Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,947 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

Dec 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gear shift transmission slips out of gear when I put it in park it will go back to reverse at times when I put it in drive going down the road it will jump to S.-defroster does not work properly when windows are steamed it does not take it away. Blue tooth works sometimes and other times it does not. The gear shift does it sometimes in park and other times in motion. The defroster never takes away the steam off windows.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #38

Nov 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 31,500 miles
Less than 32,000 miles on 2014 Grand Cherokee, getting off freeway on sharp turn exit, there was a thunk and our bodies lurched forward as vehicle dropped into 1st gear. Pulled over, check engine light on but not blinking so ignored as dealership service representative that not critical if not blinking. We were able to move, but transmission slipped until reached 20 mph and ran ok until we were home about 1/2 mile away. We then tested the shifting and vehicle would not go into reverse. Next morning, the car would not move at all in any gear. Had it towed to dealership. The service rep called the next morning indicating that the transmission failed and they needed to order a new one to replace it. Awaiting new transmission.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #37

Nov 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • 47,000 miles
Engine continued to run for several hours after key fob was removed from vehicle. There was no warning indicator or automatic engine shut off. Engine was very hot.

- Diamondhead, MS, USA

problem #36

Oct 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,699 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car completely shut off while driving on a busy street without warning. Dearlership says nothing is wrong with it and wait for the car to shut off on a regular basis. Then maybe they will be able to pin point the issue. This is the second issue with the car on 7/31/2015 car shut off while driving on a busy street without warning. Turns out the fuel pump went bad.

- Pontiac, MI, USA

problem #35

Oct 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 24,000 miles
The collision avoidance system activates and slams on the brakes without cause while traveling forward which is startling and dangerous because I have been nearly rear ended by another driver for braking without cause. When parking the gear selector feels like it is in park it is actually in reverse or neutral. Brakes squeak and were wearing groves into rotors when vehicle was brand new. Also the front bumper has never fit correctly as well as the fender moldings peeling off. Very sad for a $55,000 vehicle.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #34

Oct 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • 31,000 miles
Gear shift does not easily go into park car was running I put it in park ran into the house a few minutes later the car was going in reverse crossed the road and went down a 200 yard slope into the ditch I have had this gear problem since I purchased the Jeep

- Tyrone, NM, USA

problem #33

Jun 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tire pressure monitoring system requires tire pressure adjustment about every two weeks because of low pressure in one or more wheels. Dealer either cannot or does not want to fix it but hopes for a Jeep advisory or recall. Owner believes electronic connections in wheels are faulty and one or more leaks air. Constant leakage of air represents a potential driving hazard. After 12 flash updates to electronic systems and past failure of electronic transmission control system to shift out of park, it is clear that all electronic control systems without redundancy represent life threatening potential failures in all sytems. When such failure occur, owners will be unable to prove what really happened. The perfect crime!

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #32

Jul 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
On July 16, 2015, with about 5,000 miles, the electrical system failed and the vehicle was towed to my dealership. On July 21, 2015, we learned that it had lost the key and done nothing to repair it. On July 22, 2015, it was towed to another Jeep dealership. On July 23, 2015, we were advised that the problems were caused by a bad battery. On July 25, 2015, when we went to pick it up, it would not start even with a new battery. On July 27, 2015, we were told that another new battery had been installed. On July 28, 2015, we picked up the vehicle but on August 14, 2015, the electrical system again failed and it was again towed to the second dealership. On August 17, 2015, we were advised that the vehicle had been repaired by replacing various electrical components. On September 15, 2015, the electrical system again failed causing the ABS and AWD systems to rapidly cycle on and off; the transmission to rapidly shift through both forward and reverse gears; and for the vehicle to lurch forward and backward. A third Jeep dealership refused to service it because of its history. On September 17, 2015, the vehicle was again towed to the second dealership. It had only 5757 miles on the odometer. On September 24, 2015, we were told that the dealership thought the problem might be with a crash sensor and proposed that the sensor be disabled. On September 25, 2015, after we objected to disabling a safety sensor, we were told that sensors had been ordered for the adaptive cruise and speed controls, but as of today, the dealership has not repaired the vehicle and is uncertain whether it can repair it. The vehicle has been at a dealership 25 out of the past 72 days. The dealership has not repaired the vehicle; will not say that it can be repaired; and will not say that it will be safe to operate. Jeep refuses to help. We don't want to die in this vehicle. Please help us.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #31

