Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,309 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #87

Nov 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the engine stalled numerous times while driving various speeds. The gear system also emitted a noise and jerked while shifting gears. As a result, the contact struck an object while driving. There were no injuries. In addition, the heating system failed. The air conditioner and heater made a loud noise when activated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failures. The dealer upgraded the software system several times, but the failure was not corrected. The vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train), but the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #86

Mar 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. When the vehicle was started, the navigation screen was blank and a blue color. When the push button start was initiated, the contact had to make numerous attempts to ensure that the vehicle was on or off. The contact had not experienced any failures until the vehicle was repaired for a manufacturer's recall. The dealer was notified of the failure several times and had not provided a solution. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. In addition, the engine raced several times. The recall details were not provided. The VIN and failure mileage were not available.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #85

Sep 242016

Grand Cherokee

  • 62,724 miles
On 9/24/2016 I was driving in Florida going on vacation and the motor (pentastar V-6) started misfiring. Took it to a Jeep dealership in fort walton, fl and was told that it need a tune up. Was charged $308.67 for the tune up. Drove the vehicle about 10 miles and the misfiring started again. Took it back to the dealership and was told it needed a new head. They replaced the head and we took the vehicle and started back to our condo and it started misfiring again. We left the next day and returned to our home in West Virginia. Took the vehicle to a dealership here in charleston, wv and they said it was a bad coil. We were again charged and the total was $279.27. It appears to be fixed. I have been researching this problems and appears there are thousands of these motors with that have experienced this problem.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #84

Jul 152016

Grand Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced a complete loss of power. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the battery failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000.

- Calabasas, CA, USA

problem #83

Jul 042016

Grand Cherokee

  • 28,000 miles
During driving car began making noise and temperature began to rise. Dealer says water pump has failed, causing potential overheating. Parts are on backorder. Per dealer, (sansone Jeep, avenel NJ) 150 water pumps are on backorder. Vehicle is in possession of dealer for 1 week at time of this complaint. Vehicle has 28K miles and always serviced by dealer. Large number of backordered parts indicates significant volume of repairs and likely design flaws.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #82

May 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The acceleration sometimes doesn't slow down even when you brake. I almost crashed onto another car

- West Park, FL, USA

problem #81

May 082016

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While vehicle was in motion on the highway the engine shut off. My wife was driving it with our 4 year old daughter in the backseat. At that time the vehicle lost power steering. She called me in a panic. I called the Jeep dealer who came and towed the vehicle in to the service department. The same thing happened while the Jeep was in the shop at California superstores in valencia, ca. They called me several times to come and pick the car up because they could not figure out what happened, but that there was not a "fix" for it. Due to concerns for my familys safety I refused to pick the car up and called Chrysler who told me not to pick the car up, that it was dangeous to drive it. The next weeki was again told to come and pick the car up, this time by both the dealer at California superstores, valencia, ca and by the corporate people at Chrysler, and told there was no fix for the problem. The car just randomly shuts off while driving it. I opened a claim withchrysler Corp. About the car stalling out but have not heard back about any fix or recall. The car is unsafe to drive and I am not receiving any help from the dealer or Chrysler Corp. I paid almost $38,000 for the car and do not even want to drive it or have my family in it due to the possibility that it could stall again (it has happened several times), the steering go out, and cause an accident harming us or other drivers on the roadways.

- Acton, CA, USA

problem #80

Apr 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 32,000 miles
Transmission electronic shift lever. In April 2015 my vehicle rolled into a parking lot guardrail, after I thought the shift lever was in park. The left front fender was damaged and had to be replaced. I filed a reimbursement claim with fca on 05-27-16 and was recently denied.

- Gaylord, MI, USA

problem #79

May 162016

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles
This morning5/16/16 I turned my Grand Cherokee on, proceeded to drive to work, I felt that the car was not changing gears, it hesitates and the engine light came on an off, after driving about 4 miles the car stopped and went into neutral without me changing gears. This is not the first problem I have since I purchased this vehicle. It has been at the dealer more than one time for the same problem, which include: Self-accelaration while driving, stalling in high way, and few other recalls from the company. It has been a night mare since I purchased this 2014 Grand Cherokee, one problem after the other! more than dissapointed with this car.

