Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,707 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Jul 132016

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,750 miles


Wife parking on 1st floor of parking structure in downtown green bay, wi July 13th 2016. She shifted to reverse to adjust the vehicle so as to enter the parking space correctly. The vehicle started to move back while she looked over her shoulder to see what was behind her. All of a sudden the truck stopped going back & violently jerked forward. The truck started moving rapidly forward even though it had not been shifted into drive. The front tires jumped up on the curb at the front of the parking spot. The truck hit the cement wall violently at the front of the parking space. The front of the truck actually went through a portion of the cement wall. The motor was revving loudly while the truck was pressed up against the wall as if trying to push its way through the wall. Wife had difficulty getting vehicle to shut off as the push button start was ineffective due to the vehicle not shifting easily out of gear. The accident resulted in $11K+ in damages to the truck and $40K+ in damages to the parking structure. There is a recall on the shift lever for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee which is S27/whtsa 16V-240. Tried to get recall fixed a month prior to the crash but was advised by dealer the parts were not available as of yet. Crash occurred while waiting for parts to be available. Chrysler says this recall is not the cause of this incident. Reluctantly filed accident claim with my insurance company. Claims adjuster advised he had 2 other incidents where the insured claimed this model of truck had shifted itself into either reverse or drive on its own.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #21

Sep 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • 61,000 miles
I put the car into park, and as I was exiting the car, at a dead end road in my neighborhood, I realized that the car was going in reverse, as I was half in and half out of the car. The door knocked me to the ground, and the car almost ran over my foot. I got abrasions on several areas of my body, sprained my knee, elbow and my hand. My glasses also got ran over and were destroyed. The car kept going in reverse, and hit a chain link fence before I could run to catch up to it. The rear hatch door is all scratched, the window scratched, the left rear quarter panel is dented and scratched, inside the hatch on the left hand side of the frame is scratched and dented, the left rear light is broken. I called brown's Jeep in patchogue, NY after receiving this recall approx 8 weeks ago, to schedule an appointment to have the recall fixed, and was told by them that everyone was calling about that recall, and I'd have to be put on a waiting list for the recall. I haven't heard a word from them since. I feel as though Jeep should pay for all the repairs to my vehicle and fix the recall asap, as well as pay for new glasses for me, and give me a loaner car until the repairs are complete. I also think I should be compensated for getting banged up, although I didn't break any bones. It was very scary. I got a police report as well.

- Riverhead, NY, USA

problem #20

Aug 222016

Grand Cherokee

  • 24,076 miles
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee auto brakes for no reason, it sensed a stopped vehicle in the left turning lane and slammed on the brakes twice, I was in the left lane going 35 miles per hour; this has happened in the past also. I did report this to the manufacturer about six months ago via email, I saved the emails and their response. I could have been rear ended by a vehicle behind me because of this problem, literally once it starts I have no control over what the vehicle does, there is no way to stop the Jeep from braking. I shudder to think if it happened on a freeway. I was traveling on a straight road going 35 miles per hour in the left lane. On the evening of 8/22/2016 I was driving in the dark and my automatic high beams malfunctioned several times. They used to work perfectly now they stay on and blind oncoming drivers and the drivers ahead of me, they also fail to come one when I am in the dark and there are no other cars; both incidents of high beam malfunction happened on a country road and on the freeway last night. This problem started immediately after I had the electronic shifter updated at the dealer and some other software updates that were due but I don't know what they did, I just know they were software related and part of a recall. Said vehicle is going back to the dealer for several hours of work on the software for both the high beams an the braking system on Thursday, August 25, 2016.

- Sedona, AZ, USA

problem #19

Jun 302016

Grand Cherokee

  • 600 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle independently came to an abrupt stop. The forward collision avoidance system was turned off at the time. The failure recurred three times. On several occasions, the headlights, tail lights, and hazard lights failed to operate. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 600.

- Marrero, LA, USA

problem #18

Jul 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 30 mph, the passenger side head lamp became inoperable without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the head lamp wiring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000.

- Hobbs, NM, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Oct 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the windshield wipers were activated but the interior lights failed to illuminate. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V041000 (air bags) 15V509000, (visibility) and 15V461000 (equipment) however, stated that the parts for the repairs were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 11,500. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 04/29/16

- Pinewood, MN, USA

problem #16

May 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts needed were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced the failures, but stated that all of the interior and exterior lighting intermittently failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 10,000.