Sep 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,700 miles
I have been experiencing issues where my instrument display cluster lights up with numerous vehicle warning indicators. This has been happening intermittently since I purchased the vehicle in September, 2013. There has been a recall for this problem. The first time this happened the dealership kept my vehicle renting a vehicle for my use until it was supposedly "repaired." The issue has continued to occur intermittently since that recall for a total of about 5 times. This most recent incident the following occurred -- ABS warning light, airbag warning light, malfunction indicator light, electronic stability control warnings lights were all displayed. Additionally, the speedometer was inoperable, the brake engaged light was on (even though the emergency brake was not engaged) and the backup warning system did not operate. I have had instances where the airbag warning system indicated that it was not operational. I am told that if the warning lights do not stay on the system "erases" the fault codes. The system seems to reset itself but I still don't think this should be happening. This week I was told that the battery charge was low and that the issue had been repaired. My question is if this issue is repaired why does the problem continue to occur. I am hopeful after this time it will not happen again but am not so sure. I paid $40K for this vehicle and expect the systems to function properly. It is now almost out of warranty and quite honestly feel I am being given a variety of answers until such time it is out of warranty and am concerned that if/when it is finally repaired that it will cost a significant amount of money. I have never filed a complaint like this but I also don't believe I'm the only person this is happening to. What if this system problem occurs while I'm driving and results in an accident?

- Forest, VA, USA

problem #30

Sep 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 24,500 miles
On Saturday, September 5, 2015, I arrived at a gas station with one additional passenger in my vehicle. When we fully stopped in the parking space, the Jeep Grand Cherokee was placed in park. The screen display was still displaying the current satellite station. Upon exiting the vehicle, both my passenger and myself, the vehicle was left running, but I took the key fob with me. I then proceeded to walk around and behind the vehicle to the other side of the car. The gas station was having construction work, and in front of the vehicle were cones and the area was blocked off. Approximately 30 seconds later, while both my passenger and myself were inside of the gas station, a witness came running to the gas station window to alert the attendant, that a Jeep Grand Cherokee has just taken off across the parking lot. At this point, I dropped what was in my hands, and ran to look. The Jeep Grand Cherokee, 2014, had crashed itself. One would not think this is even a possibility. Please note, the keyfob was not in the vehicle, the vehicle was placed in park prior to exiting, and the doors were locked. If someone had tried to stop the car, they would have been unable to. It proceeded to travel, on its own, backwards over 200 feet and crashed into a split rail fence, and then luckily it crashed into the only tree, between the space in which it was properly parked, and an intersection for a 55 mph road. The police were then called to the scene, in order to document the incident, and to provide a police report for the damage. Now I am left with a Jeep Grand Cherokee that could seriously inure a person, on its own, with its doors locked, and no key fob in the vehicle. It is also damaged, parts are broken, and it also has caused property damage.

- Milford, MI, USA

problem #29

Aug 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 7,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee with the eco diesel option. At 7100 miles after oil change and refill of diesel exhaust fluid indicator on dash displayed incorrect def fluid and service def needed or vehicle will not restart in 200 miles. It took a week and 1 business day before the dealership could even look at the vehicle due to backup in scheduling. After three days at the dealership the vehicle was diagnosis with dpf convertor needed replacement, def sensor failure, def injector failure, and O2 sensor failure. And the parts would take 3 weeks just to get in. To me this is unacceptable, a vehicle with less than 10000 miles should not need this many repairs with long delay just to get parts. It seems this vehicle was not properly engineered and cannot meet emission standards long term. Plus a vehicle that will turn off and not restart at 200 miles is a danger to a consumer. Just based on an internet search I am not the only one with these problems there are numerous owners of 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee with eco diesel with the same issues. And the problems are never really resolved, permanently fixed and occur again. In my opinion fca should be made to buy back these vehicle and redesigned to at least meet 80000 miles emission standard with realistic durability. The consumers should not be test subjects on a unreliable vehicle until fca comes up with fixes to very serious problems. In addition some consumers on internet site have be told to ignore engine problem indicator light warning until fca comes up with fixes.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #28