- Bellevile, NJ, USA

problem #78

May 102016

Grand Cherokee

  • 22,400 miles
Vehicle failed suddenly while turning in the middle of a busy intersection (city driving). Vehicle systems reported electronic throttle module failure, electronic barking system failure, airbag system failure, vehicle sensor failure all simultaneously. Check engine light turned on.

- Lafayette, CO, USA

problem #77

Mar 192016

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 5 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted, but the failure recurred twice. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 21,000.

- Middle Town, OH, USA

problem #76

Feb 072016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Cold weather causes idler pulley to make a whistling noise.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #75

Dec 312015

Grand Cherokee

  • 28,514 miles
Vehicle recently purchased as certified pre-owned, bumper to bumper warranty, 28K miles: After driving vehicle less than 100 miles discovered the following defects: Radiator leaks power steering rack leaks loose object rolling back in forth inside driver's door panel vehicle being serviced by dealer under warranty, however I needed to pay for a rental for 1 week.

- Franklin, NJ, USA

problem #74

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 700 miles
My current lease, a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, has been plagued with defects. There have been 9 recalls, 16 service bulletins, and 5 investigations¿.in addition there are 587 driver/owner complaints. My problems: Instability of the transmission. After parking next to a storage bin, transmission slipped out of park and the Jeep moved forward crushing my leg in the door and denting/scratching the exterior of vehicle. There has been no indication that fca (Jeep) has resolved this issue. Another problem I¿M having, which has been plaguing many other Jeep owners, is where the engine warning light illuminates with no indication of specific information with regard to what the malfunction might be. After 5 service visits over the past 2 years, Jeep has proven they unable to remedy this. I continue driving with uncertainty and stress with my passengers and I fearing ourlives may be endangered. The engine light is currently illuminated. I am not getting the level of vehicle safety and dependability I am paying for. I have filed a complaint on the website of Jeep and have offered fca(Jeep) a settlement whereby I would be refunded the leasing charges I paid and the company would consent to an early termination of the lease with no penalties or charges. Fca(Jeep) has failed to remedy my problem. (please see attached details) fca us llc is required to execute certain performance obligations, pursuant to the July 24, 2015 consent order, amended December 8, 2015, the objectives of which are to mitigate the risks of harm and promote safety for we, the consumers. Fca, however, persists in violating and disregarding me in a blatant act of non-compliance with the order. I seek assistance in expediting remedial action in this matter as a victim, and the protection of my rights as a consumer, and as an american citizen. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

problem #73

Oct 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 30,946 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle stalled. Prior to the failure, the battery and check engine warning light illuminated. After the third attempt, the vehicle was able to start. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission module needed to be updated. The approximate failure mileage was 30,946...updated 02/01/16

- Manorville, NY, USA

problem #72

Aug 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 12,458 miles
The problem(s) that I have had or currently have with my vehicle are as follows: 1. July 8, 2015: (mileage 12,453) car dash lights were lighting up and then the engine died later in the middle of the road. Finally the car started up however the transmission would not shift and I drove it home in low gear. On July 9, 2015, I took the car into campbell Chrysler service department in centralia Washington (see service slip) and it was returned to me on July 13, 2015. 2. July 15, 2015: Again, the car dash lights were lit up and the car was stuck in low gear. I turned the car into to campbell Chrysler service department (see service slip) on July 16, 2015. The car was returned to me on August 18, 2015. 3. August 24, 2015: Again the car dash lights were lit up and the car stuck in low gear and the motor was surging. I took the car back to campbell Chrysler service department on August 25, 2015. The car was returned on August 28, 2015. 4. August 31, 2015: I drove to seattle and again the check engine light came on and the shifter lights would flash and speedometer numbers would go from large font to small font. When dash lights and warning lights plus different characters flashed then the engine would surge. Currently, the car was brought back to campbell Chrysler service department on September 16, 2015 because all the warning lights came on, again. This vehicle has become a safety hazard for my family. I'm not comfortable driving the car and concerned for my safety as well as my families. The first time the car stalled on me it happened at a stop sign on a two way highway. The engine surging is also a safety issue. I have been with-out my car over 43 plus days and have been greatly inconvenienced.