- Corrigan, TX, USA

problem #15

Jan 232013

Grand Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
My lights outside/inside go black/no lights with no warning. Other cars flash their lights at me and all I can do is turn on overhead light, and drive very slow. Also my brakes won't work, this happened three times. I'm scared to drive at any time after dark. My car was in shop for 37 days because they could not get parts to fix/after accident.

- Painted Post, NY, USA

problem #14

Aug 192014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Recall 14V-391 issued 08/19/2014. The dealer says Chrysler is allocating repair parts based on the number that the dealer replaces the previous week. The dealer states that they have 19 pages of owner names on their list of vehicles yet to be serviced. The dealer is unable to predict when our vehicle will be serviced, although it appears it will be more than 3 months from today. According to the mopar owners site, parts are available for this recall. My complaint is as follows: 1. the delay in proving the required part(s) is unacceptable. 2. the NHTSA seems to have no oversight or reporting out of the implementation of recalls. The absence of progress reporting creates a false impression that an issue has been addressed. 3. Chrysler is remiss in informing owners that parts are available when such is untrue, unless Chrysler defines available as meaning some parts have been made.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #13

Aug 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,500 miles
Automatic headlight dimmer system - high-beam to low-beam non-operable. I believe the sensor device behind the rearview mirror is faulty.

- Dubois, PA, USA

problem #12

Feb 282014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles


One head light in my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee is obviously brighter than the other. Upon inspection of the headlights they are noticeably different. One issue after another with this vehicle !

- Lamar, SC, USA

problem #11

Jun 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 5,450 miles
During a vacation trip, we parked the vehicle in a remote mountain road turn-out area to take a scenic photo. Returned to vehicle, started the vehicle; however, no matter how many times and what methods were used, the transmission would only pop-back into park. On, I noted previous 2014 Jeep Cherokee complaints concerned with the transmission popping only into neutral; but, for us it was popping only into park. The towing company did over $3,000 worth of front-end damage to vehicle in attempting to tow it while the transmission was frozen in park. On the same trip, the dashboard controls would go completely dark on an apparent infrequent random basis. We also noted cruise control acceleration problem with unexpected and or apparently random uncontrolled accelerations beyond driver's expectations or immediate control. Both of these which frightened us. Another strange thing we noted was when the transmission changed gear (primarily in lower gears), the vehicle jerked in a rough manner beyond what we have experienced in any other modern vehicles.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #10

May 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
We purchased Jeep on April 27th, we love it then few days later, the driver cv axle went off and spilled the grease over wheel... took it to dealership and waited for whole one week to replace the driver's... so, I asked them to replace both for once but they said no. So other one week later, passenger side went out... took 2 days. Only 650 miles that time. So, at 950 miles, we saw some smoke coming out from interior trunk. It turned out that the bulb touches the interior trunk cover and it current got a hole with plastic burnt. All under 1K mile"!" so, we contacted Chrysler care last Friday and hear nothing from them....

- Smithfield, RI, USA

problem #9

Jan 202014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 100 miles
Have had trouble with the led driving lights not working properly. Been in for service 4 times so far and still not fixed. I obtained a lawyer because the truck is under the Ohio state lemon law. The truck is still not fixed and since I have obtained a lawyer, the dealership has stopped trying to fix the electrical issue. I have been dealing with this since the day I bought the truck and Jeep still has not responded to my lawyer. Stuck with a Jeep for the last 6 months that does not work properly and cannot get any work done on the truck or get it replaced.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #8

Feb 102014

Grand Cherokee 10-cyl

  • 100 miles
I took my new Jeep to the car wash and then brought it back to my shop. I was drying it off when I noticed a lot of condensation in both headlights. I immediately contacted the dealership and was told that it was a well known defect, but that there was nothing they could do. He suggested that I leave the lights on so that they would dry out...updated 04-10-14

- Saugus, MA, USA

problem #7

May 292013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 59 miles
The headlamps on the vehicle condensate when it rains. The condensation remains inside of the headlamp assembly while it rains. The condensation inside of the headlamps makes the road hard to see at night.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #6