Dec 132013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
When shifting into park the shift does not always enter into park or stay in park and on several occasions when exiting the vehicle the vehicle begins to roll as it is in reverse not park. This repeatedly occurs. Vehicle was leased 11/18/13 with intentions of buy out at end to pass on to children, vehicle became to unreliable and unsafe for me to operate so I entered it onto swap a lease in 2/2014. No one was interested so it was passed to my husband and we purchased a different vehicle for me. He has continuously had the same issues as well as the gear change issues, and phone screen issues... will definitely not be passed on to a new/inexperienced driver as the vehicle presents grave safety issues. We are again, currently trying to end the lease via the dealership as we have now been made aware of others having the same issues and feel that validation exists with the vehicle being defective and want to prevent causing to others or obtaining ourselves any injuries from such.

- Sherborn, MA, USA

problem #27

Jan 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles
I pulled into a parking spot in a parking garage but was favoring the right side. I backed up approx. 6-8 feet to straighten the car out. As soon as I put the car in drive, it lurched forward at full throttle, with my foot still on the brake. I couldn't stop it. The car accelerated rapidly and shot forward, over the parking barrier and rammed into the cement support structure of the deck. The impact was jarring and the car jerked back upon hitting the structure. Although the distance was only about 6-8 feet, the impact did $3,300 damage to the car. I took photographs of the accident site and the damage to my car. The photos show that my front tires laid down skid marks on the pavement and up and over the parking barrier as I was trying to stop it. A clear indication I was on the brake. The force of the car pulling ahead against the brakes was very strong and was only stopped once I slammed in the parking garage wall. After contacting Jeep, I was referred to the special investigation unit.I met with a special investigator and he evaluated my vehicle and sent the findings to Jeep for further evaluation. The investigator declined to view my photos of the accident scene. A few weeks later I was notified that the findings showed nothing was wrong with my car and the case had been closed. I appealed but was once again denied. Other occurrences of a similar, but less dramatic, nature occurred with the vehicle both before and after the accident. I reported several of these to the dealer. Finally in may I was told I had a problem with my transmission and they reprogrammed it. I have not had any occurrences since. I am convinced my car had/has a serious transmission issue that poses a danger to both me and those around me. I have read numerous stories online about people experiencing similar issues with the transmission on 2014 Jeep....updated 03-10-16

- Lakewood Ranch, FL, USA

problem #26

Jan 242015

Grand Cherokee

  • 12,000 miles
I started my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee and stepped outside to assist my son who was in the front passenger seat. Before I could walk around, from behind, the Jeep started rolling backwards, picking up speed, and hitting another parked SUV. I never understood what actually happened just "assumed" my son, accidentally, touched the gears, but wondered how/why would the Jeep move without the brake ever being depressed. Their was rear damage to my SUV and rear/front damage to the other person's car. It is now being published that both the 2014 and 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee have had numerous incidents of rolling on their own--it now explains everything--my SUV did it. It was not parked on a slope, hill, or any type of incline--just a flat surface.

- Crestwood, IL, USA

problem #25

Aug 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 15,000 miles
While driving at 80 mph, a very large buck ran in front of the car on the interstate. After driving back by to see the deer the next day it was probably around 300 lbs. The entire front portion of my vehicle was caved in. No airbags deployed whatsoever. Hitting something so massive at such a high rate of speed should have deployed some sort of safety mechanism I.e (airbags!!!!!)