- Chehalis, WA, USA

problem #71

Aug 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 7,100 miles
I have a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee with the eco diesel option. At 7100 miles after oil change and refill of diesel exhaust fluid indicator on dash displayed incorrect def fluid and service def needed or vehicle will not restart in 200 miles. It took a week and 1 business day before the dealership could even look at the vehicle due to backup in scheduling. After three days at the dealership the vehicle was diagnosis with dpf convertor needed replacement, def sensor failure, def injector failure, and O2 sensor failure. And the parts would take 3 weeks just to get in. To me this is unacceptable, a vehicle with less than 10000 miles should not need this many repairs with long delay just to get parts. It seems this vehicle was not properly engineered and cannot meet emission standards long term. Plus a vehicle that will turn off and not restart at 200 miles is a danger to a consumer. Just based on an internet search I am not the only one with these problems there are numerous owners of 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee with eco diesel with the same issues. And the problems are never really resolved, permanently fixed and occur again. In my opinion fca should be made to buy back these vehicle and redesigned to at least meet 80000 miles emission standard with realistic durability. The consumers should not be test subjects on a unreliable vehicle until fca comes up with fixes to very serious problems. In addition some consumers on internet site have be told to ignore engine problem indicator light warning until fca comes up with fixes.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #70

Sep 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles
When idling in traffic with foot on brake, the RPM's on the transmission accelerates for unknown reasons until the engine is disengaged and placed into park or netural. This incident has happened five times over the past year - dealership refuses to fix problem.

- Oak Park, IL, USA

problem #69

Sep 222014

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
Vehicle is an eco-diesel model. Engine check light came on and the vehicle abruptly lost power as we accelerated away from a stop light. Initially the vehicle would not go over 20 mph. It gradually allowed us to get up to about 50 mph, but with noticeable vibration. Then a notice displayed on the information center telling us to service the electronic speed control. Took it in the next day and the dealer said we were driving with left foot on the brake and right foot on the accelerator causing the computer to be confused. Same problem happened a second time a week later. This time it gained enough power to get us up to 40 mph and home. We then had it towed to the dealer. Not sure what they did to fix the problem but it has not happened since, however the engine check light has come on again 3 different times. Each time the dealer says that they don't know what is causing the problem. The first two times the engine check light came on the dealer said it was ok to drive until they could schedule service. The third time we asked the dealer to contact Jeep headquarters for technical support. Corporate Jeep said not to drive the vehcile with the engine light on, that it could cause serious problems. On-line research and discussion with other local owners of the same eco-diesel model suggest this is a systemic problem with potential safety issues.

- Sandia Park, NM, USA

problem #68

Aug 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,966 miles
After entering the freeway, the car autonomously shifted itself into neutral and the engine shut off. This incident has repeated itself dozens of times in various driving situations since June of last year (2014), just after beginning my lease. Sometimes, as in this instance, I was able to push the start button and the engine turned back on, even while rolling in neutral at speed. In most instances, the condition happens as slower speeds (<30mph) and I am unable to restart until coast off the roadway, come to a complete stop, depress the brake, shift from neutral into park, and then restart. When this happens in traffic I am helpless as I attempt to coast to safety as speeding cars race around me on both sides. I have brought the car to the dealership(s) at least a half-dozen times. On the very first visit, I saw that the computer diagnostic readout said, "improbable torque conversion". since that first time, I have not seen readouts and they've not been shared. Two different dealerships have test-driven the vehicle and claim that they are unable to recreate the malfunction. Well, neither am I. it happens randomly and I am unable to deliberately cause it. Nonetheless, it happens. A chief concern of mine is the seeming limitation of the service technicians. Unless the computer identifies a problem, they seem to be satisfied that there is no problem; they have apparently no ability to consider any other form of diagnostic curiosity. They claim that they've searched and find no other instances of this condition. Yet, a cursory google search reveals thousands of similar instances with this make and model. At this point, I only drive the car when there are no other practical options. I do not take my family or passengers in the car. I'm renting cars or ubering more often. I have reached out to Chrysler and have filed an issue. No response yet. Critical safety issue!

- Folsom, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?