, KY, USA

problem #43

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
I have been to the dealership three times to have my transmission evaluated due to the vehicle lurching forward as I slow down to a stop as well as rough shifting while while accelerating/decelerating. The dealership says a part needs to be replaced but was unable to give me an estimate of when the part will be in and will not return my calls for updates.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #42

Nov 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 2,514 miles
While driving the vehicle stopped working and would not accelerate. I took it to the dealership and they said that there was a problem with the filter that was attached to the transmission and they reset the transmission. Two days later it stop working while in the middle of an intersection and when it was down shifting it became jerky and would lunge forward. It also started making a noise when put into reverse and the dash said that the vehicle needed to be put into gear while I was driving. It is back at the garage again to be fixed. This is a serious safety issue! when I was at the service center the manager showed me a recall from Chrysler that was dated 11/2013 and was about this issue. He also told me that Chrysler stopped using this transmission at the end of 11/2013 because of these problems. There is no way to fix these problems, but Chrysler does not want recall any of these vehicles. What is a consumer suppose to do?

- Hermitage, PA, USA

problem #41

Jul 242014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 7,834 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As you accelerate the diesel Grand Cherokee and it reaches 7th gear, the car starts shuddering as if the vehicle is about to "fall apart". this issue happens every time when in 7th and 8th gear. I've had to use the paddle shifters to maintain the vehicle in 6th gear to avoid such shaking in the highway. I've taken the vehicle to an empty road and accelerated to reproduce the issue and kept my foot in the petal and it eventually settles down after 8th gear. But if you remove foot from gas and let the car shift back to 6th when you re-accelerate the shuddering returns again. The entire car just shakes. Jeep has been unable to find a solution to this and the vehicle is not even a year old yet.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #40

Nov 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles
While driving at 45 mph in traffic the Jeep stopped shifting and remained stuck in 6th gear. The vehicle completely stopped downshifting rendering acceleration impossible. The dealer said the transmission valve failed and had to be replaced.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #39

Oct 242014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
My 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee ecodiesel shudders/vibrates intermittently at highway speeds. Evidently, this is a common problem in this particular model, and so much so that it now has a name, "fish bites". at least one technical service bulletin and possibly even more (many have similar symptoms) have acknowledged the drivetrain as the source and have attempted to resolve it with software flashes. After numerous visits to the dealer to correct the issue, the "fish bites" are still happening, and are getting increasingly worse. Unfortunately, after the last visit and being told it had been resolved, I had to find out that the attempted fix did not work while on a tight two-lane road. The occurrence nearly caused the vehicle to lose control at high speed. Prospective buyers of this model should recognize that it may be unsafe, as this unresolved issue was clearly a hazard to myself and to the vehicles in close proximity.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #38

Aug 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
I really need your help. In April of 2014 I bought a brand new Jeep Grand Cherokee summit edition for $60,000. I was thrilled to have finally owned my dream car since 1997! I started having issues with the car in August... and when I say issues, I don't mean the radio blitzing out. The car turned off in the middle of a 4 way intersection and wouldn't restart for 3-4 attempts!!!! terrified I took it to the dealership who said it registered some check engine light codes but they couldn't find why it did that. They turned the light off and had me pick the car up. After repeating the same thing, about 8-10 more times the car just shutting off and going back into the shop a second and third time they now said oh we figured out what the problem was and its fixed. I was thrilled for this to be over! a couple weeks later I was driving on the freeway going 65 mph with no cars around me or insight. All of the sudden the car dashboard said brake!!! and the car applied the ABS brakes and abruptly slowed the car down to 40 mph!!!! I was so scared at that point, to top it off the car again shut off and the check engine light back on. I took the car to the dealership for the 4th time where they now have put me in a rental for 40 days. This time I was told my car registered 57 codes but they were not able to fix or diagnose the problem. I expressed my concern when I was asked to pick the car up. I don't feel safe in that car and I have lost faith in that vehicle. I asked that they buy the car back since it legally falls under the lemon law and they refused. They left me no choice but to hire a lemon law attorney. I now have lost faith in Jeep/Chrysler for the way they are handling this. They would rather put myself and others in harms way than to do the right thing. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Campbell, CA, USA

problem #37

Jun 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving various speeds uphill and towing a recreational vehicle, the vehicle overheated. Per the manufacturer, the vehicle's maximum towing capacity weight should be 7,200 lbs., but the recreational vehicle weighed less than 7,200 lbs. The failure occurred numerous times. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.

- Roxborough, CO, USA

problem #36

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 16,185 miles
When I was driving on a highway, and this has happened multiple times before but I never thought anything of it until it happens intermittently, I was driving on a highway and when I speed up and let go of the gas pedal, the vehicle continues to speed up afterwards putting my family in danger. Also, when I go to turn my vehicle, the steering locks up from time to time making it very difficult to turn the wheel and dangerous if on a busy road which could cause an accident.

- Millville, NJ, USA

problem #35

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee Diesel

  • miles
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer states that without warning the gear shift jumps out of drive or reverse into neutral and the motor shuts off. The consumer stated each time the vehicle was towed to the dealer, they stated the vehicle needed a program update.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #34

Sep 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
I have a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee srt. I was at a stop light in the turn left lane. Once the light changed green I pressed accelerator and while turning all power cut out on the vehicle. While in traffic I coasted to the side of the road. The vehicle restarted after I can to a full stop power appeared to come back on and I pushed the start button with foot on brake. Second event happened 9/10/14 again I was in the left hand turn lane (different street) and when light changed I pressed accelerator and while starting the turn all power instantly went out rendering the vehicle totally disabled in traffic. Once I got it into a safe spot I called and tried to have it jump started. This did not work at all. Total power failure no response and had to be towed to dealer. Very dangerous situations.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #33