Mar 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Our Jeep Grand Cherokee has been has been having electrical problems. Several different electrical problems occur after which the check engine light will illuminate. Of these electrical problems the dangerous ones include: Headlights shutting off, dashboard completely shutting, and vehicle shut off while in motion. We have had the following replace in our vehicle: Burnt wires in our engine harness, faulty solenoid, alternator, PCM, and ABS module. The issue still occurs. Purchasing the vehicle in Dec we've brought the vehicle back into the dealership for service 3-4 times. While we haven't filed for lemon law yet, Jeep promised us that they would take a look at replacing our vehicle after a number of problem. Their answer to us was to wait to see if the issue occurred again. While we may file for lemon law, we feel that it will be important that we report these issues as they are experienced by other consumers on forums across the internet.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #5

Nov 082013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 16 miles
The headlights retain moisture or ice on the interior areas for extended periods of time while driving and parked. This definitely blocks the light transmission through to the exterior for proper and safe driving vision. This has happened many times since the November incident and I have reported to Chrysler and the dealership, gandrud in green bay wi, every time and documented each with pictures of the exact problem. The dealer has performed the silly test that Chrysler requires: Having the vehicle sit indoors heated for 20 minutes so see it the water clears. Mine did not totally clear at all however the dealer said it was within the "guidelines" of being ok by Chrysler's rules. This is ridiculous. I just purchased a highly priced vehicle and I should leave it sit in a heated garage so the lights work! I do believe cars are meant to be driven on the road in the day and night. Chrysler certainly does not care about the safety of the customer who works hard to pay for this machine that is very faulty. I have always owned a Jeep and am very disappointed in this safety issue. It must be resolved and I will keep at this until it is. I know many others have had this problem as seen on the internet. The second visibility issue is the wipers and the way the windshield defrosts. The wipers are placed so that the ice or snow when driving stays frozen and is not heated to defrost properly. I have replaced the wipers after only driving for a few days in winter weather! I could not see. That helped some but not the defrost problem as stated. It is also very hard to remove the snow and ice from the front area under the wipers. My old 1999 Jeep had none of these problems. My grandson is still driving it. Perhaps I should ask to borrow it. Certainly Chrysler engineers can do better than this.

- Washington Island, WI, USA

problem #4

Nov 042013

Grand Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles
Every indicator on my dash was on and my speedometer didn't work. Brought it into [xxx] where the problem was not fixed. It was in the shop again 2 weeks later for the same issue and also to service the ABS system. Today my check engine light is on and the car is shifting hard and hesitating, clunking as it switches gears. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #3

Nov 112013

Grand Cherokee

  • 400 miles
Soon after taking possession of this vehicle (9/27/13) I noticed that now and again (4/5 times) there would be a hesitation from the automatic transmission when shifting to the next higher gear when accelerating to highway speed. It was so subtle that I filed it under "nothing is perfect", but would keep score. Don't be misled by the low mileage above. That is my new normal. A head and neck injury in 2001 followed by a long overdue diagnosis of severe ptsd by the va left me practically a "house hermit" and driving anywhere involving distance requires hiring a driver. This vehicle was nothing more than my being able to have access to the woods with a 911 button attached to keep the P/a in check. What happened to me was that from a stop sign I turned onto the main highway and was accelerating to 55 when at about 50 the transmission hung, this time it would not release to the next gear, the engine began to struggle until it almost stalled. As unexpectedly as it had hung the transmission shifted, the engine immediately recovered ""with a roar"" and off we went. (extra RPM's, ? computer/fuel pump saw no problem) I'm sure that in those seconds my speed dropped 20 mph's with no "warning", such as brake lights had someone been behind me. Had this occurred entering a busy belt-way, interstate, etc., you can imagine the possible may-hem. Did some research, got an appointment for service at the dealership and was told (as expected from research) their computer saw no abnormalities and showed me a blank piece of paper to prove it. Asked them to sign a piece of paper saying my drivetrain was "just wonderful" and reaffirming that Chrysler had never heard of any problems just in case I or others wound up dead or maimed from "no problems". I now have a "moral problem" sitting in my driveway and not out in the middle of the woods.

- Norwood, NY, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?