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #24

Jun 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • 12,000 miles
My vehicle was in park on a boat ramp while preparing to load a jet ski. I exited the vehicle and the gear shifted out of park and the vehicle rolled into the lake. The insurance company totaled the vehicle and I have all of the documentation supporting the claim.

- Sidney, NE, USA

problem #23

Sep 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,432 miles
I pulled into my driveway and put the car in park. When stepping out of my car, it started rolling backwards, the door was open so it knocked me to the ground and I rolled to get out of the path of the wheel, only getting missed by seconds. I had pretty severe bruising but I did not see a doctor. I assume the car went into reverse as it rolled backwards, but it was a slight incline so it may have been neutral. I was mostly focused on the fact my car was rolling backwards at a good rate with my 4 and 1 year old still inside. The car stopped after jumping the curb and taking out the neighbors mailbox. I honestly didn't look at what gear it was in once stopped, I checked on my children and quickly moved it out of the middle of the road, I of course was in panic mode. It did $6004.69 worth of damage to the car, plus the replacement of (2) carseats and a brick mailbox. I took the car in a few months ago for other recalls and let them know about the situation and they said "no problem found" of course. After seeing a report from you all today about this very same problem it prompted me to file a complaint, as I didn't know you existed. The car has slipped out of gear several other times in parking lots, both while I was driving and to my husband as well, but I am very careful to use my parking break every time I park the car after the accident.....updated 04/25/16

- Yukon, OK, USA

problem #22

Feb 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
I pulled in to my brothers driveway there was snow on the ground. Put the car in park turned it off and exited the car. It started rolling forward so I jumped back in the car and put on the brake then moved it backwards a little and exited the car again. Again car in park and shut off. I walked in front of the car and found my brother. Asi was walking back to the car, it rolled forward again about 8 feet and hit my nephew's car sending it through the garage door. The next day I has the car towed to the dealership as I was afraid to drive it. Results from the dealer were nothing wrong. They told the the care had what's called and open differential and if the on wheel skidded the car would roll forward. I told them I had never heard of anything so absurd and their comment was that I needed to read the owner's manual and make sure I use the parking brake. I talked with the dealership owner and told him about it. He also told me that he had never heard of anything like this either. I asked that he talk with his sales people and have them tell their buyers anpbout this. I then talked with a customer service agent at Chrysler who told me she had never heard of such a thing. As a follow Chrysler sent a survey to me regarding their customer service. I recounted this situation and have heard nothing. I will never purchase another Jeep and if I could cancel the lease right now I would do so. This is very dangerous. I had been standing in front of my car just before it rolled forward. In addition, my car insurance premium was increased by $50 per month because of this accident"????" when I did nothing to create the problem. These vehicles should not be on the road with dangers like this. People could very easily be killed or very injured. I have told numerous people never to buy this car because of its danger.

- Wheeling, WV, USA

problem #21

Jan 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 7,000 miles
On fri., 1/16/15 @ 6:20am - I stopped at the end of my driveway, put the vehicle in park and opened the drivers side door and stepped out, as I put my left foot on the ground to get out the vehicle started to roll backwards and the door caught me and it drug me down under the vehicle and rolled over my left/right leg and proceeded to travel down the drive and crossed over my neighbors land and hit the school bus entry door/side of bus. I was shouting to my neighbor to get out of the way as I feel into the woods in tremendous pain. My neighbors came to my rescue and called 911 as they then called my husband (he was on his way to work) the ambulance came and gave me medical attention and took me to the emergency room. I went through numerous exrays and then follow-up doctor appointments. Wound care was needed for weeks on my left heal as the tire bent my left foot almost in....half.. to this day I still need to keep it elevated and have problems with both ankles/feet/heals..

- Bumpass, VA, USA

problem #20

Jul 222015

Grand Cherokee

  • 26,000 miles
Move shifter to park only it doesn't go into park when you think it did. It's a dangerous shifter. My brother has the same issue with his. You must keep your foot on the brake and make sure it is in the desired gear. I thought it was in park, when it was still in gear. I got out of the vehicle and it started to roll back on me. I quickly jumped back into the vehicle to stop it without accident, this time.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?