Apr 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,250 miles
While entering a busy interstate and accelerating from a stop to 65 mph on the onramp, the Jeep Grand Cherokee drive train began shuddering violently and would not stop. It felt like the vehicle was running over severe bumps in the road yet the surface was free of defects. I was disoriented by the shaking sensation which would stop if I decelerate but returned immediately when accelerating to merge. I was forced off the road by faster traffic and my inability to speed up. I had to stop on the roadside and attempt to merge again when traffic cleared. My re-attempt to accelerate caused shuddering again at 45 mph. I pulled over again and shut the vehicle off. I restarted and, on my third attempt, accelerated very aggressively with the vehicle shuddering at 45 mph up to 65 mph. When I quite accelerating the shudder quit. This violent drive train shudder has occurred often since then. I have learned that this occurs most often in the first 10 miles of operation and I can minimize the shudder when it occurs by accelerating at full throttle which is unsafe. My online research indicates others are complaining of this same issue in various auto forums. I have had my Jeep dealer apply service updates and test drive the vehicle but Jeep has yet to fix this issue. In my opinion, this is ridiculous in a new car and is a drive ability and safety concern.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #32

Dec 212013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,450 miles
?approximately twenty nine (29) days after purchasing the vehicle I began to have trouble with the 911 button on the rearview mirror flashing red which would lead to a message on the navigation screen which read "vehicle phone requires service contact dealer?. ?the vehicle has been returned to the dealer for service on 12/21/13, 5/17/14, 7/21/14 and 7/29/14 for this 911 button issue on 5/17/14 said vehicle was returned to the crowley service dept. For the same problem of the 911 button flashing and the message on the navigation screen reading ?vehicle phone requires service contact dealer.? on 7/21/14 said vehicle was again brought to the crowley service dept. For a multitude of issues: ?again the 911 light on the rearview mirror was flashing and the navigation screen read ?vehicle phone requires service contact dealer?. ?the airbag light on the dashboard was illuminated: ?the seatbelt indicators for both driver and passenger were lit up and would not stop ?dinging? regardless of proper use or there not being a passenger in the seat ?the rpms would suddenly skyrocket and the vehicle would make a ?vroom? noise while the digital screen read ?service shifter?: "the air conditioning system was blowing warm air. On 7/29/14 said vehicle was returned to the crowley service dept. For a completely non-functional A/C system. On 7/31/14, after having the vehicle back from the crowley service dept for less than 24 hours, I attempted to answer a phone call using the bluetooth software in said Jeep. The in dash phone displayed on the navigation screen no longer rings to notify the driver of an incoming call. Attempts to select the green button to answer the calls lead to a transfer of audio from bluetooth to the handheld device, (illegal to use while driving in ct), and the call is terminated.

- Middlebury, CT, USA

problem #31

Apr 042014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,991 miles
Purchased 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland on January 1, 2014. Engine malfunction indicator light ("mil") engaged on multiple occasions in 1st 6 months of lease. Codes are P035 knock sensor (3 times- 4/4/14, 4/11/14, 5/2/14) code P0520 oil sensor (5/19/14) and car has been at dealership since 8/26 for new unidentified issue also related to mil. Car is also subject to most recent safety recall (vanity light/fire). Car is unsuitable for driving with small children. Concerned that multiple related issues are part of a larger safety issue.

- White Plains, NY, USA

problem #30

Aug 282014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 845 miles
At approximately 12:50pm, while driving in sport mode, going up a hill, I was accelerating normally at a reasonable pace after making a right-hand turn. The acceleration pedal around 30 mph disengaged from my foot and floored itself, and continued accelerating. Despite pushing on the break pedal repeatedly. I could not initially un-stick the accelerator pedal using my foot. The engine made some noise and a warning with a red light appeared on the instrument panel: "service electronic throttle". because the breaks were not working I engaged the gear shift to turn to the vehicle from S/sport mode back to D/drive mode. I pressed the break pedal again and again, still nothing. The Jeep reached above 72-77 mph+ on that street highway. I was well beyond concerned for my own safety but for the safety of the intersection in which I was about to approach. Finally, I wedged my shoe in between the floor and the accelerator pedal (which was difficult B/C it would not budge), the pedal finally released, but there was still no immediate reaction from the engine until 1-2 complete seconds later. I could have been seriously injured, seriously hurt others, or died.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #29

Aug 112014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 9,500 miles
I was driving on the highway where I spend most of my time while in my vehicle putting over 30K miles on my car in one year to get back and forth to work and while jumping on a major route 101A in nh where cars drive very fast my engine shuts down and I can not do anything but put on my hazard lights and hope the cars passing at 65mph dont hit me. This happened at least 3 - 5 times afterward and even a couple of times after having the dealer looking into the vehicle and I have been told it was a software update but they are unable to provide me with the details of what the software update is and what it resolves. I have since had the issue and brought it in for service numerous times and I told the same thing over and over and they keep reinstalling my software and tell me that it's all set and I am no longer satisfied nor feel safe in my vehicle that I put a lot of highway miles to get back and forth to work. Please help since nobody is able to help me and since I put on so many miles I am unable to be covered by the lemon law within a short period of owning the vehicle and its very frustrating.

- Milford, NH, USA

problem #28

Aug 022014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 1,461 miles
Our vehicle completely lost all power while traveling in heavy traffic in the left hand lane of a major four lane highway at ~75 miles per hour putting us in a very dangerous situation due to the difficulty maneuvering (loss of steering and brakes) the vehicle across three lanes to the right side emergency lane. Several different tow trucks had to be called causing us to be left sitting for hours on a hazardous interstate. The vehicle was never able to be restarted until it had been at the dealership several hours. The consumer experienced an identical failure on August 16,2014 updated 09/10/14

- Macon, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?